Detailed Action
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2025-168624, filed on September 28, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dopilka et al. (Advanced Energy and Sustainability Research 2.5 (2021): 2000114.) (Hereafter referred to as Dopilka).
Regarding claim 1 Dopilka teaches an electrode active material having a silicon-clathrate-II-type crystal phase (Pg. 14, Col. (right), Paragraph 1).
Dopilka does not teach the five-membered ring size in the crystal phase to be 3.572 Å or more and 3.780 Å or less.
The teachings of Dopilka indicate that the amount of Na in the silicon clathrate crystal phase is a result-effective variable that controls the contraction of the cage structure (Pg. 2, Col. Left, Paragraph 1; Pg. 2, Col. Right, Paragraph 1), and therefore, the five-membered ring size. The applicant teaches a similar conclusion, recognizing that the size of the cage structure is dependent on sodium concentration (Otaki et al. US 20250112231 A1 (the publication of the application under review); [0040]), and seeks to optimize the sodium concentration through controlling the burning temperature of the crystal phase ([0028-0032]). Dopilka teaches that the removal of Na from the silicon clathrate structure results in low volume expansion rates and increased capacity (Pg. 2, Col. (right), Paragraph 1); however, Dopilka further teaches that the complete removal of Na from the silicon clathrate structure prevents new ions from being able to optimally diffuse through the clathrate structure (Pg. 12, Col. (right), Paragraph 0). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application would be motivated by Dopilka to balance these two considerations when engaging in routine optimization of the Na content within the silicon clathrate structure, and would be able to arrive at the claimed five-member ring size range without undue experimentation.
Note, under broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation “a five-membered ring size in the crystal phase is 3.752 Å or more and 3.780 Å or less,” is interpreted to require the silicon-clathrate-II-type crystal phase at one or more of the five-membered rings to at least transiently fall within the claimed ring size of 3.752 Å and 3.780 Å.
Regarding Claims 2-3: Dopilka teaches the silicon-clathrate-II-type structure having a gap on an inside of a primary particle (Figures 4(c-d), 6, 7(d), & 10), and an electrode mixture containing the active material of claim 1 with a conductive material and a binder (Pg. 14, Col. (Right), Paragraph 1).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dopilka et al. (Advanced Energy and Sustainability Research 2.5 (2021): 2000114.) in view of Otaki et al. US 2022-0190315 A1 (Hereafter referred to as Otaki).
Regarding claim 4: Dopilka teaches an electrode active material having a silicon-clathrate-II-type crystal phase, and that a positive or negative electrode is the electrode mixture of claim 3.
Dopilka does not teach a positive-electrode, a negative-electrode, or an electrolyte layer between the electrodes.
Otaki teaches a positive electrode, a negative electrode, an electrolyte layer between the positive and negative electrode ([0028]; Figure 2, items 1-3), and that the anode contains a silicon-clathrate-II-type crystal phase ([0032]; Figure 2, Item 3).
It would be obvious to one have ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the electrode active material mixture of Dopilka within the battery of Otaki for the purposes of obtaining an all-solid state battery which has excellent capacity durability while there is zero or low restraining pressure applied to the battery ([0008] & [0013]).
Regarding claim 5:
Otaki teaches the electrolyte layer containing a solid electrolyte ([0057-0059]; Figure 2, Item 2).
Conclusion
/J.A.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721