Status of the Claims
Claims 21-22, 24-25, 27-34, and 36-43 are pending.
Claims 21-22, 24-25, 27-34, and 36-40 have been amended.
Claims 1-20, 23, 26, and 35 have been canceled.
Claims 41-43 are new.
Response to Amendment
Objection to the Drawings: Applicant’s amended specification overcomes the drawing objection of record. The objection(s) to the drawing(s) are withdrawn.
Objection to the Specification: Applicant’s amended specification overcomes the objection(s) of record. The objection(s) to the specification are withdrawn.
Objection to the Claim(s): Applicant’s canceled claim overcomes the claim objection with respect to claim 35, however Applicant’s amendments have necessitated claim objections that are presented below.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103: Claims 21 and 40 have been amended to change the scope of the claimed invention. Specifically, limitations pertaining to “at least comprising an array of antennas tuned to different frequencies, the structure being…captured by the array of antennas and further in a response measurements of the signatures correlated across the different frequencies” which changes the scope of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21 and 40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 34 and 41 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 34 (lines 8-9) “signature of the each emission” should read “signature of
Claim 41 (line 7) “an analog-to-digital converter (ADC);” should read “an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) [[;]] .”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 28, 34, 36, 41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kildal (US2017/0012714A1) in view of Swartz et al. (US2003/0167139A1) in further view of Pabst (US2020/0264223A1), hereinafter Kildal, Swartz, and Pabst respectively.
Regarding claim 21, (Currently amended) Kildal teaches a structure, at least comprising an array of antennas (see at least [0086] “The chamber may be provided with more than one linear array antenna, or columns of linear array antennas.” also see at least [0034] and [0045]), the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle (see at least [0015] “According to a first aspect of the invention there is provided an apparatus for measuring over-the-air (OTA) wireless communication performance in an automotive application of a device under test arranged on or in a vehicle, such as a car or a bus, comprising: a chamber defining an internal cavity therein, and a platform for supporting the vehicle, wherein the chamber is adapted to enclose the platform, wherein the platform is a rotatable platform that can rotate the vehicle, and wherein the floor of the chamber is inwardly reflective, and optionally covered with a top layer to resemble asphalt or other road covers.” also see at least [0068]).
Examiner interprets that an array of antennas is encompassed at least by more than one linear array antenna, or columns of linear array antennas and a structure configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle is encompassed at least by an apparatus for measuring over-the-air (OTA) wireless communication performance in an automotive application of a device under test arranged on or in a vehicle.
Swartz teaches a structure, at least comprising an array of antennas tuned to different frequencies (see at least [0032] “as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, multiple sensor devices 200 with varying orientations may be deployed, with each sensor device 200 being tuned to achieve a different sensitivity level or other parameter” and [0023] “the sensor device 200 may also comprise an RF antenna having an associated RF-indicating device, wherein such an RF device is capable of indicating, for example, detected power over either a large detection bandwidth, a narrow bandwidth, or a time varying center frequency with a narrow bandwidth.”), the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle in a response to see at least [0039] “embodiments of the present invention provide an apparatus 100 (with associated methods, computer device, and computer software program product) capable of identifying a source of electromagnetic emission based upon the characteristics of the electromagnetic emission…In some instances, embodiments of the apparatus 100 are capable of identifying the source 700 of the electromagnetic emission as well as providing other useful information for facilitating identification of other characteristics of the source, such as the operating state of the source 700 or the presence of other equipment or accessories on or about the source 700.” also see at least [0041]).
Examiner interprets that array of antennas is encompassed at least by multiple sensor devices 200, tuned to different frequencies is encompassed at least by tuned to achieve a different sensitivity level or other parameter, a structure configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle is encompassed at least by an apparatus 100 (with associated methods, computer device, and computer software program product) capable of identifying a source of electromagnetic emission based upon the characteristics of the electromagnetic emission, health of an electrical component is encompassed at least by operating state of the source 700, in a response to processing a signature of emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range from the electrical component is encompassed at least by based upon the characteristics of the electromagnetic emission, and signature of an emission is encompassed at least by characteristics of the electromagnetic emission.
Swartz suggests captured by the array of antennas and further in a response measurements of the signatures correlated across the different frequencies (see at least [0034] “Accordingly, the processed emission data may indicate, as described herein, characteristics which serve to identify the emission source 700…multiple sensors may produce multiple relationships which may be used to identify an operational state of the vehicle 700. For example, as previously described, the data may be analyzed or correlated so as to produce an operational characteristic indicator such as velocity, direction, or operating condition of the vehicle 700…characteristic indicators may be determined from, for example, an rms power versus time in a frequency band analysis or an STFT analysis and may be indicative of the operating mode, condition, or other decipherable parameter which may important to consider.” also see at least [0033], [0036], and [0038]).
Examiner interprets that an array of antennas tuned to different frequencies is encompassed at least by at least two of the measurement antennas are adapted to measure a different frequency range.
Pabst more explicitly teaches a structure, at least comprising an array of antennas tuned to different frequencies (see at least [0010] “In an embodiment, at least two of the measurement antennas are adapted to measure a different frequency range, for example each of the measurement antennas is adapted to measure a different frequency range.”).
Pabst suggests the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component in a response to emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range from the electrical component captured by the array of antennas and further in a response measurements of the signatures correlated across the different frequencies (see at least [0054]-[0055] “In the shown embodiment, the measurement antennas 24 are arranged in the corners of the anechoic chamber 18. Each measurement antenna 24 is adapted to measure signals from the DUT 12 in a different frequency range. For example, the first measurement antenna 24 measures signals in the range between 40 and 60 GHz, the second measurement antenna 24 in the range of 50 to 75 GHz, the third measurement antenna 24 in the range of 60 to 90 GHz and the fourth measurement antenna 24 in the range of 75 to 110 GHz. The measurement antennas 24 are designed to measure spurious emissions from the DUT 12.”and [0068] “Thus, by using several measurement antennas 24, a very quick and reliable way of performing a measurement of the total radiated power of a DUT 12, especially of spurious emissions is provided.” ).
Examiner interprets that determine a health of an electrical component in a response to emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range from the electrical component is encompassed at least by measurement of the total radiated power of a DUT and/or measurement of spurious emissions from the DUT.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kildal of a structure, at least comprising an array of antennas, the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle with the teaching of a structure, at least comprising an array of antennas tuned to different frequencies, the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle in a response to signatures of emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range from the electrical component found in Swartz, the suggested teaching of captured by the array of antennas and further in a response measurements of the signatures correlated across the different frequencies found in Swartz, the teaching of a structure, at least comprising an array of antennas tuned to different frequencies found in Pabst, and the suggested teaching of the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component in a response to emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range from the electrical component captured by the array of antennas and further in a response measurements of the signatures correlated across the different frequencies found in Pabst. One could combine the teachings in order to have a structure, at least comprising an array of antennas tuned to different frequencies, the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle in a response to signatures of emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range from the electrical component captured by the array of antennas and further in a response measurements of the signatures correlated across the different frequencies with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a cost efficient apparatus for testing wireless communications to vehicles with the same or improved measurement quality (see at least Kildal, [0013]). One would have further been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency and further to identify instances where maintenance or repair is necessary (see at least Swartz, [0041]).
Regarding claim 28, (Currently amended) the combination of Kildal, Swartz, and Pabst teaches the structure of claim 21 as detailed above.
Kildal teaches further comprising a mat configured to be positioned under a tire of the vehiclesee at least [0015] “a platform for supporting the vehicle, wherein the chamber is adapted to enclose the platform, wherein the platform is a rotatable platform that can rotate the vehicle, and wherein the floor of the chamber is inwardly reflective, and optionally covered with a top layer to resemble asphalt or other road covers.”).
Examiner interprets that mat is configured at least by platform for supporting the vehicle.
Regarding claim 34, (Currently amended) the combination of Kildal, Swartz, and Pabst teaches the structure of claim 21 as detailed above.
Kildal teaches further comprising: see at least [0074] “The measurement instrument preferably comprises analyzing means, e.g. realized by dedicated software on a personal computer or the like, and can e.g. comprise a commercially available measuring instrument, such as a network analyzer or spectrum analyzer or similar, for determining the transmitted power between the antennas. Additionally or alternatively, the measuring instrument may comprise a base station emulator.”), and a control unit configured to process a signature of the each emission in the digital form (see at least [0078] “As best seen in FIG. 3, the apparatus further preferably comprises two branched distribution networks 7 connecting the vertical linear array elements for each polarization to each of two ports of the measuring instrument, here shown as...a controller 6b, such as a PC.”).
Examiner interprets that signature analyzer is encompassed at least by analyzing means and control unit is encompassed at least by controller 6b, such as a PC.
Kildal suggests including: a receiver configured to receive the emissions from the array of antennas (see at least [0074] “The measurement instrument preferably comprises analyzing means, e.g. realized by dedicated software on a personal computer or the like, and can e.g. comprise a commercially available measuring instrument, such as a network analyzer or spectrum analyzer or similar, for determining the transmitted power between the antennas. Additionally or alternatively, the measuring instrument may comprise a base station emulator.”).
Examiner interprets that receiver is suggested at least by receiving amplifiers.
Swartz teaches further comprising: see at least [0004] “the analyzing unit used for receiving and processing the collected electromagnetic emission signal from the vehicle.”), including: a receiver configured to receive the emissions from the array of antennas and convert each emission into a digital form (see at least [0020] “The apparatus 100 generally comprises...a receiver 500, and a computer device 600. The sensor device 200 is operably engaged with the data transmitter 400 for detecting the electromagnetic emission of the source 700 as corresponding sensed emission data and then transmitting the sensed emission data to the receiver 500.” and [0029] “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, once the emission data has been detected and converted to digital emission data, the digital emission data may be manipulated in various manners prior to being transmitted to the computer device 600. Transmission of the digital emission data is accomplished via a data transmitter 400 communicating with a corresponding receiver 500 operably engaging the computer device 600.”), and a control unit configured to process a signature of the each emission in the digital form (see at least [0020] “The apparatus 100 generally comprises...a computer device 600...the sensed emission data is received by the computer device 600 and processed to facilitate the identification of the source 700.” and [0038] “Once the digital emission data is received by the computer device 600, the digital emission data is processed or otherwise analyzed by the computer device 600 (Block 940), such as by applying STFT or JTFA thereto. The processed results may then be converted into a graphical representation (Block 950) and/or analyzed to identify a characteristic marker of the source 700 (Block 960).”).
Examiner interprets that array of antennas is encompassed at least by sensor device 200 and/or sensor module 250, signature analyzer is encompassed at least by analyzing unit, receiver is encompassed at least by receiver 500, control unit is encompassed at least by computer device 600, and signature of the emission is encompassed at least by characteristic marker.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kildal further comprising: a signature analyzer, and a control unit configured to process a signature of the each emission in the digital form and the suggested teaching of Kildal of including: a receiver configured to receive the emissions from the array of antennas with the teaching of further comprising: a signature analyzer, including: a receiver configured to receive the emissions from the array of antennas and convert each emission into a digital form, and a control unit configured to process a signature of the each emission in the digital form found in Swartz. One could combine the teachings in order to have a structure, further comprising: a signature analyzer, including: a receiver configured to receive the emissions from the array of antennas and convert each emission into a digital form, and a control unit configured to process a signature of the each emission in the digital form with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a cost efficient apparatus for testing wireless communications to vehicles with the same or improved measurement quality (see at least Kildal, [0013]). One would have further been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency and further to identify instances where maintenance or repair is necessary (see at least Swartz, [0041]).
Regarding claim 36, (Currently amended) the combination of Kildal, Swartz, and Pabst teaches the structure of claim 21 as detailed above.
Kildal does not explicitly teach wherein the emissions comprises s.
However, Swartz more explicitly teaches wherein the emissions comprises s (see at least [0039] “Thus, embodiments of the present invention provide an apparatus 100 (with associated methods, computer device, and computer software program product) capable of identifying a source of electromagnetic emission based upon the characteristics of the electromagnetic emission. Such an apparatus 100 is capable of detecting the electromagnetic emission of the source 700 from a distance in an accurate and reliable manner. The apparatus 100 is further capable of collecting emission data having a sufficient signal-to-noise ratio to allow effective processing and analysis of the emission data for producing high resolution identification results.”).
Examiner interprets that an unintended emission is encompassed at least by noise.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kildal with the teaching of wherein the emissions comprises unintended emissions found in Swartz. One could combine the teachings in order to have a structure wherein the emissions comprises unintended emissions with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a cost efficient apparatus for testing wireless communications to vehicles with the same or improved measurement quality (see at least Kildal, [0013]). One would have further been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency and further to identify instances where maintenance or repair is necessary (see at least Swartz, [0041]).
Regarding claim 41, (New) the combination of Kildal, Swartz, and Pabst teaches the structure of claim 34 as detailed above.
Kildal suggests wherein the receiver comprises: a filter configured to filter a signal from the array of antennas; a low noise amplifier (LNA) disposed to receive a filtered signal from the filter; and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) (see at least [0093] “It is envisioned that this distribution network also may be realized digitally, by having DA/AD converters and transmitting/receiving amplifiers connected to each port of the linear array. Then, the amplitude and phase can be controlled digitally,”).
Examiner interprets that a filter configured to filter a signal from the array of antennas is suggested at least by control(ling) amplitude, low noise amplifier (LNA) is suggested at least by transmitting/receiving amplifiers, and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) is suggested at least by AD converters.
Swartz teaches wherein the receiver comprises: a filter configured to filter a signal from the array of antennas (see at least [0024] “the data converter 300 may include, for example, one or more filters 310,” also see at least Fig.5); a low noise amplifier (LNA) disposed to receive a filtered signal from the filter (see at least [0024] “the data converter 300 may include, for example...one or more amplifiers 320” also see at least Fig.5); and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) (see at least [0024] “the data converter 300 may include, for example...an analog to digital converter ("ADC") 330” also see at least Fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suggested teaching of Kildal of wherein the receiver comprises: a filter configured to filter a signal from the array of antennas; a low noise amplifier (LNA) disposed to receive a filtered signal from the filter; and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) with the teaching of wherein the receiver comprises: a filter configured to filter a signal from the array of antennas; a low noise amplifier (LNA) disposed to receive a filtered signal from the filter; and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) found in Swartz. One could combine the teachings in order to have a structure wherein the receiver comprises: a filter configured to filter a signal from the array of antennas; a low noise amplifier (LNA) disposed to receive a filtered signal from the filter; and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a cost efficient apparatus for testing wireless communications to vehicles with the same or improved measurement quality (see at least Kildal, [0013]). One would have further been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency and further to identify instances where maintenance or repair is necessary (see at least Swartz, [0041]).
Regarding claim 43, (New) the combination of Kildal and Swartz teaches the structure of claim 42 as detailed above.
Kildal teaches further comprising a sensor (see at least [0074] “A measuring instrument 6 is connected wirelessly to the device under test and via cables to the chamber antenna”) and a control unit, the control unit including one or more processors or logic devices (see at least [0078] “the apparatus further preferably comprises...a controller 6b, such as a PC.”).
Kildal does not explicitly teach a non-transitory memory having executable instructions stored thereon.
Swartz more explicitly teaches further comprising a sensor (see at least [0006] “an electromagnetic emission source identification apparatus comprising a sensor device”) and a control unit (see at least [0006] “an electromagnetic emission source identification apparatus comprising...a computer device”), the control unit including one or more processors or logic devices (see at least [0007] “The computer device thus comprises a first processing portion configured to receive the sensed emission data.”).
Pabst more explicitly teaches further comprising a control unit, the control unit including one or more processors or logic devices (see at least [0070] “one or more computing devices such as a processor (e.g., a microprocessor)”) and a non-transitory memory having executable instructions stored thereon (see at least [0071] “In an embodiment, circuitry includes combinations of circuits and computer program products having software or firmware instructions stored on one or more computer readable memories that work together to cause a device to perform one or more protocols, methodologies or technologies described herein.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kildal of further comprising a sensor and a control unit, the control unit including one or more processors or logic devices with the teaching of a sensor, the control unit including one or more processors or logic devices found in Swartz and the teaching of a control unit, the control unit including one or more processors or logic devices and a non-transitory memory having executable instructions stored thereon found in Pabst. One could combine the teachings in order to have a structure further comprising a sensor and a control unit, the control unit including one or more processors or logic devices and a non-transitory memory having executable instructions stored thereon with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a cost efficient apparatus for testing wireless communications to vehicles with the same or improved measurement quality (see at least Kildal, [0013]), increase efficiency, identify instances where maintenance or repair is necessary (see at least Swartz, [0041]), and further to promote system reliability.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kildal (US2017/0012714A1) in view of Swartz et al. (US2003/0167139A1) in view of Pabst (US2020/0264223A1) in further view of Mohan et al. (US6137992A), hereinafter Kildal, Swartz, Pabst, and Mohan respectively.
Regarding claim 39, (Currently amended) the combination of Kildal, Swartz, and Pabst teaches the structure of claim 21 as detailed above.
Kildal teaches a control unit (see at least [0078] “As best seen in FIG. 3, the apparatus further preferably comprises two branched distribution networks 7 connecting the vertical linear array elements for each polarization to each of two ports of the measuring instrument, here shown as...a controller 6b, such as a PC.”).
Examiner interprets that control unit is encompassed at least by controller 6b, such as a PC.
Kildal does not explicitly teach the control unit configured to measure a change in a signal strength or a field strength in a response to the vehicle moving relative to the array of antenna.
Pabst suggests the control unit configured to measure a change in a signal strength or a field strength in a response to the vehicle moving relative to the array of antenna (see at least [0061] “In step S4, carried out during the movement of the DUT 12 or after each movement step, each of the measurement antennas 24 measures the power radiated from the DUT 12 in the respective frequency range, especially the power emitted by spurious emissions of the DUT 12.” also see at least [0031]).
Examiner interprets that signal strength is encompassed at least by power radiated, in a response to the vehicle moving relative to the array of antenna is encompassed at least by carried out during the movement of the DUT 12 or after each movement step, and array of antenna is encompassed at least by measurement antennas 24. Examiner also interprets that the claim is written in the alternative and therefore only one of the limitations needs to be addressed.
Mohan suggests the control unit configured to measure a change in a signal strength or a field strength in a response to the vehicle moving relative to the array of antenna (see at least Col. 4 lines 26-28 “The system also includes a spectrum analyzer 164 that monitors the strength of the RF signal being transmitted to the vehicle receiver.”).
Examiner interprets that the claim is written in the alternative and therefore only one of the limitations needs to be addressed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kildal of a control unit with the suggested teaching of control unit configured to measure a change in a signal strength or a field strength in a response to the vehicle moving relative to the array of antenna found in Pabst and Mohan. One could combine the teaching in order to have a structure further comprising a control unit, the control unit configured to measure a change in a signal strength or a field strength in a response to the vehicle moving relative to the array of antenna with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a cost efficient apparatus for testing wireless communications to vehicles with the same or improved measurement quality (see at least Kildal, [0013]).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kildal (US2017/0012714A1) in view of Swartz et al. (US2003/0167139A1), hereinafter Kildal and Swartz respectively.
Regarding claim 42, (New) Kildal teaches a structure at least comprising a plurality of antennas (see at least [0086] “The chamber may be provided with more than one linear array antenna, or columns of linear array antennas.” also see at least [0034] and [0045]), the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle (see at least [0015] “According to a first aspect of the invention there is provided an apparatus for measuring over-the-air (OTA) wireless communication performance in an automotive application of a device under test arranged on or in a vehicle, such as a car or a bus, comprising: a chamber defining an internal cavity therein, and a platform for supporting the vehicle, wherein the chamber is adapted to enclose the platform, wherein the platform is a rotatable platform that can rotate the vehicle, and wherein the floor of the chamber is inwardly reflective, and optionally covered with a top layer to resemble asphalt or other road covers.” also see at least [0068]).
Examiner interprets that a plurality of antennas is encompassed at least by more than one linear array antenna, or columns of linear array antennas and a structure configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle is encompassed at least by an apparatus for measuring over-the-air (OTA) wireless communication performance in an automotive application of a device under test arranged on or in a vehicle.
Swartz teaches a structure at least comprising a plurality of antennas (see at least [0032] “a plurality of sensor devices 200 are implemented, each sensor device 200 may be part of an individual sensor module 250” and [0023] “the sensor device 200 may also comprise an RF antenna”), the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle in a response to spatially correlated signatures of emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range from the electrical component (see at least [0034] “Accordingly, the processed emission data may indicate, as described herein, characteristics which serve to identify the emission source 700…multiple sensors may produce multiple relationships which may be used to identify an operational state of the vehicle 700. For example, as previously described, the data may be analyzed or correlated so as to produce an operational characteristic indicator such as velocity, direction, or operating condition of the vehicle 700…characteristic indicators may be determined from, for example, an rms power versus time in a frequency band analysis or an STFT analysis and may be indicative of the operating mode, condition, or other decipherable parameter which may important to consider.” also see at least [0023], 0033], [0036], and [0038]), the emissions being captured by the plurality of antennas (see at least [0020] “The sensor device 200 is operably engaged with the data transmitter 400 for detecting the electromagnetic emission of the source 700 as corresponding sensed emission data.”).
Examiner interprets that plurality of antennas is encompassed at least by sensor devices 200 and/or sensor module(s) 250, determine a health of an electrical component is encompassed at least by operational state and/or operating condition of the vehicle 700, and in a response to spatially correlated signatures of emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range is encompassed at least by characteristic indicators.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kildal of a structure at least comprising a plurality of antennas, the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle with the teaching of a structure at least comprising a plurality of antennas, the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle in a response to spatially correlated signatures of emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range from the electrical component, the emissions being captured by the plurality of antennas found in Swartz. One could combine the teachings in order to have a structure at least comprising a plurality of antennas, the structure being configured to determine a health of an electrical component within a vehicle in a response to spatially correlated signatures of emissions of an electromagnetic energy in a radio frequency (RF) range from the electrical component, the emissions being captured by the plurality of antennas with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a cost efficient apparatus for testing wireless communications to vehicles with the same or improved measurement quality (see at least Kildal, [0013]). One would have further been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency and further to identify instances where maintenance or repair is necessary (see at least Swartz, [0041]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 40 and 27 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Independent claim 40 is allowable over the prior art for its specific recitation of elements pertaining to “A structure comprising a base, a peripheral wall defining a hollow interior and a plurality of antennas disposed within at least one of the peripheral wall and the base” among other limitations and further the reason for allowance is similar to the reasons for allowance recited in the parent application 17/479,578 (see Notice of Allowance of 04/05/2024).
Claim 27 is allowable based on its dependence on independent claim 40.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 22, 24-25, 29-33, and 37-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The reason for indicating allowable subject matter over the prior art of record is similar as the reasons for allowance recited in the parent application 17/479,578 (see Notice of Allowance of 04/05/2024), and further the prior art of record does not teach limitations pertaining to “a peripheral wall defining a hollow interior, the array of antennas being ”, “a base, a peripheral wall defining a hollow interior, the array of antennas being ”, “ a base, a peripheral wall defining a hollow interior, the array of antennas disposed within a thickness of the base and within a thickness of the peripheral wall”, “the array of antennas being embedded within the concrete material”, “the array of antennas being embedded within the asphalt material”, “the array of antennas being embedded within the cement material”, “the structure…configured as a vehicle washer”, and “a tunnel defining a hollow interior, the ” among other limitations presented in the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Benward (US2019/0241284A1) Discloses a system and method for testing a network of electromagnetic interference components within a unit under test (UUT) of an aircraft, the UUT having at least one of an input port or an output port electrically coupled to the network, the method including: generating a radio frequency (RF) signal swept over a prescribed frequency range; applying the generated RF signal to the UUT; measuring a resultant signature at the at least one input port or output port; comparing the measured resultant signature with a baseline signature corresponding to the respective at least one input port or output port, the baseline signature representing normal operation of the UUT; and determining the UUT is out of specification when the measured signal and the baseline signature do not correspond to one another within a prescribed envelope.
Lee et al. (US2020/0217882A1) Discloses an electronic device and method related to measurement of an electromagnetic (EM) signal emitted from an external electronic device. The electronic device including a processor, a memory, and an EM sensor. The memory stores instructions, which, when executed, enable the processor to: obtain an input signal including an electromagnetic signal of an external electronic device and a self-noise using the EM sensor; identify an ambient condition of the electronic device; identify a compensation self-noise corresponding to the ambient condition; generate a signal pattern, based on the input signal and the compensation self-noise; and identify the external electronic device, based on at least a part of the signal pattern.
Meloling et al. (US6842013B1) Discloses a method for making transmission measurements in a dual-chambered anechoic chamber used in conjunction with spatial averaging. At selected transmitter antenna positions, measurement are taken at different frequencies. For each transmitter position, a measurement is made with the test device positioned between the apertures, and another without the test device. When all desired measurements have been made, the measurement data are spatially averaged; i.e., the measurements are scaled, summed, and averaged, providing more accurate transmission measurements.
Sappok et al. (US2018/0137695A1) Discloses an RF emissions sensing system including RF sensors for transmitting/receiving RF signals to and from engine system emission control components, a control unit for collecting/processing information from the RF signals and controlling system outputs. The RF emissions sensing system includes a means and method for the characterization of the operating state and/or performance of the engine system including the use of time-based or historical RF information and system outputs, the application/monitoring of perturbations to the engine system, the comparison of system outputs to baseline/reference system outputs, the periodic activation of the engine system after shut-down, the monitoring of changes in the electric or temperature profiles of the engine system emission control components, and communication with external sources to improve the accuracy of the system outputs.
Yamada et al. (US2014/0340192A1) Discloses systems and methods directed to establishing a signature for a device emitting electromagnetic radiation (EMR). The system includes a radio frequency (RF) receiver, a signal processor, and a signature generator. The RF receiver samples detected EMR, generate pulses having characteristics that are a function of the EMR, and select generated pulses in a spectral band having energy above a predetermined threshold. The signal processor establishes a set of correlated pulses, computes a vector space associated with the set of correlated pulses, and compares each pulse in the set of correlated pulses to a basis of the vector space for establishing a device signature, and associates pulses having a threshold percentage of energy within the basis in a database with a device identifier.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662