DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims, Specification, and Drawings have overcome each objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on March 10, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in the section starting with “a pressure control unit…”, each instance of “liquid” should be preceded by “the” such as done in claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, in the last line, “liquid in the ejection port” should be preceded by “the” such as done in claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
The applicant argues that Nagai (1) does not describe making the pressure inside the liquid supply path itself as positive, and (2) would prefer, based on the positioning of the pressure adjustment mechanism in Fig. 4B, the outlet pressures as negative.
Regarding the first point, the examiner understands Nagai as disclosing the pressure of the liquid in the supply path as positive because the negative pressure control mechanism H is connected to the common supply passage 211 and therefore would make the outlet/outflow pressure of the negative pressure control mechanism H the same as the pressure of the common supply passage 211 (at para. [0062]; Fig. 2). Because the outflow pressure may be controlled to be positive, it is understood by the examiner that the pressure in the common supply passage 211, and connected upstream supply paths, may be controlled to be positive.
Regarding the second point, in response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., positioning of the pressure adjustment mechanism with respect to the ejection ports, in claims 5 and 19) are not recited in the rejected claims 1 and 16. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further dependent claims are not required for interpretation and rejection for the independent claims.
While the disclosure may note for the supply path a negative pressure as preferable, the possibility of a positive pressure is still disclosed.
Therefore, rejections of independent claims 1 and 16 will not be withdrawn. Additional rejections of claims 1 and 16 will be made in view of Yoneta (US 20210229455 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagai et al. (US 20170197426 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nagai.
Regarding claim 1, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head (liquid ejection head 3; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1) comprising:
a recording element substrate (print element board 10; at para. [0086]; Figs. 10A to 11) including an ejection port (ejection opening 13; at para. [0086]; Figs. 10B and 11),
an energy generation element which generates energy to eject a liquid from the ejection port (print element 15 serving as an ejection energy generation element for ejecting the liquid; at para. [0086-0087]; Fig. 10B),
a supply path which supplies the liquid to the ejection port (liquid supply path 18 communicates with ejection opening 13 through a supply opening 17a; at para. [0087]; Figs. 10B and 11), and
a collection path which collects the liquid not ejected from the ejection port (liquid collection path 19 communicates with ejection opening 13 through a collection opening 17b; at para. [0087]; Figs. 10B and 11); and
a pressure control unit (negative pressure control unit 230; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1; includes two negative pressure adjustment mechanisms; at para. [0061]) controlling a pressure of the liquid inside the supply path provided in the recording element substrate to be positive pressure and a pressure of the liquid inside the collection path provided in the recording element substrate to be negative pressure so that a pressure of the liquid in the ejection port becomes negative pressure (“The negative pressure control mechanism H is connected to the common supply passage 211, the negative pressure control mechanism L is connected to the common collection passage 212”; at para. [0062]; Fig. 2; “the pressure of the outflow openings of the pressure adjustment mechanisms may be controlled so as to be positive pressure as long as the pressure of the ejection openings is maintained at negative pressure”; at para [0064]; it is understood that liquid supply path 18 and liquid collection path 19 are connected to common supply passage 211 and common collection passage 212 respectively and therefore may have the final controlled pressure; Fig. 8, 11).
Regarding claim 14, Nagai discloses a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, wherein viscosity of the liquid of which pressure is controlled by the pressure control unit is at least 3 [cp] (“In the passage configuration illustrated in FIGS. 23A to 23C… ink having a viscosity of 8 cp flows at a flow rate of 50ml/min”; at para. [0134]; Fig. 23A is a schematic diagram of the seventh example of a pressure control unit, Fig. 22A, and Fig. 23B a schematic diagram of the eighth example of a pressure control unit, Fig. 22B; at para. [0036] to [0039] and [0130]).
Regarding claim 16, Nagai discloses a recording device (“inkjet printing apparatus (hereinafter, also referred to as a printing apparatus) 1000”; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1) comprising:
a liquid ejection head (liquid ejection head 3; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1) equipped with
a recording element substrate (print element board 10; at para. [0086]; Figs. 10A to 11) including an ejection port (ejection opening 13; at para. [0086]; Figs. 10B and 11),
an energy generation element which generates energy to eject a liquid from the ejection port (print element 15 serving as an ejection energy generation element for ejecting the liquid; at para. [0086]; Fig. 10B),
a supply path which supplies the liquid to the ejection port (liquid supply path 18 communicates with ejection opening 13 through a supply opening 17a; at para. [0087]; Figs. 10B and 11), and
a collection path which collects the liquid not ejected from the ejection port (liquid collection path 19 communicates with ejection opening 13 through a collection opening 17b; at para. [0087]; Figs. 10B and 11); and
a pressure control unit (negative pressure control unit 230; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1; includes two negative pressure adjustment mechanisms; at para. [0061]) controlling a pressure of the liquid inside the supply path to be positive pressure and a pressure of the liquid inside the collection path to be negative pressure so that a pressure of the liquid in the ejection port becomes negative pressure (“The negative pressure control mechanism H is connected to the common supply passage 211, the negative pressure control mechanism L is connected to the common collection passage 212”; at para. [0062]; Fig. 2; “the pressure of the outflow openings of the pressure adjustment mechanisms may be controlled so as to be positive pressure as long as the pressure of the ejection openings is maintained at negative pressure”; at para [0064]; it is understood that liquid supply path 18 and liquid collection path 19 are connected to common supply passage 211 and common collection passage 212 respectively and therefore may have the final controlled pressure; Fig. 8, 11).
Claims 1 and 16 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoneta (US 20210229455 A1).
Further regarding claim 1, Yoneta discloses a liquid ejection head (head module 100; at para. [0040]; Fig. 1, 2, 12, 13) comprising:
a recording element substrate (submodule 101 with heads 1a-1d; at para. [0041]; Fig. 1, 2, 6A, 6B, 14) including an ejection port (nozzles 11 of nozzle plate 10; at para. [0115]; Figs. 14),
an energy generation element which generates energy to eject a liquid from the ejection port (actuator substrate 2; at para. [0069]; Fig. 6A, 6B; at para. [0158]),
a supply path which supplies the liquid to the ejection port (individual-supply channels 143; at para. [0043]; Fig. 1; supply port 81 and supply channel 58; at para. [0069]; Fig. 6A), and
a collection path which collects the liquid not ejected from the ejection port (individual-collection channels 143; at para. [0046]; Fig. 1; collection port 82 and collection channel 59; at para. [0069]; Fig. 6B); and
a pressure control unit (liquid circulation device 600; Fig. 1, 2, 12, 13, 24)controlling a pressure of the liquid inside the supply path provided in the recording element substrate to be positive pressure and a pressure of the liquid inside the collection path provided in the recording element substrate to be negative pressure so that a pressure of the liquid in the ejection port becomes negative pressure (positive pressure on supply side and negative pressure on collection side; at para. [0150]; menisci of nozzle 11 kept at negative pressure; at para. [0151]; Fig. 24).
Further regarding claim 16, Yoneta discloses a recording device (“inkjet printing apparatus (hereinafter, also referred to as a printing apparatus) 1000”; at para. [0051]; Fig. 1) comprising:
a liquid ejection head (head module 100; at para. [0040]; Fig. 1, 2, 12, 13) equipped with
a recording element substrate (submodule 101 with heads 1a-1d; at para. [0041]; Fig. 1, 2, 6A, 6B, 14) including an ejection port (nozzles 11 of nozzle plate 10; at para. [0115]; Figs. 14),
an energy generation element which generates energy to eject a liquid from the ejection port (actuator substrate 2; at para. [0069]; Fig. 6A, 6B; at para. [0158]),
a supply path which supplies the liquid to the ejection port (individual-supply channels 143; at para. [0043]; Fig. 1; supply port 81 and supply channel 58; at para. [0069]; Fig. 6A), and
a collection path which collects the liquid not ejected from the ejection port (individual-collection channels 143; at para. [0046]; Fig. 1; collection port 82 and collection channel 59; at para. [0069]; Fig. 6B); and
a pressure control unit (liquid circulation device 600; Fig. 1, 2, 12, 13, 24)controlling a pressure of the liquid inside the supply path provided in the recording element substrate to be positive pressure and a pressure of the liquid inside the collection path provided in the recording element substrate to be negative pressure so that a pressure of the liquid in the ejection port becomes negative pressure (positive pressure on supply side and negative pressure on collection side; at para. [0150]; menisci of nozzle 11 kept at negative pressure; at para. [0151]; Fig. 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 20220184968 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nakagawa.
Regarding claim 2, Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, however Nagai does not teach the pressure control unit controlling the respective pressures so that a difference between the pressure of the liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of the liquid inside the collection path becomes at least 2000 [Pa]. Nagai teaches the pressure difference from pressure control values set for the pressure adjustment mechanisms of the pressure control unit as ranging from 60.56 to 139.44 mmAq (approximately 590 to 1370 Pa) (at para. [0141] to [0143]; Figs. 26A to 26C).
Nakagawa teaches a liquid ejection head (liquid discharge head 3; [at para. 0051]; Fig. 2) with a pressure control unit wherein the pressure control unit controls respective pressure to create a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path (negative pressure control unit 230 has two pressure adjustment mechanism; “The reason is that the pressure adjustment mechanism H is connected to the common supply channel 211, and the pressure adjustment mechanism L to the common recovery channel 212, so a pressure difference is generated between the two common channels”; [at para. 0054]; Fig. 2). Further, Nakagawa teaches the pressure difference between the supply path and collection path as 30 to 1400 mmAq (approximately 290 to 13700 Pa). Accordingly, Nakagawa teaches the pressure control unit controlling respective pressure so that a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path becomes at least 2000 [Pa].
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” The claimed pressure difference of at least 2000 Pa encompasses the pressure difference range of 30 to 1400 mmAq taught by Nakagawa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure control unit as taught by Nagai to control the pressure difference between the liquid in the supply path and the liquid in the collection path to be at least 2000 Pa, or more specifically up to 1400 mmAq as taught by Nakagawa. This would have been done in order to generate flow from the liquid supply path over the recording element and to the liquid collection path as taught by Nakagawa (at para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 4, Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, however Nagai does not teach the pressure control unit controlling the pressure of the liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of the liquid inside the collection path so that the negative pressure of the liquid in the ejection port becomes at least -5000 [Pa].
Nakagawa teaches a liquid ejection head (liquid discharge head 3; [at para. 0051]; Fig. 2) with a pressure control unit wherein the pressure control unit controls the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path so that the pressure of liquid at the ejection port is at least -700 mmAq (approximately -6860 Pa) (“setting the pressure Pin of the liquid supply channel 18 and the pressure Pout of the liquid recovery channel 19 such that Pnoz is maintained at −700 mmAq or more can suppress collapse of the meniscus interface”; at para. [0128])
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” The claimed pressure at the ejection port of at least -5000 Pa overlaps with the pressure at the ejection port of at least -700 mmAq taught by Nakagawa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pressure control unit control the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path to be within a range of -700 mmAq or less as taught by Nakagawa in order to suppress collapse of the meniscus interface (at para. [0128]). This would have been done for the purpose of suppressing collapse of the meniscus interface at the discharge orifice as taught by Nakagawa (at para. 0128]).
Regarding claim 17, Nagai teaches a recording device according to claim 16, however Nagai does not teach the pressure control unit controlling the respective pressures so that a difference between the pressure of the liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of the liquid inside the collection path becomes at least 2000 [Pa]. Nagai teaches the pressure difference from pressure control values set for the pressure adjustment mechanisms of the pressure control unit as ranging from 60.56 to 139.44 mmAq (approximately 590 to 1370 Pa) (at para. [0141] to [0143]; Figs. 26A to 26C).
Nakagawa teaches a pressure control unit for a liquid ejection head (liquid discharge head 3; [at para. 0051]; Fig. 2) wherein the pressure control unit controls respective pressure to create a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path (negative pressure control unit 230 has two pressure adjustment mechanism; “The reason is that the pressure adjustment mechanism H is connected to the common supply channel 211, and the pressure adjustment mechanism L to the common recovery channel 212, so a pressure difference is generated between the two common channels”; [at para. 0054]; Fig. 2). Further, Nakagawa teaches the pressure difference between the supply path and collection path as 30 to 1400 mmAq (approximately 290 to 13700 Pa). That is, Nakagawa discloses wherein the pressure control unit controls respective pressure so that a difference between the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path becomes at least 2000 [Pa].
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” The claimed pressure difference of at least 2000 Pa overlaps with the pressure difference range of 30 to 1400 mmAq taught by Nakagawa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure control unit as taught by Nagai to control the pressure difference between the liquid in the supply path and the liquid in the collection path to be at least 2000 Pa, or more specifically up to 1400 mmAq as taught by Nakagawa. This would have been done in order to generate flow from the liquid supply path over the recording element and to the liquid collection path as taught by Nakagawa (at para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 18, Nagai teaches a recording device according to claim 16, however Nagai does not teach the pressure control unit controlling the pressure of the liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of the liquid inside the collection path so that the negative pressure of the liquid in the ejection port becomes at least -5000 [Pa].
Nakagawa teaches a liquid ejection head (liquid discharge head 3; [at para. 0051]; Fig. 2) with a pressure control unit wherein the pressure control unit controls the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path so that the pressure of liquid at the ejection port is at least -700 mmAq (approximately -6860 Pa) (“setting the pressure Pin of the liquid supply channel 18 and the pressure Pout of the liquid recovery channel 19 such that Pnoz is maintained at −700 mmAq or more can suppress collapse of the meniscus interface”; at para. [0128])
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” The claimed pressure at the ejection port of at least -5000 Pa overlaps with the pressure at the ejection port of at least -700 mmAq taught by Nakagawa.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pressure control unit control the pressure of liquid inside the supply path and the pressure of liquid inside the collection path to be within a range of -700 mmAq or less as taught by Nakagawa in order to suppress collapse of the meniscus interface (at para. [0128]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai as modified by Nakagawa as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Nitta et al. (US 20080158307 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nitta.
Regarding claim 3, Nagai as modified by Nakagawa teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 2, however Nagai as modified by Nakagawa does not explicitly teach wherein channel resistance values of the supply path and the collection path are not more than 100 [Pa *min/ml/cP]. Nagai does teach passage resistance as expressed by a formula and a resistance coefficient for a filter (at para. [0134] to [0137]), but not the passage resistance for supply and collection channels.
Nitta teaches a method to control pressure near the nozzle (17) of an ink jet head to be between 0 and -3 kPa (at para. [0056]). An ink is used in ink jet heads (11 to 16) with a specific gravity of 0.85 and viscosity of 10 mPas (10 cP) with a flow rate of 10 mL/min for ejection from nozzles (at para. [0074]). The channel resistance between the upstream ports (11a to 16a) and the downstream ports (11b to 16b) of the heads is 3.85×109 Pa·s/m3 (at para. [0075]; Figs. 1-7). The channel resistance values for the upstream conduits (fifth conduits 45) of the heads ranges from 5.03×108 to 1.89×109 Pa·s/m3 (at para. [0076]; Figs. 1-7). The channel resistance values for the downstream conduits (sixth conduits 46) of the heads ranges from 5.33×108 to 1.89×109 Pa·s/m3 (at para. [0076]; Figs. 1-7). Taking into account the viscosity of the ink and a change in units (R[Pa*s/m3]/viscosity[cp] = R[Pa*s/m3/cp]; 1 Pa*s/m3/cP = 6x10-7 Pa*min/mL/cP), the channel resistance values become 6.42 Pa*min/ml/cP for the ports, 0.84 to 3.15 Pa*min/ml/cP for the upstream conduits, and 0.89 to 3.15 Pa*min/ml/cP for the downstream conduits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supply path and collection path as taught by Nagai to have channel resistance values around 6.42 Pa*min/ml/cP or less as taught by Nitta. Specifically, controlling the upstream channel resistance or ratio between the upstream and downstream channel resistances would allow control in pressure at the orifice plate and/or near the nozzle as taught by Nitta (at para. [0094] and [0127]).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garzon et al. (US 20180371280 A1), hereinafter referred to as Garzon.
Regarding claim 13, Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, however Nagai does not explicitly teach wherein liquid of which pressure is controlled by the pressure control unit contains titanium oxide or hollow particles.
Garzon teaches an inkjet printing composition including a pigment, wherein the pigment used is titanium oxide (“In some embodiments, the formulation comprises a pigment”; at para. [0113]; “In exemplary embodiments, the white pigment is or comprises a titanium oxide”; at para. [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid used by Nagai to further include titanium oxide in order to produce a cured print with a white-to-light yellow color as taught by Garzon (at para. [0127]).
Regarding claim 15, Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, however Nagai does not explicitly teach wherein a moisture ratio of liquid of which pressure is controlled by the pressure control unit is at least 50%.
Garzon teaches an inkjet printing composition comprising 50% to 90% water, by total weight (at para. [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid used by Nagai to further include between 50 and 90% water for the purpose of using water as a dispersant as taught by Garzon (at para. [0060] and [0161]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Yoneta teaches a liquid ejection head according to claim 1, wherein the pressure control unit is located above the ejection port (liquid circulation device 600 is disposed above submodule 101; Fig. 1, 2, 12, 13, 24), and includes
a first pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts a pressure of the liquid to positive pressure and send the liquid to the supply path (compressor 611, regulator 612, supply tank 601, supply pressure sensor 631, liquid supply channel 633; Fig. 24), and
a second pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts a pressure of the liquid to negative pressure (collection pressure sensor 632, collection tank 602, regulator 622, vacuum pump 621; Fig. 24). However, Yoneta teaches the second pressure adjustment mechanism as receiving liquid from the collection path (liquid collection channel 634; Fig. 24), not sending liquid to the collection path.
Nagai teaches a liquid ejection head and apparatus wherein a second pressure adjustment mechanism sends liquid to a collection path (Fig. 2), however Nagai teaches that in a case wherein the pressure adjustment mechanisms of the pressure control unit are located above the ejection port, both pressures in supply path and collection path are preferred to be negative (at para. 0064).
Prior art of record does not explicitly teach wherein a second pressure adjustment mechanism sends liquid to a collection path when the ejection port and there is also a first pressure adjustment mechanism that adjusts a pressure of the liquid to positive pressure and sends the liquid to the supply path.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention may have been drawn to a configuration in which the second pressure adjustment mechanism receives liquid from the collection path given the other limitations, such as taught by Yoneta.
Claims 6-12 would be allowed due to their dependency on claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
06 July 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853