DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made to a claim of priority to Chinese application filed on June 30th, 2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on November 4th, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species A., Figure 4 in the reply filed on August 3rd, 2026, with claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, 16, 19-20, and 22-24 readable thereon is acknowledged.
The requirement is made FINAL, claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, 16, 19-20, and 22-24 are being examined on their merits and all non-elected claims (i.e. claim(s) 5, 7-8, 10, 15, 17-18, and 21) are withdrawn from consideration at this time.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
FIG. 3C of applicant’s disclosure illustrates a cross-sectional view taken in direction B-B’ of the interconnect package and power device shown in FIG. 3A. and seems to indicate that the first insulating layer (e.g. ref 22) has source and gate connecting portion openings while the second insulating layer (e.g. ref 28) has no openings for gate and source connecting portions which is contrary to what is illustrated in FIG. 4 (e.g. the second insulating layer having source and gate connecting portion openings with the first insulating layer having no openings). Further, it is contrary to what is claimed by the applicant (e.g. claim 1: “…a second insulating layer having a plurality of gate openings and a plurality of source openings extending through the second insulating layer…”, claim 11: “…forming a second insulating layer, the second insulating layer having a plurality of gate openings and a plurality of source openings extending therethrough…”, claim 22: “…a second insulating layer having a plurality of gate openings and a plurality of source openings extending through the second insulating layer…”).
FIG. 4 of applicant’s disclosure illustrates an exploded view of an interconnect package according to the species elected in the restriction election filed on August 8th, 2026. The reference numerals for the gate pad connecting portions (e.g. ref 261), gate substrate connecting portions (e.g. ref 262), and conductive trace (e.g. ref 263) are obscured by their placement on the second insulating layer (e.g. ref 28) and are not clearly notated (e.g. all the circled reference numerals appear to only read 26 and it is unclear that the numerals 1, 2 , and 3 are associated with them in any way, see examiner markup below).
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fillion et al. (US20080305582A1) for the following reasons:
Regarding claims 22-23;
Fillion et al. teaches a power module (e.g. Fig. 12C), comprising: a substrate (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 70, Detailed description [0070] “ Power module substrate 70…which chip 21 may be electrically coupled…); a die disposed on the substrate (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 21, Detailed description [0085] “…power semiconductor chip 21…”) and including a source pad (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 22, Detailed description [0093] “…source contact pads 22…”) and a gate pad (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 23, Detailed description [0093] “…gate contact pads 23…”); an interconnect package covering above the die and electrically connecting the source pad and the gate pad of the die to the substrate, the interconnect package including (e.g. see examiner markup below): a first insulating layer (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 94, Detailed description [0092] “The multi-level interconnect structure comprises an interlevel dielectric layer 94…”); a source connecting portion disposed on a surface of the first insulating layer (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 40a, Detailed description [0092] “The multi-level interconnect structure comprises…[contact] 40a…”) and adapted to electrically connect the source pad to the substrate; a second insulating layer (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 10, Detailed description [0092] “The multi-level interconnect structure comprises…dielectric film 10…”) having a plurality of gate openings (e.g. see examiner markup below) and a plurality of source openings (e.g. see examiner markup below) extending through the second insulating layer (e.g. see examiner markup below); and a gate connecting portion (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 40b, Detailed description [0092] “The multi-level interconnect structure comprises…[contact] 40b…”) adapted to electrically connect the gate pad to the substrate and located between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (e.g. see examiner markup below), wherein a first surface of the second insulating layer is configured to attach to the surface of the first insulating layer such that a plurality of portions of the source connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of source openings on a second surface of the second insulating layer opposite the first surface, and such that a plurality of portions of the gate connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of gate openings on the second surface of the second insulating layer (e.g. see examiner markup below).
Further, Fillion et al. teaches that the interconnect package is attached to the substrate by an adhesive (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 74, Detailed description [0070] “…chip 21 may be soldered to substrate contact 72 with solder 74…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fillion et al. (US20080305582A1) for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1;
Fillion et al. teaches an interconnect package including (e.g. see examiner markup below): a source connecting portion disposed on a surface of the first insulating layer (e.g. Fig. 11 ref 40a, Detailed description [0092] “The multi-level interconnect structure comprises…[contact] 40a…”) and adapted to electrically connect the source pad to the substrate; a second insulating layer (e.g. Fig. 11 ref 10, Detailed description [0092] “The multi-level interconnect structure comprises…dielectric film 10…”) having a plurality of gate openings (e.g. see examiner markup below) and a plurality of source openings (e.g. see examiner markup below) extending through the second insulating layer (e.g. see examiner markup below); and a gate connecting portion (e.g. Fig. 11 ref 40b, Detailed description [0092] “The multi-level interconnect structure comprises…[contact] 40b…”) adapted to electrically connect the gate pad to the substrate and located between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (e.g. see examiner markup below), wherein a first surface of the second insulating layer is configured such that a plurality of portions of the source connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of source openings on a second surface of the second insulating layer opposite the first surface, and such that a plurality of portions of the gate connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of gate openings on the second surface of the second insulating layer (e.g. see examiner markup below).
In figure 11 Fillion et al. is silent to a first insulating layer wherein the surface of the first insulating layer is attached to the first surface of the second insulating layer as claimed.
However, in figure 12C Fillion et al. teaches an alternative embodiment of a interconnect package structure which includes a first insulating layer (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 94, Detailed description [0092] “The multi-level interconnect structure comprises an interlevel dielectric layer 94…”) wherein a first surface of the second insulating layer is configured to attach to the surface of the first insulating layer such that a plurality of portions of the source connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of source openings on a second surface of the second insulating layer opposite the first surface, and such that a plurality of portions of the gate connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of gate openings on the second surface of the second insulating layer (e.g. see examiner markup below).
At the effective time of filing, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art to modify the interconnect package structure taught in figure 11 of Fillion et al. to include the upper dielectric layer (e.g. fig 12C. ref 94) taught in figure 12C of Fillion et al. to reduce unintended conductive pathways, and electrical interaction between neighboring/adjacent active elements because the added insulating layer would increase electrical separation between conductive or doped regions, improving device isolation while preserving intended device operability.
Regarding claim 2;
Fillion et al. further teaches that the plurality of portions of the gate connecting portion exposed from bottom ends of the plurality of gate openings, and conductive traces (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection) not exposed from the plurality of gate openings are formed by depositing a conductive film on the first surface of the second insulating layer (e.g. Detailed description [0061] “Conductive layer 40 may comprise any conductive material suitable for use in power semiconductor device interconnects…”, [0064] “Conductive layer 40 may be formed by sputtering, chemical vapor deposition, electroless plating, or any other suitable methods.…”), wherein the plurality of portions of the gate connecting portion include a gate pad connecting portion (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection) for coupling with the gate pad and a gate substrate connecting portion (e.g. Fig. 11 ref 100, Detailed description [0077] “…conductive spacer 100…”) for coupling with the substrate, and wherein the conductive traces electrically connect the gate pad connecting portion with the gate substrate connecting portion.
Regarding claim 3;
Fillion et al. further teaches that the source connecting portion is formed by a conductive sheet (e.g. Detailed description [0061] “Conductive layer 40 may comprise any conductive material suitable for use in power semiconductor device interconnects…”), wherein the plurality of portions of the source connecting portion include a source pad connecting portion for coupling with the source pad (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection), and a source substrate connecting portion for coupling with the substrate (e.g. Fig. 11 ref 100, see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection), and wherein the source pad connecting portion is electrically connected with the source substrate connecting portion via a portion of the conductive sheet not exposed from the plurality of source openings (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 4;
Fillion et al. further teaches that the source pad connecting portion and the source substrate connecting portion are formed by patterning the conductive sheet (e.g. Detailed description [0068] “Conductive layer 40 may be patterned by any suitable method.”), and wherein a thickness of the source pad connecting portion is less than that of the source substrate connecting portion and greater than that of the portion of the conductive sheet (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 6;
Fillion et al. further teaches that the thickness of the source pad connecting portion is greater than or equal to a depth of the plurality of source openings (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 9;
Fillion et al. further teaches that a second conductive film is deposited at the bottom ends of the plurality of gate openings (e.g. Detailed description [0064] “Conductive layer 40 may be formed by sputtering, chemical vapor deposition, electroless plating, or any other suitable methods.…conductive layer 40 comprises multiple layers.”) such that a portion of the second conductive film on the gate substrate connecting portion has a thickness greater than that of a portion of the second conductive film on the gate pad connecting portion (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 11;
Fillion et al. teaches A method of forming an interconnect package, the method comprising: forming a source connecting portion on a surface of a first insulating layer (e.g. Fig. 11 ref 40a, see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection), the source connecting portion being adapted to electrically connect a source pad to a substrate; and adapted to electrically connect the source pad to the substrate; forming a second insulating layer, the second insulating layer having a plurality of gate openings and a plurality of source openings extending therethrough (e.g. Fig. 11 ref 10, Detailed description [0092] “The multi-level interconnect structure comprises…dielectric film 10…”); forming a gate connecting portion between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (e.g. Fig. 11 ref 40b, see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection), the gate connecting portion being adapted to electrically connect a gate pad to the substrate; and attaching a first surface of the second insulating layer to the surface of the first insulating layer such that a plurality of portions of the source connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of source openings on a second surface of the second insulating layer opposite the first surface, and such that a plurality of portions of the gate connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of gate openings on the second surface of the second insulating layer. (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
In figure 11 Fillion et al. is silent to a first insulating layer wherein the surface of the first insulating layer is attached to the first surface of the second insulating layer as claimed.
However, in figure 12C Fillion et al. teaches an alternative embodiment of a interconnect package structure which includes a first insulating layer (e.g. Fig. 12C ref 94) wherein a first surface of the second insulating layer is configured to attach to the surface of the first insulating layer such that a plurality of portions of the source connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of source openings on a second surface of the second insulating layer opposite the first surface, and such that a plurality of portions of the gate connecting portion are exposed from the plurality of gate openings on the second surface of the second insulating layer (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
At the effective time of filing, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of forming an interconnect package structure taught in figure 11 of Fillion et al. to include the upper dielectric layer (e.g. fig 12C. ref 94) taught in figure 12C of Fillion et al. to reduce unintended conductive pathways, and electrical interaction between neighboring/adjacent active elements because the added insulating layer would increase electrical separation between conductive or doped regions, improving device isolation while preserving intended device operability.
Regarding claim 12;
Fillion et al. further teaches that forming the gate connecting portion includes depositing a conductive film on the first surface of the second insulating layer, to form the plurality of portions of the gate connecting portion exposed from bottom ends of the plurality of gate openings, and conductive traces not exposed from the plurality of gate openings (e.g. Detailed description [0061] “Conductive layer 40 may comprise any conductive material suitable for use in power semiconductor device interconnects…”, [0064] “Conductive layer 40 may be formed by sputtering, chemical vapor deposition, electroless plating, or any other suitable methods.…”), wherein the plurality of portions of the gate connecting portion include a gate pad connecting portion for coupling with the gate pad and a gate substrate connecting portion for coupling with the substrate, and wherein the conductive trace electrically connects the gate pad connecting portion with the gate substrate connecting portion (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 13;
Fillion et al. further teaches that forming the source connecting portion includes forming the source connecting portion by a conductive sheet (e.g. Detailed description [0061] “Conductive layer 40 may comprise any conductive material suitable for use in power semiconductor device interconnects…”), wherein the plurality of portions of the source connecting portion include a source pad connecting portion for coupling with the source pad, and a source substrate connecting portion for coupling with the substrate, and wherein the source pad connecting portion is electrically connected with the source substrate connecting portion via a portion of the conductive sheet not exposed from the plurality of source openings (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 14;
Fillion et al. further teaches that forming the source connecting portion includes: forming the source pad connecting portion and the source substrate connecting portion by patterning the conductive sheet (e.g. Detailed description [0068] “Conductive layer 40 may be patterned by any suitable method.”), and wherein a thickness of the source pad connecting portion is less than a thickness of the source substrate connecting portion and greater than a thickness of the portion of the conductive sheet (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 16;
Fillion et al. teaches that the source pad connecting portion is formed as having a thickness greater than or equal to a depth of the plurality of source openings (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 19;
Fillion et al. further teaches that forming the gate connecting portion includes: depositing a second conductive film at the bottom ends of the plurality of gate openings (e.g. Detailed description [0064] “Conductive layer 40 may be formed by sputtering, chemical vapor deposition, electroless plating, or any other suitable methods.…conductive layer 40 comprises multiple layers.”) such that a portion of the second conductive film on the gate substrate connecting portion has a thickness greater than that of a portion of the second conductive film on the gate pad connecting portion (e.g. see examiner markup in claim 1 rejection).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fillion et al. (US20080305582A1) in view of Wang et al. (US20180114781A1) for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 20;
Fillion et al. is silent to the method of forming an interconnect package further comprising: filling an adhesive in the source opening in the plurality of source openings corresponding to the source pad connecting portion and the gate opening in the plurality of gate openings corresponding to the gate pad connecting portion by means of screen printing or spraying as claimed.
However, Wang et al. teaches an interconnect package where the conductive vias are formed from conductive materials such as solder (e.g. Detailed description [0029] “…the conductive element 170 may be formed by having a conductive material (e.g., aluminum, copper, nickel, gold, silver, solder, or alloy, etc.) deposited on the surface 160b of the encapsulant 160 and fill the vias 160a”) by a screen printing or spraying means (e.g. Detailed description [0029] “the conductive element 170 may be formed by…[depositing a conductive material] on the surface 160 b of the encapsulant 160 and fill the vias 160 a through evaporation, electro-plating, ball drop, screen printing, or other suitable methods.”).
At the effective time of filing, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of forming an interconnect package taught in Fillion et al. to include the filling by means of a screen printing of spraying means taught in Wang et al. from a collection of suitable methods/processes as a matter of routine design choice to perform the predictable function of filling an opening with a conductive/adhesive material.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fillion et al. (US20080305582A1) in view of Chauhan et al. (US20150380356A1) for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 24;
Fillion et al. teaches the power module of claim 23 (e.g. see claim 23 rejection)
Fillion et al. is silent to the power module further comprising: a mold material for encapsulating the substrate, the die, and the interconnect package together as claimed.
However, Chauhan et al. teaches an encapsulation layer that is used to protect a power semiconductor device (e.g. understood to be synonymous with a power module in context) from its environment (e.g. Detailed description [0030]-[0031] “The encapsulant 24 is comprised of one or more dielectric layers 26 that are provided in a ‘film’ or ‘panel’ or ‘sheet’ form, such that, if required, multiple dielectric sheets 26 can be stacked on one another to a required height/thickness required to fill in an area about the semiconductor device 12 and between the polyimide layers 14, 16….The dielectric sheet(s) 26… fill up any empty air gaps around the semiconductor device 12 and between the polyimide layers 14, 16, such that a dielectric encapsulant 24 is provided that protects the semiconductor device 12 from the ambient environment in general.”).
At the effective time of filing, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the encapsulation taught in Chauhan et al. into the power module taught in Fillion et al. to protect the die, substrate, and interconnect package from environmental contaminants (e.g. moisture, oxidation, ionic species, etc), damage (e.g. during manufacturing/treatment/device operation), and or the formation of surface-states predictably improving device stability and reliability.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM ROBERT MANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897