Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on January 2, 2026 amends claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 14-15, and 18-19. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments regarding the newly presented claim limitations in the independent claims have been fully considered and are moot. The newly presented limitations in the independent claims are taught by previously cited reference, Schumacher (US 2021/0404820), as explained in detail in the rejections that follow. The independent claims are taught by the combination of Bagalkoti, Lu, and Schumacher, as shown in the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagalkoti et al. (US 2025/0289342) in view of Lu et al. (US 2023/0322110) and further in view of Schumacher (US 2021/0404820).
Regarding claim 1, Bagalkoti, teaches a computer-implemented method, the method comprising: receiving data from a set of Internet-of-Things (IoT) enabled electric vehicles (EVs), (see Bagalkoti at the Abstract in conjunction with Fig. 1 which discloses a structure and operation of a logistical system for charging electrical vehicles (EVs) and that logistical system may include synergistically interacting hardware and software components on a computer of a charging service, a plurality of EVs, and that mobile charging-vehicles may be directed to particularly needed locations by the charging service, and may charge electrically assisted bicycles and other vehicles; see Bagalkoti at [0032] which discloses that one or more network connections 210 may include radios generally, including Wi-Fi modem(s), cellular modems (e.g., mobile devices and/or circuitry), private networks (radio, fiber optics, etc.), and others, and that the network connections 210 may connect the EV application 110 to the internet, and provide two-way communication with the charging service 102 and associated charging service application 120, charging stations 106 and associated charging station applications 122), and other internet and/or internet of things locations; see Bagalkoti at Fig. 5 elements 506, 508 which discloses sending first data to a remote server and that the first data may include a location of the EV and the charge information; see Bagalkoti at [0044] which discloses that at block 506, first data is sent to a remote computing device. In the example of block 508, the first data may include: a location of the EV; and the charge information. Examiner notes that the remote server receives data from internet of things electric vehicles.)
wherein the data comprises a current percentage of remaining battery power for an IoT enabled EV of the set of IoT enabled EVs; in response to determining that the current percentage of remaining battery power for the IoT enabled EV [falls below a user specified EV battery threshold], selecting at least one IoT enabled mobile charging unit (MCU), from a set of IoT enabled MCUs, (see Bagalkoti at [0028] which discloses that the algorithm may be operated in an iterative manner, as the locations of EVs change and as the charge (i.e., the percentage of charge capacity, the actual energy, or other measure) on batteries changes (in both moving EVs and charging EVs and that the algorithm may also direct the location and/or movement of one or more mobile charging-vehicles 114; see Bagalkoti at [0056] which discloses that the method of operation 1500 may include communicating with one or more mobile charging-vehicles, such as to direct one or more mobile charging-vehicles to charge location to more efficiently charge EV …. and that in the example of block 1508, a mobile charging-vehicle is selected that has a charging schedule that has greater than a threshold percentage of openings, and that in an alternative embodiment, a mobile charging vehicle is selected that has a charging schedule that has a greater percentage of openings than an alternative mobile charging vehicle. Examiner maps percentage of charge capacity to current percentage of remaining battery power. Examiner maps mobile charging-vehicle to mobile charging unit (MCU).)
and notifying a user of the IoT enabled EV of availability of the selected at least one IoT enabled MCU at the determined geographic location (see Bagalkoti at [0057] which discloses that at block 1608, the mobile charging-vehicle 114 periodically reports its location, charging schedule, and/or charging history to the charging service application 120, that such reports provide the charging service application 120 with information that can be used to direct or suggest a change in location of the mobile charging-vehicle 114 and that such reports also provide insight to future EV-charging demand and particular locations. Examiner notes that such reports provide availability of the mobile charging-vehicle based on demand of the mobile charging-vehicle. Also, see Bagalkoti at [0025] which discloses that the charging service 102 may communicate with an application 110 that operates on a computing device of the EV 108 and/or an application that operates on the mobile device 112 of the driver of the EV and that in some examples, the application 110 may operate on or be in communication with the vehicle's entertainment system; see Bagalkoti at [0057] which discloses that the mobile charging-vehicle 114 provides its location to the charging service application 120. Examiner notes that providing the location of a mobile charging-vehicle to the charging service, which is in communication with an EV and its EV application corresponds to notifying an IoT enabled EV regarding its availability with respect to its location. Furthermore, see Lu at [0059] which discloses that the processor 122 of the another vehicle 120 or the processor 102 of the system 100 can send a notification to the processor 110 of the vehicle 110 to be displayed on the vehicle 110 (e.g., console display) or on a computing device of an occupant of the vehicle 110 for the vehicle 110 to return to the location 130.)
Bagalkoti does not expressly disclose that the current percentage of remaining battery power for the IoT enabled EV falls below a user specified EV battery threshold, which in a related art, Lu teaches (see Lu at [0056], for example, which discloses that the battery capacity threshold can be determined by the battery capacity needed to propel the vehicle from the location where the vehicle is providing charge (e.g., location 130) to a destination, such as the location of a charging station (e.g., charging station 160) and that the system 100 can further calculate the minimum battery capacity of the vehicle needed to reach the destination, such as the nearest charging station and then ultimately determine the battery capacity threshold. Furthermore, see Lu at [0116] which discloses that in one example, solutions can also be utilized to provide a selection of services to an occupant where the services are based on a profile of an occupant of the transport. Examiner notes that the minimum battery capacity of the vehicle that is needed to reach a destination corresponds to a user specified EV battery threshold, since this battery capacity or threshold is what the user needs to get to his destination.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bagalkoti to include a remaining battery power for an IoT enabled EV falling below a user specified EV battery threshold, as taught by Lu.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide a minimum battery capacity of the vehicle to reach the destination, as suggested by Lu at [0056].
The modified Baklagoti does not expressly disclose and deploying [at least one IoT enabled mobile charging unit (MCU), from a set of IoT enabled MCUs,] to a determined geographic location, wherein the determined geographic location is a location along a route being traveled by the IoT enabled EV, which in a related art Schumacher teaches (see Shumacher at [0065] which discloses that the software application 4 can also be configured to display all positions P5 of all charging vehicles 5 to enable the selection of a desired charging vehicle 5 for charging the electric vehicle 2 by an operator of the mobile device; see Schumacher at [0067] which discloses that the software application 4 transmits the previous route BR based on correspondingly recorded position data with the charging request to the mobile charging vehicle 5 and that if the software application 4 transmits in addition to the previous route BR also the route GR planned for the electric vehicle 2 up to a route destination RZ to the charging vehicle 5, the navigation apparatus 51 of the charging vehicle 5 can take into account the planned route GR for the calculation of the common meeting point TP; further, see Schumacher at [0067] in conjunction with Fig. 3 which discloses that the common meeting point TP is exactly on the planned route GP of the electric vehicle 2 to the route destination RZ and therefore, the planned charging of the battery 21 of the electric vehicle 2 does not interfere with the route BR,GR of the electric vehicle 2 at all, since the common meeting point TP and the driving distance FRE of the electric vehicle 2 to the meeting point TP corresponds to the planned route GR and therefore no detours and additional driving times have to be accepted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bagalkoti to include deploying [at least one IoT enabled mobile charging unit (MCU), from a set of IoT enabled MCUs,] to a determined geographic location, wherein the determined geographic location is a location along a route being traveled by the IoT enabled EV, as taught by Schumacher.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that no detours and additional driving times have to be accepted by the electric vehicle, as suggested by Schumacher at [0067].
Regarding claim 2, the modified Bagalkoti teaches the method of claim 1, wherein selection of the at least one IoT enabled MCU from the set of IoT enabled MCUs is based on an evaluation of data received from the at least one IoT enabled MCU and data received from the user (see Bagalkoti at [0046] which discloses that FIG. 6 shows example operation 600 of a system, device, and/or software application to request and receive a battery-charging appointment for an EV and that in the example, the operation 600 may be performed by the EV application 110 of FIG. 1, which may execute by operation of a computing device of the EV 108B and/or the driver's mobile device 112. Examiner notes that requesting a battery-charging appointment for an EV corresponds to data received from a user. Also, see Bagalkoti at [0057] in conjunction with Fig. 16 which discloses that FIG. 16 shows an example method 1600 to operate a mobile charging-vehicle, and particularly showing an example of how the mobile charging-vehicle exchanges data with, and responds to, other components of the logistical system and that at block 1604, the mobile charging-vehicle 114 provides its location to the charging service application 120, that the location of the mobile charging-vehicle 114 assists the charging service application 120 to determine reasonable options for repositioning the mobile charging-vehicle, assuming it is not appropriately utilized. Examiner notes that the mobile charging-vehicle providing its location corresponds to receiving data from at least one IoT enabled MCU.)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Bagalkoti teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the data received from the set of IoT enabled EVs, identifying a geographic area within which a battery charging need is predicted to arise for one or more IoT enabled EVs of the set of IoT enabled EVs; (see Bagalkoti at Fig. 1 which discloses an example of a logistical system 100 for electrical vehicle (EV) charging; see Bagalkoti at [0028] which discloses that the algorithm may also predict the future locations of the EVs and traffic conditions, to forecast the charging demand of one or more charging station locations more accurately and that the algorithm may also direct the location and/or movement of one or more mobile charging-vehicles 114; see Bagalkoti at [0057] which discloses that Fig. 16 shows an example method 1600 to operate a mobile charging-vehicle, and particularly showing an example of how the mobile charging-vehicle exchanges data with, and responds to, other components of the logistical system. Examiner maps predicting the locations of the EVs and traffic conditions to forecast the charging demand of one or more charging locations more accurately to identifying a geographic area within which a battery charging need is predicted to arise for one or more IoT enabled EVs of the set of IoT enabled EVs.)
deploying one or more IoT enabled MCUs of the set of IoT enabled MCUs to the identified geographic area; (see Bagalkoti at [0056] which discloses that at block 1506, a mobile charging-vehicle is selected to send to the area.)
and notifying those IoT enabled EVs predicted to have a battery charging need of availability of the one or more IoT enabled MCUs at the identified geographic area. (see Bagalkoti at [0025] which discloses that the charging service 102 may communicate with an application 110 that operates on a computing device of the EV 108 and/or an application that operates on the mobile device 112 of the driver of the EV and that in some examples, the application 110 may operate on or be in communication with the vehicle's entertainment system; see Bagalkoti at [0057] which discloses that the mobile charging-vehicle 114 provides its location to the charging service application 120. Examiner notes that providing the location of a mobile charging-vehicle to the charging service, which is in communication with an EV and its EV application corresponds to notifying an IoT enabled EV regarding its availability with respect to its location.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Bagalkoti teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one IoT enabled MCU comprises a smart autonomous vehicle that can travel to the determined geographic location and provide an electric charge to a battery of the IoT enabled EV (see Bagalkoti at [0028] which discloses that the algorithm may also direct the location and/or movement of one or more mobile charging-vehicles 114 and that such movements and locations may be selected, performed, and then utilized to obtain better results from the algorithm; see Bagalkoti at [0056] which discloses that at block 1506, a mobile charging-vehicle is selected to send to the area and at block 1510, the selected mobile charging-vehicle is directed to the area. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language in light of the specification.)
Claims 8-11 are directed toward computer systems that performs the steps recited in the methods of claims 1-4. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejections of claims 1-4 teach the steps recited in the computer systems of claims 8-11. Therefore, claims 8-11 are rejected under the same rationale used in the rejections of claims 1-4.
Claims 15-18 are directed toward computer program products that perform the steps recited in the methods of claims 1-4. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejections of claims 1-4 teach the steps recited in the computer program products of claims 15-18. Therefore, claims 15-18 are rejected under the same rationale used in the rejections of claims 1-4.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Bagalkoti teaches via an infotainment system or a navigation system of the IoT enabled EV, geographic location of the selected at least one IoT enabled MCU relative to a geographic location of the IoT enabled EV (see Bagalkoti at [0025] which discloses that the charging service 102 may communicate with an application 110 that operates on a computing device of the EV 108 and/or an application that operates on the mobile device 112 of the driver of the EV, that in some examples, the application 110 may operate on or be in communication with the vehicle's entertainment system, that such entertainment systems may provide radio, satellite radio, global positioning system (GPS) mapping and navigation systems, etc. and that they may also support the operation of applications, such as the application 110, which is configured for communication with the charging service 102; see Bagalkoti at [0030] which discloses that an electric vehicle subsystem 200 is operable on devices of an EV (e.g., the entertainment system), a mobile device of a user/driver, and/or other computing device, that a processor 202 is in communication with a memory device 204, which contains an operating system 206, the EV application 110 includes software stored on the memory device 204 that is executable by the processor 202, that in an example, the EV application 110 is configured to: monitor battery conditions; monitor a geographic location (and/or a path of travel or destination) of the EV with which it is associated; send data to the charging service 102; and receive data from the charging service (e.g., an appropriate charging station at which the EV can be charged), and that in examples, the EV application 110 may be configured to perform some or all of the techniques described by FIGS. 5 through 8, and to perform other techniques as described and/or suggested by this document. Also, see Bagalkoti at [0056] which discloses that the method of operation 1500 may include communicating with one or more mobile charging-vehicles, such as to direct one or more mobile charging-vehicles to charge location to more efficiently charge EV and that in the example of block 1508. Examiner maps the vehicle’s entertainment system to the recited infotainment system.)
wherein the notifying further comprises: displaying, [via an infotainment system or a navigation system of the IoT enabled EV, a geographic location of the selected at least one IoT enabled MCU relative to a geographic location of the IoT enabled EV; and displaying, via the infotainment system or the navigation system,] routing information to the determined geographic location (see Schumacher at [0070] which discloses that in an embodiment (dotted arrow), the method comprises the additional step of at least periodically transmitting 170 the current position P5 of the charging vehicle 5 on a way to the common meeting point by the navigation apparatus 51 to the software application 4 for a retrieval the electric vehicle 2 and displaying 180 the current position P5 of the charging vehicle 5 on the way to the common meeting point TP by the software application 4 on a navigation display in the electric vehicle 2. Examiner maps current position of the charging vehicle on the way to the common meeting point to displaying, routing information to the determined geographic location.)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Bagalkoti teaches via respective infotainment or navigation systems of those IoT enabled EVs predicted to have a battery charging need (see Bagalkoti at [0025] which discloses that the charging service 102 may communicate with an application 110 that operates on a computing device of the EV 108 and/or an application that operates on the mobile device 112 of the driver of the EV, that in some examples, the application 110 may operate on or be in communication with the vehicle's entertainment system, that such entertainment systems may provide radio, satellite radio, global positioning system (GPS) mapping and navigation systems, etc. and that they may also support the operation of applications, such as the application 110, which is configured for communication with the charging service 102; see Bagalkoti at [0028] which discloses that the algorithm may also predict the future locations of the EVs and traffic conditions, to forecast the charging demand of one or more charging station locations more accurately and that the algorithm may also direct the location and/or movement of one or more mobile charging-vehicles 114; see Bagalkoti at [0030] which discloses that an electric vehicle subsystem 200 is operable on devices of an EV (e.g., the entertainment system), a mobile device of a user/driver, and/or other computing device, that a processor 202 is in communication with a memory device 204, which contains an operating system 206, the EV application 110 includes software stored on the memory device 204 that is executable by the processor 202, that in an example, the EV application 110 is configured to: monitor battery conditions; monitor a geographic location (and/or a path of travel or destination) of the EV with which it is associated; send data to the charging service 102; and receive data from the charging service (e.g., an appropriate charging station at which the EV can be charged), and that in examples, the EV application 110 may be configured to perform some or all of the techniques described by FIGS. 5 through 8, and to perform other techniques as described and/or suggested by this document. Examiner maps the vehicle’s entertainment system to the recited infotainment system.)
wherein the notifying further comprises: displaying, [via respective infotainment or navigation systems of those IoT enabled EVs predicted to have a battery charging need,] respective geographic locations of the one or more IoT enabled MCUs within the identified geographic area relative to respective geographic locations of those IoT enabled EVs predicted to have a battery charging need; and displaying, via the respective infotainment or navigation systems, routing information to the identified geographic area, (see Schumacher at [0070] which discloses that in an embodiment (dotted arrow), the method comprises the additional step of at least periodically transmitting 170 the current position P5 of the charging vehicle 5 on a way to the common meeting point by the navigation apparatus 51 to the software application 4 for a retrieval the electric vehicle 2 and displaying 180 the current position P5 of the charging vehicle 5 on the way to the common meeting point TP by the software application 4 on a navigation display in the electric vehicle 2. Examiner maps current position of the charging vehicle on the way to the common meeting point to displaying respective geographic locations of the one or more IoT enabled MCUs within the identified geographic area relative to respective geographic locations of those IoT enabled EVs predicted to have a battery charging need; and displaying, routing information to the identified geographic area.)
Claims 12-13 are directed toward computer systems that perform the steps recited in the methods of claims 5-6. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejections of claims 5-6 teach the steps recited in the computer systems of claims 12-13. Therefore, claims 12-13 are rejected under the same rationale used in the rejections of claims 5-6.
Claims 19-20 are directed toward computer program products that perform the steps recited in the methods of claims 5-6. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejections of claims 5-6 teach the steps recited in the computer program products of claims 19-20. Therefore, claims 19-20 are rejected under the same rationale used in the rejections of claims 5-6.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagalkoti et al. (US 2025/0289342) in view of Lu et al. (US 2023/0322110) in view of Schumacher (US 2021/0404820) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0066396).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Bagalkoti teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that a current percentage of remaining battery power for an IoT enabled EV of the set of IoT enabled EVs falls below a user specified EV battery threshold, (see Lu at [0056], for example, which discloses that the battery capacity threshold can be determined by the battery capacity needed to propel the vehicle from the location where the vehicle is providing charge (e.g., location 130) to a destination, such as the location of a charging station (e.g., charging station 160) and that the system 100 can further calculate the minimum battery capacity of the vehicle needed to reach the destination, such as the nearest charging station and then ultimately determine the battery capacity threshold. Examiner notes that determining the minimum battery capacity threshold of the vehicle that is needed to reach a destination corresponds to determining that a current percentage of remaining battery power for an IoT enabled EV of the set of IoT enabled EVs falls below a user specified EV battery threshold.)
notifying the user of one or more EV charging stations within a range of the IoT enabled EV or located along a route being traveled by the IoT enabled EV; (see Bagalkoti at [0045] which discloses that at block 510, second data is received from the remote computing device, and that the second data may be responsive to the first data. Bagalkoti at [0045] further discloses that the second data may include: a location of a charging station capable of charging the EV; and an estimated charging time to charge the EV at the charging station, (e.g., the estimated charging time may include: travel to the charging station and battery charging time). Examiner maps receiving of the second data which includes a location of a charging station capable of charging the EV to the notifying the user of one or more EV charging stations within a range of the IoT enabled EV.)
via an infotainment system or a navigation system of the IoT enabled EV, (see Bagalkoti at [0025] which discloses that the charging service 102 may communicate with an application 110 that operates on a computing device of the EV 108 and/or an application that operates on the mobile device 112 of the driver of the EV, that in some examples, the application 110 may operate on or be in communication with the vehicle's entertainment system, that such entertainment systems may provide radio, satellite radio, global positioning system (GPS) mapping and navigation systems, etc. and that they may also support the operation of applications, such as the application 110, which is configured for communication with the charging service 102; see Bagalkoti at [0028] which discloses that the algorithm may also predict the future locations of the EVs and traffic conditions, to forecast the charging demand of one or more charging station locations more accurately and that the algorithm may also direct the location and/or movement of one or more mobile charging-vehicles 114; see Bagalkoti at [0030] which discloses that an electric vehicle subsystem 200 is operable on devices of an EV (e.g., the entertainment system), a mobile device of a user/driver, and/or other computing device, that a processor 202 is in communication with a memory device 204, which contains an operating system 206, the EV application 110 includes software stored on the memory device 204 that is executable by the processor 202, that in an example, the EV application 110 is configured to: monitor battery conditions; monitor a geographic location (and/or a path of travel or destination) of the EV with which it is associated; send data to the charging service 102; and receive data from the charging service (e.g., an appropriate charging station at which the EV can be charged), and that in examples, the EV application 110 may be configured to perform some or all of the techniques described by FIGS. 5 through 8, and to perform other techniques as described and/or suggested by this document. Examiner maps the vehicle’s entertainment system to the recited infotainment system.)
The modified Bagalkoti does not expressly disclose and displaying, [via an infotainment system or a navigation system of the IoT enabled EV,] respective geographic locations of the one or more EV charging stations relative to a geographic location of the IoT enabled EV which in a related art Lee teaches (see Lee at [0117] which discloses that FIG. 3 is a view showing an example in which information on the charging stations that the vehicle is capable of reaching is displayed through the display device according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Lee at [01117] further discloses, as illustrated, when the charging stations that the vehicle is capable of reaching from the current location of the vehicle are determined based on the locations thereof and on the information on the current amount of energy of the battery, the locations of the determined charging stations may be displayed in a map through the display device (which may be the display device of the navigation device) to be shown to the user.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bagalkoti to include displaying, [via an infotainment system or a navigation system of the IoT enabled EV,] respective geographic locations of the one or more EV charging stations relative to a geographic location of the IoT enabled EV, as taught by Lee.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide information on the charging stations that the vehicle is capable of reaching, as suggested by Lee at [0117].
Claim 14 is directed toward a computer system that performs the steps recited in the method of claim 7. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejections of claim 7 teach the steps recited in the computer system of claim 14. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale used in the rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROY RHEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664