DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kelsen (US 2018/0169288).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Kelsen discloses an aroma generator, comprising:
a cartridge holding unit (207) that comprises a cartridge (177,199) that holds a plurality of fragrances (201) (see paras. [0004]; [0052]; Fig. 22), wherein the cartridge (177,199) comprises a plurality of ventilation flow paths (189) that each hold a fragrance of the plurality of fragrances (201) (see para. [0053]; Fig. 23);
an air-blowing flow path (191) configured to communicate with one of the plurality of ventilation flow paths (189) to blow air through the cartridge (177,199) (see para. [0053]; Fig. 23); and
circuitry (227) configured to select one type of fragrance from the plurality of fragrances (201) in the cartridge (177,199) based on sensing information, wherein the selection comprises a switching operation (i.e., opening and/or closing) of a ventilation flow path (189) of the plurality of ventilation flow paths (189) that communicates with the air-blowing flow path (191) (see paras. [0007]; [0056]-[0057]; Fig. 27).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Kelsen discloses the aroma generator, wherein the sensing information includes at least one of external environment information or biological information (see paras. [0008]; [0063]-[0068]).
Regarding claim 6, the reference Kelsen discloses that the aroma generator further comprises a display device configured to display information associated with at least one of the cartridge or the sensing information (see para. [0057]; [0063]).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Kelsen discloses the aroma generator, wherein the circuitry is further configured to wirelessly communicate with the display device (see paras. [0056]; [0069]).
Regarding claim 8, the reference Kelsen discloses the aroma generator, wherein the circuitry is further configured to select the one type of the fragrance in the cartridge based on a user operation (see para. [0070]; Fig. 28]).
Regarding claim 9, the reference Kelsen discloses the aroma generator, wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive the user operation using an application (see para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 10, the reference Kelsen discloses the aroma generator, wherein the aroma generator is attachable to a mobile object (see paras. [0004]; [0005]; [0061]).
Regarding claim 14, the reference Kelsen discloses the aroma generator, wherein the circuitry is further configured to: wirelessly communicate with an external network; and control an artificial intelligence (AI) model on the external network to perform machine learning (see para. [0006]; [0056]; [0069]).
Regarding claim 16, the reference Kelsen discloses an aroma generator, comprising:
a cartridge holding unit (207) that comprises a cartridge (177,199) that holds a plurality of fragrances (201) (see paras. [0004]; [0052]; Fig. 22), wherein the cartridge (177,199) comprises a plurality of ventilation flow paths (189) that each hold a fragrance of the plurality of fragrances (201) (see para. [0053]; Fig. 23);
a sensor (223) configured to obtain sensing information (see para. [0057]; Fig. 27]);
an air-blowing flow path (191) configured to communicate with one of the plurality of ventilation flow paths (189) to blow air through the cartridge (177,199) (see para. [0053; Fig. 23); and
circuitry (227) configured to select one type of fragrance from the plurality of fragrances (201) in the cartridge (177,199) based on sensing information, wherein the selection comprises a switching operation (i.e., opening and/or closing) of a ventilation flow path (189) of the plurality of ventilation flow paths (189) that communicates with the air-blowing flow path (191) (see paras. [0007]; [0056]-[0057]; Fig. 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 11, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelsen as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Mitsuhayashi (JP 11278048A).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Kelsen discloses that the aroma generator further comprises an air blower configured to blow the air in the cartridge through the air-blowing flow path (see paras. [0055]; [0056]). The reference Kelsen, however, does not specifically disclose wherein the circuitry is further configured to change a blowing intensity of the air blower based on the sensing information.
The reference Mitsuhayashi discloses an aroma generator (2) mounted within a vehicle (see Machine Translation, para. [0014]; Fig. 1), the aroma generator (2) comprising: a plurality of cartridges (15) holding various types of fragrances (see paras. [0019]-[0020]); a sensing unit (7-9) for providing sensing information including physical condition of the driver and external environmental information such as the temperature, humidity, amount of solar radiation, odor component outside the vehicle (see paras. [0004]; [0016]; Fig. 1); and a control unit (20) that automatically selects a type of fragrance released from the plurality of cartridges based on the sensing information obtained by the sensing unit (see paras. [0020]-[0022]). The reference Mitsuhayashi further teaches an air blower (14) for moving fragrance components from the plurality of cartridges (15) towards a scented air outlet (13) (see para. [0012]). The reference Mitsuhayashi further teaches that the control unit (20) can be configured to control the blowing intensity of the air blower based on the sensing information (see paras. [0012]; [0022]).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Mitsuhayashi, to similarly have the circuitry of Kelsen configured to change a blowing intensity of the air blower based on the sensing information, because, as taught by the reference Mitsuhayashi, such a modification advantageously allows to automatically select and supply the fragrance optimal in composition and amount in accordance with the sensed information (see para. [0034]; [0035]).
Regarding claim 4, the references Kelsen and Mitsuhayashi disclose the aroma generator, wherein the aroma generator comprises a plurality of air blowers including the air blower (see Kelsen: paras. [0004]; para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, the references Kelsen and Mitsuhayashi disclose the aroma generator, wherein the circuitry is further configured to control at least one of a blowing timing or a blowing time from the air blower (see Kelsen; paras. [0007]; [0063]).
Regarding claim 11, the references Kelsen and Mitsuhayashi disclose the aroma generator, wherein the mobile object includes a vehicle (see Kelsen: para. [0005]; Mitsuhayashi: para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, the references Kelsen and Mitsuhayashi disclose that the sensing information can be on the basis of information obtained from the vehicle’s navigation system such as the speed of the vehicle, current road condition, type of road such as a mountain road, a city street, a suburb road, or an expressway (see Mitsuhayashi: paras. [0015]; [0039]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sensing information include one of a speed, an acceleration level, or an angle with ground of the vehicle as claimed by applicant, since the reference Mitsuhayashi teaches that the aroma generator can be operably linked to vehicle’s navigation system to generate fragrance based on the basis of information obtained from the vehicle’s navigation system.
Regarding claim 15, the references Kelsen and Mitsuhayashi disclose the aroma generator wherein the circuitry is further configured to: concurrently receive a plurality of pieces of the sensing information (see Mitsuhayashi: para. [0041]); prioritize at least one piece of the sensing information among the plurality of pieces of the sensing information; and select the one type of the fragrance from the plurality of fragrances in the cartridge based on the prioritized at least one piece of the sensing information (see Mitsuhayashi: para. [0042]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ur (US 2017/0098121).
Regarding claim 13, the Kelsen teaches that the aroma generator can be configured to fit into a very small foot print and utilized in conjunction with a mobile device that is carried by the user (see paras. [0004]; [0005]; [0061]). The reference Kelsen, however, does not specifically disclose wherein the aroma generator is attachable to one of clothing or a helmet. The reference Ur discloses an aroma generator (260; 400) which may be attached to a clothing or wearable item (see paras. [0053]), the aroma generator (260; 400) comprising: a cartridge holding unit comprising a plurality of cartridges (410, 420) holding various types of fragrances (see paras. [0009]; [0025]; [0061]-[0062]; Figs. 2-4); a sensing unit (220) that obtains sensing information from multiple external stimuli (see paras. [0041]); and a control unit (202) that automatically selects a type of fragrance released from the plurality of cartridges based on the sensing information obtained by the sensing unit (220) (see paras. [0046]; [0047]; [0053]; Figs. 2-4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kelsen and Ur, and configured the aroma generator of Kelsen to be attachable to a clothing or wearable item as taught by Ur, and claimed by applicant, since the reference the Kelsen teaches that the aroma generator can suitably be configured to fit into a very small foot print and utilized on a person themselves (paras. [0004]; [0005]; [0061]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,083,253. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,083,253 disclose the aroma generator recited in the instant claims 1-16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 15 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant, referring to Fig. 23 of the reference Kelsen, argues that the width passageways 189 of Kelsen (which have been equated to the plurality of ventilation flow paths of claims 1 and 16), extend across the manifold module 177 and are each coupled to a scented air inlet 181. Thus, Kelsen merely discloses that scented air may be supplied to the width passageways 189 via corresponding inlets. However, Kelsen, in its entirety does not describe that the width passageways 189 themselves hold a fragrance of the plurality of fragrances, and therefore, the reference Kelsen does not expressly or inherently describe the feature "the cartridge comprises a plurality of ventilation flow paths that each hold a fragrance of the plurality of fragrances," as recited in independent claims 1 and 16 (see Remarks pages 7-8).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. According to the teaching of the reference Kelsen (see paras. [0052]-[0053]; Figs. 22 and 23), each width passageway 189 is structurally configured to contain a scented air supplied to the width passageway 189 via a corresponding scented air inlet 181. Accordingly, the examiner maintains the position that reference Kelsen meets the claim feature “wherein the cartridge comprises a plurality of ventilation flow paths that each hold a fragrance of the plurality of fragrances” since the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “fragrance,” in view of the specification as filed, includes a scented air.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774