Art Rejection
3. Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Mortensen, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2020/0014714.
Per claim 1, Mortensen discloses a system comprising a processor and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions to:
a) aggregate DNS traffic from one or more networks (see par 0029);
b) automatically classify the aggregated DNS traffic to detect DNS tunneling activity (see par 0039); and
c) perform an action based on the detected DNS tunneling activity based on a policy (see par 0036).
Per claim 5, Mortensen teaches that the aggregated DNS traffic is collected from a plurality of monitored enterprises or networks (see par 0029).
Per claim 6, Mortensen teaches that a new threat domain or subdomain is identified based on being associated with the detected DNS tunneling activity (see par 0036).
Per claims 7-8, Mortensen teaches when the domain or subdomain is identified as associated with the detected DNS tunneling activity, performing an action based on the policy (see par 0036, 0045).
Per claims 9-10, Mortensen teaches reporting and blocking the domain associated with the detected DNS tunneling activity for at least a predetermined period of time, i.e., until forensic investigation is possible (see par 0036).
Per claim 12, Mortensen teaches quarantining the domain, i.e., source address, associated with the detected DNS tunneling activity (see par 0036).
Claims 14 and 18-20 are similar in scope as that of claims 1, 5-10 and 12 and hence are rejected for the same reason set forth for claims 1, 5-10 and 12.
5. Claims 2-3 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortensen and further in view of Israel, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2024/0220613.
Mortensen does not teach detecting tunneling activity using a classifier trained by autoencoder of a neutral network. However such use of neural network autoencoder for detecting tunneling activity is well known in the art as disclosed by Israel (see Israel, par 0015-0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mortensen with Israel teaching because use of neural network autoencoder would have provided more efficient detection of such tunneling activity for large dataset.
6. Claims 4, 11, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortensen and further in view of Liu, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No.2021/0266293.
Per claims 4 and 17, Mortensen does not teach detecting tunneling activity using a classifier trained for n-gram anomaly detection. However such use of n-gram model for detecting tunneling activity is well known in the art as disclosed by Liu (see Liu, par 0055, 0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mortensen with Liu teaching because it would have provided more efficient detection of such tunneling activity for large dataset.
Per claim 11, Mortensen does not teach adding a domain to a block list. However, Liu also teaches a similar detection method wherein a domain (e.g., IP address) associated with detected tunneling activity is stored/added in a block/black list (see par 0044, 0062-0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mortensen with Liu teaching because it would have provided an alternate method for detecting tunneling activity (see par 0044).
Per claim 13, Liu teaches that the similar detection method generates a new DNS signature or pattern for a domain associated with the detected DNS tunneling activity (see par 0044, 0061).
Conclusion
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
1/12/26