DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation: "… receiving, at one or more programmable computing devices … determining, by one or more programmable computing devices … determining, by one or more programmable computing devices … providing, by one or more programmable computing devices …" (emphasis added to accentuate insufficient antecedent basis). It is unclear, if “one or more programmable computing devices” refers to the same “device” or “set of devices” or if the computing device(s) is/are different from one another.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as the following:
“… receiving, at one or more programmable computing devices … determining, by the one or more programmable computing devices … determining, by the one or more programmable computing devices … providing, by the one or more programmable computing devices …”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Douglas et al hereinafter referred to as Douglas (US 2015/0065803 A1).
As per claim 1, Douglas discloses a method of identifying a location for tympanostomy tube placement at a tympanic membrane of a patient (Douglas: Abstract.), the method comprising the steps of:
receiving, at one or more programmable computing devices, ear image data (Douglas: Paras. [0014], [0032] disclose receiving the image of the subject's ear canal.);
determining, by one or more programmable computing devices, whether the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane (Douglas: Paras. [0014], [0035] disclose estimating, for each subregion, a probability that the subregion is part of a tympanic membrane and identifying and/or detecting a tympanic membrane region from the image of a subject's ear canal.);
when the ear image data is determined to include at least a portion of the tympanic membrane, determining, by one or more programmable computing devices based on the ear image data, a region at the tympanic membrane for placing a tympanostomy tube (Douglas: Para. [0014] discloses identifying a tympanic membrane region from the image using the estimated probabilities; Douglas: Paras. [0216], [0220] further disclose detection and characterization of the “cone of light”, which is the reflection of the otoscope light source in the anterior inferior quadrant of the TM, which can be used to identify anatomical landmarks/regions associated with orientation/placement of tympanostomy tubes (e.g., N/A, correct, incorrect, absent, present).); and
providing, by one or more programmable computing devices, an output indicative of the region at the tympanic membrane for placing the tympanostomy tube (Douglas: Para. [0029] discloses identifying the tympanic membrane region from the image on a representation of the image by circling/outlining, highlighting, coloring; Douglas: Para. [0338] further discloses indicating to the user where, in the live video, the TM is located and highlighting the boundaries.).
As per claim 2, Douglas discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determined region at the tympanic membrane for placing the tympanostomy tube corresponds to a quadrant, within the ear image data, determined to include the at least the portion of the tympanic membrane (Douglas: Paras. [0216], [0398] disclose identifying specific quadrants within the tympanic membrane image data, such as the anterior inferior quadrant or superior posterior quadrant.).
As per claim 3, Douglas discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the quadrant determined to include the at least the portion of the tympanic membrane comprises an anterior or interior quadrant within the ear image data determined to include the at least the portion of the tympanic membrane (Douglas: Para. [0216] discloses a typical otoscopic examination of a healthy TM exhibits a phenomenon known as 'cone of light', which is the reflection of the otoscope light source in the anterior inferior quadrant of the TM Detection and characterization of the cone of light may therefore be useful.).
As per claim 4, Douglas discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the provided output indicative of the region at the tympanic membrane for placing the tympanostomy tube comprises a visual annotation included at the quadrant determined to include the at least the portion of the tympanic membrane (Douglas: Paras. [0216], [0326] disclose identifying quadrants of the ear anatomy, indicating to the user, in real time, (a) that the TM has been detected and (b) where, in the live video, the TM is located. The interface for indicating the TM might include: highlighting the boundaries of the TM, highlighting the area of the TM, noting the center of the TM, e.g., with an icon.).
As per claim 5, Douglas discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the visual annotation is included in association with, and at a relative location within, the ear image data (Douglas: Paras. [0326], [0379] disclose teaching the indication of location within the live video or Automatic Feature Annotation image displayed with salient features automatically labeled, which might include: highlighting the boundaries of the TM, noting the center of the TM, e.g., with an icon such as a checkmark, smiley face, etc.).
As per claim 6, Douglas discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the one or more programmable computing devices comprise an otoscope assembly and a remote programmable computing device, and wherein the visual annotation is included at the quadrant at the tympanic membrane for visual perception at the tympanic membrane (Douglas: Paras. [0167], [0258], [0365] disclose an otoscope assembly comprising an otoscope component coupled to a smartphone which communicates with a data analytics server or remote server (i.e., a remote programmable computing device) to process exams. Further, Douglas: Paras. [0216], [0379] disclose the visual annotation at the quadrant of the tympanic membrane for visual perception.).
As per claim 9, Douglas discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein determining, by one or more programmable computing devices, whether the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane comprises determining, by the one or more programmable computing devices, a first predetermined probability range that the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane and a second, lower predetermined probability range that the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane (Douglas: Para. [0173] discloses determining a segmentation likelihood map with values from 0 to 1 and applying a threshold, effectively defining a first range above the threshold and a second, lower range below the threshold.),
when the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane within the first predetermined probability range, the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane (Douglas: Para. [0173] discloses that pixels over the threshold are set to 1 (True/includes TM).), and
when the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane within the second, lower predetermined probability range, the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the ear image data does not include at least a portion of the tympanic membrane (Douglas: Para. [0173] discloses that pixels below the threshold are set to 0 (False/does not include TM).).
As per claim 10, Douglas discloses the method of claim 9, when the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane within the second, lower probability range, outputting, by the one or more programmable computing devices an insufficient ear image data capture notification indicative of the determination by the one or more programmable computing devices that the ear image data does not include at least a portion of the tympanic membrane (Douglas: Paras. [0029], [0039, [0173], [0339] disclose the system may indicate when the image quality is low The target output is a continuous value probability that the pixel-of-interest is a part of the TM segmentation likelihood map which may be thresholded. Evaluating these probabilities against thresholds determine if the region is sufficiently captured or if the quality is low, indicating that the image includes such a region (e.g., above a threshold minimum amount of tympanic membrane region). Further, a threshold could be determined wherein, when the area of the tympanic membrane is sufficiently large, an indication is displayed that the TM has been successfully captured.).
As per claim 11, Douglas discloses the method of claim 9, wherein, when the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane by determining that the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane within the first predetermined probability range, the one or more programmable computing devices then determine the region at the tympanic membrane for placing a tympanostomy tube (Paras. [0016]-[0017] disclose identifying the tympanic membrane region using estimated probabilities and Para. [0220] discloses detecting the “cone of light” within the tympanic membrane, which is the standard anatomical region for tube placement. Further, Para. [0228] explicitly discusses determining “Timpanostomy tube placement” (noting correct vs. incorrect placement), which necessitates the system determining the specific region where the tube should be placed.).
As per claim 12, Douglas discloses the method of claim 11,
wherein determining, by one or more programmable computing devices, the region at the tympanic membrane for placing a tympanostomy tube comprises determining, by the one or more programmable computing device, a first predetermined probability range that the output indicative of the region at the tympanic membrane for placing the tympanostomy tube is accurate and a second, lower predetermined probability range that the output indicative of the region at the tympanic membrane for placing the tympanostomy tube is accurate, when the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the output indicative of the region at the tympanic membrane for placing the tympanostomy tube is within the first predetermined probability range, the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the output indicative of the region at the tympanic membrane for placing the tympanostomy tube is accurate, and when the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the output indicative of the region at the tympanic membrane for placing the tympanostomy tube is within the second, lower predetermined probability range, the one or more programmable computing devices determine that the output indicative of the region at the tympanic membrane for placing the tympanostomy tube is not accurate (Paras. [0173], [0186], [0189] disclose generating a probability image containing values (e.g., from 0 to 1) indicating the likelihood a region is part of the tympanic membrane and applying a pre-determined threshold to this data.).
As per claim 13, Douglas discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining, by one or more programmable computing devices, whether the ear image data includes at least a portion of the tympanic membrane comprises using a machine learning classifier trained to determine whether pixels of image data depict a portion of the tympanic membrane (Paras. [0022], [0186] disclose features extracted from the image may then be applied to an implementation of a pre-trained supervised machine learning classification model (e.g., a support vector machine or random forest model) included as part of the apparatus to predict whether the given pixel is part of the tympanic membrane or not. Furthermore, estimating may comprise using a trained classification model to predict if a subregion within the subset of subregions is part of a tympanic membrane.).
As per claim 14, Douglas discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the machine learning classifier has been trained with prior myringotomy-related surgical findings (Paras. [0231], [0234], [0253] disclose extracting features determined from procedures, including Tests for viruses or bacteria from tympanocentesis or directly from the middle ear in the case of tympanostomy tubes and assembling these features into vectors to train a machine learning system for diagnosis.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas in view of Shahoian (US 2014/0194891 A1).
As per claim 7, Douglas discloses the method of claim 6,
wherein the otoscope assembly comprises:
an otoscope, an otoscope speculum configured to couple to the otoscope, a camera configured to capture image data when the otoscope speculum is inserted into an ear canal, a light source configured to illuminate an ear canal when the otoscope speculum is inserted into the ear canal (Douglas: Paras. [0026], [0417], [0418] disclose an otoscope assembly with an otoscope component speculum, mobile phone camera, and an LED light guide.),
wherein the visual annotation, included at the quadrant at the tympanic membrane for visual perception at the tympanic membrane, is provided by the light source of the otoscope assembly (Douglas: Paras. [0436], [0441] disclose using the light source for structured or offset illumination to highlight features, supporting the use of the light source for visual feedback.).
However, Douglas does not explicitly disclose “… an incision tool that is configured to create an incision at the tympanic membrane, and a tube placement tool that is configured to hold a tympanostomy tube and to place the tympanostomy tube at the incision at the tympanic membrane …”.
Further, Shahoian is in the same field of endeavor and teaches an incision tool that is configured to create an incision at the tympanic membrane, and a tube placement tool that is configured to hold a tympanostomy tube and to place the tympanostomy tube at the incision at the tympanic membrane (Shahoian: Paras. [0006], [0071], [0113] disclose a system for tympanostomy tube placement comprising a combined TM penetrator and delivery device which includes a cutting/incision tool and a component that deploys the PE (pressure equalization) tube (e.g., the actuator system including a cutting tool and PE tube riding on it). Furthermore, Shahoian: Para. [0135] discloses targeting/visual annotation (visible dots/cross hairs) is provided by LEDs on the device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Douglas and Shahoian before him or her, to modify the otoscope system of Douglas to include the tube placement tool holding tympanostomy tube at the incision at the tympanic membrane feature as described in Shahoian. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve procedural efficiency, accuracy and safety by providing a configuration that enables a projected light annotated guide for the user to navigate the correct quadrant for precise and stable deployment.
As per claim 8, Douglas-Shahoian disclose the method of claim 7, wherein the tube placement tool comprises a mechanical arm (200) that is movable relative to otoscope (Shahoian: Paras. [0116], [0118], [0123] disclose mechanical actuator devices 200 are inserted into a working channel of the guide block system (otoscope assembly) and are linearly actuated or movable relative to the guide block to penetrate the tympanic membrane and place the tube.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be viewed in the list of references.
/PEET DHILLON/Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 2488
Date: 02-13-2026