DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/03/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 (Group I) in the reply filed on 02/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over , Trotter et al., Pub. No.: US 20090187293 A1 in view of Bosworth et al., Pub. No.: US 20190090800 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Trotter et al. discloses an aircraft including:
an extendible landing gear, and a landing gear control system, the landing gear control system ([0006] A landing gear control system for an aircraft is provided.):comprising
a landing gear control unit ([0006] A landing gear control system”)), a pilot operated landing gear input device ([0009] “FIG. 1, … Landing gear control system software 14 monitors these switches related for lever up and lever down positions to determine pilot command.”), and a first relaying unit ([0006] “The landing gear control software converts the data received from the landing gear lever and the data received from the proximity sensors to command signals to control electrically activated valves associated with the landing gear. … the command signals may also be sent simultaneously to a remote data concentrator unit to complete an energization circuit in combination with the power distribution unit.” & [0007] “the data concentrator unit sends the sensor state information via common data network busses and networks switches to the processing module storing the landing gear control system software.” & [0008] The landing gear control system software monitors electrical switches of the landing gear lever to determine the position of the landing gear lever.”), the landing gear control system being ;
(a) configured to extend the landing gear of the aircraft in response to pilot operation of the pilot operated landing gear input device causing a command to be sent to the first relaying unit and passed from the first relaying unit to the landing gear control unit which then causes the landing gear to be extended ([0018] “if one of the two landing gear control software partitions 14A, 14B has a failure or is disabled for any reason, then the other software partition can continue commanding extending and retracting the landing gear.” & [0019] As seen, landing gear actuation control is performed by an integrated control system 10 having landing gear control lever 12, two independent control sub-systems (sub-system A and sub-system B), and solenoid operated control valves 40A, 40B. ... to retract and extend the landing gear. Control of gear extension and retraction is performed by the landing gear control system software partitions 14A, 14B ... The landing gear control software partitions receive gear lever up/down data and gear and gear door position data from remote data concentrator units 16 via the common data network (CDN) of the aircraft. The landing gear control software 14A, 14B may issue, for example, gear sequencing commands to remote data concentrator units 16D, 16E and remote power distribution units 36A, 36B via the CDN buses 26. … solenoid operated control valves to retract and extend the landing gear, open and close the gear doors, and position the main landing gear trucks.” & [0022] Gear extension control, for example, may be performed when the landing gear control lever is placed in the DOWN position to command gear extension. ... The nose landing gear and main landing gear may extend under the influence of air loads and gear weight.”).
Trotter et al. is not explicit on “detecting pilot incapacitation”, however, Bosworth et al., US 20190090800 A1, teaches Systems and Methods for Monitoring Pilot Health and discloses, and
(b) configured to extend the landing gear of the aircraft when incapacitation of the pilot of the aircraft is detected ([0064] “if the system determines the pilot is incapacitated or otherwise unable to control the aircraft, the system can control the aircraft to enter into an emergency mode, initiate an automated landing procedure, etc.), in response to a command sent to the first relaying unit and passed from the first relaying unit to the landing gear control unit which then causes the landing gear to be extended ([0140] “The auto-landing controller enables the aircraft to perform a landing to land at a touchdown location … the aircrew automation system 100 may be further configured to perform, during an emergency, a descent and landing procedure in an aircraft equipped with an auto-landing controller.” & [0142] “the auto-landing procedure may be initiated in response to an auto-land trigger, which may be automatically (or manually) generated through aircrew monitoring to identify pilot incapacitation.” & [0144] “the aircrew automation system 100 may be configured to: (1) operate an autopilot panel; (2) operate flaps and autopilot panel in a coordinated manner to safely reduce airspeed; (3) identify the glide slope to a touchdown location and perform landing procedures in coordination with this signal; (4) manipulate the flight management system to generate a landing route; (5) set the autobrake; (6) set the landing gear; (7) identify a landing/wheels on the ground condition; (8) operate the throttle and reverse thrusters to aid in braking on the ground; (9) set the transponder to note an emergency; and/or (10) communicate to air traffic control the state and intention of the aircraft.” & [0145] Auto-Land Trigger. Promptly and accurately triggering the aircrew automation system 100 to generate a command to perform the auto-descent and/or auto-land procedure(s) in an emergency is imperative. Accordingly, an aircrew health data feed from aircrew health monitoring system 160 to the core platform 102 may further include an auto-descent and/or auto-land command to initiate the auto-descent and auto-landing procedures upon the occurrence of an auto-land trigger.” & [0146] The health controller 602 may determine that the pilot is incapacitated using the vital sensors 606 coupled to the pilot, in which case the health controller 602 may communicate the auto-land command to the core platform 102 when a health parameter of the pilot deviates from a predetermined value or range of acceptable values. For example, the vital sensors 606 may provide cardiac parameters indicative of a heart attack, stroke, death, etc., in which case the auto-land command is automatically communicated to the core platform 102. The health controller 602 may also determine that the pilot is incapacitated using the perception system 106.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Bosworth et al. with the system disclosed by Trotter et al. in order to provide a pilot health monitoring system, method, and apparatus for performing an emergency descent and landing operation via an aircrew automation system functioning as a robotic co-pilot (see Abstract & para. [0002], [0007]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 2, Trotter et al. discloses the aircraft according to claim 1, wherein the landing gear control system is
(c) configured to retract the landing gear of the aircraft in response to pilot operation of the pilot operated landing gear input device causing a command to be sent to the first relaying unit and passed from the first relaying unit to the landing gear control unit which then causes the landing gear to be retracted (([0018] “if one of the two landing gear control software partitions 14A, 14B has a failure or is disabled for any reason, then the other software partition can continue commanding extending and retracting the landing gear.” & [0019] As seen, landing gear actuation control is performed by an integrated control system 10 having landing gear control lever 12, two independent control sub-systems (sub-system A and sub-system B), and solenoid operated control valves 40A, 40B. ... to retract and extend the landing gear. Control of gear extension and retraction is performed by the landing gear control system software partitions 14A, 14B ... The landing gear control software partitions receive gear lever up/down data and gear and gear door position data from remote data concentrator units 16 via the common data network (CDN) of the aircraft. The landing gear control software 14A, 14B may issue, for example, gear sequencing commands to remote data concentrator units 16D, 16E and remote power distribution units 36A, 36B via the CDN buses 26. … solenoid operated control valves to retract and extend the landing gear, open and close the gear doors, and position the main landing gear trucks.” & [0022] Gear extension control, for example, may be performed when the landing gear control lever is placed in the DOWN position to command gear extension. ... The nose landing gear and main landing gear may extend under the influence of airloads and gear weight.”).
Trotter et al. is not explicit on “detecting pilot incapacitation”, however, Bosworth et al., US 20190090800 A1, teaches Systems and Methods for Monitoring Pilot Health and discloses, and
(d) configured to retract the landing gear of the aircraft when incapacitation of the pilot of the aircraft is detected ([0064] “if the system determines the pilot is incapacitated or otherwise unable to control the aircraft, the system can control the aircraft to enter into an emergency mode, initiate an automated landing procedure, etc.), in response to a command sent to the first relaying unit and passed from the first relaying unit to the landing gear control unit which then causes the landing gear to be retracted (([0140] “The auto-landing controller enables the aircraft to perform a landing to land at a touchdown location … the aircrew automation system 100 may be further configured to perform, during an emergency, a descent and landing procedure in an aircraft equipped with an auto-landing controller.” & [0142] “the auto-landing procedure may be initiated in response to an auto-land trigger, which may be automatically (or manually) generated through aircrew monitoring to identify pilot incapacitation.” & [0144] “the aircrew automation system 100 may be configured to: (1) operate an autopilot panel; (2) operate flaps and autopilot panel in a coordinated manner to safely reduce airspeed; (3) identify the glide slope to a touchdown location and perform landing procedures in coordination with this signal; (4) manipulate the flight management system to generate a landing route; (5) set the autobrake; (6) set the landing gear; (7) identify a landing/wheels on the ground condition; (8) operate the throttle and reverse thrusters to aid in braking on the ground; (9) set the transponder to note an emergency; and/or (10) communicate to air traffic control the state and intention of the aircraft.” & [0145] Auto-Land Trigger. Promptly and accurately triggering the aircrew automation system 100 to generate a command to perform the auto-descent and/or auto-land procedure(s) in an emergency is imperative. Accordingly, an aircrew health data feed from aircrew health monitoring system 160 to the core platform 102 may further include an auto-descent and/or auto-land command to initiate the auto-descent and auto-landing procedures upon the occurrence of an auto-land trigger.” & [0146] The health controller 602 may determine that the pilot is incapacitated using the vital sensors 606 coupled to the pilot, in which case the health controller 602 may communicate the auto-land command to the core platform 102 when a health parameter of the pilot deviates from a predetermined value or range of acceptable values. For example, the vital sensors 606 may provide cardiac parameters indicative of a heart attack, stroke, death, etc., in which case the auto-land command is automatically communicated to the core platform 102. The health controller 602 may also determine that the pilot is incapacitated using the perception system 106.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by Bosworth et al. with the system disclosed by Trotter et al. to provide a pilot health monitoring system, method, and apparatus for performing an emergency descent and landing operation via an aircrew automation system functioning as a robotic co-pilot (see Abstract & para. [0002], [0007]-[0014]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over , Trotter et al., Pub. No.: US 20090187293 A1 in view of Bosworth et al., Pub. No.: US 20190090800 A1, further in view of L'ALLIER`587, Pub. No.: US 20200331587 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Trotter et al. discloses the aircraft according to claim 1.
Trotter et al. is not explicit on “retrofitted relaying unit”, however, L'ALLIER`587, US 20200331587 A1, teaches SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR LANDING GEAR RETRACTION and discloses,
wherein the first relaying unit has been retrofitted to an existing landing gear control system of the aircraft ([0036] “The first embodiment lends itself well to being retrofitted onto an existing aircraft and/or being featured in a new aircraft assembly with little modification to existing systems on the aircraft. All that is required is the integration of a force feedback motor system on the LG lever, a suitable control processor (the LGLCU) and the provision of a signal feed to the LGLCU confirming take-off from one or more existing aircraft systems.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by L'ALLIER`587 with the system disclosed by Trotter et al. to provide a control system for landing gear retraction and a related method. Also concerns an aircraft comprising such a control system, and also a kit of parts suitable for converting an existing aircraft into an aircraft comprising such a control system (see Abstract & para. [0002]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over , Trotter et al., Pub. No.: US 20090187293 A1 in view of FILHO`832, , Pub. No.: US 20150151832 A1.
Regarding claims 6-7, Trotter et al. discloses an aircraft including: an extendible landing gear.
(claim 7) further comprising: a relaying unit ([0006] “The landing gear control software converts the data received from the landing gear lever and the data received from the proximity sensors to command signals to control electrically activated valves associated with the landing gear. … the command signals may also be sent simultaneously to a remote data concentrator unit to complete an energization circuit in combination with the power distribution unit.” & [0007] “the data concentrator unit sends the sensor state information via common data network busses and networks switches to the processing module storing the landing gear control system software.” & [0008] The landing gear control system software monitors electrical switches of the landing gear lever to determine the position of the landing gear lever.”).
Trotter et al. is not explicit on “freefall landing gear”, however, FILHO`832, US 20150151832 A1, teaches EMERGENCY GRAVITY FREE-FALL DEPLOYMENT SYSTEMS FOR RETRACTABLE AIRCRAFT LANDING GEAR ASSEMBLIES and discloses;
(claim 6) a pilot operated freefall landing gear input device ([0010] “a pilot-initiated system actuator (e.g., a manually operated actuation lever)”); and
(claim 6) a freefall landing gear system that includes an electric motor ([0010] “The operation of the system actuator will thereby initiate the first operational sequence of the free-fall landing gear synchronization system.);
(claim 6) wherein the freefall landing gear system is configured to extend the landing gear of the aircraft using the electric motor in response to pilot operation of the pilot operated freefall landing gear input device causing a gear-down command to be sent to the electric motor ([0010] “the landing gear deployment system will include a pilot-initiated system actuator (e.g., a manually operated actuation lever) and a force-transmission cable assembly operatively interconnecting the system actuator and the uplock actuator. The operation of the system actuator will thereby initiate the first operational sequence of the free-fall landing gear synchronization system.).
(claim 7) wherein the freefall landing gear system is also configured to extend the landing gear of the aircraft using the electric motor when incapacitation of the pilot of the aircraft is detected, in response to a command sent to the relaying unit and passed from the relaying unit to the electric motor ([0022] The system 10 includes a pilot-actuated emergency gear deployment lever 14 positioned in the forward crew cockpit FCC of the aircraft AC. The lever is operatively connected to a hydraulic control system H associated with the aircraft landing gear system and to the respective landing gear free-fall synchronizing assemblies 16-P, 16-S and 16-N” ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by FILHO`832 with the system disclosed by Trotter et al. to provide emergency deployment of retractable aircraft landing gear assemblies, to allow for the landing gear doors to be opened in the event of an emergency gravity free-fall landing gear deployment. The emergency gear extension systems permit the free-fall movement of the landing gear to be synchronized with the opening of the associated gear doors (see Abstract & para. [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
/Jalal C CODUROGLU/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665