DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "which indicates that the receiver missed an initial scheduling of the transmission by the apparatus" in lines 20-23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claimed “the receiver” and “the transmission” in lines 20-23 lacks anteceded basis.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein the asynchronous protocol” in lines 9-10 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 8, lines 2-3 of the claim recites the claim limitation “wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive the configuration message from a base station”. However the claimed processor circuit refers to the processor circuit of the apparatus of claim 1 from which claim 8 indirectly depends from. The apparatus comprising a processor circuit in claim 1 refers to a base station since lines 21-23 of claim recites the limitation “wherein the apparatus is configured to detect a missing PUCCH for a HARQ ACK/NACK, which indicates that the receiver missed an initial scheduling of the transmission by the apparatus” which is a claim step performed by the base station in light of the applicants specification i.e., US (2024/0348374) Para [0226] i.e., “The gNB may detect the missing PUCCH”. Therefore it is unclear in claim 8 how the processor circuit of the apparatus of claim 8 which refers to a base station can receive the configuration message from the base station. In light of the applicants specification in Para [0024] i.e., the base station and/or the UE can include the apparatus and therefore the claim features of claim 8 seem to refer to steps performed by the UE which can receive the configuration message from the base station (i.e., see Para’s [0024] & [0089] of the applicants specification). Therefore it is unclear how the claim features in claim 8 which is performed by the UE is related to the base station apparatus.
Regarding Claim 15, lines 2-3 recite the claim limitation i.e., where the DCI format comprises a first DCI format and a second DCI format. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim recites the claim limitation towards a low latency PUCCH for sending ACK/NACK feedback which refers to steps performed by the UE which transmits the PUCCH and not a base station which the apparatus of claim 19 refers to based on its dependence indirectly to claim 1. Therefore it is unclear how PUCCH which is transmitted by UE is performed by the base station apparatus. Furthermore it is unclear how the claim features in claim 19 which is performed by the UE is related to the base station apparatus.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "wherein the detection indicates that the receiver missed an initial scheduling of the transmission by the apparatus" in lines 11-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claimed “the receiver”, “the transmission”, and “the apparatus” in lines 20-23 lacks anteceded basis.
The dependent claims 2, 4-7, 9-14, 16-18, 20-22, and 24 which depend from claim 1 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on their dependence from independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US (2019/0028225) in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513), further in view of Sun et al. US (2013/0223344), and further in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10 i.e., base station & Fig. 21 i.e., base station 110) comprising: a processor circuit (see Fig. 21 i.e., processor 112) and a memory circuit (see Fig. 21 i.e., memory 114), wherein the memory is arranged to store instructions for the processor circuit (see Fig. 21 & Para’s [0174] & [0177-0178]), wherein the processor circuit (see Fig. 21 i.e., processor 112) is arranged to receive at least one data packets, (see Fig. 7, S602 & Para’s [0080] i.e., packet, [0086] i.e., the UE 120 transmits UL data (i.e., “packet”) to an eNB 110…The eNB 110 decodes the UL data received from the UE 120 and then generates an ACK/NACK)
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to request a retransmission of a data packet when there is a non-successful transmission of the data packet, (see Para’s [0085-0086] i.e., The eNB 110 decodes the UL data received from the UE 120 and then generates an ACK/NACK. When decoding of the UL data fails, the eNB 110 transmits NACK to the UE 120 (S604) (i.e., “request a retransmission”). The UE retransmits the UL data after 4 subframes from the time at which NACK is received (S606) & [0093-0094] i.e., Here, NACK corresponds to an ACK/NACK response to previous PUSCH transmission. In this case, the UE can initially transmit/retransmit one or more TBs through a PUSCH after k subframes via processes for PUSCH transmission)
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform a first HARQ operation, (see Para’s [0085] i.e., synchronous HARQ & [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) (i.e., sync-HARQ operation may be the “first HARQ operation”) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation)
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform a second HARQ operation, (see Para’s [0085] i.e., asynchronous HARQ & [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation (i.e., async-HARQ operation may be the “second HARQ operation”))
wherein the first HARQ operation is different from the second HARQ operation, (see Para’s [0085] & [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation)
Yang does not disclose the claim feature of wherein a first HARQ entity is associated with a first logical channel and a second HARQ entity is associated with a second logical channel, wherein the first logical channel is different from the second logical channel. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses wherein a first HARQ entity is associated with a first logical channel that performs a first HARQ operation (see Fig. 4 i.e., plurality of HARQ entities associated with Service 1 and Service 2 on logical channels & Para’s [0044] i.e., a UE may support different types of services which include URLL and eMBB, [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050] i.e., One or more radio bearers/flows/logical channels may be mapped to one service, [0051-0054] i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel/RAN slice/NW slice/AIS, [0064] i.e., Where different services are associated with different PHY configurations (physical channels or resources) and/or MAC configurations (e.g., HARQ protocols), [0082] i.e., the logical channel mapped to the service type, & [0094] i.e., Fig. 4 illustrates an L2 structure in a UE according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. A separate MAC entity may be present for each service (or network slice or RAN slice). Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service & [0152] i.e., As another example, where the UE transmits and receives data, a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out)
and a second HARQ entity is associated with a second logical channel that performs a second HARQ operation (see Fig. 4 i.e., plurality of HARQ entities associated with Service 1 and Service 2 on logical channels & Para’s [0044] i.e., a UE may support different types of services which include URLL and eMBB, [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050] i.e., One or more radio bearers/flows/logical channels may be mapped to one service, [0051-0054] i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel/RAN slice/NW slice/AIS, [0064] i.e., Where different services are associated with different PHY configurations (physical channels or resources) and/or MAC configurations (e.g., HARQ protocols), [0082] i.e., the logical channel mapped to the service type, & [0094] i.e., Fig. 4 illustrates an L2 structure in a UE according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. A separate MAC entity may be present for each service (or network slice or RAN slice). Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service & [0152] i.e., As another example, where the UE transmits and receives data, a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out)
wherein the first logical channel is different from the second logical channel (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0044] i.e., A UE may support different types of services, [0050] i.e. Mapping the radio bearers. flows/logical channels to the service (or RAN slice, NW slice, or AIS), [0051-0054] i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel/RAN slice/NW slice/AIS, [0064], [0082], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service).
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first HARQ operation and the second HARQ operation performed between the base station and the UE as disclosed in Yang to be performed using the plurality of HARQ entities such as the first HARQ entity associated with a first logical channel that performs a first HARQ operation and the second HARQ entity associated with a second logical channel that performs a second HARQ operation as disclosed in the teachings of Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
While Chang discloses the first HARQ entity and the second HARQ entity are included in the UE (see Fig. 4 & Para [0094]), the combination of Yang in view of Chang does not disclose the base station apparatus comprising the first HARQ entity and the second HARQ entity. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Sun et al. US (2013/0223344).
Sun discloses the base station comprising multiple HARQ entities including a first HARQ entity and a second HARQ entity that correspond to multiple HARQ entities within the UE for performing HARQ operations with the UE (see Fig. 13 i.e., first HARQ entity on DL-SCH on CC1, second HARQ Entity on DL-SCH on CCx in the base station associated with logical channels & Fig. 14 i.e., multiple HARQ entities in UE & Para [0047] i.e., If a UE exchanges data with multiple serving cells, there are multiple HARQ entities per UE within the MAC entity (at the eNB or at the UE), which is the case of Figs. 13-14)
(Sun suggests a HARQ entity of the multiple HARQ entities at the base station is responsible for performing HARQ operations including supporting HARQ transmission and retransmission of data between the UE and the base station, (see Para’s [0027], [0047], & [0051]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the base station with performs HARQ operation with the UE that includes the first HARQ entity and the second HARQ entity as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang to include the corresponding HARQ entities in the base station as disclosed in Sun who discloses multiple HARQ entities in the base station correspond to multiple HARQ entities within the UE for performing HARQ operations with the UE, because the motivation lies in Sun that a HARQ entity of the multiple HARQ entities at the base station is responsible for performing HARQ operations including supporting HARQ transmission and retransmission of data between the UE and the base station.
The combination of Yang in view of Chang, and further in view of Sun does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the apparatus is configured to detect a missing PUCCH for a HARQ ACK/NACK, which indicates that the receiver missed an initial scheduling of the transmission by the apparatus, and responsive to detecting the miss, reschedule the same transmission or the initial transmission or the next redundancy version in response to the missing PUCCH for the HARQ ACK/NACK. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848).
He discloses wherein an apparatus (see Fig. 11 i.e., gNB 1110) is configured to detect a missing PUCCH for a HARQ ACK/NACK (see Fig. 11 i.e., missed HARQ-ACK feedback 1125 at gNB 1110 & Para [0088-0089] i.e., However, gNB 1110 may miss detect the HARQ-ACK feedback 1125 for initial transmission and it schedules the retransmission of CBG #0,#2, and #3), which indicates that the receiver missed an initial scheduling of the transmission by the apparatus (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0088-0089] i.e., gNB 110 miss-detect HARQ-ACK feedback for initial transmission. In embodiments, the UE 1120 may transmit 1125 HARQ-ACK feedback “101011” for initial transmission to indicate that CBG #1 and #3 are not successfully decoded),, and responsive to detecting the miss, reschedule the same transmission or the initial transmission or the next redundancy version in response to the missing PUCCH for the HARQ ACK/NACK (see Para’s [0088-0089] i.e., However, gNB 1110 may miss detect the HARQ-ACK feedback 1125 for initial transmission and it schedules the retransmission of CBG #0,#2, and #3. When UE 1120 decodes the PDCCH carrying DCI for retransmission 1116) (see Fig. 11 i.e., retransmission 1116).
(He suggests the gNB reschedules the retransmission of the initial transmission to the UE in order for the UE to properly receive the missed data transmission (see Fig. 11 & Para [0089])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the apparatus disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, and further in view of Sun to perform detecting a missing PUCCH for a HARQ ACK/NACK, which indicates that the receiver missed an initial scheduling of the transmission by the apparatus, and responsive to detecting the miss, reschedule the same transmission or the initial transmission in response to the missing PUCCH for the HARQ ACK/NACK, because the motivation lies in He that the gNB reschedules the retransmission of the initial transmission to the UE in order for the UE to properly receive the missed data transmission.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to apply to the at least one data packets the first HARQ operation (see Para’s [0085-0086] i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ operations are applied, [0094], & [0147]), or the second HARQ operation, or the first and second HARQ operations simultaneously, but does not disclose in response to a signaling or based on an association between a logical channel the at least one data packets belongs to and the HARQ entity. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses a first or second HARQ operation is applied to at least one data packet (see Para’s [0051-0054] i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel/RAN slice/NW slice/AIS) based on an association between a logical channel the at least one data packets belongs to and the HARQ entity (see Fig. 4 i.e., association between logical channel that service or packet flow belongs and HARQ entity & Para’s [0044] i.e., A UE may support different types of services, [0049] i.e., IP packets requiring different QoS's may be mapped to different DRBs, [0050] i.e. Mapping the radio bearers. flows/logical channels to the service (or RAN slice, NW slice, or AIS), [0051-0054] i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel/RAN slice/NW slice/AIS, [0064], [0080-0082], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service, & [0152])
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the apparatus which applies to the data packet the first or second HARQ operation as disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be based on an association between a logical channel the data packet belongs to and the HARQ entity as disclosed in the teachings of Chang who discloses applying for one or more data packets, a first or second HARQ operation based on the association between a logical channel the data packet belongs to and the HARQ entity, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first HARQ operation and the second HARQ operation comprise at least one of a Stop-and-Wait ARQ protocol, a window based ARQ protocol, a synchronous protocol, (see Para’s [0085] i.e., synchronous HARQ, [0128] i.e., synchronous UL HARQ, & [0147] i.e., sync-HARQ operation)
wherein the synchronous protocol schedules the retransmissionsee Para’s [0085] i.e., In the case of synchronous HARQ, a retransmission time is appointed in the system (e.g., after 4 subframes from a NACK reception time) (i.e., “schedules the retransmission”). Accordingly, the eNB may send a UL grant message to UEs only in initial transmission and subsequent retransmission is performed according to an ACK/NACK signal, [0128], & [0147])
wherein the asynchronous protocol dynamically schedules the retransmissionsee Para’s [0085] i.e., In the case of asynchronous HARQ, a retransmission time is not appointed and thus the eNB needs to send a retransmission request message to UEs including RB allocation information, [0128], & [0147])
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the processor circuit is arranged to process first data packets of the first logical channel, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to process second data packets of the second logical channel, wherein the at least one data packets comprise the first data packets and the second data packets. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang wherein the processor circuit is arranged to process first data packets of the first logical channel, (see Fig. 4 i.e. packets of logical channels associated with service 1 and service 2 will be processed by the HARQ entities (i.e., first and second logical channel) & Para’s [0044-0045] i.e., the eNB or UE supports different types of services which include URLL (i.e., “first data packets”) and eMBB, [0049-0050] i.e., MAC layer functions and/or parameters may be configured to be specific to a radio bearer, flow, or logical channel. One or more IP flows (i.e., flows includes packets associated with the flow) may be mapped to one radio bearer of flow…One or more radio bearers/flows/logical channels may be mapped to one service, [0054], [0064], & [0082], & [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to process second data packets of the second logical channel, (see Fig. 4 i.e. packets of logical channels associated with service 1 and service 2 will be processed (i.e., first and second logical channel) & Para’s [0044-0045] i.e., the eNB or UE supports different types of services which include URLL and eMBB (i.e., “second data packets”), [0049-0050] i.e., MAC layer functions and/or parameters may be configured to be specific to a radio bearer, flow, or logical channel. One or more IP flows (i.e., flows includes packets associated with the flow) may be mapped to one radio bearer of flow…One or more radio bearers/flows/logical channels may be mapped to one service, [0054], [0064], & [0082], & [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)
wherein the at least one data packets comprise the first data packets and the second data packets, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0044-0045] i.e., the eNB or UE supports different types of services which include URLL and eMBB, [0049-0050])
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the apparatus which processes the packets according based on performing the HARQ operation with the UE disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be configured to process the first data packets of the first logical channel such as URLL communications and the second data packets of the second logical channel such as eMBB communications as disclosed in Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to configure at least one of the first HARQ operation and the second HARQ operation, (see Para [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation).
or, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to configure at least on of a first HARQ operation and a second HARQ operation, (see Para [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation).
wherein the first HARQ operation has different settings than the second HARQ operation, (see Para’s [0085] & [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation (i.e., reducing retransmission UL grant overhead for sync-HARQ i.e., case 1-2 is a different setting from securing retransmission timing flexibility i.e., case 1-3)), but does not disclose wherein the different settings are configurable in response to the signaling or based on the association. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses wherein the different settings are configurable based on the association (see Para’s [0049-0050] i.e., MAC layer functions and/or parameters may be configured to be specific to a radio bearer, flow, or logical channel. One or more IP flows (i.e., flows includes packets associated with the flow) may be mapped to one radio bearer of flow…One or more radio bearers/flows/logical channels may be mapped to one service, [0051-0054] i.e., MAC layer functions and/or parameters configurable to be specific to one or more radio bearers, flows, or logical channels may include one or more of the parameters below i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel)
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the apparatus which configures at least one of the first HARQ operation and the second HARQ operation having different settings as disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be configurable based on the association between the logical channel the packet is associated with and the HARQ entity which may perform either a synchronous HARQ operation or asynchronous HARQ operation as disclosed in Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to configure the settings (Yang, see Para [0147]), but does not disclose wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive a configuration message, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to configure the settings in response to the configuration message. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses wherein a processor circuit is arranged to receive a configuration message (see Para’s [0050] i.e., Mapping the radio bearers/flows/logical channels to the service may be signaled in RRC signaling, [0051-0054] i.e., MAC layer functions and/or parameters configurable to be specific to one or more radio bearers, flows, or logical channels may include one or more of the parameters below i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel, [0061] i.e., the configurations may be configured in RRC signaling, [0120] i.e., The RRC connection reconfiguration message may include a DRB configuration including a PDCP/RLC/LC configuration corresponding to each of the service types and a service-specific MAC/PHY configuration for one or more services for the UE & [0143]), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to configure the settings in response to the configuration message, (see Para’s [0051-0054] i.e., MAC layer functions and/or parameters configurable to be specific to one or more radio bearers, flows, or logical channels may include one or more of the parameters below i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ (i.e., includes respective settings) may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel, [0061] i.e., the configurations may be configured in RRC signaling)
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the apparatus which configures at least one of the first HARQ operation and the second HARQ operation having different settings as disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be configured based on the RRC configuration message received by processing circuitry which configures asynchronous and synchronous HARQ operations having different settings associated with a particular service and logical channel mapping as disclosed in Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 7, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive the configuration message from a base station, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to decode the configuration message, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to configure a MAC Layer and/or a Physical Layer. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses wherein a processor circuit is arranged to receive the configuration message from a base station, (see Para’s [0050] i.e., RRC signaling is received from the network (i.e., “base station”), [0061] i.e., the configurations may be configured in RRC signaling, [0120] i.e., The RRC connection reconfiguration message may include a DRB configuration including a PDCP/RLC/LC configuration corresponding to each of the service types and a service-specific MAC/PHY configuration for one or more services for the UE),
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to decode the configuration message, (see Para’s [0050], [0061], & [0120])
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to configure a MAC Layer and/or a Physical Layer (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0050] i.e., Mapping the radio bearers/flows/logical channels to the service may be signaled in RRC signaling, [0051-0054] i.e., MAC layer functions and/or parameters configurable to be specific to one or more radio bearers, flows, or logical channels may include one or more of the parameters below i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel, [0061] i.e., the configurations may be configured in RRC signaling, [0094], [0120] i.e., The RRC connection reconfiguration message may include a DRB configuration including a PDCP/RLC/LC configuration corresponding to each of the service types and a service-specific MAC/PHY configuration for one or more services for the UE & [0143]),
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first HARQ operation and the second HARQ operation performed between the base station and the UE as disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be performed using the plurality of HARQ entities such as the first HARQ entity that performs a first HARQ operation and the second HARQ entity that performs a second HARQ operation by configuring a MAC Layer and/or a Physical as disclosed in the teachings of Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the processor circuit is configured according to configuration specified in a standard. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses wherein the processor circuit is configured according to configuration specified in a standard, (see Para’s [0008-0009] i.e., 5G standard to support various device and services, [0042-0043], [0050-0054], & [0094])
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first HARQ operation and the second HARQ operation performed by the base station as disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be performed using the plurality of HARQ entities such as the first HARQ entity that performs a first HARQ operation and the second HARQ entity that performs a second HARQ operation configured according to configuration specified in a standard as disclosed in the teachings of Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 10, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein processor circuit is arranged to maintain at least one parallel HARQ processes, wherein each HARQ process of the at least one HARQ processes is associated with a HARQ process identifier, wherein the HARQ process identifier are selected out of a pool of HARQ processes, or predefined by a sequence number or selected by a first device. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses wherein processor circuit is arranged to maintain at least one parallel HARQ processes, (see Fig. 4 i.e., HARQ entities associated with service 1 and service 2 & Para’s [0051-0054] i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel/RAN slice/NW slice/AIS (“one or more parallel HARQ process”), [0064] i.e., Where different services are associated with different PHY configurations (physical channels or resources) and/or MAC configurations (e.g., HARQ protocols) (i.e., at least one HARQ process will be associated with a HARQ entity), [0094], & [0152] i.e., a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out)
wherein each HARQ process of the at least one HARQ processes is associated with a HARQ process identifier, (see Para’s [0080-0082] i.e., HARQ configuration ID associated with service type & [0094] i.e., HARQ entity associated with each service)
wherein the HARQ process identifier are selected out of a pool of HARQ processes, or predefined by a sequence number or selected by a first device (see Para’s [0080-0082] i.e., the eNB may indicate one or more HARQ configuration ID (i.e., “selected by a first device”))
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the processor circuit as disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be arranged to maintain at least one parallel HARQ processes as disclosed in the teachings of Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a first HARQ entity and a second HARQ entity are semi-statically configured and/or associated to different logical channels. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses wherein a first HARQ entity and a second HARQ entity are associated to different logical channels (see Fig. 4 i.e., HARQ entities are associated to different logical channels & Para’s [0044] i.e., A UE may support different types of services, [0049] i.e., IP packets requiring different QoSs may be mapped to different DRBs, [0050] i.e. Mapping the radio bearers. flows/logical channels to the service (or RAN slice, NW slice, or AIS), [0051-0054] i.e., synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel/RAN slice/NW slice/AIS, [0064], [0080-0082], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service, [0120] i.e., The RRC connection reconfiguration message may include a DRB configuration including a PDCP/RLC/LC configuration corresponding to each of the service types and a service-specific MAC/PHY configuration for one or more services for the UE, [0130] & [0133]).
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first HARQ operation and the second HARQ operation performed between the base station and the UE as disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be performed using the plurality of HARQ entities such as the first HARQ entity associated with a first logical channel that performs a first HARQ operation and the second HARQ entity associated with a second logical channel different from the first logical channel that performs a second HARQ operation as disclosed in the teachings of Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
Regarding Claim 14, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to operate communication at a MAC layer (see Para [0103] i.e., HARQ process operates using the MAC layer), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide downlink control information or uplink control information to a physical layer, (see Para’s [0049-0050] i.e., downlink control information (DCI) & [0051] i.e., The BS determines a PDCCH format according to DCI to be transmitted to the UE)
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide control information bits in the Downlink Control Information, (see Para’s [0050-0051])
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide control information bits in the Uplink Control Information, (see Para [0037] i.e., The UCI includes control information such as SR, CSI, HARQ-ACK/NACK (i.e., “bits”))
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DCI format comprises a first DCI format (Yang, see Para [0050] i.e., DCI formats 0, 3, 3A and 4 for uplink (i.e., DCI format 0 may be the “first DCI format”)) and a second DCI format, (see Para’s [0050] i.e., DCI formats 3, 3A, and 4 for uplink may be the “second DCI format” & [0085])
wherein the second DCI format does not signal all HARQ control information, (Yang, see Para [0085] i.e., For example, in the case of asynchronous adaptive HARQ, the retransmission request message (i.e., may use “second DCI format”) may include UE ID, RB allocation information, HARQ process ID/number, RV, and NDI information)
wherein the non-signaled HARQ control information is derived by the apparatus, (see Para [0085])
wherein the first DCI may be used for an initial transmission, (Yang, see Para [0049] i.e., The DCI includes uplink scheduling information & [0050] i.e., DCI formats for uplink & [0085] i.e., the eNB may send a UL grant message to UEs only in initial transmission)
wherein the second DCI format may be used for the at least one retransmissions, (Yang, see Para’s [0050] i.e., DCI formats for uplink may include a second DCI format & [0085] i.e., In the case of asynchronous HARQ, the eNB needs to send a retransmission request message to UEs including RB allocation information, RV, & [0052])
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to evaluate an embedded checksum so as to identify which one of the first DCI format and the second DCI format has been received (Yang, see Para’s [0050] & [0051] i.e., The UE can monitor the plurality of PDCCHs…The BS determines a PDCCH format according to DCI to be transmitted to the UE, and attaches a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) to control information. The CRC is masked with a unique identifier (RNTI)…If the PDCCH is for a specific UE, a unique identifier C-RNTI of the UE may be masked to the CRC (i.e., checksum is evaluated based on masked CRC for identifying the DCI format)), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to select one of the first HARQ operation and the second HARQ operation based on the identification, (Yang, see Para’s [0051] & [0085] i.e., synchronous HARQ operation may be performed by the UE based on receiving the UL grant message included in the first DCI format)
While Yang discloses the first DCI format 0 (see Para [0050]), the combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He does not disclose wherein the first DCI format signals associated HARQ control information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Bhorkar et al. US (2018/0288805).
Bhorkar discloses wherein the first DCI format 0 signals associated HARQ control information (see Para [0024] i.e., In particular, DCI format 0/0a/0b can be used for the transmission or resource grants for PUSCH and can include resource assignment and frequency hopping flags, MCS, NDI, HARQ information and RV, power control command for scheduled PUSCH).
(Bhorkar suggests UL scheduling grant is indicated to the UE via the DCI format 0 including HARQ information in order for the UE to perform HARQ for the uplink communications, (see Para [0024])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first DCI format 0 scheduling uplink communication for the UE as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He to signal associated HARQ control information included in the DCI format 0 as disclosed in Bhorkar, because the motivation lies in Bhorkar that the UL scheduling grant is indicated to the UE via the DCI format 0 including HARQ information in order for the UE to perform HARQ for the uplink communications.
Regarding Claim 16, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein processor circuit is arranged to operate communication at a MAC layer (see Para [0103] i.e., HARQ process operates using the MAC layer), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send ACK/NACK control information to a Physical Layer for transmission on a dedicated control channel, (see Fig. 10 i.e., S702 & Para [0094] i.e., the UE can receive a PHICH (NACK) through a PDCCH)
Regarding Claim 17, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the control channel comprises a PHICH (see Para [0094]), wherein the PHICH is arranged to transmit only ACK/NACK messages, (see Para [0094] i.e., the UE can receive a PHICH (NACK) through a PDCCH).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US (2019/0028225) in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513), further in view of Sun et al. US (2013/0223344), further in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Vivanco et al. USP (9,648,529).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 4, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the first data packets comprises: a data packet provided by a delay critical service of the wireless communication system; a data packet associated with a first Quality of Service; wherein the second data packets comprises: a data packet provided by a delay non-critical service of the wireless communication system, a data packet associated with a second QoS, wherein the first QoS is higher than the second QoS. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses wherein the first data packets comprises: a data packet provided by a delay critical service of the wireless communication system, (see Fig. 4 i.e., service 1 and service 2 use data packets & Para’s [0043-0044] i.e., ultra-reliable low latency (URLL) service type (i.e., “delay critical service”) may be supported by the UE, [0045] i.e., URLL services, [0142-0145] i.e., URLL communications (URLLC) supported by the UE, [0049] i.e., IP packets & [0149-0150])
a data packet associated with a first Quality of Service; (see Para’s [0049] i.e., IP packets (i.e., includes first QoS) requiring different QoSs may be mapped to different DRBs, [0091], [0094] & [0145] i.e., a particular service (e.g., eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC) may have a single DRB configuration)
wherein the second data packets comprises: a data packet provided by a delay non-critical service of the wireless communication system; (see Fig. 4 i.e., service 1 and service 2 use data packets & Para’s [0044-0045] i.e., eMBB service (i.e., “delay non-critical service”) may be supported by the UE, [0091], [0094], & [0145] i.e., a particular service (e.g., eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC) may have a single DRB configuration)
a data packet associated with a second QoS (see Para’s [0049] i.e., IP packets requiring different QoSs (i.e., includes second QoS) may be mapped to different DRBs, [0091], [0094] & [0145] i.e., a particular service (e.g., eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC) may have a single DRB configuration)
wherein the first QoS is higher than the second QoS (see Para’s [0044-0045], [0049] i.e., IP packets requiring different QoSs may be mapped to different DRBs, [0094], & [0145] i.e., a particular service (e.g., eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC) may have a single DRB configuration)
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the apparatus which processes the packets according based on performing the HARQ operation with the UE disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be configured to process the first data packets of the first logical channel such as URLL communications (i.e., delay critical service) and the second data packets of the second logical channel such as eMBB communications (i.e., delay non-critical service) as disclosed in Chang, because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
The combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He does not disclose the first data packet comprises a data packet associated with a first guaranteed bit rate, the second data packet comprises a data packet associated with a second GBR, and wherein the first GBR is higher than the second GBR. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Vivanco et al. USP (9,648,529).
Vivanco discloses the first data packet comprises a data packet associated with a first guaranteed bit rate, (see Col. 8 lines 48-60 i.e., packets associated with application of the wireless device 402, Col. 10 lines 10-23 i.e., QCIs associated with an application…subset of QCIs that may be used to provide voice service (i.e., delay critical service packets) which may be a retrieved QCI that meets an application requirement criteria such as a QCI with a guaranteed bit rate greater than a threshold (i.e., “first guaranteed bit rate”), Col. 10 lines 30-43 i.e., the retrieved application requirements may be associated with one or more applications on the wireless device 402)
the second data packet comprises a data packet associated with a second GBR, (see Col. 8 lines 48-60 i.e., packets associated with application of the wireless device 402, Col. 10 lines 10-23 i.e., QCIs associated with an applications requirements that comprise guaranteed bit rates, Col. 10 lines 30-43 i.e., the retrieved application requirements may be associated with one or more applications on the wireless device 402 such as video streaming applications (i.e., delay non-critical service packets) which may be associated with a respective QCI that comprises a guaranteed bit rate (i.e., “second guaranteed bit rate”))
and wherein the first GBR is higher than the second GBR, (see Col. 10 lines 10-23 i.e., QCI that may be used to provide voice service (i.e., delay critical service packets) may be a QCI with a guaranteed bit rate greater than a threshold (i.e., “first guaranteed bit rate” which may be greater than the second guaranteed bit rate of the video streaming application ), & Col. 10 lines 30-43)
Vivanco further discloses that a first QoS for the voice service (i.e., “delay critical service”) may be higher than a second QoS for the video streaming application (i.e., “delay non-critical service”), (see Col. 8 lines 34-47 i.e., an application requirement, or QoS requirements, may be QCI, & Col. 10 lines 10-23 i.e., QCI used to provide voice service may be higher than the video streaming application QCI disclosed in Col. 10 lines 30-43)
(Vivanco suggests the QCI associated with the voice service may comprise a guaranteed bit rate above a threshold for guaranteeing the provided voice service and meeting the voice services application requirement criteria, (see Col. 10 lines 10-23 & 30-43)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the delay critical service packets and the delay non-critical service packets as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He to each be associated respectively with a first GBR and a second GBR, wherein the first GBR is higher than the second GBR, because the motivation lies in Vivanco that the QCI associated with the voice service may comprise a guaranteed bit rate above a threshold for guaranteeing the provided voice service and meeting the voice services application requirement criteria.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US (2019/0028225) in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513), further in view of Sun et al. US (2013/0223344), and further in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Eyuboglu USP (10,785,791), further in view of Lei et al. US (2020/0235891), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0028635).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to support at least two HARQ processes (see Para’s [0103] & [0147]), supporting a different number of data packets (see Para [0085] i.e., synchronous HARQ process sends an UL grant message to UEs only in initial transmission and subsequent retransmission is performed automatically e.g., after 4 subframes…In asynchronous HARQ process a retransmission time is not appointed and thus the eNB needs to send a retransmission request message to UEs (i.e., HARQ processes support a different number of data packet transmissions)), at least two redundancy versions (see Para’s [0103] i.e., Each HARQ process manages a state parameter regarding a current redundancy version, [0128-0129], [0147], & [0168]), different channels for ACK/NACK reporting (see Para’s [0089] i.e., PUCCH or PUSCH may be used for ACK/NACK & [0094] i.e., PHICH may be used for ACK/NACK), however the combination of Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He does not disclose the at least two HARQ processes supporting different ACK/NACK timings and a maximum number of HARQ retransmissions. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513).
Chang discloses at least two HARQ processes supporting different ACK/NACK timings (see Para’s [0051-0054] i.e., Different types of HARQ protocols may be defined in the system… HARQ protocol timing parameters may include interval between transmission and feedback, interval between feedback and retransmission…synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel/RAN slice/NW slice/AIS, [0064] i.e., Where different services are associated with different PHY configurations and/or MAC configurations (e.g., HARQ protocols), & [0094] i.e., HARQ entities for each service)
and a maximum number of HARQ retransmissions, (see Para’s [0051-0054] i.e., Different types of HARQ protocols may be defined in the system… HARQ protocol timing parameters may include number of retransmissions…synchronous or asynchronous HARQ may be configured to be specific to radio bearer/flow/logical channel/RAN slice/NW slice/AIS, [0064] i.e., Where different services are associated with different PHY configurations and/or MAC configurations (e.g., HARQ protocols), & [0094] i.e., HARQ entities for each service)
(Chang suggests a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out (see Para [0152]) and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service, (see Para’s [0045] i.e., In case of URLL services…the HARQ and random access procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer, [0050-0054], [0064], [0094] i.e., Transmission channels, HARQ entities, and scheduling entities may be separate for each service)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the at least two HARQ processes as disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, and further in view of He to supporting different ACK/NACK timings and a maximum number of HARQ retransmissions according to the at least two HARQ processes disclosed in Chang because the motivation lies in Chang that a different HARQ procedure associated with the particular service may be carried out and in case of URLL services, the HARQ procedure may need to be very fast for low latency of data transfer for performing the appropriate HARQ procedure associated with the particular service for satisfying the service requirements associated with the particular service.
The combination of Yang in view of Sun, further in view of Chang, and further in view of He does not disclose the claim feature of using at least two sequences of redundancy versions. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Eyuboglu USP (10,785,791).
Eyuboglu discloses wherein a sequence of redundancy versions may be used in retransmissions (see Col. 12 lines 49-64 i.e., Another aspect of HARQ is the use of a redundancy version (RV). When using non-adaptive retransmissions based on a NAK on the uplink, the UE follows a specific fixed sequence {0, 2, 3,1} of RVs in retransmissions).
(Eyuboglu suggests a HARQ receiver can perform soft-combining which involves combining transmissions of the same RV for recovering the data (see Col. 12 lines 54-64)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the retransmission performed for each of the HARQ processes which are each associated with a redundancy version as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, further in view of He, to each use a sequence of redundancy versions for the retransmission as disclosed in the teachings of Eyuboglu who discloses in a HARQ operation a predefined sequence of RVs may be used in retransmissions, because the motivation lies in Eyuboglu that a HARQ receiver can perform soft-combining which involves combining transmissions of the same RV for recovering the data.
The combination of Yang in view of Sun, further in view of Chang, further in view of He, and further in view of Eyuboglu does not disclose the claim feature of the HARQ processes supporting different aggregation factors for bundling transmissions of a data packet. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lei et al. US (2020/0235891).
Lei discloses a HARQ processes may be configured to supporting different aggregation factors for bundling transmissions of a data packet (see Para [0059] i.e., the slot aggregation granularity may indicate that every two slots, four slots, eight slots, etc. are to be aggregated into a single HARQ process…In certain embodiments, the slot aggregation granularity parameter has a value of n, where every 2n slots are bundled (aggregated) into a single HARQ process)
(Lei suggests the number of slots used for bundling the transmission is selected and configurable for a respective HARQ process and signaling overhead can be reduced by bundling multiple slots into a single HARQ process, (see Para [0047])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the HARQ processes disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, further in view of Chang, further in view of He, and further in view of Eyuboglu to be configured to supporting different aggregation factors for bundling transmissions of a data packet based on the teachings of Lei who discloses a HARQ processes may be configured to supporting different aggregation factors for bundling transmissions of a data packet, because the motivation lies in Lei that the number of slots used for bundling the transmission is selected and configurable for a respective HARQ process and signaling overhead can be reduced by bundling multiple slots into a single HARQ process.
The combination of Yang in view of Sun, further in view of Chang, further in view of He, and further in view of Eyuboglu does not disclose the claim feature of the HARQ processes supporting different target Block Error Rates. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0028635).
Lee discloses a separate HARQ processes may support different target Block Error Rates (see Para’s [0111] i.e., Alternatively, it may be regulated that a separate HARQ process number is allocated depending on service type/priority (target BLER)).
(Lee suggests a separate HARQ process supports a target BLER depending on the service type and priority for satisfying the data priority associated with the service and achieving reliability of the data service, (see Para [0111])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the HARQ processes disclosed in Yang in view of Sun, further in view of Chang, further in view of He, and further in view of Eyuboglu to support different target Block Error Rates as disclosed in Lee who discloses a separate HARQ processes may support different target Block Error Rates, because the motivation lies in Lee that a separate HARQ process supports a target BLER depending on the service type and priority for satisfying the data priority associated with the service and achieving reliability of the data service.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US (2019/0028225) in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513), further in view of Sun et al. US (2013/0223344), and further in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ouchi et al. US (2020/0305094).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to operate communication at a MAC layer (Yang, see Para [0103] i.e., HARQ process operates using the MAC layer), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to associate and/or linked and/or map to at least one Physical Layer procedure or Physical Layer channel (see Para [0094] i.e., PDCCH (i.e., “physical layer channel”))
wherein the Physical Layer procedures or Physical Layer channels are selected from the group consisting of different downlink resource allocation methods (Yang, see Para [0051] i.e., DL-SCH resource allocation method or UL-SCH resource allocation method), DCI formats for downlink (Yang, see Para [0050] i.e., DCI formats for downlink), uplink and sidelink scheduling via the PDCCH on the PHY (Yang, see Para [0050] control information transmitted through the PDCCH is referred to as DCI…DCI format for uplink), RNTIs indicated in the DCIs for scheduling via the PDCCH on the PHY, (Yang, see Para [0051] i.e., CRC is masked with a unique identifier such as radio network temporary identifier (RNTI))
downlink control channels to request uplink retransmission (Yang, see Fig. 10 S702 i.e., NACK via PHICH & Para [0094])
physical channels for data transmission uplink grant methods (Yang, see Para’s [0085] & [0147])
uplink control channels to request downlink retransmission, (Yang, see Fig. 8, S504 & Para’s [0085] i.e., retransmission is based on ACK/NACK & [0089] i.e., ACK/NACK transmitted on PUCCH or PUSCH in response to PDSCH)
The combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He does not disclose the claim feature of sidelink scheduling via the PDCCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ouchi et al. US (2020/0305094).
Ouchi discloses sidelink scheduling is performed for a UE via the PDCCH (see Para [0131] i.e., The PDCCH is also used to transmit an uplink scheduling grant and a sidelink scheduling grant)
(Ouchi suggests the PDCCH in addition to uplink and downlink scheduling, is also used to transmit an uplink scheduling grant to notify the UE of sidelink resource allocation in order for the UE to perform sidelink communication, (see Para [0131])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the PDCCH used to schedule the UE communication as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be further used for sidelink scheduling as disclosed in the teachings of Ouchi, because the motivation lies in Ouchi that the PDCCH in addition to uplink and downlink scheduling, is also used to transmit an uplink scheduling grant to notify the UE of sidelink resource allocation in order for the UE to perform sidelink communication.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US (2019/0028225) in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513), further in view of Sun et al. US (2013/0223344), and further in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848) as applied to claim 17 above, further in view of Shan et al. US (2011/0300854), and further in view of Eyuboglu USP (10,785,791).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 17, but does not disclose wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform the retransmission with a fixed format on a resource used by the preceding transmission, However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Shan et al. US (2011/0300854).
Shan discloses wherein an apparatus, responsive to a NACK on the PHICH, performs the retransmission with a fixed format on a resource used by the preceding transmission, (see Table 4 & Para’s [0006] & [0044] i.e., NACK…The reception of the previously sent TB in a relative continue subframe is unsuccessful, the UE should retransmit the said TB using the same resource and format as in the previous settings)
(Shan suggests the UE will retransmit the unsuccessful TB when a NACK is received over the PHICH for ensuring reliable transmission of the data, (see Para’s [0006] & [0044])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the ACK/NACK control information used for retransmission according to the HARQ procedure performed by the apparatus as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He to responsive to a NACK on the PHICH, perform the retransmission with a fixed format on a resource used of the preceding transmission as performed by the apparatus as disclosed in the teachings of Shan, because the motivation lies in Shan that the UE will retransmit the unsuccessful TB when a NACK over the PHICH is received for ensuring reliable transmission of the data.
The combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, further in view of He, and further in view of Shan does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the processor circuit is arranged to use a sequence of redundancy versions. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Eyuboglu USP (10,785,791).
Eyuboglu discloses wherein a sequence of redundancy versions may be used in retransmissions (see Col. 12 lines 49-64 i.e., Another aspect of HARQ is the use of a redundancy version (RV). When using non-adaptive retransmissions based on a NAK on the uplink, the UE follows a specific fixed sequence {0, 2, 3,1} of RVs in retransmissions).
(Eyuboglu suggests a HARQ receiver can perform soft-combining which involves combining transmissions of the same RV for recovering the data (see Col. 12 lines 54-64)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the retransmission disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, further in view of He, and further in view of Shan to use a sequence of redundancy versions for the retransmission as disclosed in the teachings of Eyuboglu who discloses in a HARQ operation a predefined sequence of RVs may be used in retransmissions, because the motivation lies in Eyuboglu that a HARQ receiver can perform soft-combining which involves combining transmissions of the same RV for recovering the data.
Claims 19-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US (2019/0028225) in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513), further in view of Sun et al. US (2013/0223344), and further in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Tiirola US (2020/0221444).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 16, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the control channel comprises a low latency PUCCH comprising the ACK/NACK message, wherein the low latency PUCCH sends messages more frequently than a regular PUCCH and/or the low latency PUCCH carrying a smaller payload than a regular PUCCH. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Tiirola US (2020/0221444).
Tiirola discloses wherein the control channel comprises a low latency PUCCH comprising the ACK/NACK message, (see Para [0032] i.e., eMBB data service type on a UE may transmit uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length, while a high reliability/low latency (e.g., URLLC) data service type on the UE may transmit uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length (i.e., “low latency PUCCH”) (e.g., to allow for quicker or more frequent transmission of control information). Thus, in some cases, a longer PUCCH format may be used to allow more data/control information to be sent over a period of time, while a shorter PUCCH format (i.e., “low latency PUCCH”) may be used to allow for a quicker transmission of uplink control information in the case where a shorter latency (e.g., such as for transmission of HARQ feedback) (i.e., “ACK/NACK message” is sent over short PUCCH) may be required (such as for URLLC data service type) & [0041-0044] i.e., A short PUCCH may be optimized to facilitate low latency)
wherein the low latency PUCCH sends messages more frequently than a regular PUCCH
and/or the low latency PUCCH carries a smaller payload than a regular PUCCH (see Fig.3A & Fig. 3B i.e., short PUCCH is 1-2 symbols while long PUCCH (i.e., “regular PUCCH”) is 7 symbols & [0041-0044]).
(Tiirola suggests a shorter PUCCH format (i.e., “low latency PUCCH”) may be used to allow for a quicker transmission of uplink control information in the case where a shorter latency (e.g., such as for transmission of HARQ feedback) may be required for URLLC data service type, (see Para [0032])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the HARQ-ACK information for URLL service sent over the PUCCH as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be sent over a low latency PUCCH as disclosed in the teachings of Tiirola who discloses wherein the control channel used for transmission of uplink control information comprises a low latency PUCCH for sending HARQ-ACK feedback information for URLLC service because the motivation lies in Tiirola that a shorter PUCCH format may be used to allow for a quicker transmission of uplink control information in the case where a shorter latency (e.g., such as for transmission of HARQ feedback) may be required for URLLC data service type.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to estimate a radio channel, in response to receiving the data packet prior to processing the data packet (Yang, see Para [0037] i.e., CSI), wherein a resource allocation of the data packet provides a CSI (Yang, see Para’s [0034] i.e., UE may check a downlink channel status by receiving a DL RS, [0037], & [0051]), wherein low latency PUCCH comprises the CSI (Yang, see Para [0037] i.e., The UCI includes CSI transmitted on PUCCH) or the processor circuit is arranged to transmit the CSI before of the ACK/NACK message using a first low latency PUCCH, but does not disclose the estimating of the radio channel is based on demodulation reference symbols. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Tiirola US (2020/0221444).
Tiirola discloses estimating of the radio channel is based on demodulation reference symbols (see Para’s [0033] i.e., DMRS may be used to perform channel estimation & [0041]).
(Tiirola suggests the DMRS is used for efficiently estimating the channel and for properly decoding the received signals or data (see Para’s [0033] & [0041])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the estimation of the radio channel based on received reference signal as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He to be estimated based on demodulation reference symbols as disclosed in Tiirola, because the motivation lies in Tiirola that the DMRS is used for efficiently estimating the channel and for properly decoding the received signals or data.
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US (2019/0028225) in view of Chang et al. US (2018/0249513), further in view of Sun et al. US (2013/0223344), further in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Li et al. US (2018/0317218), and further in view of Tiirola US (2020/0221444).
Regarding Claim 22, Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He discloses the apparatus of claim 1 including capabilities selected from the group consisting of supported HARQ entities (Yang, see Para [0147] i.e., sync-HARQ operation & async-HARQ operation & Chang, see Para [0094] i.e., HARQ entities may be configured separately for each service), available HARQ processes (Yang, see Para’s [0103] & [0147]), available HARQ soft buffer (Yang, see Para [0103] i.e., HARQ buffer), supported DCI formats (Yang, see Para [0050]), supported physical channels (Yang, see Para’s [0051-0052] & [0105]), if PUCCH is supported (Yang, see Para [0037]), but does not disclose wherein the processing circuit is arranged to signal capabilities. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2018/0317218).
Li discloses wherein an apparatus including a processing circuit is arranged to signal HARQ capabilities (see Para’s [0136-0137] i.e., the capability information of the UE may include at least one of the following: a multi-process HARQ capability, [0160] i.e., the base station receives an RRC connection request (i.e., “RRC UE capability exchange message”) that is sent by the UE and that carries the capability information of the UE, [0174] i.e., Currently, a UE capability obtained by the base station does not include a newly-introduced double-process HARQ capability (i.e., number of available HARQ processes), & [0175]).
(Li suggests based on the received UE capability, the base station may indicate in the RRC connection establishment message, whether the two new features including double-process HARQ are used in subsequent data scheduling by the UE for supporting double-process HARQ capability (see Para’s [0174-0175])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the apparatus which performs the first and second HARQ operations as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, and further in view of He to signal the HARQ capabilities based on the teachings of Li who discloses a UE sends HARQ capability information of the UE to the base station in a RRC UE Capability exchange message, because the motivation lies in Li suggests that based on the received UE capability, the base station may indicate in the RRC connection establishment message, whether the two new features including double-process HARQ are used in subsequent data scheduling by the UE for supporting double-process HARQ capability.
The combination of Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, further in view of He, and further in view of Li does not disclose the claim feature of a low latency PUCCH is supported. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Tiirola US (2020/0221444).
Tiirola discloses wherein the control channel comprises a low latency PUCCH comprising an ACK/NACK message, (see Para [0032] i.e., eMBB data service type on a UE may transmit uplink control information via a long PUCCH format length, while a high reliability/low latency (e.g., URLLC) data service type on the UE may transmit uplink control information via a short PUCCH format length (i.e., “low latency PUCCH”) (e.g., to allow for quicker or more frequent transmission of control information). Thus, in some cases, a longer PUCCH format may be used to allow more data/control information to be sent over a period of time, while a shorter PUCCH format (i.e., “low latency PUCCH”) may be used to allow for a quicker transmission of uplink control information in the case where a shorter latency (e.g., such as for transmission of HARQ feedback) (i.e., “ACK/NACK message” is sent over short PUCCH) may be required (such as for URLLC data service type) & [0041-0044] i.e., A short PUCCH may be optimized to facilitate low latency)
(Tiirola suggests a shorter PUCCH format (i.e., “low latency PUCCH”) may be used to allow for a quicker transmission of uplink control information in the case where a shorter latency (e.g., such as for transmission of HARQ feedback) may be required for URLLC data service type, (see Para [0032])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the HARQ-ACK information for URLL service sent over the PUCCH as disclosed in Yang in view of Chang, further in view of Sun, further in view of He, and further in view of Li to be sent over a low latency PUCCH as disclosed in the teachings of Tiirola who discloses wherein the control channel used for transmission of uplink control information comprises a low latency PUCCH for sending HARQ-ACK feedback information for URLLC service, because the motivation lies in Tiirola that a shorter PUCCH format may be used to allow for a quicker transmission of uplink control information in the case where a shorter latency (e.g., such as for transmission of HARQ feedback) may be required for URLLC data service type.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US (2019/0028225) in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848).
Regarding Claim 23, Yang discloses a method, comprising: receive at least one data packets, (see Fig. 7, S602 & Para’s [0080] i.e., packet, [0086] i.e., the UE 120 transmits UL data (i.e., “packet”) to an eNB 110…The eNB 110 decodes the UL data received from the UE 120 and then generates an ACK/NACK)
request a retransmission of a data packet when there is a non-successful transmission of the data packet, (see Para’s [0085-0086] i.e., The eNB 110 decodes the UL data received from the UE 120 and then generates an ACK/NACK. When decoding of the UL data fails, the eNB 110 transmits NACK to the UE 120 (S604) (i.e., “request a retransmission”). The UE retransmits the UL data after 4 subframes from the time at which NACK is received (S606) & [0093-0094] i.e., Here, NACK corresponds to an ACK/NACK response to previous PUSCH transmission. In this case, the UE can initially transmit/retransmit one or more TBs through a PUSCH after k subframes via processes for PUSCH transmission)
wherein the retransmission comprises providing a first HARQ operation and a second HARQ operation (see Para’s [0085-0086] i.e., synchronous HARQ operation and asynchronous HARQ operation, & [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) (i.e., sync-HARQ operation may be the “first HARQ operation”) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation)
wherein the first HARQ operation is different from the second HARQ operation, (see Para’s [0085] & [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation)
performing the first HARQ operation, (see Para’s [0085] i.e., synchronous HARQ & [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) (i.e., sync-HARQ operation may be the “first HARQ operation”) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation)
performing the second HARQ operation, (see Para’s [0085] i.e., asynchronous HARQ & [0147] i.e., Based on this method, an eNB can select/apply one of operations of case 1-2 (reducing retransmission UL grant overhead based on sync-HARQ operation) and case 1-3 (securing retransmission timing flexibility based on async-HARQ operation (i.e., async-HARQ operation may be the “second HARQ operation”))
Yang does not disclose the claim feature of detecting a missing PUCCH for a HARQ ACK/NACK, wherein the detection indicates that the receiver missed an initial scheduling of the transmission by the apparatus, and rescheduling the same transmission or the initial transmission or the next redundancy version in response to the missing PUCCH for the HARQ ACK/NACK. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of He et al. US (2020/0328848).
He discloses wherein an apparatus (see Fig. 11 i.e., gNB 1110) is configured to detect a missing PUCCH for a HARQ ACK/NACK (see Fig. 11 i.e., missed HARQ-ACK feedback 1125 at gNB 1110 & Para [0088-0089] i.e., However, gNB 1110 may miss detect the HARQ-ACK feedback 1125 for initial transmission and it schedules the retransmission of CBG #0,#2, and #3),
Wherein the detection indicates that the receiver missed an initial scheduling of the transmission by the apparatus (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0088-0089] i.e., gNB 110 miss-detect HARQ-ACK feedback for initial transmission. In embodiments, the UE 1120 may transmit 1125 HARQ-ACK feedback “101011” for initial transmission to indicate that CBG #1 and #3 are not successfully decoded),
and rescheduling the same transmission or the initial transmission or the next redundancy version in response to the missing PUCCH for the HARQ ACK/NACK (see Para’s [0088-0089] i.e., However, gNB 1110 may miss detect the HARQ-ACK feedback 1125 for initial transmission and it schedules the retransmission of CBG #0,#2, and #3. When UE 1120 decodes the PDCCH carrying DCI for retransmission 1116) (see Fig. 11 i.e., retransmission 1116).
(He suggests the gNB reschedules the retransmission of the initial transmission to the UE in order for the UE to properly receive the missed data transmission (see Fig. 11 & Para [0089])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the apparatus disclosed in Yang to perform detecting a missing PUCCH for a HARQ ACK/NACK, which indicates that the receiver missed an initial scheduling of the transmission by the apparatus, and rescheduling the same transmission or the initial transmission in response to the missing PUCCH for the HARQ ACK/NACK, because the motivation lies in He that the gNB reschedules the retransmission of the initial transmission to the UE in order for the UE to properly receive the missed data transmission.
Regarding Claim 24, the claim is directed towards a computer program stored on a non-transitory medium, wherein the computer program when executed on a processor (Yang, see Para’s [0177-0178] i.e., For example, software code may be stored in a memory unit and executed by a processor) performs the method as claimed in claim 23. Therefore claim 24 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Yang in view of He as in claim 23.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461