DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action on the 18/754402 application filed on 6/26/24.
Claims 1-11 are pending and have been fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/26/24, 7/23/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the incorporated monument must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the related applications section of the first paragraph should be updated to include issued patent numbers for all applications listed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: incorporated monument in claim 1, cold thermal assembly in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim limitation “incorporated monument” does not appear to be a well-known or standard term in the art; therefore it has been interpreted as a generic placeholder under 35 USC 112(f). The claims, specification and drawings lack any further description of what structure is defined by the term.
Claims 2-11 depend from claim 1 and therefore incorporate the same deficiency.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “incorporated monument” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claim limitation “incorporated monument” does not appear to be a well-known or standard term in the art; therefore it has been interpreted as a generic placeholder under 35 USC 112(f). The claims, specification and drawings lack any further description of what structure is defined by the term. Based on the lack of further description, it is unclear what the meets and bounds of the claim limitation should be. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 2-11 depend from claim 1 and therefore incorporate the same deficiency.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by KEI (US 2019/0049343) with evidence of PATIL (pub 2015).
With respect to claim 1, KEI discloses a cell support system (cell culture system) with a cooling unit for supporting the specimen rack 342 (culture cassette), the rack having 96 wells which are capable of being used to contain cells for growth (bioreactor module) and fluid reagents (reagents fluid reservoir);
the system comprising a cooler 351 that uses a general Peltier element (thermoelectric device to pump heat from a cold side to hot side);
the cooler having heat insulation member 353 and cover 354 (thermal insulation) to inhibit heat from returning to the cold side;
the cooler having a heat transfer member 352 (incorporated monument) adjacent to the cooler (cold sink) and providing a conductive path for heat to travel from the cold sink to the thermoelectric device. Additionally it is clear from Fig 5 of Patil that a Peltier thermoelectric cooler, such as that disclosed by KEI, inherently has conductive pathways between the cold side sink and the hot side sink. Therefore the disclose of KEI inherently meets all positively recited claim structure.
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “for receiving and operationally supporting an automated cell culture cassette for biological processes, the cell culture cassette comprising a bioreactor module and a reagents fluid reservoir” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention's limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02. Furthermore the limitation regarding the heat pumped being a sum of heat, this limitation does not recite any further structural limitations, but rather is directed to how the device operates during use, and therefore does not add patentable weight to the apparatus claim. MPEP 2114-2115.
With respect to claim 2, KEI does not detail the structure of the thermoelectric device. From the evidence of PATIL it can be seen that the basic structure of a peltier cooler has a plurality of cold sink fins (cold sink array) compressed with the Peltier device to a hot sink (Fig 5).
With respect to claim 3, KEI discloses the cooler provides a cold zone that is capable of circulating a cold airflow path around the tips (reservoirs). It is noted that the claim does not recite any structure required to create the cold airflow nor what structure allows the airflow path to circulate. Therefore the disclosure of KEI teaches all positively recited structures of the claim and is therefore considered capable of operating as claimed. MPEP 2114-2115.
With respect to claim 4, cold thermal assembly is being interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be a cold sink array substantially as recited in present claim 2 (See original claims of the specification #30). KEI does not detail the structure of the thermoelectric device. From the evidence of PATIL it can be seen that the basic structure of a Peltier cooler has a plurality of cold sink fins (cold sink array) compressed with the Peltier device to a hot sink (Fig 5).
With respect to claim 10, KEI does not detail the structure of the thermoelectric device. From the evidence of PATIL it can be seen that the basic structure of a Peltier cooler has a hot side fan (hot sink fan) (Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KEI (US 2019/0049343) with evidence of PATIL (pub 2015) as applied above,
With respect to claim 5, KEI does not detail the cold thermal assembly, however, the evidence of a basic structure of a Peltier cooler of PATIL shows the cold side has a fan (Fig 5). Neither reference explicitly disclose the fan is configured to be uncoupled from the cold sink, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the fan separable in order to perform maintenance of the cooler, or to aid in shipping, additionally it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
With respect to claim 6-7, KEI does not explicitly disclose a condensation control mechanism. However, PATIL discloses it was known to use a water distribution line to move moisture in a Peltier cooler system (Fig 4). It would have been oblivious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of KEI to include the water distribution line for condensation control of PATIL because it can improve the cooling operation (Section IV, A).
With respect to claim 11, Neither KEI nor PATIL explicitly disclose the hot sink fan is configured to be withdrawn upwardly and away via hinges. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the fan separable via a well-known connector such as a hinge in order to perform maintenance of the cooler, or to aid in shipping, additionally it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KEI (US 2019/0049343) with evidence of PATIL (pub 2015) as applied above, in view of TSURUTA (US 2006/0194193).
With respect to claims 8-9, KEI does not explicitly disclose a warm zone configured to circulate a warm airflow path wherein a heating assembly is provided to generate the warm airflow directed at the bioreactor module. However, TSURUTA discloses a biological sample culturing system comprising a well plate (bioreactor module) (0087) in an incubator housing in which a warm air is supplied (heating assembly generates warm zone configured to circulate warm airflow path) (0270, 0315, 318, Fig 41), a supply device comprising a refrigerator/freezer that cold stores culture solution, waste solution and reagents (cold zone configured to circulate a cold airflow path surrounding reagents fluid reservoir) (0114, 0121, Fig 1). At the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of KEI to include the warm zone with heating assembly as taught by TSURUTA because it allows for better control of the temperature in order to provide the optimal environment for the cells contained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799