DETAILED ACTION
1. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC ' 103
Claims 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhardwaj (US 20210397562) in view of Kim (US 20200057580) and Smith (US 8364918).
With respect to claim 1, the Bhardwaj reference teaches a storage device comprising:
a memory device including a plurality of memory blocks corresponding to a plurality of physical zones; (e.g. fig. 1, memory device 140; and paragraph 34, where memory sub-system controller 115 (or controller 115, for simplicity) can communicate with the memory devices 130 to perform operations such as reading data, writing data, or erasing data at the memory devices 130 and other such operations) and
a memory controller connected to the memory device, (e.g. fig 1, controller 115; and paragraph 34, where memory sub-system controller 115 (or controller 115, for simplicity) can communicate with the memory devices 130 to perform operations such as reading data, writing data, or erasing data at the memory devices 130 and other such operations) and
wherein the memory controller is configured to, when receiving a zone reset command for a reset target zone, (paragraph 44, where after the memory request is executed, e.g. during a downtime or a scheduled GC time, the controller 115 can perform static GC 218 and/or background scan 220 [analogous to a ‘zone reset command’ as claimed]) update a physical zone corresponding to the reset target zone among the plurality of physical zones to an invalid zone in a mapping table, and to sequentially trigger a block erase operation for an erase target memory block among a plurality of memory blocks included in the invalid zone in each period of a plurality of periods in which a foreground operation corresponding to a foreground command is not performed, (paragraph 19, where because each zone's LBAs are written to sequentially, rewriting data already stored in the zone requires invalidating the entire zone (by, e.g., moving a write pointer to the starting LBA of the zone) [i.e. sequentially from the start]; and paragraph 44, during background scan 220, the memory sub-system controller 115 can identify blocks that are at an elevated risk of having too many bits corrupted so that the error-correction code (ECC) may eventually be unable to repair the data stored thereon. Such blocks can be folded (copied to new locations with old locations erased or invalidated, i.e., scheduled for erasure) to other blocks, e.g., to blocks having a lower EC. Upon completion (or, in some embodiments, during execution) of the static GC 218 and/or background scan 220, the controller 115 can update the memory look-up table 212 (as indicated by the corresponding dashed lines) with the new memory translations; and where background scan 220 can include a zone-aware background scan 236)
However, the Bhardwaj reference does not explicitly teach wherein the memory controller is further configured to, when receiving an additional foreground command in the period in which the block erase operation is performed on a current memory block, trigger an additional foreground operation corresponding to the additional foreground command after the block erase operation for the current memory block is completed; and wherein the storage device is configured to distribute the block erase operation to the plurality of periods in which a foreground operation corresponding to a foreground command is not performed by selecting a portion of the plurality of memory blocks included in the invalid zone as the erase target memory block for a respective period of the plurality of periods.
The Kim reference teaches it is conventional to have wherein the memory controller is further configured to, when receiving an additional foreground command in the period in which the block erase operation is performed on a current memory block, trigger an additional foreground operation corresponding to the additional foreground command after the block erase operation for the current memory block is completed. (paragraph 54, where when the semiconductor memory device 100 is in the busy state, it may mean that the semiconductor memory device 100 is still performing the internal operation. For example, when the semiconductor memory device 100 is in the busy state, it may mean that the semiconductor memory device 100 is still performing the program, read or erase operation corresponding to a current command and is not yet ready for serving a next command to be provided thereto. In the busy state, the ready-busy signal becomes the “busy state.”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the Bhardwaj reference to have wherein the memory controller is further configured to, when receiving an additional foreground command in the period in which the block erase operation is performed on a current memory block, trigger an additional foreground operation corresponding to the additional foreground command after the block erase operation for the current memory block is completed, as taught by the Kim reference.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to control, regardless of the actual state of the semiconductor memory device 100, a time at which the state of the ready-busy signal is changed from the busy state to the ready state according to an internal temperature of the semiconductor memory device 100. (Kim, paragraph 55)
However, the combination of the Bhardwaj and Kim references does not explicitly teach wherein the storage device is configured to distribute the block erase operation to the plurality of periods in which a foreground operation corresponding to a foreground command is not performed by selecting a portion of the plurality of memory blocks included in the invalid zone as the erase target memory block for a respective period of the plurality of periods.
The Smith reference teaches it is conventional to have wherein the storage device is configured to distribute the block erase operation to the plurality of periods in which a foreground operation corresponding to a foreground command is not performed by selecting a portion of the plurality of memory blocks included in the invalid zone as the erase target memory block for a respective period of the plurality of periods. (column 8, line 66 to column 9, line 11, where the NAND controller 210 then uses the real-time schedule to sense idle periods where the application will not make a request of the memory (block 408). In one embodiment, the expected read/write cycle times of the managed NAND 204 may be used to sense idle periods to determine the length of time to complete each read/write operation in the real-time schedule. In one embodiment, the NAND controller 210 performs garbage collection during the idle periods (block 410) [analogous to ‘the plurality of periods’ as claimed], rather than having to wait until the NAND array 208 is substantially full)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the combination of the Bhardwaj and Kim references to have wherein the storage device is configured to distribute the block erase operation to the plurality of periods in which a foreground operation corresponding to a foreground command is not performed by selecting a portion of the plurality of memory blocks included in the invalid zone as the erase target memory block for a respective period of the plurality of periods, as taught by the Smith reference.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow the memory to perform opportunistic garbage collection based on idle periods sensed in the real-time schedule. (Smith, column 4, lines 41-48)
Therefore it would have been obvious to combine the Bhardwaj, Kim, and Smith references for the benefits shown above to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Bhardwaj, Kim, and Smith references teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the mapping table indicates a relationship between a plurality of logical zones and the plurality of physical zones, and the memory controller is configured to select the erase target memory block from among the plurality of memory blocks included in the invalid zone with reference to an address value of a write pointer of the invalid zone. (Bhardwaj, paragraph 19, where because each zone's LBAs are written to sequentially, rewriting data already stored in the zone requires invalidating the entire zone (by, e.g., moving a write pointer to the starting LBA of the zone). Using zoned namespaces allows more efficient (faster) read, write, and erase operations and reduces the need for over-provisioning of memory blocks to various applications (by reducing the number of blocks that otherwise would store invalid data and which have to be factored in when memory is allocated to the applications))
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Bhardwaj, Kim, and Smith references teaches the storage device of claim 2, wherein the memory controller is configured to select a memory block including a page mapped to an address value smaller than an address value of the write pointer as the erase target memory block. (Bhardwaj, paragraph 19, where the application can specify an identifier of the zone, which can be a starting (lowest) LBA of the zone or any other pointer that specifies the zone; and paragraph 43, where The LBA 210 can be used by the memory sub-system controller 115 to identify a physical memory partition (block, page, plane, etc.) to which the received memory request [i.e. an erase command] is related. For example, the memory sub-system controller 115 can access a memory look-up table 212 to determine the PBA 216 that corresponds to the LBA 210)
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Bhardwaj, Kim, and Smith references teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the memory controller is configured to select a memory block in which data is written from among the plurality of memory blocks included in the invalid zone as the erase target memory block. (Bhardwaj, paragraph 19, where the application can specify an identifier of the zone, which can be a starting (lowest) LBA of the zone or any other pointer that specifies the zone; and paragraph 43, where The LBA 210 can be used by the memory sub-system controller 115 to identify a physical memory partition (block, page, plane, etc.) to which the received memory request [i.e. an erase command] is related. For example, the memory sub-system controller 115 can access a memory look-up table 212 to determine the PBA 216 that corresponds to the LBA 210)
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Bhardwaj, Kim, and Smith references teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the memory controller is configured to sequentially select a block having a smaller mapped address value from among a plurality of erase target memory blocks as the current memory block and to trigger the block erase operation for the current memory block. (Bhardwaj, paragraph 19, where the application can specify an identifier of the zone, which can be a starting (lowest) LBA of the zone or any other pointer that specifies the zone; and paragraph 43, where The LBA 210 can be used by the memory sub-system controller 115 to identify a physical memory partition (block, page, plane, etc.) to which the received memory request [i.e. an erase command] is related. For example, the memory sub-system controller 115 can access a memory look-up table 212 to determine the PBA 216 that corresponds to the LBA 210)
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Bhardwaj, Kim, and Smith references teaches the storage device of claim 1, wherein the memory controller is configured to, when the block erase operation for the current memory block is completed, update a memory block mapped to a subsequent address value of an address value of the current memory block among a plurality of erase target memory blocks to the current memory block. (Bhardwaj, paragraph 44, during background scan 220, the memory sub-system controller 115 can identify blocks that are at an elevated risk of having too many bits corrupted so that the error-correction code (ECC) may eventually be unable to repair the data stored thereon. Such blocks can be folded (copied to new locations with old locations erased or invalidated, i.e., scheduled for erasure) to other blocks, e.g., to blocks having a lower EC. Upon completion (or, in some embodiments, during execution) of the static GC 218 and/or background scan 220, the controller 115 can update the memory look-up table 212 (as indicated by the corresponding dashed lines) with the new memory translations; and where background scan 220 can include a zone-aware background scan 236)
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhardwaj (US 20210397562) in view of Kim (US 20200057580) and Smith (US 8364918) as shown in the rejections above, and further in view of Ji (US 20180349240).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of the Bhardwaj, Kim, and Smith references does not explicitly the storage device of claim 6, wherein the memory controller is configured to suspend a block erase operation for the memory block mapped to the subsequent address value in a period in which the additional foreground operation corresponding to the additional foreground command is performed.
The Ji reference teaches it is conventional to have wherein the memory controller is configured to suspend a block erase operation for the memory block mapped to the subsequent address value in a period in which the additional foreground operation corresponding to the additional foreground command is performed. (paragraph 43, where In this respect, a non-volatile memory device in the suspend state can be transitioned from the suspend state back to a programming state based on the subsequent program command. In regard to erase commands, the controller 114 issues either a reset command or an erase stop command to stop the erase operation from occurring. The controller 114 then monitors the status poll from the non-volatile memory device to detect a ready signal. Upon detecting the ready signal, the controller 114 may resume the stopped erase command by issuing a same erase command to a same address in the non-volatile memory device (e.g., an address pointing to a physical block of the non-volatile memory device). In this respect, a non-volatile memory device in the terminate state can be transitioned from the terminate state back to an erase state based on the subsequent erase command)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify combination of the Bhardwaj, Kim, and Smith references to have wherein the memory controller is configured to suspend a block erase operation for the memory block mapped to the subsequent address value in a period in which the additional foreground operation corresponding to the additional foreground command is performed, as taught by the Ji reference.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow a non-volatile memory device in the terminate state to be transitioned from the terminate state back to an erase state based on the subsequent erase command. (Ji, paragraph 43)
Therefore it would have been obvious to combine the Bhardwaj, Kim, Smith, and Ji references for the benefits shown above to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
2. ARGUMENTS CONCERNING PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Rejections - USC 102/103
Applicant's arguments (see pages 8-9 of the remarks) and amendments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered, and are persuasive. Particularly, the Examiner notes the inclusion of the Smith reference as shown in the rejections above to teach the newly added claim language.
3. CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
/PRASITH THAMMAVONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137