DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. Per MPEP 2111.03 ‘The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps'. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0193578 A1 to Pan et al. (hereinafter Pan).
Regarding claim 1, Pan discloses an oxide fluorescent material, having a composition represented by the following formula
ZnxGayGezO (x+(3y/2)+2z):tCr3+,mR (para [0013]),
wherein a portion of Ga may be replaced with a Group IIIA metal (e.g., Al and/or In),
wherein a portion of Ge may be replaced with a Group IVA metal (e.g., Si and/or Sn),
C is Cr3+, Ni2+, or a combination thereof, and
R is selected from a group comprising Ni and lanthanide ions including Ce, Eu, Nd, Tm, Ho, Er, and Yb,
x, y, and z are integers from 1 to 5;
t is 0.01 to 2 and represents mol%; and
m is 0 to 5 and represents mol% (para [0013]).
This provides a formula ZnxGayGezO (x+(3y/2)+2z):tCr3+, mR, when C contains Cr3+, with an oxygen content, O, of 4.5 to 22.5, that overlaps the amount set forth in instantly claimed formula (1) 11.0 ≤ x ≤ 17.0.
The formulas overlap. Note that instantly claimed formula (1) cites
(Mg1-sMs1)2(Al1-tM2t)u(Ge1-vM3v)wOx:Cry,M4z
wherein M¹ represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ca, Sr, Ba, and Zn;
M² represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ga, Sc, and In;
M³ represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Si, Ti, Zr, Sn, and Hf;
M⁴ represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Ce,
Eu, Fe, Mn, Nd, Tm, Ho, Er, and Yb; and
s, t, u, v, w, x, y, and z satisfy 0 ≤ s ≤ 1.0, 0 ≤ t ≤ 1.0, 1.5 ≤ u ≤ 2.5, 0 ≤ v ≤ 0.5, 3.0 ≤ w ≤ 6.0, 11.0 ≤ x ≤ 17.0, 0.005 ≤ y ≤ 1.0, and 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.5, respectively.
See MPEP 2144.05(I), which states that ‘In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists’.
Regarding claim 2, Pan discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein s (amount of M1/Zn x) is 1 to 5 and may contain up to 2 mol% of an alkaline earth such as Mg (para [0013]). This leaves about 98 to 100 mol% Zn or 98 ≤ s ≤ 1.0, which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 0 ≤ s < 1.0 in the formula (1). See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 3, Pan discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein u (M2/Ga amount y) is 1 to 5 (para [0013]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 1.8 ≤ u ≤ 2.2 in the formula (1). See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 4, Pan discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein w (Ge amount z) is 1 to 5 (para [0013]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 3.5 ≤ w ≤ 4.5 in the formula (1). See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 5, Pan discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein t (Ga/M2 amount y) is 1 to 5 (para [0013]). In Pan, “y” accounts for the total amount of Ga plus IIIA substituents. The instantly claimed formula separates them. There is a total amount of Al +M2 =1 in the instant formula. Pan further discloses that the Ga may contain some Al with an Al/Ga ratio of 0.1 to 0.5 (para [0067]). This provides an amount Al0.01-0.5Ga0.5-0.9 or a t range of 0.5 ≤ t ≤ 0.9, which falls within the instantly claimed range of 0 ≤ t < 1.0.
Regarding claim 6, Pan discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein y (Cr amount t) satisfies 0.01 to 5 mol% or 0.0001 ≤ t ≤ 0.05 (para [0013]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 0.04 ≤ y ≤ 0.40 in the formula (1). See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 8, Pan discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein the fluorescent material has a high intensity and long persistence time at 1000 nm (para [0065]) but is silent regarding the limitation “wherein in a light emission spectrum of the oxide fluorescent material, a light emission intensity at 1,000 nm is 5% or more relative to a light emission intensity at the light emission peak wavelength as 100%”. However, the reference does teach an overlapping oxide fluorescent material, as discussed above. See MPEP 2112.01(I), which states that ‘Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established…"When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not."…Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product’. The fluorescent materials overlap. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the Pan fluorescent material to have overlapping optical properties, including overlapping light emission intensity under the same conditions, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 9, Pan discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, but is silent regarding the limitation “wherein the oxide fluorescent material has a full width at half maximum that is 90 nm or more and 250 nm or less”. However, the reference does teach an overlapping oxide fluorescent material, as discussed above. Therefore, per MPEP 2112.01(I) cited above, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the Pan fluorescent material to have overlapping optical properties including overlapping full width at half maximum (FWHM), absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 11, Pan discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein the oxide fluorescent material has a light emission peak wavelength that is 690 to 1106 nm (para [0013]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 680 nm or more and 1,000 nm or less. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0161849 A1 to Bickford.
Regarding claim 1, Bickford discloses an oxide fluorescent material, having a composition represented by the following formula
ZnxGayGezO (x+(3y/2)+2z):tCr3+,mR (para [0052]),
where R is a co-dopant selected from a group consisting of alkaline earth ions, Li+ ions, and lanthanide ions which inherently includes Ce, Eu, Nd, Tm, Ho, Er, and Yb,
x, y, and z are integers from 1 to 5;
t is 0.01 to 5 mol%; and
m is 0 to 5 mol% (para [0052]).
This provides a formula ZnxGayGezO (x+(3y/2)+2z):tCr3+,mR, where O is from 4.5 to 22.5, that overlaps instantly claimed formula (1).
Instantly claimed formula (1) cites (Mg1-sMs1)2(Al1-tM2t)u(Ge1-vM3v)wOx:Cry,M4z
wherein M¹ represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ca, Sr, Ba, and Zn;
M² represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ga, Sc, and In;
M³ represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Si, Ti, Zr, Sn, and Hf;
M⁴ represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Ni, Ce,
Eu, Fe, Mn, Nd, Tm, Ho, Er, and Yb; and
s, t, u, v, w, x, y, and z satisfy 0 ≤ s ≤ 1.0, 0 ≤ t ≤ 1.0, 1.5 ≤ u ≤ 2.5, 0 ≤v≤0.5, 3.0 ≤ w ≤ 6.0, 11.0 ≤ x ≤ 17.0, 0.005 ≤ y ≤ 1.0, and 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.5, respectively.
The formulas overlap when s=1, M1=Zn, t=1, M2=Ga, and v=0 in the instantly claimed formula. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 3, Bickford discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein u (M2/Ga amount y) is 1 to 5 (para [0052]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 1.8 ≤ u ≤ 2.2 in the formula (1). See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 4, Bickford discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein w (Ge amount z) is 1 to 5 (para [0052]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 3.5 ≤ w ≤ 4.5 in the formula (1). See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 6, Bickford discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein y (Cr amount t) satisfies 0.01 to 5 mol% or 0.0001 ≤ t ≤ 0.05 (para [0052]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 0.04 ≤ y ≤ 0.40 in the formula (1). See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 11, Bickford discloses the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1, wherein the oxide fluorescent material has a light emission peak wavelength that is 650-900 nm (para [0045]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 680 nm or more and 1,000 nm or less. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 13, Bickford discloses a light emitting device (kit/tool, para [0235]), comprising:
the oxide fluorescent material according to claim 1; and
a light emitting element (LED light source) irradiating the oxide fluorescent material and having a light emission peak wavelength in the range of about 100 nm to about 400 nm (UV light) or about 400 to about 700nm (fluorescent light) (para [0235]) that overlaps the instantly claimed range of 365 nm or more and 650 nm or less. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 28 of copending Application No. 18/564084 (hereinafter 084). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping oxide phosphors comprising overlapping compositions having overlapping formulas with overlapping amounts of elements selected from groups including Mg, Al, Ge, and Cr (instant claims 1-7 and 084 claim 28). The 084 claims are silent regarding the optical properties set forth in instant claims 8-12. However, as discussed above, the phosphors overlap. Therefore, per MPEP 2112.01(I) cited above, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the 084 phosphors to have overlapping optical properties, including but not limited to overlapping intensities, overlapping FWHM, and overlapping emission ranges under the same conditions, absent evidence to the contrary.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734