DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, lines 1-2, the phrase “A non-transitory computer-readable
medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors” should be changed to -- A non-transitory computer-readable medium stores instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
MacKay et al (Pub. No.: US 2022/0007093).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, referring to Figures 12-15, 17 and 19, MacKay et al teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium stores instructions that, when executed by one or more processors causes the one or more processors to implement steps of:
subsequent to determining baseline noise impairment values for a plurality of segments in an end-to-end path for a photonic service, determining current noise impairment values for the plurality of segments, wherein the baseline noise impairment values and the current noise impairment values relate to Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR) margin for the photonic service (i.e., page 17, paragraph [0182]: “-- localization to visualize which sections or spans are large noise contributors, and this is accomplished by measuring the current SNR margin on each and comparing it to a planned SNR at the time the network was planned. This SNR margin and associated categorization are available when interrogating individual fiber spans or ROADM domains but also summarized networkwide on a dashboard to help the user proactively access trouble spots in the network ”); and
displaying a visualization of the end-to-end path for the photonic service, at a level of each segment of the plurality of segments, wherein the visualization includes a delta between the baseline noise impairment values and the current noise impairment values and associated impact on overall noise impairment values for the photonic service (i.e., page 17, paragraph [0183]: “provides a visualization of the absolute performance of spans and sections. This visualization could be used to prioritize routing, to determine network health, for example, the visualization, i.e., GUI, provides insight into which restoration paths may have issues due to degradation in SNR for the end-to-end path, and page 18, paragraph [0189]: the tile 310 also includes a visualization 312 of fiber span performance, which is bar graph displaying deltas from planned SNR (positive, nominal, or negative), and page 5, paragraph [0057]: the absolute incremental SNR/NSR numbers for given spans/sections can be used to qualify each other against the other spans/sections in the network which can used to prioritize repair and maintenance, and see Fig. 17, page 18, paragraph [0192]”).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, MacKay et al teaches further include receiving a selection of a segment in the visualization and displaying a health tile visualization illustrating one or more components in the segment (i.e., dashboard 300, Figs. 15, 17 and 19, page 17, paragraphs [0182]-[0183], and page 18, paragraphs [0189] and [0192]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, MacKay et al further teaches wherein the health tile visualization includes the one or more components, their noise impairment contribution, their location, and one or more tools for troubleshooting (i.e., dashboard 300, Figs. 15, 17 and 19, page 17, paragraphs [0182]-[0183], and page 18, paragraphs [0189] and [0192]).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, MacKay et al further teaches wherein the one or more components include any of a modem transmitter, a multiplexer, optical amplifiers, a demultiplexer, modem receiver, and fiber (i.e., Figs. 12 and 15).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, MacKay et al further teaches wherein the one or more components include fiber (i.e., fiber 120, Figs. 12, 14 and 15) and an associated loss measurement for each of the baseline noise values and the current noise values.
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 19, MacKay et al further teaches wherein the baseline noise impairment values are determined at a previous point in time from the current noise values where the photonic service was operating properly (i.e., dashboard 300, Figs. 15, 17 and 19, page 17, paragraphs [0182]-[0183], and page 18, paragraphs [0189] and [0192]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, MacKay et al further teaches wherein the baseline noise impairment values are determined based on a simulation or calculation (i.e., dashboard 300, Figs. 12, 14, 15, 17 and 19).
Regarding claims 8, 16 and 20, MacKay et al further teaches wherein the plurality of segments include a modem transmitter, a multiplexer, at least one Optical Multiplex Section, a demultiplexer, and a modem receiver (i.e., Figs. 12, 14 and 15).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
MacKay et al (Pub. No.: US 2023/0146640) discloses utilizing an incremental noise metric for rapid modeling of optical networks.
From the examiner should be directed to Hanh Phan whose telephone number is
(571)272-3035. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner's supervisor, Kenneth Vanderpuye, can be reached on (571)272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703)305-4700.
/HANH PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634