DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 ‘orientation of drum’ should be -orientation of the drum-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 2, the claim state the limitation ‘generally’ is indefinite. The limitation makes it unclear what the metes and bounds of claim in regards to what ‘generally’ encompass.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,465 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
18754045 (Claim 1) USP 12,076,465 B2 (Claim 1)
A rotary separation apparatus comprising
A rotary separation apparatus comprising
a drum having a generally cylindrical shape with a principal axis coincident with the principal axis of a cylinder defined by the generally cylindrical shape, in which the drum has lateral surfaces with a plurality of perforations and a base of the cylinder that is opposed to an upper end of the cylinder
a drum having a generally cylindrical shape with a principal axis coincident with the principal axis of a cylinder defined by the generally cylindrical shape, in which the drum has lateral surfaces with a plurality of perforations and a base of the cylinder that is opposed to an upper end of the cylinder
a container that forms an enclosed space around the drum when the drum is disposed with the principal axis in a horizontal orientation;
a container that forms an enclosed space around the drum when: the drum is disposed with the principal axis in a horizontal orientation, and an upper and lower vessel are brought into mutual engagement at a rim of the upper vessel to a rim of the lower vessel;
one or more actuators that are operative to modulate the orientation of the principal axis of the cylinder from between an upright and inverted vertical orientation and dispose the drum horizontally in the container
one or more actuators that are operative to modulate the orientation of the principal axis of the cylinder from between an upright and inverted vertical orientation and dispose the drum horizontally in the container
a means to rotate the drum about the principal axis when the drum is disposed horizontally within the container
a means to rotate the drum about the principal axis when the drum is disposed horizontally within the container, wherein the lower vessel is capable of being inverted from an upright horizontal orientation to a downward facing horizontal orientation by the one or more actuators to empty the lower vessel
Claim 3
Claim 1
Claim 4
Claim 1
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,465 B2 in view of Dorn (USP 5,556,202).
Regarding claim 2, ‘465 does not disclose the claim limitations. Dorn teaches the drum has a removable cap that closes an opening in the upper end of the cylinder (see Fig. 5; cover or lid closes element 48) for the purpose of containing material that has been placed inside the drum (col. 3, lines 3-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify ‘465, as taught by Dorn, for the purpose of containing material that has been placed inside the drum.
Claims 5-8 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,465 B2 in view of Sergio (EP 0832675).
Regarding claim 5, ‘465 does not disclose the claim limitations. Sergio teaches the one of more actuators are operative to modulate the orientation of drum from being disposed with the principal axis of the cylinder horizontally within the container to vertically outside the container by rotating the upper vessel away from the lower vessel to dispose both the upper vessel and the lower vessel in an upward facing orientation and then rotating the drum to dispose the principal axis of the cylinder vertically (Sergio; col. 1, lines 29-35; element 9 allows pivoting of the case) for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify ‘465, as taught by Sergio, for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration.
18754045 (Claim 1) USP 12,076,465 B2 (Claim 1)
Claim 6
Claim 2
Claim 7
Claim 3
Claim 8
Claim 4
Regarding claim 10, ‘465 does not disclose the claim limitations. Sergio teaches the one or more actuators is operative to remove the container laterally via a side portal such that it translates in the direction of the principal axis (see Fig. 1 where element 2 is pulled away from element 1) for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify ‘465, as taught by Sergio, for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,465 B2 in view of Liu (CN 109433580).
Regarding claim 9, ‘465 does not disclose the claim limitations. Dorn teaches the container comprises in a lower portion a drawer (element 33) disposed to collect matter that exits the drum via the plurality of perforation (elements 211) in which the drawer is configured translate away from the lower portion to provide access to the collected matter for the purpose of discharging the filtered material from the lower part of cylindrical container. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify ‘465, as taught by Liu, for the purpose of discharging the filtered material from the lower part of cylindrical container.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watts (US Pub 2018/0008656 A1) in view of Sergio (EP 0832675) (provided in IDS dated 6/25/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Watts discloses a rotary separation apparatus comprising: a drum (element 1001) having a generally cylindrical shape with a principal axis coincident with the principal axis of a cylinder defined by the generally cylindrical shape, in which the drum has lateral surfaces with a plurality of perforations (element 300) and a base of the cylinder that is opposed to an upper end of the cylinder (see Fig. 4D; elements 331 and 332); a container (element 100) that forms an enclosed space around the drum when the drum is disposed with the principal axis in a horizontal orientation (paragraph 0046); and a means to rotate the drum about the principal axis when the drum is disposed horizontally within the container (paragraph 0049-0051; element 400), but Watts does not disclose one or more actuators that are operative to modulate the orientation of the principal axis of the cylinder from between an upright and inverted vertical orientation and dispose the drum horizontally in the container. Sergio teaches one or more actuators that are operative to modulate the orientation of the principal axis of the cylinder from between an upright and inverted vertical orientation and dispose the drum horizontally in the container (col. 1, lines 29-35; element 9 allows pivoting of the case) for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Watts, as taught by Sergio, for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration.
Regarding claim 3, Watts discloses the container forms the enclosed space when an upper (element 120) and lower vessel (element 110) are brought into mutual engagement at a rim of the upper vessel to a rim of the lower vessel (see Figs. 1A and 1B and paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 5, Watts does not disclose the claim limitations. Sergio teaches the one of more actuators are operative to modulate the orientation of drum from being disposed with the principal axis of the cylinder horizontally within the container to vertically outside the container by rotating the upper vessel away from the lower vessel to dispose both the upper vessel and the lower vessel in an upward facing orientation and then rotating the drum to dispose the principal axis of the cylinder vertically (Sergio; col. 1, lines 29-35; element 9 allows pivoting of the case and Watts discloses the upper vessel 120 and lower vessel 110) for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Watts, as taught by Sergio, for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration.
Regarding claim 10, Watts does not disclose the claim limitations. Sergio teaches the one or more actuators is operative to remove the container laterally via a side portal such that it translates in the direction of the principal axis (see Fig. 1 where element 2 is pulled away from element 1) for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Watts, as taught by Sergio, for the purpose of changing the orientation of the drum to an emptying and cleaning configuration.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watts/Sergio in further view of Dorn (USP 5,556,202).
Regarding claim 2, Watts does not disclose the claim limitations. Dorn teaches the drum has a removable cap that closes an opening in the upper end of the cylinder (see Fig. 5; cover or lid closes element 48) for the purpose of containing material that has been placed inside the drum (col. 3, lines 3-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Watts, as taught by Dorn, for the purpose of containing material that has been placed inside the drum.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watts/Sergio in further view of Liu (CN 109433580) (provided in IDS dated 6/25/2024).
Regarding claim 9, Watts does not disclose the claim limitations. Dorn teaches the container comprises in a lower portion a drawer (element 33) disposed to collect matter that exits the drum via the plurality of perforation (elements 211) in which the drawer is configured translate away from the lower portion to provide access to the collected matter for the purpose of discharging the filtered material from the lower part of cylindrical container. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Watts, as taught by Liu, for the purpose of discharging the filtered material from the lower part of cylindrical container.
Conclusion
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653