DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 6/26/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 8 and 9 objected to because of the following informalities: “The actuator buffer structure according to claim 7” should read “The actuator buffer structure according to claim 1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harris (US20210046875A1, of record).
With respect to Claim 1, Harris discloses an actuator buffer, comprising:
a base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) for installing a rear-view element (Fig. 12-- element 140, mirror; [0106]);
an actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) fixedly installed and rotatably ([0101]: element 102 is fixed to element 101, element 101 allows element 102 to rotate) connected to the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]); and
a clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) for connecting (Fig. the tilt drive train inside element 101 is connected to element 102 via element 14) an output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) of the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) to the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]),
wherein the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) is configured for driving the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) to rotate the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) together with the rear-view element (Fig. 12-- element 140, mirror; [0106]) around an axis via the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) ([0101]: element 102 and element 140 are rotated together about axis 14a by element 14),
wherein the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) is configured to disengage from the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) via the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) under external force ([0023]: the mirror may be manually adjusted about axis 14a by applying an external force), and
wherein the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) rotate together with the rear-view element (Fig. 12-- element 140, mirror; [0106]) relative to the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) via the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) ([0101]: element 102 and element 140 are rotated together about axis 14a by element 14),
the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) comprises (i) an adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) axially slidably installed (Fig. 6—element 17 is slid onto element 14) on the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) and (ii) a base frame buffer block (See annotated Fig. 9— base frame buffer block), the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) comprises a clutch groove (Fig. 9-- clutch groove is the space between element 17 and the edge of element 14 which accommodates element 111) set on an end face of the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) and a clutch block (Fig. 9-- element 111, fastening means; [0101]) set on the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]), wherein the clutch groove (Fig. 9-- clutch groove is the space between element 17 and the edge of element 14 which accommodates element 111) and the clutch block (Fig. 9-- element 111, fastening means; [0101]) engage with each other in a circumferential direction ([0101]: The tilt axle 14 is attached to the mirror holder 110 via the fastening means 111, in particular by inserting the tilt axle 14 into a U-shaped opening 111 for obtaining a form fit and/or frictional connection. Element 102 moves with element 110),
the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) is provided with interconnected first and second installation areas (See annotated Fig. 9—first and second installation areas),
the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) is installed in the first installation area (Fig. 9—first installation area includes space where element 101 is installed) and its output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) extends to the second installation area (Fig. 9—second installation area includes space where element 14 extends from element 101 to the edge of element 100),
the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) is installed in the second installation area (Fig. 9—second installation area includes space where element 14 extends from element 101 to the edge of element 100), and
the base frame buffer block (See annotated Fig. 9— base frame buffer block) is matched with the second installation area (Fig. 9—second installation area includes space where element 14 extends from element 101 to the edge of element 100) through a positioning structure (See annotated Fig. 9— positioning structure).
With respect to Claim 2, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein
the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) is adapted to be axially elastically connected (Fig. 6—element 17 is connected to the actuator along the axis 14a, element 17 supports the spring element 16) to the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) or the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]), and
cooperation between the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) and the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) is achieved via the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) ([0087]: element 17 presses the tilt clutch insert, element 15, against the tilt clutch gear, element 12, allowing element 102 to be tilted when the drive assembly is in motion).
With respect to Claim 3, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein
when the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) is started, the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) remains engaged with the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) in a circumferential direction under action of elasticity via the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) ([0087]: element 17 presses the tilt clutch insert, element 15, against the tilt clutch gear, element 12, allowing element 102 to be tilted when the drive assembly is in motion), and
when the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) is driven by external force, the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) disengages from the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) in the circumferential direction via the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) ([0087]: element 17 presses the tilt clutch insert, element 15, against the tilt clutch gear, element 12, allowing element 102 to be tilted when external force is applied).
With respect to Claim 4, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein
the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) cooperates with the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) via a connecting hole (Fig. 8-- opening of element 17 through which element 14 is inserted; [0087]),
the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) has a connecting hole (Fig. 8-- guide groove; recessed portion of element 14 on which element 17 is attached) along an axial extension, and
a side wall of the connecting hole (Fig. 8—inside edge of the opening of element 17 through which element 14 is inserted; [0087]) has a guide block, wherein the guide block and the connecting hole (Fig. 8-- guide groove; recessed portion of element 14 on which element 17 is attached) slide along an axial direction and are limitedly matched along a circumferential direction (See Figs. 5-8—element 17 is pressed snuggly onto element 14 ).
With respect to Claim 5, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) forms part of the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) by circumferential frictional engagement with the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) through an end face (Figs. 8 and 9—element 17 is a part of the tilt drive train, one face of element 17 is in contact with element 111 to form a frictional connection, and connects the tilt drive train to element 102).
With respect to Claim 6, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 5, and further discloses wherein
when the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) is started, a driving force of the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) is less than a friction force between the end face of the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) and the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) in a circumferential direction ([0022]: During normal operation of the actuator, the tilt clutch gear and tilt clutch insert are forced together by the pressure applied by the tilt spring. This pressure allows the tilt clutch gear and tilt clutch insert to rotate together in order to allow the actuator to provide a tilting function), and
when the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) is driven by external force, a pressing force received by the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) is greater than the friction force but less than a self-locking force of the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) ([0022]: when an external force is applied that is large enough to overcome the frictional engagement between the tilt clutch gear and tilt clutch insert, they are able to slide past each other which allows for manual adjustment of the rearview mirror assembly head around the tilt axle).
With respect to Claim 8, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 7, and further discloses wherein
when the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) is started, a driving force of the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) is less than an engagement force between the clutch groove (Fig. 9-- clutch groove is the space between element 17 and the edge of element 14 which accommodates element 111) and the clutch block (Fig. 9-- element 111, fastening means; [0101]) in a circumferential direction ([0022]: During normal operation of the actuator, the tilt clutch gear and tilt clutch insert are forced together by the pressure applied by the tilt spring. This pressure allows the tilt clutch gear and tilt clutch insert to rotate together in order to allow the actuator to provide a tilting function), and
when driving the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) by external force, a pressing force applied to the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) is greater than the engagement force and less than a self-locking force of the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) ([0022]: when an external force is applied that is large enough to overcome the frictional engagement between the tilt clutch gear and tilt clutch insert, they are able to slide past each other which allows for manual adjustment of the rearview mirror assembly head around the tilt axle).
With respect to Claim 15, Harris discloses a rear-view device (Fig. 1—element 100, rear view device; [0101]), comprising the actuator buffer structure according to claim 1 (See Claim 1 rejection above).
With respect to Claim 16, Harris discloses a rear-view device according to claim 15, and further discloses wherein the rear-view element (Fig. 12-- element 140, mirror; [0106]) comprises a mirror and/or camera ([0106]: element 140 is a mirror).
With respect to Claim 17, Harris discloses a vehicle ([0067]: element 100 is a rearview device for a vehicle) comprising the rear-view device (Fig. 1—element 100, rear view device; [0101]) according to claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (US20210046875A1, of record).
With respect to Claim 9, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 7, and further discloses wherein
the base frame buffer block (See annotated Fig. 9— base frame buffer block) is adapted to axially slidably cooperate with the connecting hole (Fig. 8-- opening of element 17 through which element 14 is inserted; [0087]) of the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) via a positioning sleeve (Fig. 9— inside surface of u-shaped element 111, fastening means; [0101]) (Fig. 9—element 14 is inserted through both element 17 and 111), and
the clutch block (Fig. 9-- element 111, fastening means; [0101]) is disposed on an end face of the base frame buffer block (See annotated Fig. 9— base frame buffer block) so as to form the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) between the adjusting buffer block (Fig. 8-- element 17, tilt retainer; [0087]) and the base frame buffer block (See annotated Fig. 9— base frame buffer block).
However, Harris does not disclose wherein the base frame buffer block is detachably installed on the base frame. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the base frame buffer block detachable from the base frame, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
With respect to Claim 11, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 9, and further discloses wherein
the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) is configured to be first installed on the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) ([0087]: the tilt drive train is fastened to element 14), and then the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) and the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) are installed on the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) ([0070]: element 14 is fastened to element 102), and
wherein the base frame buffer block (See annotated Fig. 9— base frame buffer block) is connected to a side wall of the second installation area (See annotated Fig. 9— side wall of the second installation area).
However, Harris does not disclose wherein the base frame buffer block is connected to a side wall of the second installation area via fasteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the base frame buffer block detachable from the base frame via fasteners, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
With respect to Claim 12, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 9, and further discloses wherein
the positioning sleeve (Fig. 9— inside surface of u-shaped element 111, fastening means; [0101]) includes at least one horizontal limiting surface (See annotated Fig. 9— horizontal limiting surface) set on a side of the base frame buffer block (See annotated Fig. 9— base frame buffer block) and at least one horizontal positioning surface (See annotated Fig. 9— horizontal positioning surface) set on a side of the second installation area (Fig. 9—second installation area includes space where element 14 extends from element 101 to the edge of element 100).
However, Harris does not disclose wherein the base frame buffer block is configured to be attached to the positioning sleeve through a limiting surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to attach the base frame buffer block to the positioning sleeve through a limiting surface, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
With respect to Claim 13, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 9, and further discloses comprising:
an installation sleeve (Fig. 2— element 102a, through hole; [0102]) penetrating through the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) at an end of the second installation area (Fig. 9—second installation area includes space where element 14 extends from element 101 to the edge of element 100),
wherein an axis of the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]) is aligned (Fig. 9—the axis 14a is aligned perpendicularly with element 102a) with an axis of the installation sleeve (Fig. 2— element 102a, through hole; [0102]).
With respect to Claim 14, Harris discloses the actuator buffer according to claim 13, and further discloses wherein
the actuator (Fig. 9-- element 101, actuator; [0101]) is first installed on the base frame (Fig. 9-- element 102, lower mirror housing; [0101]) and then the clutch assembly (Fig. 4-- tilt drive train; [0087]) is installed along the installation sleeve (Fig. 2— element 102a, through hole; [0102]) on the output shaft (Fig. 9-- element 14, tilt axle; [0087]);
the positioning structure (See annotated Fig. 9— positioning structure) comprises a pair of positioning columns (See annotated Fig 9-- positioning columns) spaced apart from an outer side of the installation sleeve (Fig. 2— element 102a, through hole; [0102]) and a pair of positioning holes spaced apart from a side of the base frame buffer block (See annotated Fig. 9— base frame buffer block); and/or
the base frame buffer block (See annotated Fig. 9— base frame buffer block) is configured to be positioned and matched with the positioning columns (See annotated Fig 9-- positioning columns) through the positioning holes (Fig. 9— the space between positioning column which accommodates the base frame buffer block).
However, the base frame buffer block is fixed on an exterior of the installation sleeve by a pair of symmetrical fasteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the base frame buffer block detachable from the exterior of the installation sleeve by a pair of symmetrical fasteners, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that Harris does not disclose the actuator buffer structure is further specified by features including a first installation areas for an actuator and a second installation area for a clutch assembly with the two installation areas being interconnected for allowing the output shaft of the actuator to extend from the first installation area into the second installation area. Harris discloses a first installation area includes space where element 101 is installed and a second installation area includes space where element 14 extends from element 101 to the edge of element 100, these two installation areas are connected to each other and allow the output shaft to span between the two areas.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that Harris does not disclose the base frame buffer block is matched with the second installation area through a positioning structure. Harris discloses in Fig. 9 that the base frame buffer block aligns with the second installation area via two positioning structures that hold the block in place on either side.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872