CTNF 18/754,370 CTNF 86141 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/26/24, 2/27/25 and 6/17/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1 and 11 recite “detect an execution event of an application which supports a web-based interface”, “obtain, from the memory, history information on a plurality of web pages accessed through the application” , “determine that the first tab is to be excluded from a graphic user interface of the application which indicates a history accessed through the application, based on the information on the first tab and the information on the second tab” and “display the graphic user interface in which the second tab is included and the first tab is excluded”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of steps “detect an execution event of an application which supports a web-based interface” and “determine that the first tab is to be excluded from a graphic user interface of the application which indicates a history accessed through the application, based on the information on the first tab and the information on the second tab” is that those steps fall within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because they cover concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the “detecting” encompasses mental observations or evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind. For example, the claimed detecting an executing event to be performed can be done by a human and determining encompasses and observation of data in the history information. The limitations “obtain, from the memory, history information on a plurality of web pages accessed through the application” and “display the graphic user interface in which the second tab is included and the first tab is excluded” are mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and output, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering and outputting. See MPEP 2106.05. The limitations are recited as being performed by a computer. The computer is recited at a high level of generality and is used as a tool to perform the generic computer function of receiving data or to perform an abstract idea, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. Additional elements “obtain, from the memory, history information on a plurality of web pages accessed through the application” and “display the graphic user interface in which the second tab is included and the first tab is excluded” were both found to be insignificant extra-solution activity, because they were determined to be insignificant limitations as necessary data gathering and outputting. These additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yushkina et al., United States Patent Publication 20230047383 (hereinafter “Yushkina”) . Claim 1: Yushkina discloses: An electronic device comprising: memory which stores instructions (see paragraph [0015]). Yushkina teaches memory storing instructions ; and at least one processor (see paragraph [0015]). Yushkina teaches a processor , wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: detect an execution event of an application which supports a web-based interface (see paragraph [0066]). Yushkina teaches detecting a copy event in the application on a web-based interface ; obtain, from the memory, history information on a plurality of web pages accessed through the application, wherein the history information includes information on a first tab corresponding to a first web page and information on a second tab corresponding to a second web page (see paragraphs [0064], [0065] and [0067]). Yushkina teaches obtaining history information on a plurality of web pages accessed through the web application. The history information is related is all webpages that have been accessed ; determine that the first tab is to be excluded from a graphic user interface of the application which indicates a history accessed through the application, based on the information on the first tab and the information on the second tab (see paragraph [0097]). Yushkina teaches determine that the first tab is to be excluded based on a score being below a threshold and may be triggered to be hidden ; and display the graphic user interface in which the second tab is included and the first tab is excluded (see paragraph [0097]). Yushkina teaches displays the active tab and hiding the other tab . Claim 2: Yushkina discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to identify a first entry point of the first web page corresponding to the first tab, wherein the first entry point indicates an access path for a plurality of web pages including the first web page (see paragraph [0105]). Yushkina teaches identifying a first entry point of the first web page associated the first web page that gives access to a plurality of pages in the history. Claim 3: Yushkina discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to identify first Uniform Resource Location (URL) information of the first web page and second URL information of the second web page, based on identifying that the first entry point and a second entry point of the second web page corresponding to the second tab are not present (see paragraphs [0065], [0083] and [0105]). Yushkina teaches identifying the URL information of the first and second web pages based on the save entry points. Claim 4: Yushkina discloses: identify a first timing of accessing the first web page and a second timing of accessing the second web page, based on identifying that the first URL information and the second URL information are identical (see paragraph [0035]-[0039]). Yushkina teaches the identifying timing of the first web page and a second web page ; and determine the first tab as a target to be excluded from the graphic user interface, based on identifying that the first timing precedes the second timing (see paragraph [0054]). Yushkina teaches determining the first tab is excluded based on the tab is not the most recent . Claim 5: Yushkina discloses: identify a first timing of accessing the first web page and a second timing of accessing the second web page, based on identifying that the first entry point and a second entry point of the second web page corresponding to the second tab are identical (see paragraphs [0048], [0054] and [0151]). Yushkina teaches identifying timing information to a first and second webpage based on the timestamps being similar ; and determine the first tab as a target to be excluded from the graphic user interface, based on identifying that the first timing precedes the second timing (see paragraph [0054]). Yushkina teaches determining the first tab is excluded based on the tab is not the most recent. Claim 6: Yushkina discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to determine the first tab as a target to be excluded from the graphic user interface, based on identifying that the first tab is in a first state of not being locked (see paragraph [0063] and [0097]). Yushkina teaches determining if the page is private and if not, exclude the tab from the GUI for reasons such as recency. Claim 7: Yushkina discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to determine the first tab as a target to be excluded from the graphic user interface, based on identifying that the first tab is in a second state of not being grouped with at least one third tab (see paragraph [0013], [0065] and [0148]). Yushkina teaches determining a tab to be excluded when not grouped based on recency. Claim 8: Yushkina discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to identify the first entry point, based on identifying that the first tab is in a third state of being grouped with at least one third tab (see paragraph [0105] and [0142]). Yushkina teaches determining the entry point of grouped tabs to continue browsing or searching. Claim 9: Yushkina discloses: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to identify first URL information of the first web page and third URL information of at least one third web page, based on identifying that the first entry point and a third entry point of the at least one third web page corresponding to the at least one third tab are not present (see paragraph [0091] and [0105]). Yushkina teaches identifying URL based on the entry point of grouped webpages based on matching the pages with keywords and entry points. Claim 10: Yushkina discloses: identify a first timing of accessing the first web page and a third timing of accessing the at least one third web page, based on identifying that the first URL information and the third URL information are identical (see paragraphs [0048], [0054] and [0151]). Yushkina teaches identifying timing information to a first and second webpage based on the timestamps being similar ; and determine the first tab as a target to be excluded from the graphic user interface, based on identifying that the first timing precedes the third timing (see paragraph [0054]). Yushkina teaches determining the first tab is excluded based on the tab is not the most recent. Claims 11-20: Although Claims 11-20 are method claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the device of Claims 1-10, respectively. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TIONNA M BURKE whose telephone number is (571)270-7259. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8a-4p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Stephen Hong can be reached at (571)272-4124. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 4/3/26 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 2 Art Unit: 2178 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 3 Art Unit: 2178 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 4 Art Unit: 2178 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 5 Art Unit: 2178 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 6 Art Unit: 2178 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 7 Art Unit: 2178 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 8 Art Unit: 2178 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 9 Art Unit: 2178 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 10 Art Unit: 2178 Application/Control Number: 18/754,370 Page 11 Art Unit: 2178