DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Hutchinson discloses nozzles configured to generate an atomized or semi-atomized fluid spray, and does not disclose nozzles configured to spray fluid in a continuous flow and change the continuous flow into droplets. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have readily recognized as obvious that a nozzle generating an atomized or semi-atomized fluid spray necessarily and inherently changes a continuous flow of sprayed liquid into droplets – a continuous flow of liquid passes through a nozzle and is changed to droplets, in particular atomized droplets, as the continuous flow of liquid is sprayed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 20190202126 by Hutchinson et al.
As to claim 1, Hutchinson discloses a cleaning apparatus comprising nozzles 25 to spray liquid in a continuous flow and change the flow into droplets (fig. 1, para. 67) and a pump 33 to supply the liquid to the nozzle wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to remove a support material from a 3D molded object in a cleaning target by causing the liquid to collide with the target in a droplet form (para. 40).
As to claim 2, Hutchinson discloses a spray pressure adjustment section configured to adjust a spray pressure of the liquid in accordance with a type of support material (para. 41).
As to claim 3, Hutchison discloses a memory section to store a correspondence relationship between the type of the support material and the spray pressure of the liquid (paras. 41, 78, 79).
As to claim 5, Hutchinson discloses a heater 96 to heat the liquid (fig. 1).
As to claim 6, Hutchinson discloses a temperature controller to control the heater in accordance with a type of the support material (para. 41).
As to claim 7, Hutchinson discloses a main body to which the nozzle 25 is connected and which includes a flow path through which the liquid flows (fig. 1).
As to claim 8, Hutchinson discloses a holder capable of holding an apparatus different from the nozzle for removing the support material (any of the structures within the cleaning apparatus, such as track 42, can hold an apparatus different from the nozzle, fig. 1).
As to claim 9, Hutchinson discloses a housing inside which the nozzle is used (fig. 1).
As to claim 10, Hutchinson discloses that the housing includes a reservoir 31 that accumulates the liquid that was sprayed from the nozzle (fig. 1).
As to claim 11, Hutchinson discloses a circulation mechanism (e.g. pipe 50) for spraying the liquid accumulated in the reservoir from the nozzle again (fig. 1).
As to claim 12, Hutchinson discloses that the housing includes a temperature adjustment section configured to adjust a temperature in the housing (para. 70).
As to claim 13, Hutchinson discloses a cleaning apparatus comprising nozzles 25 to spray liquid in a continuous flow and change the flow into droplets (fig. 1, para. 67) and a pump 33 to supply the liquid to the nozzle wherein the cleaning apparatus is configured to remove an adhering substance from a cleaning target by causing the liquid to collide with the target in a droplet form (para. 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 20190202126 by Hutchinson et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20220371060 by Brown.
As to claim 4, Hutchinson teaches that its nozzles may have different diameters to result in different fluid velocities (para. 47), that varying sizes of nozzles allows for variations in levels of agitation (para. 53), and that nozzle diameters may be selected to achieve different support material goals (para. 56), but does not teach that any particular nozzle is configured to change its diameter. However, it was recognized that cleaning nozzles may be configured such that their diameter may be changed so that a user may increase or decrease liquid ejection pressure from particular nozzles (see Brown, para. 19). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Hutchinson so that its nozzles are configured to change their respective diameters so that a user may provide individual adjustment as needed, as suggested by Brown, in order to allow for varying the sizes of the nozzles without changing the nozzles themselves and to allow for customization of liquid spray parameters to accomplish the purposes set forth by Hutchinson. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SPENCER E. BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711