DETAILED ACTION
In application filed on 06/26/2024, Claims 11-28 are pending. The claim set submitted on 5/20/2026 is considered because this is the most recent claim set with some preliminary amendments. Claims 11-28 are considered in the current office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/26/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. In the election on 5/20/2026, Applicant has cancelled all non-elected Groups/claims. Claims 1-10 are cancelled.
Group I, Claims 11-28 are considered on the merits below.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 27 recites “sample”. It appears that this limitation should be recited as “the sample” due to the dependence on Claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the continuous phase". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of expedited prosecution, the limitation " the continuous phase" is interpreted by the Examiner as " a continuous phase".
Claim 16 recites that wherein the one or more channels, the step region, and the ramp region are connected such that fluid cannot flow into the array region from the ramp region without first flowing through at least one of the one or more channels.
It is not clear how the fluid is being flown into the array. Also, it is not clear what steps are being performed to (or what structure is being used) to obstruct the flow of the fluid into the array region.
Applicant should provide clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Arab et al. (US20160271576A1, submitted in IDS on 08/17/2021) in view of Hung et al. (US20160001289A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Arab teaches a method of finite step emulsification (See Para 0007…methods for forming droplets, including a multi-step microchannel emulsification device), the method comprising:
flowing a dispersed phase (See Para 0070…when fluid stream 151 is introduced into inlet portion 107 of first channel 105; See Para 0021… the emulsion formed between the first fluid and the second fluid, thereby teaching “flowing a dispersed phase” ) through a droplet forming region (referred to as the embodiment of the emulsification device [Para 0058; Fig. 2, ref. 100]) and forming constrained droplets (referred to as droplet [Para 00; Fig.3B-C, refs. 153, 154]), the droplet forming region (referred to as the embodiment of the emulsification device [Para 0058; Fig. 2, ref. 100]) comprising:
one or more channels (See Para 0008, 0058; Fig. 1B, 2, ref. 105… a channel), each having an inlet (See Para 0008… a channel having an inlet portion) for receiving a sample (See Para 0017… introducing a second fluid into the inlet portion ;See Para 0018…the second fluid contains an analyte of interest) and an outlet (See Para 0032…There may, however, be an outlet or waste channel; See Annotated Fig. 2) that opens (See Fig. 2) into a step region (referred to first step [Para 0060; Fig. 1, ref. 101]), the step region (referred to first step [Para 0059; Fig. 2, ref. 101]) having:
a top (referred to surface [Para 0060; Fig. 2, ref. 115]), a bottom (referred to surface [Para 0060; Fig. 2, ref. 111]), and a height (referred to a step height SH1, [Para 0062; Fig. 2, ref. SH1]) greater (See Fig. 2…SH1 appears to be greater than CH) than a height (referred to as a channel height CH [Para 0058; Fig. 22, ref. CH]) of the one or more channels (See Para 0008, 0058; Fig. 1B, 2, ref. 105… a channel); and
a flat region (See Annotated Fig. 2) extending (See Annotated Fig. 2) from the one or more channels (See Annotated Fig. 2; See Para 0008, 0058; Fig. 1B, 2, ref. 105… a channel);
wherein the unconstrained droplets (See Para 0075…multiple droplets 154 c…Droplet 154 is also a complete droplet that may or may not be completely spherical, but is less compressed than droplet 153.; See Para 0073…complete droplets) are deposited in an array region (See Para 0059, 0075…portion of the third tread length T3, having the imaging device 157 (e.g. a camera or photosensitive detector)) and form a two dimensional droplet array (See Para 0075… It is understood that FIG. 3C is a section view and multiple droplets 154 can be located in third step 103 during operation, thereby teaching “form a two dimensional droplet array”) having a low size dispersion (Further See Para 0075…Droplet 154 is also a complete droplet that may or may not be completely spherical, but is less compressed than droplet 153. Accordingly, droplet 154 height DH4 is greater than droplet 153 height DH3, but usually less than droplet 154 length DL4, thereby teaching “having a low size dispersion”).
Arab does not teach:
flowing the constrained droplets through a ramp region and forming unconstrained droplets, the ramp region having an acute degree angle relative to the top or the bottom of the step region.
In the analogous art for a system for performing droplet inflation, Hung teaches:
flowing the constrained droplets (See Para 0047; Fig. 7… formation of relatively larger droplets 112 as a result of inflation of the droplet 101 and other droplets (not shown) flowing in the microfluidic channel 102.) through a ramp region (referred to as of area of expansion [Para 0051; Fig. 1A, ref. 105]) and forming unconstrained droplets (See Para 047; Fig. 1A, refs 112…a relatively larger droplets 112), the ramp region (referred to as of area of expansion [Para 0051; Fig. 1A, ref. 105]) having an acute degree angle (See Annotated Fig. 1A; See Para 0018, 0051-0052 for acute angle) relative to the top or the bottom of the step region (referred to as microfluidic channel [Fig. 1A-B, ref. 102]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Arab to include flowing the constrained droplets through a ramp region and forming unconstrained droplets, the ramp region having an acute degree angle relative to the top or the bottom of the step region, as taught by Hung for the benefit of providing for the inflation of a relatively controlled volume of fluid into a droplet resulting in an increase in the volume of the droplet relative to its volume prior to inflation and, accordingly, dilution of the concentration of species, if any, previously present and emulsified in the droplet (Hung, Abstract), allowing for the provision of an affordable and efficient system, method and kit for increasing the volume of a droplet by many times its initial volume to improve the performance and applicability of droplet-based microfluidics (Hung, Para 0005).
Annotated Fig. 2, Arab
Annotated Fig. 1A, Hung
The combination of Arab and Hung does not teach that the ramp region having an angle of 10 to 80 degrees relative to the top or the bottom of the step region.
However, MPEP § 2144.05, Part II, Subpart B holds that a particular parameter that is recognized as a result effective variable (“a variable that achieves a recognized result”) would be one, but not the only motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. In the design and fabrication of microfluidic chips and devices for droplet emulsification, the selection of optimal experimental conditions including ramp angle allows for manipulating capillary pressure and guiding droplet dynamics, including formation, splitting, and selective sorting. Thus, the ramp region having an angle of 10 to 80 degrees is a result effective variables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design and fabricate a microfluidic chip with the ramp region having an angle of 10 to 80 degrees relative to the top or the bottom of the step region, for the benefit of performing droplet inflation (Hung, Para 0051) ,allowing for the provision of an affordable and efficient system, method and kit for increasing the volume of a droplet by many times its initial volume to improve the performance and applicability of droplet-based microfluidics (Hung, Para 0005).
Regarding Claim 12, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung. Arab teaches wherein the dispersed phase (See Para 0070…when fluid stream 151) is an aqueous sample (See Para 0070…the introduction of fluid stream 151 comprising a hydrophilic liquid (e.g. an aqueous fluid)).
Regarding Claim 13, the method of claim 12 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung. Arab teaches that the aqueous sample (See Para 0070…the introduction of fluid stream 151 comprising a hydrophilic liquid (e.g. an aqueous fluid)) is a biological or environmental sample (See Para 0106…where the analyte is a target nucleic acid, the aqueous droplets may further comprise one or more PCR reagents, such as primers, polymerase, MgCl2, buffer, labeling agent).
Regarding Claim 14, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung. Arab teaches that the continuous phase (referred to a fluid 155 comprising a hydrophobic liquid (e.g. an oil) [Para 0070]) is immiscible (See Para 0072…During operation, fluid stream 151 will be introduced into first channel 101 over a period of time… when fluid stream 151 is introduced into inlet portion 107 of first channel 105; See Para 0070…teps 101, 102 and 103 are filled with fluid 155 comprising a hydrophobic liquid (e.g. an oil) prior to the introduction of fluid stream 151 comprising a hydrophilic liquid (e.g. an aqueous fluid) into first channel 101; See Para 0097…the non-aqueous continuous phase comprises a mineral oil, a silicone oil, or a fluorinated oil (e.g., Fluorinert® FC-40 [Sigma-Aldrich]).) with the dispersed phase (See Para 0070…when fluid stream 151).
Regarding Claim 15, the method of claim 14 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung. Arab teaches that the continuous phase (referred to a fluid 155 comprising a hydrophobic liquid (e.g. an oil) [Para 0070]) is immiscible (See Para 0072…During operation, fluid stream 151 will be introduced into first channel 101 over a period of time… when fluid stream 151 is introduced into inlet portion 107 of first channel 105; See Para 0070…teps 101, 102 and 103 are filled with fluid 155 comprising a hydrophobic liquid (e.g. an oil) prior to the introduction of fluid stream 151 comprising a hydrophilic liquid (e.g. an aqueous fluid) into first channel 101; See Para 0097…the non-aqueous continuous phase comprises a mineral oil, a silicone oil, or a fluorinated oil (e.g., Fluorinert® FC-40 [Sigma-Aldrich]).) is fluorocarbon (See Para 0097…the non-aqueous continuous phase comprises a mineral oil, a silicone oil, or a fluorinated oil (e.g., Fluorinert® FC-40 [Sigma-Aldrich]).).
Regarding Claim 16, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab does not teach that the one or more channels, the step region, and the ramp region are connected such that fluid cannot flow into the array region from the ramp region without first flowing through at least one of the one or more channels.
In the analogous art for a system for performing droplet inflation, Hung teaches that the one or more channels (referred to as a microfluidic channel 102 [Para 0046]), the step region (See Annotated Fig. 1A), and the ramp region (referred to as of area of expansion [Para 0051; Fig. 1A, ref. 105]) are connected such that fluid cannot flow into the array region (See Annotated Fig. 1A) from the ramp region (referred to as of area of expansion [Para 0051; Fig. 1A, ref. 105]) without first flowing through (See Para 0052… wherein the inflator nozzle 103 is positioned at an approximately acute angle with respect to the microfluidic channel 102 ; See Para 0046…he microfluidic device 100 further comprises an inflator 106, which connects a fluid reservoir (not shown) comprising inflation fluid (not shown) with the microfluidic channel 102 via an inflator nozzle 103; Under BRI, Examiner submits that the inflator fluid passes through the microfluidic channel 102 before mving into the array region) at least one of the one or more channels (referred to as a microfluidic channel 102 [Para 0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Arab to include that the one or more channels, the step region, and the ramp region are connected such that fluid cannot flow into the array region from the ramp region without first flowing through at least one of the one or more channels, as taught by Hung for the benefit of providing for the inflation of a relatively controlled volume of fluid into a droplet resulting in an increase in the volume of the droplet relative to its volume prior to inflation and, accordingly, dilution of the concentration of species, if any, previously present and emulsified in the droplet (Hung, Abstract), allowing for the provision of an affordable and efficient system, method and kit for increasing the volume of a droplet by many times its initial volume to improve the performance and applicability of droplet-based microfluidics (Hung, Para 0005).
Regarding Claim 17, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches that the channel (See Para 0008, 0058; Fig. 1B, 2, ref. 105… a channel) is rectangular (See Fig. 1B and 2…the channel has a rectangular shape) and has a top (See Fig. 1B, ref. 105…under BRI, the channel has a top; Also See Annotated Fig. 2) , a bottom (See Fig. 1B, ref. 105…under BRI, the channel has a bottom; Also See Annotated Fig. 2), a height of 1 to 20 µm, and a width of 2 to 60 µm (See Para 0077…a channel height of 20 μm, a channel width of 60 μm).
Regarding Claim 18, the method of claim 17 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches wherein one of the top (referred to surface [Para 0060; Fig. 2, ref. 115]) and the bottom of the step region (referred to surface [Para 0060; Fig. 2, ref. 111]) is continuous (See Annotated Fig. 2…continuous) with the top or the bottom (See Annotated Fig. 2..for the top or bottom of the channel), respectively, of the channel (See Para 0008, 0058; Fig. 1B, 2, ref. 105… a channel), and the other of the top (referred to surface [Para 0060; Fig. 2, ref. 115]) and the bottom (referred to surface [Para 0060; Fig. 2, ref. 111]) of the step region (referred to first step [Para 0059; Fig. 2, ref. 101]) is offset from and parallel (See Fig. 2…parallel…) to the top (referred to surface [Para 0060; Fig. 2, ref. 115]) or the bottom (referred to surface [Para 0060; Fig. 2, ref. 111]), respectively, of the channel (See Para 0008, 0058; Fig. 1B, 2, ref. 105… a channel).
Regarding Claim 19, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches that the step region (referred to first step [Para 0059; Fig. 2, ref. 101]) has a height of 5 to 80 µm (See Para 0059…a first step height SH1; See Para 0112…CH=20 um, CW=60 um, SH1/CH=1.5 SH2/CH=1.75; Under BRI, the exemplary teaching of Arab converts to 30 µm).
Regarding Claim 20, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches that the flat region (See Annotated Fig. 2) of the step region (referred to first step [Para 0059; Fig. 2, ref. 101]) has a length (referred to as length T1 [Para 0014; Fig. 2]) of 30 to 500 µm (See Para 0012-0013…CH is between 1 micron and 50 microns, or more particularly between 5 microns and 30 microns, or more particularly between 6 and 20 microns, or more particularly between 8 and 12 microns, or still more particularly approximately 10 microns. In certain embodiments, CH is at least 5 microns, 10 microns, 20 microns, or 50 microns; See Para 0067…Furthermore, the embodiment shown includes a ratio of T1/CH between 0.1 and 7.0 ; Examiner submits that T1 converts to 150 µm when CH is 50 microns and the ratio of T1/CH = 3) extending (See Fig. 2) from the channel (See Para 0008, 0058; Fig. 1B, 2, ref. 105… a channel).
Regarding Claim 21, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches that the ratio of the channel height (See Para 0012-0013…CH is between 1 micron and 50 microns, or more particularly between 5 microns and 30 microns, or more particularly between 6 and 20 microns, or more particularly between 8 and 12 microns, or still more particularly approximately 10 microns. In certain embodiments, CH is at least 5 microns, 10 microns, 20 microns, or 50 microns) to the step region height (See Para 0059…a first step height SH1; See Para 0112…CH=20 um, CW=60 um, SH1/CH=1.5 SH2/CH=1.75) is less than 1:3 (See Claim 1… the ratio of SH1/CH is greater than 1.0 and less than 5.0; Under BRI, the inverse of (SH1/CH) converts to less than 1.0 and greater than (1/5) or (1:5)).
Regarding Claim 22, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab does not teach that the ramp region angle is 15 to 45 degrees.
However, MPEP § 2144.05, Part II, Subpart B holds that a particular parameter that is recognized as a result effective variable (“a variable that achieves a recognized result”) would be one, but not the only motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. In the design and fabrication of microfluidic chips and devices for droplet emulsification, the selection of optimal experimental conditions including ramp angle allows for manipulating capillary pressure and guiding droplet dynamics, including formation, splitting, and selective sorting. Thus, the ramp region angle is 15 to 45 degrees is a result effective variables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design and fabricate a microfluidic chip with the ramp region angle is 15 to 45 degrees, for the benefit of performing droplet inflation (Hung, Para 0051) ,allowing for the provision of an affordable and efficient system, method and kit for increasing the volume of a droplet by many times its initial volume to improve the performance and applicability of droplet-based microfluidics (Hung, Para 0005).
Regarding Claim 23, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches that the array region (See Para 0059, 0075…portion of the third tread length T3, having the imaging device 157 (e.g. a camera or photosensitive detector)).
Arab further teaches that the dimensions and geometry of the channel and steps are configured to produce highly monodispersed emulsions at high frequency from a single fluid flow. As demonstrated by the data presented below, a multi-step configuration can provide significant improvement in monodispersity over a single-step design (Para 0061).
Arab does not explicitly teach that the array region has a height of 15 to 110 µm.
However, MPEP § 2144.05, Part II, Subpart B holds that a particular parameter that is recognized as a result effective variable (“a variable that achieves a recognized result”) would be one, but not the only motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. In the design and fabrication of microfluidic chips and devices for droplet emulsification, the selection of optimal experimental conditions including channel/portion length determines dispersed-phase transit time and flow resistance. Longer channels generate a higher pressure drop, which raises the critical velocity before droplet coalescence or jetting occurs. While droplet diameter is primarily governed by junction geometry (width/height) rather than channel length, longer channels significantly stabilize flow and increase the maximum throughput of the device. Thus, the array region having a height of 15 to 110 µm is a result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design and fabricate a microfluidic chip with the array region having a height of 15 to 110 µm, for the benefit of performing droplet inflation (Hung, Para 0051) ,allowing for the provision of an affordable and efficient system, method and kit for increasing the volume of a droplet by many times its initial volume to improve the performance and applicability of droplet-based microfluidics (Hung, Para 0005).
Regarding Claim 24, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches that the array region (See Para 0059, 0075…portion of the third tread length T3, having the imaging device 157 (e.g. a camera or photosensitive detector)) is an imaging region (See Para 0059, 0075…portion of the third tread length T3, having the imaging device 157 (e.g. a camera or photosensitive detector)).
Regarding Claim 25, the method of claim 24 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches that imaging (See Para 0059, 0075…portion of the third tread length T3, having the imaging device 157 (e.g. a camera or photosensitive detector)… imaging of droplet 154) and evaluating (See Para 0077…Multiple images were acquired during each test, with approximately 300 droplets each. The software created files with a list of all droplets found along with associated droplet diameters for all files, and the average and standard deviation of the diameters were then calculated) the two- dimensional droplet array (See Para 0075… It is understood that FIG. 3C is a section view and multiple droplets 154 can be located in third step 103 during operation, thereby teaching “form a two dimensional droplet array”).
Regarding Claim 26, the method of claim 25 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches wherein imaging (See Para 0059, 0075…portion of the third tread length T3, having the imaging device 157 (e.g. a camera or photosensitive detector)… imaging of droplet 154) the two-dimensional droplet array (See Para 0075… It is understood that FIG. 3C is a section view and multiple droplets 154 can be located in third step 103 during operation, thereby teaching “form a two dimensional droplet array”) comprises detecting and analyzing fluorescence of the droplets (See Para 0101…The droplets, as well as labeled analytes or reaction products within the droplets, may be detected using an imaging system…For example, detecting labeled amplification products may comprise imaging fluorescent wavelengths and/or fluorescent intensities emitted from the labeled amplification product; See Para 0077…CellProfiler software and an imaging processing pipeline were used to detect fluorescently labeled droplets. Multiple images were acquired during each test) in the imaging region (See Para 0059, 0075…portion of the third tread length T3, having the imaging device 157 (e.g. a camera or photosensitive detector)).
Regarding Claim 28, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches that the array region (See Para 0059, 0075…portion of the third tread length T3, having the imaging device 157 (e.g. a camera or photosensitive detector)) is fluidly connected to a waste reservoir configured to receive the droplets after analysis (See Para 0081…Device 500 further comprises a waste channel 550 configured to allow waste material (e.g. excess fluid or droplets) to exit emulsification device 500 and be directed to a waste collection chamber; See Para 0032…There may, however, be an outlet or waste channel to accommodate any of the first fluid that is displaced from the channel by the second fluid; See Fig. 3A-C for the emulsification device having imaging of droplet 154 via an imaging device 157 (e.g. a camera or photosensitive detector)).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arab et al. (US20160271576A1, submitted in IDS on 11/26/2024) in view of Hung et al. (US20160001289A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Link et al. (US20100137163A1).
Regarding Claim 27, the method of claim 11 is obvious over Arab in view of Hung.
Arab teaches that the droplet forming region (referred to as the embodiment of the emulsification device [Para 0058; Fig. 2, ref. 100]) is configured to provide sample (See Para 0017… introducing a second fluid into the inlet portion ;See Para 0018…the second fluid contains an analyte of interest) to be received by the inlet (See Para 0008… a channel having an inlet portion) of each of the one or more channels(See Para 0008, 0058; Fig. 1B, 2, ref. 105… a channel).
The combination of Arab and Hung does not explicitly teach that “the droplet forming region is fluidly connected to a sample reservoir via a flow path”.
In the analogous art of novel microfluidic devices and methods that are useful for performing high-throughput screening assays and combinatorial chemistry, Link teaches that “the droplet forming region (See Para 0009… individual fluid handling modules that can be combined into fluid processing systems so as to perform multi-step processing of isolated component…the dispersed phase fluid is immiscible with the continuous phase fluid and forms a plurality of droplets in the continuous phase fluid) is fluidly connected to a sample reservoir (See Para 0051…a sample solution reservoir or well or other apparatus for introducing a sample to the device, at the inlet module) via a flow path (See Para 0051…which is typically in fluid communication with an inlet channel)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of the combination of Arab and Hung to teach that “the droplet forming region is fluidly connected to a sample reservoir via a flow path”, as taught by Link for the benefit of introducing a sample to the device, at the inlet module, which is typically in fluid communication with an inlet channel. A reservoir may facilitate introduction of molecules or cells into the device and into the sample inlet channel of each analysis unit (Link, Para 0051), allowing for the development of high throughput microfluidic devices for precision fluid handling and use of such systems in various biological, chemical, or diagnostic assays (Link, Para 0001).
Conclusion
/OYELEYE ALEXANDER ALABI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1797