Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 June, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEUCHI et al. (US 2007/0227714 A1), and further in view of, HÄGELE et al. (DE 102018213124 A1).
As to Claim 1, TAKEUCHI discloses a connection tube (2) comprising: multi-row tubes (See Annotated Figure Below) respectively connecting a flow path between a pair of header pipe assemblies (4) disposed to be spaced apart from each other (Fig 1A and 1B, Paragraph 31) and including a plurality of header pipes (4) disposed to be parallel to each other in a second direction, perpendicular to a first direction which is a length direction of the header pipe (4) having the flow path (17) formed therein and a plurality of connection holes (16a,16b,16c) formed in one surface (15),
wherein the multi-row tube includes a plurality of single tubes (6a,6b,6c) respectively extending in the second direction, disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction (Page 8, Paragraphs 30,31 and 32), and having two ends each inserted into the flow path (17) through the connection hole (16a,16b,16c) of the header pipe assembly (Page 8, Paragraph 39), and a wing (8a,8b) connected between the plurality of single tubes (Page 8, Paragraph 34 and 35).
[AltContent: textbox (Connecting Wings, where the end of the wing part is recessed from an end of the single tubes by a predetermined distance in the longitudinal direction)][AltContent: textbox (Multi- Row Tube)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Microchannels)][AltContent: textbox (Single Tubes with plurality of microchannels)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
However, TAKEUCHI fails to disclose chamfers that are formed on two edges of each of the two ends of the single tubes.
HÄGELE, however, teaches chamfers (See Annotated Figure Below) on the two edges of heat exchanger tube (Paragraph 2) which functions as a guide or an insertion ramp so as to avoid damage to the tubes during assembly (Paragraph 7).
[AltContent: textbox (Chamfers)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TAKEUCHI, by creating chamfers on two edges of each of the two ends of the single tubes, as taught by HÄGELE. HÄGELE teaches that in the art of heat exchangers assembly, creating insertion ramps on each longitudinal end of a connection tube through forming chamfers is a known method that yields high quality production by preventing damage to the end of the connection tube (Page 2, Paragraph 7) that would have otherwise got torn when caught in the header pipes during assembly, therefore this known method reliably reduces the rejection rate (Paragraph 7). This is strong evidence that modifying TAKEUCHI as claimed was well within the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art and would produce predictable results to one skilled in the art (i.e. to modify TAKEUCHI by adding chamfers to the two edges of the single tube of HÄGELE) to obtain the invention as specified in Claim 1.
As to Claim 2, TAKEUCHI, further discloses that the single tube has a plurality of microchannels (7) formed therein (See Annotated Figure Above, Paragraph 33).
However, TAKEUCHI fails to disclose chamfers that are formed across the microchannel adjacent thereto at each of the two edges of each end of the single tubes.
HÄGELE, however, teaches the chamfer on the two edges of heat exchanger tube (Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TAKEUCHI, by creating chamfers that are formed across the microchannel adjacent thereto at each of the two edges of each end of the single tubes, as taught by HÄGELE. HÄGELE teaches that in the art of heat exchangers assembly, creating insertion ramps on each longitudinal end of a connection tube through forming chamfers is a known method that yields high quality production by preventing damage to the end of the connection tube that would have otherwise got torn when caught in the header pipes during assembly, therefore this known method reliably reduces the rejection rate (Paragraph 7). This is strong evidence that modifying TAKEUCHI as claimed was well within the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art and would produce predictable results to one skilled in the art (i.e. to modify TAKEUCHI by adding chamfers that are formed across the microchannel adjacent thereto at each of the two edges of each end of the single tubes.) to obtain the invention as specified in Claim 2.
As to Claim 3, TAKEUCHI, as modified by HÄGELE, further discloses that the tube, wherein when viewed in the first direction, each end of the single tubes has a length (D) allowing the end to be inserted up to at least a central portion of the flow path (Page 9, Paragraph 47 and 49). The single tubes and the header pipe assemblies are independently movable parts that are free to move in the first direction until the end of the insertion pipe contacts the inner wall of the header pipe. Therefore, the length (D) includes at least a central portion of the flow path which is within the range to maintain clearance (19) between ends of the single tube (10) and the inner surface (18) of the header pipe. The reason for maintaining this range is to make sure that the clearance is sufficient for the fluid to flow smoothly (Page 9, Paragraph 47 and 49) and therefore the allowable insertion length of the end of the single tubes is anticipated as specified in Claim 3.
As to Claim 4, TAKEUCHI, as modified by HÄGELE, further discloses wherein when viewed in the first direction, each end of the single tubes has a length (D) allowing the end to be inserted beyond at least the central portion of the flow path, and is spaced apart from an inner wall (18) of the flow path (17) facing the connection hole (16) (See Annotated Figure Below). The single tubes and the header pipe assemblies are independently movable parts that are free to move in the first direction until the end of the insertion tube contacts the inner wall of the header pipe. Therefore, the length (D) includes each end of the single tubes to be inserted beyond at least the central portion of the flow path, and is spaced apart from an inner wall (18) of the flow path (17) facing the connection hole (16). The reason for maintaining this range is to make sure that the clearance is sufficient for the fluid to flow smoothly (Page 9, Paragraph 47 and 49) and therefore the allowable insertion length of the end of the single tubes is anticipated as specified in Claim 4.
As to Claim 5, TAKEUCHI as modified by HÄGELE, further discloses a header pipe, and when viewed in the first direction, each end of the single tubes has a length allowing the end to be inserted in a range of 0.5 to 0.75 of a diameter of the flow path (Paragraph 47 and 49). The single tubes and the header pipe assemblies are independently movable parts that are free to move in the first direction until the end of the insertion pipe contacts the inner wall of the header pipe. Therefore, the length (D) includes each end of the single tubes that has a length allowing the end to be inserted in a range of 0.5 to 0.75 of a diameter of the flow path. The reason for maintaining this range is to make sure that the clearance is sufficient for the fluid to flow smoothly (Page 9, Paragraph 47 and 49) and therefore the allowable insertion length of the end of the single tubes is anticipated as specified in Claim 5.
However, TAKEUCHI does not disclose that the header pipe has a circular cross section. However, a skilled artisan would have recognized that choosing a header pipe with circular cross-section would have been an obvious matter of design choice as header pipes with circular cross-section is a known design choice in the art of heat exchangers that is effective against a fracture internal pressure. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, when there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, i.e. to choose a header pipe with circular cross-section, a person of ordinary skill has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, i.e. benefit of choosing a circular cross-section header pipe effective against a fracture internal pressure, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance, the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show it was obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103 (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Incl, 127 S. Ct. 1742,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify TAKEUCHI, by choosing header pipe with circular cross section, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is within the abilities of one having ordinary skill. See MPEP 2143 -(I)(E).
As to Claim 6, TAKEUCHI, as modified by HÄGELE, further discloses, wherein when the single tubes (6a,6b,6c) are inserted into the flow path (17), an insertion length (D) of the end of the single tubes with respect to the flow path is limited by contact between an end of the wing (8a,8b) and an outer surface of the header pipe (12) (Page 9, Paragraph 43, lines 7-18) (See Annotated Figure Below).
As to Claim 7, TAKEUCHI, as modified by HÄGELE, further discloses, wherein the plurality of wings (8a,8b) is provided, and the plurality of the wings have the same length (Page 8, Paragraph 37, lines 24-32) in a third direction (See Annotated Figure Below).
[AltContent: textbox (Plurality of the wings have the same length in a third direction)][AltContent: textbox (Insertion Length is limited by contact between an end of the Wing and an outer surface of the header pipe)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inserting margin length D can be determined along with the dimension of the clearance (19) to allow the fluid to smoothly flow)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KANEKO et al. (2018/0216892 A1), and further in view of, TAKEUCHI et al. (US 2007/0227714 A1) and HÄGELE et al. (DE 102018213124 A1).
As to Claim 8, KANEKO, as modified by TAKEUCHI and HÄGELE, discloses a condenser (1) comprising: a first header pipe assembly (10) and a second header pipe assembly (10) disposed to be spaced apart from each other and each including a plurality of header pipes disposed to be parallel to each other in a second direction, perpendicular to a first direction which is a length direction of the header pipe having a flow path formed therein and a plurality of connection holes (15) formed in one surface (Figure 1); and
The connection tube (20) which connects the flow path of the first header pipe assembly (10) and that of the second header pipe assembly (10) to each other, and extends in a third direction, perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
However, KANEKO does not explicitly disclose the type of connection tube which comprises multi row tubes respectively connecting a flow path between a pair of header pipe assemblies disposed to be spaced apart from each other and including a plurality of header pipes disposed to be parallel to each other in a second direction, perpendicular to a first direction which is a length direction of the header pipe having the flow path formed therein and a plurality of connection holes formed in one surface, wherein the multi-row tube includes a plurality of single tubes respectively extending in the second direction, disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction, and having two ends each inserted into the flow path through the connection hole of the header pipe assembly, and a wing connected between the plurality of single tubes,
and chamfers are formed on two edges of each of the two ends of the single tubes.
However, TAKEUCHI as modified by HÄGELE teaches a connection tube (2) comprising: multi-row tubes (See Annotated Figures Below Claim 1) respectively connecting a flow path between a pair of header assemblies (4) disposed to be spaced apart from each other (Fig 1A and 1B, Paragraph 31) wherein, the multi-row tubes include a plurality of single tubes (6a,6b,6c) spaced (Paragraph 32) apart from each other and having two ends each inserted into the flow path (17) through the connection hole (16a,16b,16c) of the header assembly, and a wing (8a,8b) connected between the plurality of single tubes. The single tube has a plurality of microchannels (7) formed therein (See Annotated Figure Below Claim 1, Paragraph 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection tube of KANEKO further by the teachings of TAKEUCHI and HÄGELE to obtain the invention as specified in Claim 8.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KANEKO et al. (2018/0216892 A1), and further in view of, TAKEUCHI et al. (US 2007/0227714 A1), HÄGELE et al. (DE 102018213124 A1), and SEO et al. (US 10627165 B2).
As to Claim 9, KANEKO as modified by TAKEUCHI, and HÄGELE discloses a condenser (1) comprising: a connection block (15) extending in the first direction, disposed between and in contact with the respective header pipes, and having a plurality of flow holes (15c) (Figure 10, Page 21, Paragraph 52, lines 28-40) passing through two surfaces of the connection block that are in contact with the header pipes (See Annotated Figure Below);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Connection Blocks with plurality of flow holes that are in contact with the Header pipes)]
However, KANEKO does not explicitly disclose a fixing baffle disposed on two sides of the header pipe assembly in the first direction, and including a plurality of blocking parts blocking the flow path of the header pipe and spaced apart from each other in the second direction, and a fixing part connecting the plurality of blocking parts to each other.
SEO, However, teaches a fixing baffle (143,144,145,146) disposed on the header pipe assembly (100), and includes a plurality of blocking parts blocking flow path of the header pipe (Page 22, Column 7, lines 49-53) and spaced apart from each other in the second direction, and a fixing part connecting the plurality of blocking parts to each other (See Annotated Figure Below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the two ends of the header assembly of KANEKO by the teachings of SEO that uses fixing baffle to block the flow path of the header pipe. SEO teaches the use of fixing baffle to create partitions and separate the inside of the header to form different flow paths respectively (Page 22, Column 7, lines 5-10), this is strong evidence that modifying KANEKO as claimed was well within the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art and would produce predictable results to one skilled in the art (i.e. to modify KANEKO by adding fixing baffles to the two edges of the single tube) to obtain the invention as specified in Claim 9.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fixing Part connecting the plurality of blocking parts to each other )]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Blocking Parts, blocking the flow path of the header pipe)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fixing Baffles at the upper and lower ends of the header pipe)][AltContent: arrow]
Conclusion
/BIGYAN BHATTACHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763