DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
in figure 19, elements 2326 and 2330 appear to be switched as it is understood from all other instances in the specification before the description for figure 19 that springs 2326 apply an urging force on pressure receiving plates 2321 and springs 2330 apply an urging force on moveable valves.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in paragraph [0003], last sentence, “WO 05-075202” should be “WO 2005-075202”;
in paragraph [0045], third sentence, “(see FIG. 9)" may be “(see FIG. 7A)” as sealing material 110 is not in figure 9 but is in figure 7A;
in paragraph [0059], second sentence, “(see FIGS. 5A to 5C)” may be “(see FIG. 3A to 3B)” or “(see FIG. 4)” as electric wiring board 90 is not in figures 8A to 8C but is in figures 3A. 3B and 4;
in paragraph [0066], last sentence, “thickens” should be removed, and adding “the” before “thickening” and ”an” before “increase” may improve clarity similar to mentions of “the thickening” in various other areas in the specification; it may be rewritten as “Further, the thickening of the ink at the ejection port 13 and the pressure chamber 23 or an increase of the density of the color material can be prevented”; and
in paragraph [0075], end of the first sentence, “transfer this pressure” should be amended for grammatical reasons to “transfers its pressure” or “transfers pressure” as it may be better understood as the ink (that flows into the mechanism) transfers pressure.
Appropriate correction is required.
It is also suggested by the examiner to amend paragraph [0057], fifth sentence on figure 8C, to better clarify “FIG. 8C indicates a rear surface of the surface indicated in FIG. 8A”. The “rear surface of the surface” is not quite accurate compared to the first sentence of paragraph [0061] wherein figure 8C is better described as a “rear surface of the recording element substrate 10” and an “opposite surface of the surface where ejection ports 13 are formed”. An alternative sentence may be: “FIG. 8C indicates a surface opposite to the surface indicated in FIG. 8A.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of “liquid” throughout the claim, particularly as “liquid from the ejection port”, “liquid to the ejection port”, “liquid not ejected from the ejection port”, “liquid inside the supply path”, “liquid inside the collection path”, and “liquid in the ejection port” from the third to last line of the claim. For examination purposes, they may be interpreted all as the same liquid, however the claim should be amended to such that the first instance is “a liquid” and following instances are “the liquid” to ensure they are understood as the same liquid. It is also recommended by the examiner to add “a” before each instance of pressure in claim 1 for clarity of the different pressures for the liquid.
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 13-15 are rejected on the same grounds of claim 1. Claims 2 to 15 are rejected as being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "pressure of liquid" in the third and fifth lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 of which claim 5 depends on specifies a “pressure of liquid in the ejection port”, a “pressure of liquid inside the supply path”, and a “pressure of liquid inside the collection path”. The use of only “pressure of liquid” is not specific enough and therefore lacks antecedent basis. Additionally, the recitation of “a first pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts pressure of liquid to negative pressure and sends the liquid to the supply path” contradicts the recitation of claim 1 of which claim 5 is dependent on wherein “pressure of liquid inside the supply path to be positive pressure”. For examination purposes, claim 5 will be interpreted such that it recites, “wherein the pressure control unit is located above the ejection port, and includes a first pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts a pressure of the liquid to positive pressure and sends the liquid to the supply path, and a second pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts a pressure of the liquid to negative pressure and sends the liquid to the collection path”.
Claim 16 recites the limitations of “liquid” throughout the claim, particularly as “liquid from the ejection port”, “liquid to the ejection port”, “liquid not ejected from the ejection port”, “liquid inside the supply path”, “liquid inside the collection path”, and “liquid in the ejection port” from the third to last line of the claim. For examination purposes, they may be interpreted all as the same liquid, however the claim should be amended to such that the first instance is “a liquid” and following instances are “the liquid” to ensure they are understood as the same liquid. It is also recommended by the examiner to add “a” before each instance of pressure in claim 1 for clarity of the different pressures for the liquid.
Claims 17 to 19 are rejected on the same grounds of claim 16 and as being dependent on rejected claim 16.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "pressure of liquid" in the third and fifth lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 of which claim 19 depends on specifies a “pressure of liquid in the ejection port”, a “pressure of liquid inside the supply path”, and a “pressure of liquid inside the collection path”. The use of only “pressure of liquid” is not specific enough and therefore lacks antecedent basis. Additionally, the recitation of “a first pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts pressure of liquid to negative pressure and sends the liquid to the supply path” contradicts the recitation of claim 16 of which claim 19 is dependent on wherein “pressure of liquid inside the supply path to be positive pressure”. For examination purposes, claim 5 will be interpreted such that it recites, “wherein the pressure control unit is located above the ejection port, and includes a first pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts a pressure of the liquid to positive pressure and sends the liquid to the supply path, and a second pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts a pressure of the liquid to negative pressure and sends the liquid to the collection path”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-12, 14, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagai et al. (US 20170197426 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nagai.
Regarding claim 1, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head (liquid ejection head 3; at para. 0051]; Fig. 1) comprising:
a recording element substrate (print element board 10; at para. [0086]; Figs. 10A to 11) including an ejection port (ejection opening 13; at para. [0086]; Figs. 10B and 11),
an energy generation element which generates energy to eject liquid from the ejection port (print element 15 serving as an ejection energy generation element for ejecting the liquid; at para. [0086-0087]; Fig. 10B),
a supply path which supplies liquid to the ejection port (liquid supply path 18 communicates with ejection opening 13 through a supply opening 17a; at para. [0087]; Figs. 10B and 11), and
a collection path which collects liquid not ejected from the ejection port (liquid collection path 19 communicates with ejection opening 13 through a collection opening 17b; at para. [0087]; Figs. 10B and 11); and
a pressure control unit (negative pressure control unit 230; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1; includes two negative pressure adjustment mechanisms; at para. [0061]) controlling pressure of liquid inside the supply path to be positive pressure and pressure of liquid inside the collection path to be negative pressure so that pressure of liquid in the ejection port becomes negative pressure (“The negative pressure control mechanism H is connected to the common supply passage 211, the negative pressure control mechanism L is connected to the common collection passage 212”; at para. [0062]; Fig. 2; “the pressure of the outflow openings of the pressure adjustment mechanisms may be controlled so as to be positive pressure as long as the pressure of the ejection openings is maintained at negative pressure”; at para [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, wherein the pressure control unit is located above the ejection port (pressure control unit 230 is disposed higher than the print element board 10; Fig. 4B as annotated below), and includes
a first pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts pressure of liquid to positive pressure and send the liquid to the supply path (negative pressure control unit 230 has two pressure adjustment mechanisms; [at para. 0054]; “The negative pressure control mechanism H is connected to the common supply passage 211…”; at para. [0062]; Fig. 2; “the pressure of the outflow openings of the pressure adjustment mechanisms may be controlled so as to be positive pressure as long as the pressure of the ejection openings is maintained at negative pressure”; at para [0064]), and
a second pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts the pressure of liquid to negative pressure and sends the liquid to the collection path (negative pressure control unit 230 has two pressure adjustment mechanism; [at para. 0054]; “…the negative pressure control mechanism L is connected to the common collection passage 212”; at para. [0062]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head according to claim 5,
wherein the first pressure adjustment mechanism and the second pressure adjustment mechanism are disposed at shifted positions in a gravity direction (“The pressure control unit 230A has a configuration in which the orifice 2320 of one pressure adjustment mechanism L and the orifice 2330 of the other pressure adjustment mechanism H are disposed at different positions (heights) in the vertical direction”; at para. [0112]; Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 8, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head according to claim 5,
wherein the first pressure adjustment mechanism (pressure adjustment mechanism H; “Since the pressure adjustment mechanisms L and H are similar to each other except that one of the pressure adjustment mechanisms is provided at one side of the negative pressure control unit casing 231 and the other thereof is provided at the other side of the negative pressure control unit casing 231, one pressure adjustment mechanism L will be representatively described”; at para [0101]; Figs. 16 to 21) includes
a first orifice (orifice 2330; at para. [0112]),
a first pressure receiving plate (pressure receiving plate 2331; at para. [0124]) configured to be movable by a pressure difference between inside and outside the first pressure adjustment mechanism (ink flows in to the pressure control unit and applies pressure to the pressure receiving plate; at para. [0103]; there is an area, Sd, of a pressure receiving portion on the outside of the pressure receiving plate where it is attached to an outer film and wherein atmospheric pressure, P0, is applied; at para. [0102]; formula 1 description of [0101]-[0105]), and
a first movable valve (valve body 2335; at para. [0113]) configured to allow the first orifice to open or close linking with operation of the first pressure receiving plate (“The valve body 2325 and the pressure receiving plate 2321 are connected to each other by a shaft 2327 movably inserted into the orifice 2320. The shaft 2327 is fixed to the valve body 2325 and the pressure receiving plate 2321… and move along with the valve body 2325 and the pressure receiving plate 2321…Further, as illustrated in FIG. 14B, the valve body 2325 moves away from the partition wall portion 2320 a forming the orifice 2320 (leftward in FIG. 14A) so that a gap is formed between the partition wall portion 2320 a and the valve body 2325”; at para. [0103]; Figs. 14A and 14B), and
wherein the second pressure adjustment mechanism (pressure adjustment mechanism L; at para. [0101]) includes
a second orifice (orifice 2320; at para. [0103]),
a second pressure receiving plate (pressure receiving plate 2321; at para. [0103]) configured to be movable by a pressure difference between inside and outside the second pressure adjustment mechanism (ink flows in to the pressure control unit and applies pressure to the pressure receiving plate; at para. [0103]; there is an area, Sd, of a pressure receiving portion on the outside of the pressure receiving plate where it is attached to an outer film and wherein atmospheric pressure, P0, is applied; at para. [0102]; formula 1 description of [0101]-[0105]), and
a second movable valve (valve body 2325; at para. [0102]) configured to allow the second orifice to open or close linking with operation of the second pressure receiving plate (“The valve body 2325 and the pressure receiving plate 2321 are connected to each other by a shaft 2327 movably inserted into the orifice 2320. The shaft 2327 is fixed to the valve body 2325 and the pressure receiving plate 2321… and move along with the valve body 2325 and the pressure receiving plate 2321…Further, as illustrated in FIG. 14B, the valve body 2325 moves away from the partition wall portion 2320 a forming the orifice 2320 (leftward in FIG. 14A) so that a gap is formed between the partition wall portion 2320 a and the valve body 2325”; at para. [0103]; Figs. 14A and 14B).
Regarding claim 9, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head according to claim 8,
wherein the first movable valve is configured to be movable from a position to close the first orifice to a position to open the first orifice by being pressed by the first pressure receiving plate (all elements of pressure adjustment mechanism H function the same as those of pressure adjustment mechanism L; at para [0101]; Figs. 16 to 21; “The valve body 2325 and the pressure receiving plate 2321 are connected to each other by a shaft 2327 movably inserted into the orifice 2320”; at para. [0103]; “as illustrated in FIG. 14B, the valve body 2325 moves away from the partition wall portion 2320a forming the orifice 2320 (leftward in FIG. 14A) so that a gap is formed between the partition wall portion 2320 a and the valve body 2325”; at para. [0103]; Figs. 14A and 14B as annotated below),
wherein the first pressure adjustment mechanism includes a first urging member that urges the first pressure receiving plate in a direction away from the first movable valve (“The pressure adjustment mechanism L mainly includes a lid portion 2340… a spring 2326a which urges the lid portion 2340… The lid portion 2340 includes a flexible film 2322 … and a pressure receiving plate 2321… Further, the spring 2326a is interposed between the lid portion 2340 and the negative pressure control unit casing 231 and the lid portion 2340 is urged by the spring 2326 in a direction moving away from a main body, that is, a (outward) direction enlarging the pressure control chamber 2323”; at para. [0102]; Figs. 14A and 14B as annotated),
wherein the second movable valve is configured to be movable from a position to close the second orifice to a position to open the second orifice by being pressed by the second pressure receiving plate (valve body 2325 and pressure receiving plate 2321 are connected; at para. [0103]; valve body 2325 is closed in Fig. 14A and moves away from the orifice 2320 to open in Fig. 14B; at para. [0103]; Figs. 14A and 14B as annotated below),
wherein the second pressure adjustment mechanism includes a second urging member that urges the second pressure receiving plate in a direction away from the second movable valve (spring 2326a urges pressure receiving plate 2321 in a direction moving away from a main body and thereby away from valve body 2325; at para. [0102]; Figs. 14A and 14B as annotated), and
wherein an urging force of the first urging member is smaller than an urging force of the second urging member (“the spring constants are set so that an urging force applied to the valve body 2325 and generated by the springs 2326a and 2326b urging the valve bodies 2325 and 2335 is different from an urging force applied to the valve body 2335 and generated by the springs 2336a and 2336b”; at para. [0113]; with pressure adjustment mechanism H set to -100mmAq with a spring constant K1 and pressure adjustment mechanism L set to -200mmAq with a spring constant K2, subtracting formula 4 from formula 5 gets K2 - K1 = 100(S d −S v))/x, therefore K1 is less than K2; at para. [0114] to [0117]).
Regarding claim 10, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head according to claim 8,
wherein the first pressure adjustment mechanism includes a first urging member that urges the first movable valve in a direction to move the first movable valve from a position to open the first orifice to a position to close the first orifice (all elements of pressure adjustment mechanism H function the same as those of pressure adjustment mechanism L; at para [0101]; Figs. 16 to 21; “valve body 2325 is urged by a spring 2326 b provided between the spring seat 2325 a and the valve body 2325 in a direction in which an orifice 2320 is closed”; at para. [0103]; Figs. 14A and 14B),
wherein the second pressure adjustment mechanism includes a second urging member that urges the second movable valve in a direction to move the second movable valve from a position to open the second orifice to a position to close the second orifice “valve body 2325 is urged by a spring 2326 b provided between the spring seat 2325 a and the valve body 2325 in a direction in which an orifice 2320 is closed”; at para. [0103]; Figs. 14A and 14B), and
wherein an urging force of the first urging member is smaller than an urging force of the second urging member (“the spring constants are set so that an urging force applied to the valve body 2325 and generated by the springs 2326a and 2326b urging the valve bodies 2325 and 2335 is different from an urging force applied to the valve body 2335 and generated by the springs 2336a and 2336b”; at para. [0113]; with pressure adjustment mechanism H set to -100mmAq with a spring constant K1 and pressure adjustment mechanism L set to -200mmAq with a spring constant K2, subtracting formula 4 from formula 5 gets K2 - K1 = 100(S d −S v))/x, therefore K1 is less than K2; at para. [0114] to [0117]).
Regarding claim 11, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head according to claim 8,
wherein a pressure receiving area of the first pressure receiving plate is larger than a pressure receiving area of the second pressure receiving plate (“That is, when an area of the pressure receiving plate 2331 at the pressure adjustment mechanism H is set to be larger than an area of the pressure receiving plate 2333 at the pressure adjustment mechanism L, a difference in pressure can be generated between the pressure of the pressure control chamber 2323 at the pressure adjustment mechanism L and the pressure of the pressure control chamber 2333 at the pressure adjustment mechanism H”; at para. [0124]; Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 12, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head according to claim 8,
wherein an area of a pressure receiving portion in which the first movable valve receives pressure from the first orifice side is different from an area of a pressure receiving portion in which the second movable valve receives pressure from the second orifice side (“The sixth example has a configuration in which the pressure receiving areas of the valve bodies 2325 and 2335 of the pressure adjustment mechanisms L and H are set to be different from each other”; at para. [0125]; Figs. 21A and 21B).
Regarding claim 14, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, wherein viscosity of liquid of which pressure is controlled by the pressure control unit is at least 3 [cp] (“In the passage configuration illustrated in FIGS. 23A to 23C… ink having a viscosity of 8 cp flows at a flow rate of 50ml/min”; at para. [0134]; Fig. 23A is a schematic diagram of the seventh example of a pressure control unit, Fig. 22A, and Fig. 23B a schematic diagram of the eighth example of a pressure control unit, Fig. 22B; at para. [0036] to [0039] and [0130]).
Regarding claim 16, Nagai discloses a recording device (“inkjet printing apparatus (hereinafter, also referred to as a printing apparatus) 1000”; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1) comprising:
a liquid ejection head (liquid ejection head 3; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1) equipped with
a recording element substrate (print element board 10; at para. [0086]; Figs. 10A to 11) including an ejection port (ejection opening 13; at para. [0086]; Figs. 10B and 11),
an energy generation element which generates energy to eject liquid from the ejection port (print element 15 serving as an ejection energy generation element for ejecting the liquid; at para. [0086]; Fig. 10B),
a supply path which supplies liquid to the ejection port (liquid supply path 18 communicates with ejection opening 13 through a supply opening 17a; at para. [0087]; Figs. 10B and 11), and
a collection path which collects liquid not ejected from the ejection port (liquid collection path 19 communicates with ejection opening 13 through a collection opening 17b; at para. [0087]; Figs. 10B and 11); and
a pressure control unit (negative pressure control unit 230; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1; includes two negative pressure adjustment mechanisms; at para. [0061]) controlling pressure of liquid inside the supply path to be positive pressure and pressure of liquid inside the collection path to be negative pressure so that pressure of liquid in the ejection port becomes negative pressure (“The negative pressure control mechanism H is connected to the common supply passage 211, the negative pressure control mechanism L is connected to the common collection passage 212”; at para. [0062]; Fig. 2; “the pressure of the outflow openings of the pressure adjustment mechanisms may be controlled so as to be positive pressure as long as the pressure of the ejection openings is maintained at negative pressure”; at para [0064]).
Regarding claim 19, Nagai discloses a recording device according to claim 16, wherein the pressure control unit is located above the ejection port (pressure control unit 230 is disposed higher than the print element board 10; Fig. 4B as annotated below), and includes
a first pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts pressure of liquid to positive pressure and send the liquid to the supply path (negative pressure control unit 230 has two pressure adjustment mechanisms; [at para. 0054]; “The negative pressure control mechanism H is connected to the common supply passage 211…”; at para. [0062]; Fig. 2; “the pressure of the outflow openings of the pressure adjustment mechanisms may be controlled so as to be positive pressure as long as the pressure of the ejection openings is maintained at negative pressure”; at para [0064]), and
a second pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts the pressure of liquid to negative pressure and sends the liquid to the collection path (negative pressure control unit 230 has two pressure adjustment mechanism; [at para. 0054]; “…the negative pressure control mechanism L is connected to the common collection passage 212”; at para. [0062]; Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 20220184968 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nakagawa.
Regarding claim 2, Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, however Nagai does not teach the pressure control unit controlling respective pressure so that a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path becomes at least 2000 [Pa]. Nagai teaches the pressure difference from pressure control values set for the pressure adjustment mechanisms of the pressure control unit as ranging from 60.56 to 139.44 mmAq (approximately 590 to 1370 Pa) (at para. [0141] to [0143]; Figs. 26A to 26C).
Nakagawa teaches a liquid ejection head (liquid discharge head 3; [at para. 0051]; Fig. 2) with a pressure control unit wherein the pressure control unit controls respective pressure to create a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path (negative pressure control unit 230 has two pressure adjustment mechanism; “The reason is that the pressure adjustment mechanism H is connected to the common supply channel 211, and the pressure adjustment mechanism L to the common recovery channel 212, so a pressure difference is generated between the two common channels”; [at para. 0054]; Fig. 2). Further, Nakagawa teaches the pressure difference between the supply path and collection path as 30 to 1400 mmAq (approximately 290 to 13700 Pa). Accordingly, Nakagawa teaches the pressure control unit controlling respective pressure so that a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path becomes at least 2000 [Pa].
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” The claimed pressure difference of at least 2000 Pa encompasses the pressure difference range of 30 to 1400 mmAq taught by Nakagawa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure control unit as taught by Nagai to control the pressure difference between the liquid in the supply path and the liquid in the collection path to be at least 2000 Pa, or more specifically up to 1400 mmAq as taught by Nakagawa. This would have been done in order to generate flow from the liquid supply path over the recording element and to the liquid collection path as taught by Nakagawa (at para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 4, Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, however Nagai does not teach the pressure control unit controlling the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path so that the negative pressure of liquid in the ejection port becomes at least -5000 [Pa].
Nakagawa teaches a liquid ejection head (liquid discharge head 3; [at para. 0051]; Fig. 2) with a pressure control unit wherein the pressure control unit controls the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path so that the pressure of liquid at the ejection port is at least -700 mmAq (approximately -6860 Pa) (“setting the pressure Pin of the liquid supply channel 18 and the pressure Pout of the liquid recovery channel 19 such that Pnoz is maintained at −700 mmAq or more can suppress collapse of the meniscus interface”; at para. [0128])
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” The claimed pressure at the ejection port of at least -5000 Pa overlaps with the pressure at the ejection port of at least -700 mmAq taught by Nakagawa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pressure control unit control the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path to be within a range of -700 mmAq or less as taught by Nakagawa in order to suppress collapse of the meniscus interface (at para. [0128]). This would have been done for the purpose of suppressing collapse of the meniscus interface at the discharge orifice as taught by Nakagawa (at para. 0128]).
Regarding claim 17, Nagai teaches a recording device according to claim 16, however Nagai does not teach the pressure control unit controlling respective pressure so that a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path becomes at least 2000 [Pa]. Nagai teaches the pressure difference from pressure control values set for the pressure adjustment mechanisms of the pressure control unit as ranging from 60.56 to 139.44 mmAq (approximately 590 to 1370 Pa) (at para. [0141] to [0143]; Figs. 26A to 26C).
Nakagawa teaches a pressure control unit for a liquid ejection head (liquid discharge head 3; [at para. 0051]; Fig. 2) wherein the pressure control unit controls respective pressure to create a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path (negative pressure control unit 230 has two pressure adjustment mechanism; “The reason is that the pressure adjustment mechanism H is connected to the common supply channel 211, and the pressure adjustment mechanism L to the common recovery channel 212, so a pressure difference is generated between the two common channels”; [at para. 0054]; Fig. 2). Further, Nakagawa teaches the pressure difference between the supply path and collection path as 30 to 1400 mmAq (approximately 290 to 13700 Pa). That is, Nakagawa discloses wherein the pressure control unit controls respective pressure so that a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path becomes at least 2000 [Pa].
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” The claimed pressure difference of at least 2000 Pa overlaps with the pressure difference range of 30 to 1400 mmAq taught by Nakagawa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure control unit as taught by Nagai to control the pressure difference between the liquid in the supply path and the liquid in the collection path to be at least 2000 Pa, or more specifically up to 1400 mmAq as taught by Nakagawa. This would have been done in order to generate flow from the liquid supply path over the recording element and to the liquid collection path as taught by Nakagawa (at para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 18, Nagai teaches a recording device according to claim 16, however Nagai does not teach the pressure control unit controlling the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path so that the negative pressure of liquid in the ejection port becomes at least -5000 [Pa].
Nakagawa teaches a liquid ejection head (liquid discharge head 3; [at para. 0051]; Fig. 2) with a pressure control unit wherein the pressure control unit controls the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path so that the pressure of liquid at the ejection port is at least -700 mmAq (approximately -6860 Pa) (“setting the pressure Pin of the liquid supply channel 18 and the pressure Pout of the liquid recovery channel 19 such that Pnoz is maintained at −700 mmAq or more can suppress collapse of the meniscus interface”; at para. [0128])
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” The claimed pressure at the ejection port of at least -5000 Pa overlaps with the pressure at the ejection port of at least -700 mmAq taught by Nakagawa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pressure control unit control the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path to be within a range of -700 mmAq or less as taught by Nakagawa in order to suppress collapse of the meniscus interface (at para. [0128]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai as modified by Nakagawa as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Nitta et al. (US 20080158307 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nitta.
Regarding claim 3, Nagai as modified by Nakagawa teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 2, however Nagai as modified by Nakagawa does not explicitly teach wherein channel resistance values of the supply path and the collection path are not more than 100 [Pa *min/ml/cP]. Nagai does teach passage resistance as expressed by a formula and a resistance coefficient for a filter (at para. [0134] to [0137]), but not the passage resistance for supply and collection channels.
Nitta teaches a method to control pressure near the nozzle (17) of an ink jet head to be between 0 and -3 kPa (at para. [0056]). An ink is used in ink jet heads (11 to 16) with a specific gravity of 0.85 and viscosity of 10 mPas (10 cP) with a flow rate of 10 mL/min for ejection from nozzles (at para. [0074]). The channel resistance between the upstream ports (11a to 16a) and the downstream ports (11b to 16b) of the heads is 3.85×109 Pa·s/m3 (at para. [0075]; Figs. 1-7). The channel resistance values for the upstream conduits (fifth conduits 45) of the heads ranges from 5.03×108 to 1.89×109 Pa·s/m3 (at para. [0076]; Figs. 1-7). The channel resistance values for the downstream conduits (sixth conduits 46) of the heads ranges from 5.33×108 to 1.89×109 Pa·s/m3 (at para. [0076]; Figs. 1-7). Taking into account the viscosity of the ink and a change in units (R[Pa*s/m3]/viscosity[cp] = R[Pa*s/m3/cp]; 1 Pa*s/m3/cP = 6x10-7 Pa*min/mL/cP), the channel resistance values become 6.42 Pa*min/ml/cP for the ports, 0.84 to 3.15 Pa*min/ml/cP for the upstream conduits, and 0.89 to 3.15 Pa*min/ml/cP for the downstream conduits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supply path and collection path as taught by Nagai to have channel resistance values around 6.42 Pa*min/ml/cP or less as taught by Nitta. Specifically, controlling the upstream channel resistance or ratio between the upstream and downstream channel resistances would allow control in pressure at the orifice plate and/or near the nozzle as taught by Nitta (at para. [0094] and [0127]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Nitta.
Regarding claim 6, Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 5, wherein the first pressure adjustment mechanism (pressure adjustment mechanism H; “Since the pressure adjustment mechanisms L and H are similar to each other except that one of the pressure adjustment mechanisms is provided at one side of the negative pressure control unit casing 231 and the other thereof is provided at the other side of the negative pressure control unit casing 231, one pressure adjustment mechanism L will be representatively described”; at para [0101]; Figs. 16 to 21) includes
an orifice (orifice 2330; at para. [0112]) and a movable valve (valve body 2335; at para. [0113]) configured to allow the orifice to open or close (“The valve body 2325 is provided at the upstream side of the orifice 2320. In a state where the valve body 2325 contacts a partition wall portion 2320 a (the valve body 2325 is closed) as illustrated in FIG. 14A… Further, as illustrated in FIG. 14B, the valve body 2325 moves away from the partition wall portion 2320 a forming the orifice 2320 (leftward in FIG. 14A) so that a gap is formed between the partition wall portion 2320 a and the valve body 2325”; at para. [0103]; Figs. 14A and 14B).
However, Nagai does not teach a height difference between a center of the orifice and a surface on which the ejection port is formed is at least 30 [mm]. Nagai does teach the use of height with respect to the orifice to generate a water head pressure to create an accurate pressure difference (“Reference Numeral 235 of FIG. 16 indicates a difference in height (a water head difference) between the orifice 2320 and the orifice 2330 in the vertical direction. Accordingly, the water head difference for the ejection opening when the printing head is driven can be set to be different in the orifice 2320 and the orifice 2330 and thus an accurate differential pressure can be generated in the liquids respectively flowing out of the pressure adjustment mechanisms L and H by a water head difference 235”; at para. [0112]; Fig. 16).
Nitta teaches a method to control pressure near the nozzle (17) of an ink jet head to be between 0 and -3 kPa (at para. [0056]). A pressure difference at the orifice plates is able to be obtained by changing the heights of the liquid surface of an upstream side tank to 12 mm above the orifice plate and the liquid surface of a downstream side tank to 120 mm below the orifice plate (“The liquid surface of the upstream side tank 25 is located higher than the surface of the orifice plates 18 of the ink jet heads 11 to 16 by 12 mm. A head pressure obtained by locating the liquid surface higher is 100 Pa. The liquid surface of the downstream side tank 30 is located lower than the orifice surfaces of the ink jet heads by 120 mm. A head pressure obtained by locating the liquid surface lower is 1 kPa”; at para [0079]; Fig. 1; Pn=ρgh; at para. [0123]). Therefore, Nitta teaches the use of a height difference range of 12 mm to 120 mm to generate a pressure difference at the orifice plate wherein the head pressure ranges from 100 Pa to 1 kPa.
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” The claimed height of at least 30 mm between the first pressure adjustment mechanism orifice and ejection port surface overlaps with the controlled height range of 12 to 120 mm between a liquid surface and the nozzle orifice plate as taught by Nitta.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the height difference between the center of an orifice of the first pressure adjustment mechanism that sends liquid to the supply path and the surface with the ejection port as taught by Nagai to create a positive head pressure difference between the supply side and the orifice plate as taught by Nitta. This would be done specifically on the upstream or supply side in order to control the pressure near the nozzle and degree of swell of the meniscus as taught by Nitta (at para. [0091]).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai as applied to above, and further in view of Garzon et al. (US 20180371280 A1), hereinafter referred to as Garzon.
Regarding claim 13, Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, however Nagai does not explicitly teach wherein liquid of which pressure is controlled by the pressure control unit contains titanium oxide or hollow particles.
Garzon teaches an inkjet printing composition including a pigment, wherein the pigment used is titanium oxide (“In some embodiments, the formulation comprises a pigment”; at para. [0113]; “In exemplary embodiments, the white pigment is or comprises a titanium oxide”; at para. [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid used by Nagai to further include titanium oxide in order to produce a cured print with a white-to-light yellow color as taught by Garzon (at para. [0127]).
Regarding claim 15, Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, however Nagai does not explicitly teach wherein a moisture ratio of liquid of which pressure is controlled by the pressure control unit is at least 50%.
Garzon teaches an inkjet printing composition comprising 50% to 90% water, by total weight (at para. [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid used by Nagai to further include between 50 and 90% water for the purpose of using water as a dispersant as taught by Garzon (at para. [0060] and [0161]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wouters et al. (US 20090040249 A1) creates a pressure difference (ΔP) between an ink supply subtank (20) to and drain subtank (30) using a replenish valve (24) and drain valve (34) in order to control the pressure at a printhead (10). The pressures, for example, may be chosen to be +400mbar for the ink supply pressure and -300mbar for the ink drain pressure (at para. [0057]). The pressures may be set to -30mbar and -33mbar for the supply and drain subtanks in order to create a pressure at the nozzles of -1.5mbar at a flow rate greater than or equal to 300 ml/h (at para. [0039]).
02 March 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853