DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, claim 15 recites “wherein the fantasy gameplay content comprises artificial intelligence content that provides likeness of real players and events that are playable in the first instance” and Claim 16 recites “wherein the fantasy gameplay content comprises artificial intelligence content corresponding to a live event game show, and wherein other users may join the first instance of the live event game show.”
However, the Applicant's disclosure does not properly explain how artificial intelligence will be used. Par. 114-115 of the specification merely recites that artificial intelligence will be used to achieve the desired result. Thus entirety of the description of the artificial intelligence implementation for Claims 15 and 16 in the specification is simply functional description of a desired result with almost identical language to the claims. It is not clear what kind of data set is being provided to train an Al model, nor what specific inputs or outputs are being made, nor is it explained what kinds of algorithms would be employed in consequent data generation, analysis, or decision-making or implementation. The functional results of “provides likeness of real players and events that are playable” and “a live event game show” are not simple routine and conventional uses of artificial intelligence where the implementation would be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art without any further elaboration at all. Furthermore, as of the effective filing date, artificial intelligence is a quickly changing and evolving field within the art, and as such, it would not be obvious to one skilled in the art how it is being applied in the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2163.03(V).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 11-14, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caputo et al., US 2019/0197820, in view of Lyons et al., US 2017/0316639.
In Reference to Claim 1
Caputo et al. teaches a system comprising a processor circuit; and a memory coupled to the processor circuit, the memory comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor circuit (Fig. 1-2 and Par. 15 and 31), cause the processor circuit to provide, by the processor circuit, a virtual environment in a metaverse, wherein the virtual environment comprises a virtual electronic gaming machine (EGM) (Abstract, Par. 4, 15, 27 “shared virtual environment (SVE) that includes virtual electronic wagering game machines (vEGMs)”); receive an identification of a first instance of the virtual environment that comprises fantasy gameplay content that is not available in the physical world (Fig. 3 and Par. 50-51 which teaches a shared virtual environment in VR where players embodied by avatar can play virtual gaming machines. See also Fig. 4 and Par. 14, 29, 61 which teaches players are represented by fantasy avatars such as a dwarf or a dragon which may or may not have different abilities for gameplay. See also Par. 54 which teach that vEGM can be a virtual game not based on real-world game titles); and generate, via the processor circuit, the first instance of the virtual environment that comprises the fantasy gameplay content (Fig. 3 and Par. 50-51. See also Fig. 1 and Par. 37-39 which teaches a VR Controller which coordinated the generation and display of the virtual gaming environment).
Further, Caputo et al. teaches various other real-world gaming devices that are involved in various wagering game functionality in connection with the VR Controller and VR Devices (Fig. 1 and Par. 31, 33, 42 “Central Controller,” “Player Tracking Server,” “Back Bet Server.”), however, Caputo et al. does not explicitly teach identification of gameplay content from a gaming device that is in a physical world in connection with the VR gaming.
Lyons et al. teaches a gaming system which includes identification of gameplay content from a gaming device that is in a physical world in connection with the VR gaming (Fig. 1 and Par. 28-29 which teaches that VR headsets can receive data for conduction wagering games in VR from a Wagering Game Server or directly from particular physical wagering game machines).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Caputo et al. to receive identification of gameplay content from a gaming device that is in a physical world in connection with the VR gaming as taught by Lyons et al. in order to improve the regulation and accounting of the vEGM wagering games by integrating them in with existing casino wagering game management and accounting systems based on physical casino devices to help ensure fairness of wagering outcomes and dispute resolution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system of Caputo et al. to receive identification of gameplay content from a gaming device that is in a physical world in connection with the VR gaming as taught by Lyons et al.
In Reference to Claim 20
See Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. as above in reference to Claim 1. Further, Caputo et al. also teaches a providing, via the processor circuit, a second instance of the virtual environment that is different from the first instance (Par. 8, 28, 52 “the VR controller 70 may transport the player 300 into a bonus SVE that is different than the SVE 320”); and triggering a new instance of the virtual environment in response to an event in a different instance the virtual environment (Par. 51-52, and 86-87 which teach triggering the Bonus SVE based on wagering gameplay).
In Reference to Claim 2
Caputo et al. teaches where the processor circuit is further caused to provide a
second instance of the virtual environment that is different from the first instance (Par. 8, 28, 52 “the VR controller 70 may transport the player 300 into a bonus SVE that is different than the SVE 320”).
In Reference to Claim 3
Caputo et al. teaches where the first instance corresponds to a first user in the
virtual environment and the second instance corresponds to a second user in the virtual
environment (Fig. 3 and Par. 50 and 86 which teaches a shared virtual environment and Par. 8 and 28 that teaches when a player triggers a bonus round on a vEGM they can trigger transporting players to the bonus SVE. Par. 7 “which other ones of the players are included in the bonus round is determined based on at least one of an amount of wagering during a given time period before the bonus is triggered, a random selection, and a player tracking score corresponding to wagering activity of the respective one of the players.”, and 28 which teaches that “some or all of the other players may be transported into the bonus SVE”. Thus a first instance, the initial shared SVE which includes the various virtual gaming machines could correspond to a first player who is not selected for the bonus game and is not transported to the bonus SVE. And the second instance, the Bonus SVE, could correspond to a different player who is transported, such as the one who triggered the bonus. See also Par. 72).
In Reference to Claim 6
Caputo et al. teaches where the fantasy gameplay content comprises personal
game adjustments that correspond to user preferences in the virtual environment and that are not achievable in the physical world (Caputo et al. Par. 61 which teaches that players may choose their fantasy avatar such as “Dragon.” See also Par. 64 which teaches that players can customize the maze for their triggered bonus SVE including themes like “Outer Space” and “Zombie Warehouse.”).
In Reference to Claim 11
Caputo et al. teaches where the first instance of the virtual environment
comprises first fantasy gameplay content that corresponds to first historical gaming content that is associated with a first time in history, and wherein a second instance of the virtual environment comprises second fantasy gameplay content that corresponds to second historical gaming content associated with a second time in history that is different from the first time in history (Par. 51 and 86 which teaches that players in the first SVE can play wagering games in virtual EGMs. Examiner considers this initial play period to constitute first historical gaming content associated with a first time in history. Par. 52 and 87 which teaches that at some point in player the players can trigger a bonus round which then initiates the Bonus SVE. Examiner considers this Bonus SVE gameplay to constitute second fantasy gameplay corresponding to second historical gaming content associated with a second time in history since it occurs as a different time from the previous game content).
In Reference to Claim 12
Caputo et al. teaches where the processor circuit is caused to trigger a new
instance of the virtual environment in response to an event in a different instance of the virtual environment (Par. 51-52, and 86-87 which teach triggering the Bonus SVE).
In Reference to Claim 13
Caputo et al. teaches wherein ones of a plurality of instances of the virtual
environment are generated responsive to an associated user comprising a wagering outcome (Par. 51-52, and 86-87 which teaches triggering the bonus round and Bonus SVE in the course of playing the vEGM in the initial SVE. See also Par. 7 and 72 which teaches where inclusion in the bonus SVE can be based on prior wagering activity).
In Reference to Claim 14
Caputo et al. teaches wherein a plurality of users is associated with a single one
of a plurality of instances of the virtual environment, and wherein the plurality of users participate in a celebration together (Par. 51-52, 72-73 and 86-87 which teach players playing in a shared virtual environment and Fig. 4 and Par. 56, and Par. 63 where multiple players join together into the bonus SVE to receive a reward. Examiner considers the bonus SVE shared between players to constitute a “celebration”).
In Reference to Claim 17
Caputo et al. teaches wherein the fantasy gaming content comprises an in-game
experience that comprises a user being within a portion of a virtual environment and that the user interacts with environment elements to cause an effect of the user affecting an outcome of game play (Fig. 4 and 56-63 which teaches the bonus SVE where player enter a maze and perform actions in order to receive prizes such as more spins or plays, or a multiplier). Caputo et al. teaches being inside a maze rather than and EGM, however Caputo et al. teaches that maze can have different visual themes (Par. 64).
Further, the aesthetic theme of the bonus SVE, e.g. outer space, zombie warehouse, inside a gaming machine, amounts only to nonfunctional descriptive material as claimed and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. The steps for providing the fantasy gameplay virtual environment as claimed would be performed the same regardless of avatars and the environment being chosen as “gaming machine” themed or not. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
In Reference to Claim 18
Caputo et al. teaches wherein, in the first instance of the virtual environment, a
depiction of the user comprises one of the EGM elements and is caused to be guided to appear to achieve an outcome at the EGM (Fig. 4 and 56-63 which teach a bonus SVE where players can take on different appearances and are guided by the game to overcome obstacles to and to “find small cash prizes” and where the player find and play the bonus EGM. As broadly claimed example considers the player avatars to be “EGM elements” as they are participants in the bonus SVE for the virtual gaming machines)
Further, the visual or aesthetic theme of the bonus SVE of player avatar amounts only to nonfunctional descriptive material as claimed and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. The steps for providing the fantasy gameplay virtual environment as claimed would be performed the same regardless of avatars and the environment being chosen as “gaming machine” themed or not. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Claims 4-5, 7-10, and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caputo et al., US 2019/0197820, Lyons et al., US 2017/0316639, further in view of Colvin et al., US 2015/0221183.
In Reference to Claim 4
Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. teaches a system as described above in reference to Claim 3 including where a virtual environment provided in VR is a fantasy VR environment (See for example Par. 14, 29, 61 which teach avatars for characters and where avatars can be fantasy characters). However, Caputo et al. does not teach where the virtual environment comprises content corresponding to a live event feed, wherein the first instance of the virtual environment comprises first content that is caused to be in the first instance of the virtual environment, and wherein the second instance of the virtual environment comprises second game content that is caused to be in the second instance of the virtual environment.
Lyons et al. teaches a virtual environment provided in VR where the virtual environment comprises content corresponding to a live event feed (Par. 28 “For example, VR data may incorporate a live feed from an actual sporting event.” And Par. 37 “the VR casino 30 may comprise computer-generated imagery, video imagery from a live feed in an actual casino, and a combination of computer-generated and live video imagery.”).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Caputo et al. to include content corresponding to a live feed in the virtual environment as taught by Lyons et al. in order to allow the VR Casino environment to offer games related to live sporting events and let player view related real-world outcomes live, or to entertain players with ambiance from a live feed of a sporting event or a live feed of a real world casino environment.
Colvin et al. teaches a VR gaming system which teaches the first instance of the virtual environment comprises first content that is caused to be in the first instance of the virtual environment, and wherein the second instance of the virtual environment comprises second game content that is caused to be in the second instance of the virtual environment (Fig. 14 and Par. 232-238 which teaches that a VR casino environment can be divided into different virtual environment “rooms” which can have different virtual games and gaming machines and different virtual themes.).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. to include multiple instance of game rooms each offering a suite of gaming opportunities as taught by Colvin et al. and include multiple SVEs each with their own gaming machines and each with their own live event feed in order to allow players to move between the different SVEs according to their own preferences. For example on SVE could be themed around horse racing and offer horse racing games and a live feed of horse racing, and player could have horse themes fantasy avatars, and other SVE could be football themed and offer a live feed of football and players could have football themed fantasy avatars.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include content corresponding to a live feed in the virtual environment as taught by Lyons et al. and to modify the system of Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. to include multiple instance of game rooms each offering a suite of gaming opportunities as taught by Colvin et al.
In Reference to Claim 5
Caputo et al. as modified by Lyons et al. and Colvin et al. teach wherein the live event feed is modified via the first fantasy content in the first instance of the virtual environment, wherein the live event feed is modified via the second fantasy content in the second instance of the virtual environment, and wherein the first fantasy content is different from the second fantasy content (Caputo et al. as modified by Lyons et al. and Colvin et al. as described above where the live feed is embodied within the virtual environment as described in Lyons (see Fig. 2 and Par. 34) and where Caputo et al. teaches fantasy content for the VR environment as described above, and Colvin et al. which teach different VR gaming rooms can have different content themes. Examiner considers a live feed that is embedded and displayed within fantasy environments with different themes to constitute the live event feed being “modified” be the fantasy content).
In Reference to Claim 7
Caputo et al. teaches a system as described above in reference to Claim 1. Further Caputo et al. teaches where the system provides a plurality of instances to players (Par. 8, 28, 52 “the VR controller 70 may transport the player 300 into a bonus SVE that is different than the SVE 320”). However, Caputo et al. does not explicitly teach where the processor circuit is further caused to provide, in the virtual environment, a plurality of shared parallel instances that are associated with respective ones of a plurality of users.
Colvin et al. teaches a VR gaming system which teaches a plurality of shared parallel instances that are associated with respective ones of a plurality of users (Fig. 14 and Par. 232-238 which teaches that a VR casino environment can be divided into different virtual environment “rooms” which can have different virtual games and gaming machines and different virtual themes, and players can move between the different VR rooms. Examiner considers at least a VR room occupied by player to be “associated” with that player).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. to include multiple instance of game rooms each offering a suite of VR gaming opportunities as taught by Colvin et al. in order to allow players in the gaming SVE of Caputo et al. to move to different gaming rooms as desired in or to go to rooms offering different gaming opportunities or rooms displaying different visual or aesthetic themes according to the player’s preferences.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system of Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. to include multiple instance of game rooms each offering a suite of VR gaming opportunities as taught by Colvin et al.
In Reference to Claim 8
Caputo et al. as modified by Lyons et al. and Colvin et al. teach where the plurality of shared parallel instances comprises a first shared parallel instance corresponding to a first user and a second shared parallel instance corresponding to a second user (See above in regard to Claim 7 which teaches a plurality of rooms which players can move between. Where examiner considers at least a VR room occupied by player to be “corresponding” to that player).
In Reference to Claim 9
Caputo et al. as modified by Lyons et al. and Colvin et al. teach where the plurality of shared parallel VR instances as described above. However, they do not explicitly teach where one of the plurality of shared instances are exclusively shared with another one of the shared instances.
Caputo et al. teaches where particular game instances may be exclusively shared with another one of the shared instances (Par. 7-8 and 28 which teaches that only particular qualifying players are transported to the bonus gaming room).
It would be desirable to modify the parallel gaming rooms of Caputo et al. Lyons et al. and Colvin et al. to include parallel gaming rooms that are exclusively shared with only players in a particular other room who qualify as taught by Caputo et al. in order to offer “exclusive” or “members only” gaming rooms that players must earn the ability to go into where gaming activity in a first gaming room. Thus increasing the enjoyment of the players by providing them with the opportunity to game in what feels like a more special VR environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include parallel gaming rooms that are exclusively shared with only players in a particular other room who qualify as taught by Caputo et al.
In Reference to Claim 10
Caputo et al. as modified by Lyons et al. and Colvin et al. teach a system as described above in reference to Claim 7. However, as described above they do not explicitly teach where the plurality of users comprises a group of users that are associated with one another exclusive of the ones of the plurality of users.
Colvin et al. teaches a VR gaming environment (Par. 232) which teaches where the plurality of users comprises a group of users that are associated with one another exclusive of the ones of the plurality of users (Par. 122-123, 185, and 189 which teaches a “Friends List” for players where players are associated with a particular subset of other players designated a friends and where the player can use their list for communication or to invite the other player to join them at their particular game).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Caputo et al., Lyons et al. and Colvin et al. to include a friends list as taught by Colvin et al. in order to allow players to find and communicate with their friends or buddies in game in order to better interact and player with them in the VR gaming environment when in includes a plurality of available rooms and gaming tables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system of Caputo et al., Lyons et al. and Colvin et al. to include a friends list as taught by Colvin et al.
In Reference to Claim 19
Caputo et al. teaches a method comprising providing, by the processor circuit, a virtual environment in a metaverse, wherein the virtual environment comprises a virtual electronic gaming machine (EGM) (Abstract, Par. 4, 15, 27 “shared virtual environment (SVE) that includes virtual electronic wagering game machines (vEGMs)”); receive an identification of a first instance of the virtual environment that comprises fantasy gameplay content that is not available in the physical world (Fig. 3 and Par. 50-51 which teaches a shared virtual environment in VR where players embodied by avatar can play virtual gaming machines. See also Fig. 4 and Par. 14, 29, 61 which teaches players are represented by fantasy avatars such as a dwarf or a dragon which may or may not have different abilities for gameplay. See also Par. 54 which teach that vEGM can be a virtual game not based on real-world game titles); and generate, via the processor circuit, the first instance of the virtual environment that comprises the fantasy gameplay content (Fig. 3 and Par. 50-51. See also Fig. 1 and Par. 37-39 which teaches a VR Controller which coordinated the generation and display of the virtual gaming environment) provide, via the processor circuit, a second instance of the virtual environment that is different from the first instance (Par. 8, 28, 52 “the VR controller 70 may transport the player 300 into a bonus SVE that is different than the SVE 320”).
Further, Caputo et al. teaches various other real-world gaming devices that are involved in various wagering game functionality in connection with the VR Controller and VR Devices (Fig. 1 and Par. 31, 33, 42 “Central Controller,” “Player Tracking Server,” “Back Bet Server.”), however, Caputo et al. does not explicitly teach identification of gameplay content from a gaming device that is in a physical world in connection with the VR gaming, providing, in the virtual environment, a plurality of shared parallel instances that are associated with the respective ones of a plurality of users.
Lyons et al. teaches a gaming system which includes identification of gameplay content from a gaming device that is in a physical world in connection with the VR gaming (Fig. 1 and Par. 28-29 which teaches that VR headsets can receive data for conduction wagering games in VR from a Wagering Game Server or directly from particular physical wagering game machines).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Caputo et al. to receive identification of gameplay content from a gaming device that is in a physical world in connection with the VR gaming as taught by Lyons et al. in order to improve the regulation and accounting of the vEGM wagering games by integrating them in with existing casino wagering game management and accounting systems based on physical casino devices to help ensure fairness of wagering outcomes and dispute resolution.
Colvin et al. teaches a VR gaming system which teaches a plurality of shared parallel instances that are associated with respective ones of a plurality of users (Fig. 14 and Par. 232-238 which teaches that a VR casino environment can be divided into different virtual environment “rooms” which can have different virtual games and gaming machines and different virtual themes, and players can move between the different VR rooms. Examiner considers at least a VR room occupied by player to be “associated” with that player).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. to include multiple instance of game rooms each offering a suite of VR gaming opportunities as taught by Colvin et al. in order to allow players in the gaming SVE of Caputo et al. to move to different gaming rooms as desired in or to go to rooms offering different gaming opportunities or rooms displaying different visual or aesthetic themes according to the player’s preferences.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the system of Caputo et al. to receive identification of gameplay content from a gaming device that is in a physical world in connection with the VR gaming as taught by Lyons et al., and to modify the system of Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. to include multiple instance of game rooms each offering a suite of VR gaming opportunities as taught by Colvin et al.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caputo et al., US 2019/0197820, Lyons et al., US 2017/0316639, further in view of Wang et al., US 2022/0292772, and Peters, US 2025/0295993.
In Reference to Claim 15
Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. teach a system as described above in reference to Clam 1 including fantasy gameplay content. However, they do not teach artificial intelligence content that provides likeness of real players and events that are playable in the first instance.
Wang et al. teaches artificial intelligence content that provides likeness of real players that are playable in the first instance (Par. 13 and 21 which teaches using AI to modify game avatars to match the appearance of real players).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Caputo et al. and Lyons et al. to include AI avatar modification as taught by Wang et al. in order to increase the enjoyment of player by allowing them to modify the fantasy gameplay content such as the avatar to better resemble their actual face. For example making a fantasy dwarf or elf avatar display their real face so that the player can better feel like they are actually embodied in the VR gaming experience.
Peters teaches artificial intelligence content that provides events that are playable in the first instance (Abstract Par. 207-216 and Par. 224-230 and Fig. 6 where an LLM is used to allow a user to use natural language requests to customize their gaming experience and provide custom gaming event which react to the player).
It would be desirable to modify the system of Caputo et al. and Lyon et al. to include the LLM based game event modification as taught by Peters in order to increase the enjoyment of the player by having the game adapt to the player’s natural speech to provide a more fun gaming experience and to provide a game with the theme or fantasy gameplay better reacts to the player as taught by Peters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include AI avatar modification as taught by Wang et al. and to modify the system of Caputo et al. and Lyon et al. to include the LLM based game event modification as taught by Peters.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caputo et al., US 2019/0197820, Lyons et al., US 2017/0316639, further in view of Peters, US 2025/0295993.
In Reference to Claim 16
Caputo et al. teaches where the fantasy gameplay content comprises game content corresponding to a live event game show, and wherein other users may join the first instance of the live event game show (Fig. 4-5, Par. 51-52, 56, 63 72-73 and 86-87 which teach players playing a bonus game in a shared virtual environment where this shared bonus game event constitutes a “live event game show.”). However, Caputo et al. does not teach where the fantasy gaming content comprises artificial intelligence content.
Peters teaches a casino gaming system where fantasy gaming content comprises artificial intelligence content (Par 224-230 which teaches a game with a fantasy character speak in natural language reactively to the events in the players gameplay using an LLM AI to generation output for the character).
It would be desirable to modify the bonus game “live event game show” of Caputo et al. to include an AI based fantasy game content as taught by Peters in order to provide a more immersive and exciting gaming environment where the game can narrate and react to events in the bonus game maze as they happen similar to a game show host or a play-by-play announcer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the bonus game “live event game show” of Caputo et al. to include an AI based fantasy game content as taught by Peters.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CARL V LARSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3715