Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) and a(2) as being anticipated by Matsuda(US 20010028174 A1)).
Regarding Claim 1, Matsuda teaches a robot hand comprising: a palm module configured to provide a base surface; a first finger module provided on one side of the palm module such that a position thereof is changeable on the palm module; a second finger module provided on the other side of the palm module such that a position thereof is changeable on the palm module; a plurality of third finger modules provided on the palm module and fixed in one direction between the first finger module and the second finger module; and a first linkage part configured to connect the palm module and the first finger module to each other, wherein, when the position of the first finger module is changed on the palm module, the first linkage part guides the first finger module to a target position without interfering with the palm module. (Refer to annotated figs above and Paragraph [008])
Regarding Claim 2, Matsuda teaches the robot hand of claim 1, further comprising a first actuator module, wherein the first actuator module is mounted on each of the first to third finger modules to individually operate the first to third finger modules.
(Refer to annotated figs above and Paragraph[0022])
Regarding Claim 3, Matsuda teaches the robot hand of claim 2, Matsuda further teaches wherein each of the first to third finger modules has at least two joints in a longitudinal direction, and the first actuator module is provided in a one-to-one correspondence with the at least two joints to directly operate each knuckle of the first to third finger modules about the joint. (Refer to annotated figs above and Paragraph [0022])
Regarding Claim 4, Matsuda teaches the robot hand of claim 2, further comprising a second actuator module, wherein the second actuator module is provided on the palm module, and the second actuator module is connected to the first finger module through the first linkage part so as to provide a driving force to the first finger module such that the position of the first finger module is changed on the palm module. [Refer to annotated figs above Paragraph(0055 and 0080)]
Regarding Claim 6, Matsuda teaches the robot hand of claim 1, further comprising a second linkage part, wherein the second linkage part guides the second finger module to a target position without interfering with the palm module when the position of the second finger module is changed on the palm module. (Refer to annotated figs above Paragraph [008])
Regarding Claim 7, Matsuda teaches the robot hand of claim 6, further comprising a third actuator module, wherein the third actuator module is provided on the palm module, and the third actuator module is connected to the second finger module through the second linkage part to provide a driving force to the second finger module such that the position of the second finger module is changed on the palm module. (Refer to annotated figs above Paragraph [008])
Regarding Claim 10, Matsuda teaches the robot hand of claim 1, wherein the robot hand is switched to any one of a plurality of operation modes according to change in the positions of the first and second finger modules on the palm module. (Refer to annotated figs above)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) and a(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Matsuda.
Regarding Claim 9, Matsuda teaches the robot hand of claim 1, wherein each of the first to third finger modules includes: a knuckle part and a fingertip provided at an end of the knuckle part. Matsuda fails to teach wherein the knuckle part configured to provide an installation space of the first actuator module. However Matsuda teaches that all the finger mechanisms can be switched around or can replace each other. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the knuckle part configured to provide an installation space of the first actuator module in order to replace broken actuators. (Refer to annotated figs above and Paragraph [0021 and 0022])
Claim(s) 5,8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda , and further in view of Kim(US 20210197403 A1) .
Regarding Claim 5,Matsuda teaches the robot hand of claim 4, wherein the first actuator module, which is provided on one end of the first finger module in the longitudinal direction, is disposed to face the second actuator module in a horizontal direction, and the other end thereof in the longitudinal direction is hinge-coupled to a lower end of the first actuator module; Matsuda fails to teach the first linkage part includes: a first link in which one end thereof in the longitudinal direction is axially coupled to a lower driving shaft of the second actuator module, and a second link in which one end thereof in the longitudinal direction is hinge-coupled to an upper frame of the palm module having the second actuator module provided under the palm module, and the other end thereof in the longitudinal direction is hinge-coupled to an upper end of the first actuator module, and a hinge shaft, to which the second link and the upper frame are hinge-coupled, and the driving shaft are not coaxially aligned in a vertical direction. However Kim teaches a robot hand with a plurality of finger modules where the finger module is rotatably coupled to a driving shaft on the palm. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Matsuda and Kim to have a robot hand with finger modules and actuators linked in a certain way to achieve motion like a human hand, such that an operation corresponding to a shape of an object may be accurately performed. (Refer to annotated figs above)
Regarding Claim 8, Matsuda teaches the robot hand of claim 7, Matsuda fails to teach wherein the second linkage part includes: a third link in which one end thereof in the longitudinal direction is axially coupled to a lower driving shaft of the third actuator module, and the other end thereof in the longitudinal direction is hinge-coupled to a lower end of the first actuator module; and a fourth link in which one end thereof in the longitudinal direction is hinge-coupled to an upper frame of the palm module having the third actuator module provided under the palm module, and the other end thereof in the longitudinal direction is hinge-coupled to an upper end of the first actuator module, and a hinge shaft, to which the fourth link and the upper frame are hinge-coupled, and the driving shaft are not coaxially aligned in a vertical direction. However Kim teaches a robot hand with a plurality of finger modules where the finger module is rotatably coupled to a driving shaft on the palm. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Matsuda and Kim to have a robot hand with finger modules and actuators linked in a certain way to achieve motion like a human hand, such that an operation corresponding to a shape of an object may be accurately performed. (Refer to annotated figs above)
Regarding Claim 11,Matusda teaches the robot hand of claim 10, Matsuda fails to teach wherein the plurality of operation modes include a left hand mode in which the first finger module serves as a thumb, a right hand mode in which the second finger module serves as a thumb, and a gripper mode in which the first finger module and the second finger module are positioned to face the third finger module. However Kim teaches a robot hand with a plurality of finger modules where the finger module is rotatably coupled to a driving shaft on the palm where the first finger can act as a thumb. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Matsuda and Kim to have a robot hand with finger modules capable of achieving different gripping modes such that a grip corresponding to a shape of an object may be accurately performed.
Conclusion
/BRIAN BRAHJA/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654