DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 06/26/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
In re to claims 12-19, method claims 12-19 are rejected based on the following case law, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore, the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 before the last line “an input voltage” this should be “the input voltage”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adest et al. US 2011/0273016 in view of Suzuki et al. US 2021/0016671.
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Adest teaches (Figures 7-8) An apparatus (Fig. 7) comprising: a power converter (705) configured to operate in a plurality of modes of operation (modes of operation), the plurality of modes of operation comprises: a power tracking mode of operation (buck and boost, par. 79), and a temperature derating mode of operation (temperature MPP Fig. 8 with adjust or derate the input power), wherein the power tracking mode of operation is one of a plurality of power tracking modes of operation comprising: a buck mode of operation, and a boost mode of operation (par. 79); wherein the temperature derating mode of operation is one of a plurality of temperature derating modes of operation comprising: a decrease input voltage mode (derating option) of operation, and an increase input voltage mode of operation (adjusting option); a sensor (one of 703-704, sensors at the output of temperature sensor 779) configured to obtain a parameter related to a temperature of the power converter (sensed signal from the sensor); a controller (790) configured to: obtain the parameter from the sensor (see fig. 7); determine that the temperature is greater than a temperature threshold based on the parameter (loop with 809, 811 and 805); determine a present power tracking mode of operation of the power converter from the plurality of power tracking modes of operation (controlling the converter in one of the modes of operation); control the power converter to change from the present power tracking mode of operation to the temperature derating mode of operation based on the determination that the temperature is greater than the temperature threshold (loop with 809, 811 and 805). (For example: Par. 75-77 , 79-89 and 98)
Adest does not teach wherein: if the determined present power tracking mode of operation is the buck mode of operation, control the power converter to operate in the decrease input voltage mode of operation of the plurality of temperature derating modes of operation, if the determined present power tracking mode of operation is the boost mode of operation, control the power converter to operate in the increase input voltage mode of operation of the plurality of temperature derating modes of operation.
Suzuki teaches (Figures 1-2 and 5) wherein: if the determined present power tracking mode of operation is the buck mode of operation (buck mode, with Figures 2 and par. 49-52), control the power converter to operate in the decrease input voltage mode of operation of the plurality of temperature derating modes of operation(fig. 2 moving from regular range to first limitation range), if the determined present power tracking mode of operation is the boost mode of operation(boost mode, with fig. 2 and par. 75-82), control the power converter to operate in the increase input voltage mode of operation of the plurality of temperature derating modes of operation(while in boost fig. 2 moving from regular range to second limitations range). (For example: Par. 49-52 and 75-82)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Adest to include wherein: if the determined present power tracking mode of operation is the buck mode of operation, control the power converter to operate in the decrease input voltage mode of operation of the plurality of temperature derating modes of operation, if the determined present power tracking mode of operation is the boost mode of operation, control the power converter to operate in the increase input voltage mode of operation of the plurality of temperature derating modes of operation, as taught by Suzuki to improve reliability by the availability of different voltage and power to be supplies to the load.
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Adest teaches (Figures 7-8) the input of the power converter is produced by a photovoltaic power source (701). (For example: Par. 75-77 , 79-89 and 98)
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Adest teaches (Figures 7-8) an apparatus.
Adest does not teach wherein the power converter is further configured to reduce a frequency of the power converter to reduce a temperature of the power converter.
Suzuki teaches (Figures 1-2 and 5) wherein the power converter is further configured to reduce a frequency of the power converter (6 and par. 70) to reduce a temperature of the power converter (see fig. 2 and 5). (For example: Par. 43-48 and 70-72)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Adest to include wherein the power converter is further configured to reduce a frequency of the power converter to reduce a temperature of the power converter, as taught by Suzuki to improve the protection function for the converter.
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Adest teaches (Figures 7-8) wherein the power tracking mode of operation is a maximum power point tracking mode of operation (719, fig. 7).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Adest teaches (Figures 7-8) wherein if the power converter is to operate in the power tracking mode of operation (e.g. buck and boost modes), the controller controls the power converter to operate at a maximum power point (719). (For example: Par. 74, 80 and 91)
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Adest teaches (Figures 7-8)wherein if the power converter is to operate in the temperature derating mode of operation (temperature MPP, as shown in fig. 8), the controller controls the power converter to operate at an operating point that is not the maximum power point (due to the change in temperature). (For example: Par. 74, 80, 91 and 98)
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adest et al. US 2011/0273016 in view of Suzuki et al. US 2021/0016671 and further in view of Manabe et al. US 2014/0145697.
Regarding Claims 3-4, Adest teaches (Figures 7-8) an apparatus.
Adest does not teach wherein the at least one parameter is related to a temperature of at least one switch of the power converter and, wherein the at least one parameter is related to a temperature of an inductor of the power converter.
Manabe (Fig. 1) teaches wherein the at least one parameter is related to a temperature of at least one switch of the power converter (at 33 or 34, see par. 43) and, wherein the at least one parameter is related to a temperature (35) of an inductor of the power converter (par. 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Adest to include wherein the at least one parameter is related to a temperature of at least one switch of the power converter and, wherein the at least one parameter is related to a temperature of an inductor of the power converter, as taught by Manabe to improve the quality of the sensed signal.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adest et al. US 2011/0273016 in view of Suzuki et al. US 2021/0016671 and further in view of Zhang et al. US 2009/0284078.
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Adest teaches (Figures 7-8) an apparatus.
Adest does not teach wherein if the power converter is to operate in the temperature derating mode of operation, the controller controls the power converter to operate at an operating point that is less than the maximum power point.
Zhang teaches (Figures 3-4) wherein if the power converter (at fig. 3) is to operate in the temperature derating mode of operation (high temperature operation), the controller (208) controls the power converter to operate at an operating point that is less than the maximum power point (Mstart operation, par. 94 and 97-98).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Adest to include wherein if the power converter is to operate in the temperature derating mode of operation, the controller controls the power converter to operate at an operating point that is less than the maximum power point, as taught by Zhang to improve the protection operation of the system.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adest et al. US 2011/0273016 in view of Suzuki et al. US 2021/0016671 and further in view of Galin et al. US 2018/0351354.
Regarding Claims 10 and 19, Adest teaches (Figures 7-8) wherein the apparatus further comprises a second sensor (at 741-742) configured to obtain a second parameter indicating an output current of the power converter. (For example: Par. 75-77 , 79-89 and 98)
Adest does not teach the power converter is further configured to operate in a power conversion mode of operation and a bypass mode of operation; and the controller is further configured to: obtain the second parameter from the second sensor; determine when a temperature related to the power converter is above a temperature threshold and the output current is above a current threshold; and when the temperature is above the temperature threshold and the output current is above the current threshold, operate the power converter in the bypass mode of operation.
Galin teaches (Figures 4) the power converter is further configured to operate in a power conversion mode of operation and a bypass mode of operation (normal operation and bypass mode); and the controller (for the converter) is further configured to: obtain the second parameter from the second sensor; determine when a temperature related to the power converter is above a temperature threshold and the output current is above a current threshold (par. 126); and when the temperature is above the temperature threshold and the output current is above the current threshold (the sensor can evaluate the current and the temperature), operate the power converter in the bypass mode of operation (417). (For example: Par. 74, 104, 109 and 126-132)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Adest to include the power converter is further configured to operate in a power conversion mode of operation and a bypass mode of operation; and the controller is further configured to: obtain the second parameter from the second sensor; determine when a temperature related to the power converter is above a temperature threshold and the output current is above a current threshold; and when the temperature is above the temperature threshold and the output current is above the current threshold, operate the power converter in the bypass mode of operation, as taught by Galin to improve the protection function for the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating Allowable Subject Matter:
Claims 11 and 20; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…wherein: the power converter is further configured to operate in a plurality of shutdown modes of operation and a plurality of wakeup modes of operation; and the controller is further configured to: determine a last used shutdown mode of operation of the plurality of shutdown modes of operation, wherein the last used shutdown mode of operation was last used to set the power converter in a shutdown mode of operation; based on the last used shutdown mode of operation, determine a wakeup mode of operation of the plurality of wakeup modes of operation; and set the power converter in the wakeup mode of operation.”
These features taken alone or in combination are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838