DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 11-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0264566 (hereinafter Chu).
Regarding claim 1, Chu discloses an apparatus of a non-access point station (STA1) configured for transmission opportunity (TXOP) sharing operations in a wireless local area network (WLAN) (disclosed is a non-AP station (STA) in an 802.11 wireless network, according to [0044], whereby such a station, STA1, may be a TXOP owner that participates in TXOP sharing, according to [0115]), the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry (the STA comprises a processor, according to [0050]); and
memory (the STA comprises a memory, according to [0120]),
wherein for the TXOP sharing operations, the processing circuitry is to configure the STA1 to allocate time in a TXOP obtained by the STA1 to one of an access point station (AP) and another non-AP STA (STA2) using a Multi-User Request-To-Send Transmission TXOP sharing (MU-RTS TXS) frame subvariant (STA1 transmits an MU-RTS TXS frame to another station, STA2, in order to allocate TXOP time for STA2 [“to one of … another non-AP STA (STA2)”], according to [0115]).
Claim 11 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions for execution by the processing circuity of the non-access point station (STA1) (a non-transitory computer readable medium stores instructions that are executed by a processor to perform the operations of the invention, according to [0120]-[0123]) that is recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Chu discloses an apparatus of an access point station (AP) configured for operating in a wireless local area network (WLAN) (disclosed is an access point (AP) in an 802.11 wireless network, according to [0044]), the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry (the AP comprises a processor, according to [0048]); and
memory (the AP comprises a memory, according to [0120]),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to decode a Multi-User Request-To-Send Transmission Opportunity sharing (MU-RTS TXS) frame subvariant received from a non-AP station (STA1) for transmission opportunity (TXOP) sharing operations, the MU-RTS TXS frame indicating that the STA1 is allocating time in a TXOP obtained by the STA1 to either of AP or another non-AP STA (STA2) (a STA1 uses an MU-RTS TXS frame to allocate TXOP time, whereby this TXOP time may be allocated to the AP, according to [0115]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 2, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Regarding claim 12, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, in view of Seok et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0219228 (hereinafter Seok).
Regarding claim 6, Chu discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Chu discloses that for the TXOP sharing operations when the STA1 is associated with the AP, during the TXOP, the processing circuitry is configured to: encode data for transmission to the AP, the data including a time allocation that allocates a portion of the TXOP (STA1 allocates part of its TXOP to the AP, according to [0116]).
Chu does not expressly disclose that the data for transmission to the AP is for forwarding by the AP to the STA2, the data destined for the STA2.
Seok discloses that the data for transmission to the AP is for forwarding by the AP to the STA2, the data destined for the STA2 (an AP relays data from a first STA to a second STA, according to [0053], Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu with Seok such that the data for transmission to the AP is for forwarding by the AP to the STA2, the data destined for the STA2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate setting up a direction link between STAs (Seok: [0053]).
Claim 16 does not differ substantively from claim 6, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 3-5, 7-10, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645