DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a cleaning member” in claims 2, “a rotation member” in claim 4, and “a blocking member” in claim 12.
Claims 3 and 5-14 also recite at least one of “the cleaning member”, “the rotation member”, and “the blocking member”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “cleaning member” in claim 2, “rotation member” in claim 4, and “blocking member” in claim 12 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The terms “cleaning member”, “rotation member” in claim 2, and “blocking member” appear in Applicant’s Specification. However, the description fails to clearly define structures/materials to perform the recited functions.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-15 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20100154241 A1 to Ahn et al. (Ahn).
In reference to independent claim 1, Ahn discloses:
A clothes dryer (10) comprising:
a drum (7);
an exhaust port (23) through which air in the drum is discharged to outside of the drum (see [0041]);
a first filter (45) that is rotatable (see [0063]) and is configured so that air discharged through the exhaust port passes through the first filter so as to be filtered by the first filter (see [0062]);
a second filter (46) disposed on one side of the first filter to remove lint in the air passed through the first filter (see Fig. 6); and
a motor (37-39) configured to transmit power to the first filter to rotate the first filter (see [0045]), wherein the first filter and the second filter are configured so that rotation of the first filter by the motor causes lint collected in the second filter to be removed from the second filter (see [0064]).
In reference to dependent claim 2, Ahn further discloses: a cleaning member (47) on the first filter and configured to remove the lint collected in the second filter while the first filter is rotated by the motor (see [0064]).
In reference to dependent claim 4, Ahn further discloses: a rotation member (43, 44) that is rotatable and is configured to be rotated by the motor so that rotation of the rotation member causes lint collected in the first filter to be removed from the first filter, wherein the motor is further configured to transmit power to at least one of the first filter to rotate the first filter and the rotation member to rotate the rotation member (see [0059]-[0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of KR 102536866 B1 to Jang.
In reference to dependent claim 5, Jang is silent regarding a clutch configured to transmit power from the motor to one of the first filter to rotate the first filter and the rotation member to rotate the rotation member.
Usage of a motor coupled to a clutch is well-known. This is evidenced by Jang. Jang teaches a similar laundry apparatus having a motor (91) and a clutch (99) for transmitting rotational power from the motor to a drum rotational shaft (95). Thus, a clutch is known to be used with a motor for coupling and uncoupling a motor from its driven load. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a clutch to the dryer of Jang in order to allow for better control of the motor speed and thus better control of the filters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799