DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 7/22/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9-11, 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. “Ren” US 2020/0021411 in view of Gao et al. “Gao” US 2022/0330254 and further in view of Go et al. “Go” US 2023/0189254.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Ren teaches a method and terminal, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory (Figure 11) and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising:
receiving target signaling, wherein the target signaling comprises an antenna port indicator field, and the antenna port indicator field is used to indicate a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port of an uplink channel (the network device sends a notification message to the terminal (S302) which includes DMRS port group information; Paragraph 143 and Figure 3. The information includes antenna port indication fields in DCI (i.e. target signaling); Paragraph 208);
determining at least two DMRS port groups based on the antenna port indicator field (The UE receives the notification message which includes DMRS port groups (i.e. at least two) thus the UE determines the port groups based on the antenna port indicator; Paragraphs 143 and 208);
the target signaling includes an antenna port indicator field to determine a plurality of DMRS ports (the network device sends a notification message to the terminal (S302) which includes DMRS port group information; Paragraph 143 and Figure 3. The information includes antenna port indication fields in DCI (i.e. target signaling); Paragraph 208). While Ren teaches determining the two DRMS port groups based on the antenna port indicator field, Ren does not disclose the target signaling includes one or more first indicator fields which includes a target rank field. Gao teaches that in a DCI message, there is antenna port indication information as well as rank configuration information. The UE receives the DCI including DMRS information and rank information and can determine the multiple DMRS ports based on the antenna port field in the DCI and rank information; Paragraph 159. The rank information is the target rank/first indicator field).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include rank information in the DCI and using rank/port indicator fields to determine DMRS as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that aUE can determine DMRS ports based on port field in the DCI and rank for uplink channels as taught by Gao; Paragraph 159.
While Gao talks about rank, the prior art does not teach the target rank is equal to a sum of ranks indicated by a plurality of indicator fields. Go teaches that the rank of PUSCH TO 1 and rank of PUSCH TO 2 are summed. These values along with the port indexes are indicated to a terminal with respect to DMRS ports; Paragraphs 301-302.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include the target rank is a sum of ranks as taught by Go.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can determine the total number of configured/indicated PUSCH TOs as taught by Go; Paragraphs 301-302.
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Ren teaches grouping the plurality of DRMS ports into two DMRS port groups (the network device sends a notification message to the terminal (S302) which includes DMRS port group information; Paragraph 143 and Figure 3. The information includes antenna port indication fields in DCI (i.e. target signaling); Paragraph 208. Ren teaches the terminal determines (i.e. groups) the DMRS port groups based on the notification message; Paragraph 146. Paragraph 114 further teaches the DMRS port groups are associated with location information (QCL)). While Ren teaches determining the two DRMS port groups based on the antenna port indicator field, Ren does not disclose the target signaling includes one or more first indicator fields which includes a target rank field. Gao teaches that in a DCI message, there is antenna port indication information as well as rank configuration information. The UE receives the DCI including DMRS information and rank information and can determine the multiple DMRS ports based on the antenna port field in the DCI and rank information; Paragraph 159. The rank information is the target rank/first indicator field).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include rank information in the DCI and using rank/port indicator fields to determine DMRS as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that aUE can determine DMRS ports based on port field in the DCI and rank for uplink channels as taught by Gao; Paragraph 159.
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Ren teaches the grouping of the DMRS port includes grouping the DMRS ports based on locations of the DRMS ports (DMRS ports in DMRS port groups are based on QCL (i.e. location) information; Paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 6, Ren teaches the DMRS port groups as discussed above but does not disclose each DMRS port corresponding to one first indicator field wherein the first indicator fields corresponding to different port groups are different. Gao teaches that in a DCI message, there is antenna port indication information as well as rank configuration information for DMRS ports (thus one can see there is an indicator field (rank) associated with DMRS prots). The UE receives the DCI including DMRS information and rank information and can determine the multiple DMRS ports based on the antenna port field in the DCI and rank information; Paragraph 159. Further, as there are multiple ranks and multiple DMRS ports, this is viewed as different indicators. The Examiner notes claim 2 only requires there to be at least one first indicator field, thus the limitations “wherein the first indicator fields corresponding to different DMRS port groups” has no weight as when there is only one first indicator field, there is nothing to compare it to).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include rank information in the DCI and using rank/port indicator fields to determine DMRS as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that aUE can determine DMRS ports based on port field in the DCI and rank for uplink channels as taught by Gao; Paragraph 159.
Regarding claim 7, Ren does not teach determining the port groups based on the antenna field and a DMRS ports combination table which includes a first or second DMRS port combination table and the first table comprises the first DMRS port set. Gao teaches an antenna port field in a DCI and a master antenna port table associated with DMRS configurations; Paragraph 159. This is viewed as the first table that includes the first DMRS port set).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include determining the DMRS ports based on antenna indicator field and a port table as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that aUE can determine DMRS ports based on port field in the DCI and a master port table as taught by Gao; Paragraph 159.
Regarding claim 9, Ren teaches the target signaling includes a plurality of antenna port indictor fields each indicating a DMRS port group (Paragraph 208 teaches that there are multiple bits in the antenna port indication field within the DCI. This field indicates DMRS port groups).
Regarding claim 10, Ren teaches the target signaling includes two antenna port indictor fields and two first indicator fields wherein the second antenna port field is associated with the second indicator field (Paragraph 208 teaches that there are multiple bits in the antenna port indication field within the DCI. This field indicates DMRS port groups. The DCI can also indicate transport layers and transport layers corresponding to each DMRS port group; Paragraph 208. These are viewed as the first field indicators. As all of this information (antenna port indication fields and transport layer information) is within the DCI signaling, the information in the signaling is associated with one another).
Regarding claim 11, Ren teaches the target signaling includes two antenna port indictor fields and two first indicator fields wherein the second antenna port field is associated with the second indicator field (Paragraph 208 teaches that there are multiple bits in the antenna port indication field within the DCI. This field indicates DMRS port groups. The DCI can also indicate transport layers and transport layers corresponding to each DMRS port group; Paragraph 208. These are viewed as the first field indicators. As all of this information (antenna port indication fields and transport layer information) is within the DCI signaling, the information in the signaling is associated with one another). Ren does not disclose a port indicator field being determined based on a target rank indicator parameters in a first indicator field. Gao teaches that in a DCI message, there is antenna port indication information as well as rank configuration information. The UE receives the DCI including DMRS information and rank information and can determine the multiple DMRS ports based on the antenna port field in the DCI and rank information. There is an antenna port field and master antenna association table associated with the DMRS configuration; Paragraph 159. As all of these values are in the DCI/table one can determine any value by looking at another value in the table/DCI. This is viewed as the antenna port indication being determined based on rank information).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include rank information used to determine the antenna port indication field as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that aUE can determine DMRS ports based on port field in the DCI and rank for uplink channels as taught by Gao; Paragraph 159.
Regarding claim 14, Ren does not teach the terminal determines UL transmission mode based on the antenna port indicator field wherein the mode is a first, second or third transmission mode to send a PUSCH using one beam, send PUSCH using a plurality of beams, or PUSCH through TDM of a plurality of beams; however, Gao teaches an antenna port bit field in the DCI and port tables defined for DMRS port indication for UL PUSCH transmission. This information is associated with CDM groups (one or multiple); Paragraph 14. This is viewed as the transmission mode as claimed. As the art teaches 5G NR concepts, the concepts are applied to beams (i.e. one or multiple beams for PUSCH).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include determining the UL transmission mode based on the antenna port indicator as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the determination of DMRT ports and CDM groups can be determined from the antenna port indication bit field as taught by Gao; Paragraph 14.
Regarding claim 15, Ren does not teach the transmission mode is used when the antenna port field indicates a codepoint or DMRS ports indicated by the antenna field belong to one CDM group; however, Gao teaches an antenna port bit field in the DCI and port tables defined for DMRS port indication for UL PUSCH transmission. This information is associated with CDM groups (one CDM group); Paragraph 14. This is viewed as the transmission mode as claimed. Further, there is a codepoint with respect to the port tables; Paragraph 168).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include UL transmission mode is based on the DMRS indicated one CDM group as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the determination of DMRT ports and CDM groups can be determined from the antenna port indication bit field as taught by Gao; Paragraph 14.
Regarding claim 16, Ren does not teach the transmission mode is used when the DMRS ports indicated by the antenna field belong to one CDM group; however, Gao teaches an antenna port bit field in the DCI and port tables defined for DMRS port indication for UL PUSCH transmission. This information is associated with CDM groups (one CDM group); Paragraph 14. This is viewed as the transmission mode as claimed. Further, claim 14 is optional as to which transmission mode is used, since the first transmission mode in claim 14 was selected, the limitations of claim 16 are not needed).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include UL transmission mode is based on the DMRS indicated one CDM group as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the determination of DMRT ports and CDM groups can be determined from the antenna port indication bit field as taught by Gao; Paragraph 14.
Regarding claim 17, Ren does not teach the transmission mode is used when the two DMRS ports are from at least two CDM groups; however, Gao teaches an antenna port bit field in the DCI and port tables defined for DMRS port indication for UL PUSCH transmission. This information is associated with CDM groups (one CDM group); Paragraph 14 (see table 7). There are multiple CDM groups and DMRS groups thus reading on two DMRS ports and two CDM groups. Further, claim 14 is optional as to which transmission mode is used, since the first transmission mode in claim 14 was selected, the limitations of claim 17 are not needed).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include UL transmission mode is based on the DMRS being from different CDM groups p as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the determination of DMRT ports and CDM groups can be determined from the antenna port indication bit field as taught by Gao; Paragraph 14.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Ren teaches a method and network side device, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory (Figure 9) and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising:
sending target signaling, wherein the target signaling comprises an antenna port indicator field,
wherein the antenna port indicator field is used to indicate a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port of an uplink channel (the network device sends a notification message to the terminal (S302) which includes DMRS port group information; Paragraph 143 and Figure 3. The information includes antenna port indication fields in DCI (i.e. target signaling); Paragraph 208);
the antenna port indicator field is used to determine at least two DMRS port groups (The UE receives the notification message which includes DMRS port groups (i.e. at least two) thus the UE determines the port groups based on the antenna port indicator; Paragraphs 143 and 208).
the target signaling includes an antenna port indicator field to determine a plurality of DMRS ports (the network device sends a notification message to the terminal (S302) which includes DMRS port group information; Paragraph 143 and Figure 3. The information includes antenna port indication fields in DCI (i.e. target signaling); Paragraph 208). While Ren teaches determining the two DRMS port groups based on the antenna port indicator field, Ren does not disclose the target signaling includes one or more first indicator fields which includes a target rank field. Gao teaches that in a DCI message, there is antenna port indication information as well as rank configuration information. The UE receives the DCI including DMRS information and rank information and can determine the multiple DMRS ports based on the antenna port field in the DCI and rank information; Paragraph 159. The rank information is the target rank/first indicator field).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include rank information in the DCI and using rank/port indicator fields to determine DMRS as taught by Gao.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that aUE can determine DMRS ports based on port field in the DCI and rank for uplink channels as taught by Gao; Paragraph 159.
While Gao talks about rank, the prior art does not teach the target rank is equal to a sum of ranks indicated by a plurality of indicator fields. Go teaches that the rank of PUSCH TO 1 and rank of PUSCH TO 2 are summed. These values along with the port indexes are indicated to a terminal with respect to DMRS ports; Paragraphs 301-302.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include the target rank is a sum of ranks as taught by Go.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can determine the total number of configured/indicated PUSCH TOs as taught by Go; Paragraphs 301-302.
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Gao in view of Go and further in view of Kwak et al. “Kwak” US 2021/0167914.
Regarding claim 12, Ren does not teach a relationship between a PTRS and DMRS port group wherein the association is PTRS ports are separately associated with DMRS port groups; however, Kwak teaches DMRS and PT-RS ports are associated with each other; Paragraphs 167 and 170. Thu sone can see a plurality of PT-RS is associated with a plurality of DMRS ports.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include PT-RS associated with DMRS as taught by Kwak.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can use the PT-RS for phase noise compensation as taught by Kwak; Paragraphs 167 and 170.
Regarding claim 13, Ren does not teach the target signaling includes PTRS and DMRS association fields to indicate the ports are associated; however, Kwak teaches DMRS and PT-RS ports are associated with each other and are associated with the DCI (i.e. target signaling); Paragraphs 167 and 170. Thu sone can see a plurality of PT-RS is associated with a plurality of DMRS ports.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ren to include PT-RS associated with DMRS in the DCI as taught by Kwak.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can use the PT-RS for phase noise compensation as taught by Kwak; Paragraphs 167 and 170.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues the prior art does not teach determining at least two DMRS port groups based on a target rank wherein the target rank is determined based on at least a rank indicated by the one or more first indicator fields and wherein the target rank is a sum of ranks indicated by a plurality of first indicators. In particular applicant argues that although Gao teaches determining an antenna port table based on a master antenna table associated with DMRS and the rank configuration and also determining DMRS ports based on antenna port fields in the DCI and port table, Gao does not teach DMRS port groups, must less determining at least two DMRS port groups based on a target rank wherein the target rank is based on a rank indicated by one or more first indicator fields.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ren was utilized to disclose the determination of DMRS port groups as shown in the rejection; Paragraph 143. Gao was further relied upon to disclose a first indicator field that is used to determine a target rank which is tied to DMRS port groups. In particular Gao teaches antenna port indication information and rank configuration information (i.e. rank/first indicator field) is transmit within a DCI message. Based on the received rank information, multiple DMRS ports can be determined; Paragraph 159. Thus one can see the terminal can determine port groups based on rank and antenna port indicator fields as claimed.
Further definition to how the target rank impacts the determination of the DMRS ports would help overcome the cited art of record. The claims, as written, do not specify how one thing (target rank) impacts the determination step.
Applicant further argues Go does not teach the target rank is a sum of ranks indicated by a plurality of first field indicators because Go teaches indicating DMRS ports for multiple PUSCHs through a single antenna port scheduling DCI. Applicant argues claim 1 requires a plurality of first indicator fields to indicate a number of concurrent layers (equivalently, a number of ranks) transmitted simultaneously by different TRPs at a same time and thus the role of rank summation by Go is different than claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language does not define what the indicator fields indicate beyond a basic “sum of ranks”. Go does not need to indicate concurrent layers transmitted simultaneously by different TRPs as argued. Thus the argument is moot. The Examiner suggests positively defining what the rank represents.
Go teaches that rank of PUSCH 1 and PUSCH 2 are summed. These values along with the port indexes (i.e. multiple indicator fields) are indicated to the terminal with respect to DMRS ports; Paragraphs 301-302. Thus one can see multiple indicators are used.
In an effort to overcome the cited art of record, the Examiner suggests defining how the target rank impacts the determination of DMRS and further to define what the rank represents. Such amendments would help overcome the current grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411