DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 -2, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0196075 to Barron et al.
Barron discloses;
As to claim 1, a cooling system block assembly (FIG. 1) adapted for mounting to a packaged integrated circuit (402), comprising: a cooling system block (224) including a plurality of attachment members (510, 610) and one or more positioning members (220), the plurality of attachment members, rotatably disposable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block, the one or more positioning members, removably fixable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block; and a circuit board assembly (206, 212, 412) fixed to the cooling system block via the plurality of attachment members, the circuit board assembly including a socket (206) and a plate (412), the socket comprising one or more positioning hubs (416, FIG. 3B), the plate comprising a plurality of attachment hubs (hole thru 412 for 610), the one or more positioning members rotatably disposable within the one or more positioning hubs, the plurality of attachment members removably fixable within the plurality of attachment hubs, wherein when the one or more positioning members is disposed within the one or more positioning hubs and the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the plurality of attachment members is vertically aligned with the plurality of attachment hubs.
As to claim 2, the cooling system block assembly of claim 1, wherein the cooling system block further includes a longitudinal axis and a lateral axis, and wherein when the one or more positioning members is not disposed within the one or more positioning hubs and the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the cooling system block is movable in a longitudinal axis direction and in a lateral axis direction (when neither attachment means is in effect the cooling block is completely free).
As to claim 9, the cooling system block assembly of claim 1, wherein the cooling system block further includes four corners (Fig. 2), and wherein the plurality of attachment members comprises four plurality of attachment members (610), the plurality of attachment members, rotatably disposable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block, at the four corners of the cooling system block.
As to claim 10, the cooling system block assembly of claim 9, wherein the one or more positioning members further comprises two one or more positioning members (220), the one or more positioning members, removably fixable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block, at two opposing sides of the cooling system block and between two opposing plurality of attachment members (See Fig. 2, 220 is between two opposing attachment members 610).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2017/0196075 to Barron et al. in view of US 7,342,796 to Aukzemas et al (Herein Auk).
As to claim 11, Barron discloses a modified cooling system block assembly (see FIG. 1) adapted for mounting to a packaged integrated circuit (402), comprising: a cooling system block (224) including a plurality of attachment members (510, 610) and one or more modified positioning members (220), the plurality of attachment members, rotatably disposable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block, the one or more modified positioning members, removably fixable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block; and a circuit board assembly (206, 212, 412) fixed to the cooling system block via the plurality of attachment members, the circuit board assembly including a socket (206) and a plate (412), the socket comprising one or more positioning (416, FIG. 3B), the plate comprising a plurality of attachment hubs (hole thru 412 for 610), the plurality of attachment members removably fixable within the plurality of attachment hubs, wherein when the one or more modified positioning members is disposed above the one or more positioning hubs and the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the plurality of attachment members is vertically aligned with the plurality of attachment hubs. Zhang fails to disclose one or more positioning pins, the one or more modified positioning members rotatably disposable encompassing the one or more positioning pins. Auk teaches a means of securing a cooling block (13) comprising a positioning pin (47) , a modified positioning member (19) rotatably disposable encompassing the pin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the positioning member of Barron with the pin system of Auk in order to provide a fastener which will not dislodge from the cooling block during assembly as taught by Auk (col. 1, ll.47-54).
As to claim 12, modified Barron teaches the modified cooling block assembly of claim 11. Modified Barron further teaches wherein the cooling system block further includes a longitudinal axis (Annotated FIG. 2 below, LL) and a lateral axis (LL’), and wherein when the one or more positioning members is not disposed within the one or more positioning hubs and the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the cooling system block is movable in a longitudinal axis direction and in a lateral axis direction (when neither attachment means is in effect the cooling block is completely free).
As to claim 19, modified Barron teaches the modified cooling system block assembly of claim 11, wherein the cooling system block further includes four corners (Fig. 2), and wherein the plurality of attachment members comprises four plurality of attachment members (610), the plurality of attachment members, rotatably disposable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block, at the four corners of the cooling system block.
As to claim 20, modified Barron teaches the modified cooling system block assembly of claim 19, wherein the one or more positioning members further comprises two one or more positioning members (220), the one or more positioning members, removably fixable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block, at two opposing sides of the cooling system block and between two opposing plurality of attachment members (See Fig. 2, 220 is between two opposing attachment members 610).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0196075 to Barron et al. in view of US 2023/0247794 to Tseng et al.
As to claim 3, Barron discloses the cooling system block assembly of claim 1. Barron fails to disclose further comprising a fin stack and a plurality of heat pipes, the plurality of heat pipes comprising a fin stack portion, a transportation portion, and a cooling system block portion, the transportation portion between the fin stack portion and the cooling system block portion, the fin stack portion coupled to the fin stack, and the cooling system block portion coupled to the cooling system block. Tseng discloses (Fig. 9C) a fin stack (982) and plurality of heat pipes (981), the plurality of heat pipes comprising a fin stack portion (the portion penetrating the fin stack 982), a transportation portion (the portion suspended between the fin stack 982 and the heat sink 980), and a cooling system block portion (penetrating cooling system block 980), the transportation portion between the fin stack portion and the cooling system block portion, the fin stack portion coupled to the fin stack, and the cooling system block portion coupled to the cooling system block. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling system block of Barron with a heat pipe system as taught by Tseng in order to increase the heat transfer capacity of the system.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0196075 to Barron et al. in view of US 7,342,796 to Aukzemas et al (Herein Auk) further in view of US 2023/0247794 to Tseng et al.
As to claim 13, modified Barron discloses the modified cooling system block assembly of claim 11. Barron fails to disclose further comprising a fin stack and a plurality of heat pipes, the plurality of heat pipes comprising a fin stack portion, a transportation portion, and a cooling system block portion, the transportation portion between the fin stack portion and the cooling system block portion, the fin stack portion coupled to the fin stack, and the cooling system block portion coupled to the cooling system block. Tseng discloses (Fig. 9C) a fin stack (982) and plurality of heat pipes (981), the plurality of heat pipes comprising a fin stack portion (the portion penetrating the fin stack 982), a transportation portion (the portion suspended between the fin stack 982 and the heat sink 980), and a cooling system block portion (penetrating cooling system block 980), the transportation portion between the fin stack portion and the cooling system block portion, the fin stack portion coupled to the fin stack, and the cooling system block portion coupled to the cooling system block. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling system block of Barron with a heat pipe system as taught by Tseng in order to increase the heat transfer capacity of the system.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0196075 to Barron et al. in view of US 5,619,399 to Mok.
As to claim 4, Barron discloses the cooling system block assembly of claim 1. Barron further discloses wherein the circuit board assembly further includes a circuit board (212), the circuit board comprising a plurality of board through-holes (where 610 penetrates 212), and wherein the socket further comprises a plurality of socket through-holes (where 220 penetrates 206), the circuit board (212) coupled between the socket (206) and the plate (412). Barron fails to disclose the plurality of attachment hubs protruding through the plurality of board through-holes and the plurality of socket through-holes. Mok teaches cooling system block assembly (Figs. 1 and 2) including a circuit board (11) comprising board through-hole (17), and wherein the socket (12) further comprises socket through-hole (18), the circuit board (11) coupled between the socket (12) and the plate (10), attachment hub (16) protruding through the board through-hole and the socket through-hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the system of Barron to have an attachment hub that penetrates both the circuit board and the socket as taught by Mok as a mere choice in design, the arrangement adding no criticality to the function of the system.
As to claim 5, modified Barron teaches the cooling system block assembly of claim 4. Barron further discloses wherein the packaged integrated circuit (402) is electrically coupled to the circuit board via the socket (para [0031], Load frame 206 has an open region onto which the semiconductor chip 402 extends through) and wherein the cooling system block is thermally coupled to an upper surface of the packaged integrated circuit (via 408).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0196075 to Barron et al. in view of US 7,342,796 to Aukzemas et al (Herein Auk) further in view of US 5,619,399 to Mok.
As to claim 14, modified Barron discloses the modified cooling system block assembly of claim 11. Barron further discloses wherein the circuit board assembly further includes a circuit board (212), the circuit board comprising a plurality of board through-holes (where 615 penetrates 212), and wherein the socket further comprises a plurality of socket through-holes (where 220 penetrates 206), the circuit board (212) coupled between the socket (206) and the plate (412). Barron fails to disclose the plurality of attachment hubs protruding through the plurality of board through-holes and the plurality of socket through-holes. Mok teaches cooling system block assembly (Figs. 1 and 2) including a circuit board (11) comprising board through-hole (17), and wherein the socket (12) further comprises socket through-hole (18), the circuit board (11) coupled between the socket (12) and the plate (10), attachment hub (16) protruding through the board through-hole and the socket through-hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the system of Barron to have an attachment hub that penetrates both the circuit board and the socket as taught by Mok as a mere choice in design, the arrangement adding no criticality to the function of the system. As to claim 15, modified Barron teaches the cooling system block assembly of claim 14. Barron further discloses wherein the packaged integrated circuit (402) is electrically coupled to the circuit board via the socket (para [0031], Load frame 206 has an open region onto which the semiconductor chip 402 extends through) and wherein the cooling system block is thermally coupled to an upper surface of the packaged integrated circuit (via 408).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2017/0196075 to Barron et al. in view of US 2021/0045254 to Zhang et al.
As to claim 6, Barron discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Barron is fails to disclose wherein the cooling system block further includes a plurality of second counterbores, each plurality of second counterbores respectively comprises an inner annular ledge, and wherein each plurality of attachment members respectively comprises a compression member and a securing ring, the plurality of attachment members, rotatably disposable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block via the plurality of second counterbores, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the securing ring abuts a first side of the inner annular ledge and the compression member abuts a second side of the inner annular ledge, the second side opposite the first side. Zhang teaches (Fig. 7) a system cooling block (30) including a plurality of second counterbores (Larger diameter of 31), each plurality of second counterbores respectively comprising an inner annular ledge (241 rests on this annular ledge), and wherein each plurality of attachment members respectively comprises an a compression member (spring under head of 210) and a securing ring (260), the plurality of attachment members, rotatably disposable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block via the plurality of second counterbores, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the securing ring abuts a first side of the inner annular ledge (see Fig. 5, 200) and the compression member abuts a second side of the inner annular ledge, the second side opposite the first side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling block system of Barron with an attachment means as taught by Zhang in order to prevent the bolt from being dislodged from the cooling block as well as applying tension to the cooling block when tightening.
As to claim 7, modified Barron teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Barron fails to teach wherein the compression member comprises a first compression force and a second compression force, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the compression member comprises the first compression force, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the securing ring does not abut the first side and the compression member comprises the second compression force, the second compression force is greater than the first compression force. Zhang teaches a compression member (spring under 210) comprising a first compression force (spring under 210 being extended upwards) and a second compression force (spring under 210 being compressed), and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the compression member comprises the first compression force, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the securing ring does not abut the first side (of the annular ledge proximate 241) and the compression member comprises the second compression force, the second compression force is greater than the first compression force.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2017/0196075 to Barron et al. in view of US 7,342,796 to Aukzemas et al (Herein Auk) and further in view of US 2021/0045254 to Zhang et al.
As to claim 16, Barron in view of Auk teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Barron fails to disclose wherein the cooling system block further includes a plurality of second counterbores, each plurality of second counterbores respectively comprises an inner annular ledge, and wherein each plurality of attachment members respectively comprises a compression member and a securing ring, the plurality of attachment members, rotatably disposable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block via the plurality of second counterbores, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the securing ring abuts a first side of the inner annular ledge and the compression member abuts a second side of the inner annular ledge, the second side opposite the first side. Zhang teaches (Fig. 7) a system cooling block (30) including a plurality of second counterbores (Larger diameter of 31), each plurality of second counterbores respectively comprising an inner annular ledge (241 rests on this annular ledge), and wherein each plurality of attachment members respectively comprises an a compression member (spring under 210) and a securing ring (260), the plurality of attachment members, rotatably disposable through and vertically movable within, the cooling system block via the plurality of second counterbores, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the securing ring abuts a first side of the inner annular ledge (see Fig. 5, 200) and the compression member abuts a second side of the inner annular ledge, the second side opposite the first side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cooling block system of Barron with an attachment means as taught by Zhang in order to prevent the bolt from being dislodged from the cooling block as well as applying tension to the cooling block when tightening.
As to claim 17, modified Barron teaches all of the limitations of claim 16. Barron fails to teach wherein the compression member comprises a first compression force and a second compression force, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the compression member comprises the first compression force, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the securing ring does not abut the first side and the compression member comprises the second compression force, the second compression force is greater than the first compression force. Zhang teaches a compression member (spring under 210) comprising a first compression force (spring under 210 being extended upwards) and a second compression force (spring under 210 being compressed), and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is not fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the compression member comprises the first compression force, and wherein when the plurality of attachment members is fixed within the plurality of attachment hubs, the securing ring does not abut the first side (of the annular ledge proximate 241) and the compression member comprises the second compression force, the second compression force is greater than the first compression force.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As to claim 8, the one or more positioning members disposed within the one or more positioning hubs via the external threaded portion threaded within the inner threaded portion and the positioning knob protruding within the one or more positioning hubs, in addition to all previous claim limitations, could not be fairly overcome by the prior art, specifically US 2024/0410413 to Tseng et al. Similarly, as to claim 18, the one or more modified positioning members disposed encompassing the one or more positioning pins via the external threaded portion threaded within the modified inner threaded portion and the one or more positioning pins protruding within the positioning bore, in addition to all previous claim limitations, could not be fairly overcome by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0410413 to Tseng et al. discloses an internal threaded member. EP 4,672,323 to NAAS disclosing spring-loaded attachment means and threaded cooling block. CN 207459230 to Wu et al. disclosing pin attachment means.
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ROBERT J HOFFBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841