DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 06/25/2024.
Claims 1-11 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/25/2024. The Examiner contends that these drawings are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Talty et al. (US 20110210830 A1), hereinafter “Talty”; and in further view of Strohbach et al. (US 20120021760 A1), hereinafter “Strohbach”.
Regarding claim 1, Talty teaches A method for finding a specific vehicle in a vehicle depot, the method comprising [Talty: abstract]:
broadcasting a low energy wireless connection signal in the 2.4 gigaHertz (gHz) band having an advertisement comprising a MAC address from a CVD for a specific vehicle in the vehicle depot [Talty: Fig. 4; par. 28- 33 teaches of electronic embedded system/device of the vehicle connect over Bluetooth with electronic devices] ,
searching at a mobile device for the low energy wireless connection signal having the advertisement, the mobile device previously paired to the CVD [Talty: Fig. 6; Par. 30- 35 teaches the process of pairing Bluetooth devices on the vehicle’s Bluetooth system]; and
connecting the mobile device with the CVD, which allows an operator to find the specific vehicle [Talty: Fig. 7; Par. 33 teaches paired and used shared encryption data at very close distances].
However, Talty does not teach of wherein the wireless connection is only viewable to a previously paired mobile device, wherein the vehicle depot comprises a plurality of vehicles.
Nevertheless, Strohbach, in the similar filed of endeavor, wherein the wireless connection is only viewable to a previously paired mobile device, wherein the vehicle depot comprises a plurality of vehicles [Strohbach: Par. 115- 122 teaches 0115] Advantages of the Embodiment of the Present Invention are: [0116] Tracking Management System or Unit: allows scheduling the individual tracking stations. Through that the capacity and speed of the tracking system can be increased, users can be kept in "hidden" mode, the energy consumption--on the mobile devices--can be reduced, and the QoS can be adapted to the need of the services using the tracking system. [0117] User Opt-In through registration and activation: opt-in feature with additional benefit to use multiple identities, multiple devices, and QoS parameters [0118] Mash-Up with other services [0119] Privacy Preserving through allowing devices to stay in non-discover mode and through opt-in (tracking system can track objects in "invisible/non-discoverable" mode) [0120] Speed: for some of the supported technologies, the ping mode is faster than the discovery mode thus enabling better quality of service [0121] Useable with existing technologies: no changes needed on an Bluetooth enabled device [0122] Tracking system can utilize future wireless technologies with changing MAC addresses].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Strohbach for paring in hidden mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Strohbach in the Talty system in order to utilize paring in tracking system [Strohbach: Par. 115].
Regarding claim 2, Talty in view of Strohbach further teaches wherein comprising a vehicle comprises the on-board computer with a memory having a vehicle identification number (VIN), a connector plug, and a motorized engine [Talty: Par. 38 teaches system include embedded electronic system]Response Date
Regarding claim 3, Talty in view of Strohbach further teaches wherein the CVD comprises a processor, a radio and a connector for mating with the connector plug of the vehicle [Talty: claim 1dislosed vehicle electronic system].
Regarding claim 4, Talty in view of Strohbach further teaches wherein the mobile device comprises a processor, and a radio [Talty: Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 5, Talty in view of Strohbach further teaches wherein the mobile device is a tablet computer [Talty: Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 6, Talty in view of Strohbach further teaches comprising a server for validating a pairing of the mobile device with the CVD [Talty: Fig. 8 illustrates of activating/ paring process of devices to vehicle’s system].
Regarding claim 7, Talty in view of Strohbach further teaches wherein the vehicle is a delivery truck [Strohbach: Abstract].
Regarding claim 8, Talty teaches A system for truck to mobile device secure wireless communications, the system comprising: [Talty: abstract]:
a plurality of trucks, each of the plurality of trucks comprising a connected vehicle device (CVD) comprising a processor, a WiFi radio, a BLUETOOTH radio, and a memory [Talty: Fig. 1],
a mobile device comprising a graphical user interface, a processor, a WiFi radio, a BLUETOOTH radio, and a cellular network interface [Talty: Fig. 1]
wherein the mobile device is configured to search for a previously paired with CVD for a truck wherein the previously paired with CVD broadcast an advertisement in a BLUETOOTH or BLUETOOTH low energy communication protocol [Talty: Fig. 4; par. 28- 33 teaches of electronic embedded system/device of the vehicle connect over Bluetooth with electronic devices; Fig. 7; Par. 33 teaches paired and used shared encryption data at very close distances].
However, Talty does not teach wherein each CVD of the plurality of trucks is configured to broadcast a BLUETOOTH or BLUETOOTH low energy connection in a hidden mode.
Nevertheless, Strohbach, in the similar filed of endeavor, wherein each CVD of the plurality of trucks is configured to broadcast a BLUETOOTH or BLUETOOTH low energy connection in a hidden mode [Strohbach: Par. 115- 122 teaches 0115] Advantages of the Embodiment of the Present Invention are: [0116] Tracking Management System or Unit: allows scheduling the individual tracking stations. Through that the capacity and speed of the tracking system can be increased, users can be kept in "hidden" mode, the energy consumption--on the mobile devices--can be reduced, and the QoS can be adapted to the need of the services using the tracking system. [0117] User Opt-In through registration and activation: opt-in feature with additional benefit to use multiple identities, multiple devices, and QoS parameters [0118] Mash-Up with other services [0119] Privacy Preserving through allowing devices to stay in non-discover mode and through opt-in (tracking system can track objects in "invisible/non-discoverable" mode) [0120] Speed: for some of the supported technologies, the ping mode is faster than the discovery mode thus enabling better quality of service [0121] Useable with existing technologies: no changes needed on an Bluetooth enabled device [0122] Tracking system can utilize future wireless technologies with changing MAC addresses].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Strohbach for paring in hidden mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Strohbach in the Talty system in order to utilize paring in tracking system [Strohbach: Par. 115].
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Conclusion
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412