Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20220322049).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/15/20, Wang teaches A method for multicast service transmission ([0080], “the network device schedules the unicast service and/or MBMS service for the terminal device.”), comprising:
sending ([0080], “the terminal device transmits the first indication information and/or the first capability information to the network device.”), by a terminal when the terminal is interested in or receives a multicast service ([0084], “the first indication information is configured to indicate the service information of the MBMS service that is performed by the terminal device currently.”), related information of the multicast service ([0080], “the first indication information is configured to indicate the service information of the MBMS service, and the first capability information is configured to indicate the receiving capability of the terminal device for a MBMS service.”) to a network side device ([0080], “network device”) corresponding to a unicast service ([0080], the network device can schedule “unicast service” to the terminal device.),
wherein the related information of the multicast service at least comprises at least one of capability information of the terminal ([0082], “the first capability information is configured to indicate the receiving capability of the terminal device for the MBMS service and/or unicast service.”), carrier feature information of the multicast service, or time domain periodicity information of the multicast service, and the time domain periodicity information of the multicast service is used for indicating an effective time domain of the capability information or the carrier feature information of the multicast service.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2/16, Wang teaches wherein the capability information comprises information about a capability of the terminal ([0082], “the first capability information is configured to indicate the receiving capability of the terminal device for the MBMS service and/or unicast service.”) that is occupied by a carrier of the multicast service ([0084], “the first indication information is configured to indicate the service information of the MBMS service that is performed by the terminal device currently.”), or the capability information comprises information about a remaining capability other than the capability of the terminal that is occupied by the carrier of the multicast service.
Regarding claim(s) 7, Wang teaches wherein the related information of the multicast service is transmitted through any one of the following:
a Multicast/Broadcast Service (MBS) Interest Indication;
terminal assistance information ([0081], “the terminal device transmits the assistance information to the network device ... The assistance information includes ... first indication information and first capability information.”); or
first signaling, wherein the first signaling is agreed on in a protocol and dedicated to reporting the related information of the multicast service.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Matolia (US 20210352443).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Matolia teaches wherein an occasion for triggering sending of the related information of the multicast service comprises any one of the following:
the terminal starts the multicast service;
the terminal ends the multicast service ([0134], “the UE 110 may be triggered to send a multicast stop request to the UPF 320. This multicast session stop request may include information such as, but not limited to, TMGI, SUPI, session ID, etc.”);
the terminal receives that a carrier feature of the multicast service changes; or the terminal receives that capability information of the multicast service changes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Wang to specify session ID as taught by Matolia. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to stop the multicast service with the session ID.
Claim(s) 3, 9-11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Wu (US 20230276468).
Regarding claim(s) 3/17, Wu teaches wherein the time domain periodicity information comprises at least one of the following:
a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration of the multicast service; a periodicity length of the multicast service;
a starting position of a periodicity of the multicast service ([0078], “the UE 102 can indicate a time that the UE 102 will start receiving MBS .... the UE 102 will receive MBS (e.g., IPTV programming) in one minute or at a certain time (e.g., 10:30 am).”);
a length of onDuration of the multicast service; periodicity information of an active time active time of the multicast service; or pattern information of the active time of the multicast service in each period.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Wang to specify start time as taught by Wu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need a base station needs coordinate transmission according to the multicast service.
Regarding claim(s) 9, Wu teaches sending, by the terminal, first indication information to the network side device ([0078], “the UE 102 can indicate a time that the UE 102 will start receiving MBS.”),
wherein the first indication information is used for indicating extended information of the active time of the multicast service to the network side device, and the extended information comprises at least one of a relative time, an absolute time, an end time, or a start time ([0078], “the UE 102 can indicate a time that the UE 102 will start receiving MBS .... the UE 102 will receive MBS (e.g., IPTV programming) in one minute or at a certain time (e.g., 10:30 am).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Wang to specify start time as taught by Wu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need a base station needs coordinate transmission according to the multicast service.
Regarding claim(s) 10, Wang teaches wherein the first indication information is transmitted through L1 signaling or media access control (MAC) signaling ([0098], “the first MAC CE carries the first indication information.”).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Wu teaches wherein the extended information of the active time corresponds to at least one multicast service ([0078], “the UE 102 can indicate a time that the UE 102 will start receiving MBS .... the UE 102 will receive MBS (e.g., IPTV programming) in one minute or at a certain time (e.g., 10:30 am).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Wang to specify start time as taught by Wu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need a base station needs coordinate transmission according to the multicast service.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jung (US 20150373507).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Jung teaches receiving, by the terminal, target configuration information sent by the network side device ([0261], “UE receives an MBMS reporting configuration from a network.”), wherein the target configuration information is used for indicating, to the terminal, whether the network side device supports the terminal in reporting the related information of the multicast service or whether the network side device supports the terminal in reporting the first indication information ([0271], “A reporting configuration transmitted to UE may include MBMS logging purpose information indicative of an object of logging. The MBMS logging purpose information may indicate the report of MBMS information by UE.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Wang to specify reporting configuration as taught by Jung. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to obtain MBMS logging information.
Regarding claim(s) 13 , Jung teaches wherein when the target configuration information is used for indicating, to the terminal, whether the network side device supports the terminal in reporting the related information of the multicast service, the target configuration information comprises any one of the following:
the network side device does not support reporting of the carrier feature information of the multicast service, capability changing information, the time domain periodicity information, or the service adjustment capability information; or
the network side device supports reporting of at least one of the carrier feature information ([0261], “The MBMS reporting configuration may include configuration information for obtaining, logging, and reporting information related to the MBMS service reception of the UE.”), the capability changing information, the time domain periodicity information, or the service adjustment capability information of the multicast service.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-6, 14 and 18-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411