DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on February 11, 2026. Claims 1-7, 10-18, 21-34, 37, 39-45 are pending and are examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to claims 1, 12, 28, and 39 have been fully considered.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments and amendments received February 11, 2026 have been fully considered.
With regard to drawings, Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the meaning of the phrase “wherein the second subblock comprise the two or more subblocks” without an accompanying illustration. In light of these arguments, the objection is withdrawn.
With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to disclose performing BDOF on an affine predicted block because both Chen and Kim teach that BDOF is disabled for affine-coded blocks.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. He describes the use of two optical flow methods – BDOF and PROF. Both satisfy Applicant’s claim language of “a bi-directional optical flow process”. PROF uses optical flow to refine prediction samples in each direction (L0 and L1) separately and BDOF derives the refinement once and refines a combined (L0 and L1) prediction, but both use an optical flow process to refine both prediction directions (L0 and L1), and are thus bi-directional processes. He, Chen, and Kim, all describe the use of PROF with affine prediction (see, e.g., He ¶¶162, 295, 324; Chen ¶157; Kim ¶125) and Examiner’s citations are directed to such an implementation.
Ultimately, these have been considered. However, given the current amendments see the rejection below for how a newly added reference reads on the newly amended language as well as the examiner's interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant amended the independent claims to include the following limitations: “determining that two or more subblocks of the plurality of subblocks have the same motion vector; in response to the two or more subblocks having the same motion vector, applying a bi-directional optical flow process to a second subblock to determine a refined prediction subblock, wherein the second subblock comprise the two or more subblocks of the plurality of subblocks”. In order for a sub-block, e.g., sub-block A, to comprise multiple sub-blocks, e.g., sub-blocks B and C, sub-block A must be at least twice as large as sub-blocks B and C. For example, where sub-blocks B and C are adjacent 4x4 sub-blocks, sub-block A may be a 4x8 sub-block including both sub-blocks B and C. Accordingly, such claim limitations are interpreted to mean that the “second sub-block” may a larger sub-block encompassing two adjacent sub-blocks that have the same motion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-17, 21-33, 37, 39-43, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0221122 (“Ye”) in view of the level of skill in the art.
With respect to claim 12, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
A device for decoding encoded video data (see Fig. 2, ¶55, describing a device for decoding encoded data), the device comprising:
a memory configured to store video data (see Fig. 28B, items 130, 132, ¶¶145, 150, 185, describing that the decoder for decoding may be embodied by a memory for storing video data);
one or more processors implemented in circuitry (see Fig. 28B, item 118, ¶¶145-146, 185, describing that the decoder for decoding may be embodied by one or more processors implemented in circuitry) and configured to:
determine that a current block of the video data is coded in an affine prediction mode, wherein the current block has a size of width (WCB) x height (HCB), wherein the current block includes a plurality of sub-blocks (see Figs. 6, 9B, 16A-18B (each of which show a current block divided into 16 4x4 sub-blocks), ¶¶53, 68, 72, 76, 88, 107, describing determining that a block/CU is coded in affine mode (e.g., by determining that affine mode coding is enabled) and that for affine mode, a current block/CU may have a size of up to 64x64, i.e., width WCB x height HCB, and may include a plurality of sub-blocks, e.g., 4x4 sub-blocks, for which an affine motion model is applied);
predict each subblock of the plurality of subblocks using an affine motion model associated with the affine prediction mode to determine an initial prediction block for the current block, wherein each subblock of the plurality of subblocks has a size of width (WSB) x Height (HSB), wherein WSB is less than WCB and HSB is less than HCB (see citations with respect to element above and Fig. 9A, ¶¶56, 89-90, 110, describing predicting each sub-block of a coding block using equation 15, i.e., an affine motion model as described below, associated with the affine prediction mode to determine an initial MC/prediction, i.e., to determine an initial prediction block for the current block, and that each subblock of the current block has a sub-block of a sub-block size, e.g., 4x4, which is less than a coding block size, e.g., 64x64);
determine that two or more subblocks of the plurality of subblocks have a same motion vector (see citations and arguments with respect to element above and Figs. 16A-C, 17A-B, and 18A-B, ¶¶6, 76, 88-90, 93-94, 96-97, 124, showing and describing that two or more subblocks of the CU, i.e., of the plurality of subblocks of the CU, have a same motion vector);
in response to the two or more subblocks having the same motion vector, apply a bi-directional optical flow process to a second subblock of the current block to determine a refined prediction subblock, wherein the second subblock comprises the two or more subblocks of the plurality of subblocks (see citations and arguments with respect to element above, describing merging subblocks with the same motion vector to form a subblock group, i.e., second subblock, of the current block and refining this subblock group, i.e., second subblock, as a whole, e.g., through BIO/a bi-directional optical flow process, to form a refined prediction subblock);
determine a refined prediction block based on the refined subblock (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above and describing that the refined prediction, i.e., prediction block, may be determined based on refined optical flow/BIO for one or more sub-blocks, i.e., the refined sub-block); and
determine a decoded version of the current block based on the refined prediction block (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, describing that this refinement prediction block is part of the coding, i.e., decoding process to determine a decoded version of the current block).
Although Ye details the use of affine motion, it does not describe equation 15 as an “affine motion model”. However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood affine motion models and recognized the 4 parameter model of equation 15 to be such an “affine motion model” (see, e.g., Specification of current Application at ¶120, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0078478 at ¶70, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0022757 at ¶96, etc.). Accordingly, in view of the level of skill in the art at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to have modified Ye to describe equation 15 as an “affine motion model”. Therefore Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses each and every element of independent claim 12.
With respect to claim 13, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein to predict each subblock of the first plurality of subblocks using the affine motion model associated with the affine prediction mode to determine the initial prediction block for the current block, the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive two or more control point motion vectors;
derive an initial motion vector for each subblock of the plurality of subblocks; and
locate an initial prediction block for each subblock of the plurality of subblocks using the initial motion vector (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 12 above and Ye Figs. 9A-9B, ¶72, describing receiving 2 or more CPMVs, deriving an initial motion field/motion vector for the sub-blocks based on the CPMVs, and locating an initial prediction block for each sub-block using the initial motion field/motion vector).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 13.
With respect to claim 14 Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 13. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein to apply the bi-directional optical flow process to the second subblock to determine the first refined prediction subblock, the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine an updated motion vector for the two or more subblocks of the plurality of subblocks (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 12 above, describing that BIO is applied to the second subblock to refine/update the motion vector/information for the second subblock, i.e., two or more subblocks of the plurality of subblocks).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 14.
With respect to claim 15, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 14. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
store the updated motion vector for the second subblock; and
use the updated motion vector to predict a subsequent block of video data (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 12-14 above, describing that the motion compensation process includes a BIO refinement for the second sub-block, and Ye ¶¶54, 55, describing that the motion information used for motion compensation (which as detailed above includes refinement) is stored for use as reference image information for future spatial and temporal MV prediction).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 15.
With respect to claim 16, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 15. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein to determine the refined prediction block based on the refined subblock, the one or more processors are further configured to:
apply a per-pixel bi-directional optical flow process to the refined prediction subblock (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 12 above, including Ye ¶¶56, 59, 106, 128, describing that the BIO process applied to the refined prediction sub-block may be a sample-wise process, i.e., per pixel).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 16.
With respect to claim 17, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein to determine the refined prediction block based on the refined subblock, the one or more processors are further configured to:
apply a second bi-directional optical flow process to the refined prediction subblock (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 16 above, describing that the BIO process is performed per-pixel, thus each 4x4 prediction subblock has multiple, i.e., including a second, bi-directional optical flow process applied, further refining the sub-block for each pixel).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 17.
With respect to claim 21, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein the current block comprises a bi-predicted block (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 12 above, including Ye ¶¶56, 58, 71, describing that the current block is bi-predicted).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 21.
With respect to claim 22, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
further comprising a display configured to display a picture of decoded video data that includes the decoded version of the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 12 above and Ye Fig. 28B, item 128, ¶¶55, 132, 145, describing that the device may include a display to display the coded video data).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 22.
With respect to claim 23, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein the device comprises one or more of a camera, a computer, a mobile device, a broadcast receiver device, or a set-top box (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 12 above and Ye ¶¶132, 153, describing that the encoder/decoder may be embodied in may include a computer, mobile phone/device, broadcast receiver device, or television/set-top box).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 23.
With respect to claim 24, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein the device comprises a wireless communication device, further comprising a receiver configured to receive the encoded video data (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 12 above and Ye ¶¶132, describing that the device may be a wireless communication device, e.g., mobile phone, tablet, etc. and may include a receiver to receive the encoded video data).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 24.
With respect to claim 25, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 24. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein the wireless communication device comprises a telephone handset and wherein the receiver is configured to demodulate, according to a wireless communication standard, a signal comprising the encoded video data (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 12 and 24 above and Ye ¶132, describing that the wireless communication device may comprise a mobile phone, i.e., telephone handset, and that the receiver may demodulate the video signal according to a wireless communication standard).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 25.
With respect to claim 26, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein the device comprises a video decoder (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 12 above, describing that the video coding device may be a decoder).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 26.
With respect to claim 27, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein the device comprises a video encoder (see Ye Fig. 1, ¶¶53, describing that the video coding device may be used to implement the techniques of the disclosure).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 27.
With respect to claim 1, claim 1 recites the elements of claim 12 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 12 also applies to claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, claim 2 recites the elements of claim 13 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 13 also applies to claim 2.
With respect to claim 3, claim 3 recites the elements of claim 14 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 14 also applies to claim 3.
With respect to claim 4, claim 4 recites the elements of claim 15 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 15 also applies to claim 4.
With respect to claim 5, claim 5 recites the elements of claim 16 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 16 also applies to claim 5.
With respect to claim 6, claim 6 recites the elements of claim 17 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 17 also applies to claim 6.
With respect to claim 10, claim 10 recites the elements of claim 21 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 21 also applies to claim 10.
With respect to claim 11, claim 11 recites the elements of claim 27 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 27 also applies to claim 11.
With respect to claim 28, claim 28 recites the elements of claim 12 in computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Ye discloses that its methods may be embodied by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for execution by a processor (see citations and arguments with respect to memory and processor elements of claim 12 above). Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 12 also applies to claim 28.
With respect to claim 29, claim 29 recites the elements of claim 13 in computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Ye discloses that its methods may be embodied by a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for execution by a processor (see citations and arguments with respect to memory and processor elements of claim 12 above). Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 13 also applies to claim 29.
With respect to claim 30, claim 30 recites the elements of claim 14 in computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Ye discloses that its methods may be embodied by a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for execution by a processor (see citations and arguments with respect to memory and processor elements of claim 12 above). Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 14 also applies to claim 30.
With respect to claim 31, claim 31 recites the elements of claim 15 in computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Ye discloses that its methods may be embodied by a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for execution by a processor (see citations and arguments with respect to memory and processor elements of claim 12 above). Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 15 also applies to claim 31.
With respect to claim 32, claim 32 recites the elements of claim 16 in computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Ye discloses that its methods may be embodied by a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for execution by a processor (see citations and arguments with respect to memory and processor elements of claim 12 above). Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 16 also applies to claim 32.
With respect to claim 33, claim 33 recites the elements of claim 17 in computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Ye discloses that its methods may be embodied by a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for execution by a processor (see citations and arguments with respect to memory and processor elements of claim 12 above). Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 17 also applies to claim 33.
With respect to claim 37, claim 37 recites the elements of claim 21 in computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Ye discloses that its methods may be embodied by a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for execution by a processor (see citations and arguments with respect to memory and processor elements of claim 12 above). Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 21 also applies to claim 37.
With respect to claim 39, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
A device for encoding encoded video data (see Fig. 1, ¶¶53, describing a device for encoding encoded data), the device comprising:
a memory configured to store video data (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 12 above);
one or more processors implemented in circuitry (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 12 above) and configured to:
determine that a current block of the video data is coded in an affine prediction mode, wherein the current block has a size of width (WCB) x height (HCB), wherein the current block includes a plurality of subblocks (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 12 above and Fig. 1, item 1162);
predict each subblock of the plurality of subblocks using an affine motion model associated with the affine prediction mode to determine an initial prediction block for the current block, wherein each subblock of the plurality of subblocks has a size of width (WSB) x Height (HSB), wherein WSB is less than WCB and HSB is less than HCB (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 12 above and Fig. 1, item 1162);
determine that two or more subblocks of the plurality of subblocks have a same motion vector(see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 12 above and Fig. 1, item 1162);
in response to the two or more subblocks having the same motion vector, apply a bi-directional optical flow process to a second subblock to determine a refined prediction subblock, wherein the second subblock of the current block comprises the two or more subblocks of the plurality of subblocks (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 12 above and Fig. 1, item 1162);
determine a refined prediction block based on the refined subblock (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 12 above and Fig. 1, item 1162); and
determine a decoded version of the current block based on the refined prediction block (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 12 above and Fig. 1, items 1110, 1112, 1126, showing a reconstruction, i.e., decoding, of the current block based on the prediction mode described);
store a copy of the decoded version of the current block (see Fig. 1, item 1164, ¶¶53-54, describing a buffer for storing copies of decoded/reconstructed video blocks of the current block and using them as reference blocks for prediction of subsequent blocks); and
encode a subsequent block of the video data based on the copy of the decoded version of the current block (see citations with respect to element above and Fig. 1, item 1164 (input into item 1162), describing that reference frames stored in the buffer are used to predict/encode subsequent blocks).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 39.
With respect to claim 40, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 39. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein to predict each subblock of the first plurality of subblocks using the affine motion model associated with the affine prediction mode to determine the initial prediction block for the current block, the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive two or more control point motion vectors;
derive an initial motion vector for each subblock of the plurality of subblocks; and
locate an initial prediction block for each subblock of the plurality of subblocks using the initial motion vector (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 13 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 40.
With respect to claim 41, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of dependent claim 40. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein to apply the bi-directional optical flow process to the second subblock to determine the first refined prediction subblock, the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine an updated motion vector for the two or more subblocks of the plurality of subblocks (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 14 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 41.
With respect to claim 42, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 39. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein to determine the refined prediction block based on the refined subblock, the one or more processors are further configured to:
apply a per-pixel bi-directional optical flow process to the refined prediction subblock (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 16 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 42.
With respect to claim 43, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 39. Ye additionally discloses
wherein to determine the refined prediction block based on the refined subblock, the one or more processors are further configured to:
apply a second bi-directional optical flow process to the refined prediction subblock (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 43.
With respect to claim 34, claim 34 recites the elements of claim 18 in computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Ye discloses that its methods may be embodied by a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for execution by a processor (see citations and arguments with respect to memory and processor elements of claim 12 above). Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 18 also applies to claim 34.
With respect to claim 45, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12. Ye additionally discloses:
wherein the current block comprises a bi-predicted block (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 21 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 12 also apply to claim 45.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 18, 34, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye in view of the level of skill in the art and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0323390 (“He”), which corresponds to priority applications dated November 2021 and 2022.
With respect to claim 18, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 12.
Ye does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a syntax element, wherein a value of the syntax element indicates that the bi-directional optical flow process is enabled for the current block.
However, in the same field of endeavor, He discloses it was known to receive a syntax indicating if BIO/BDOF is enabled for the current block:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a syntax element, wherein a value of the syntax element indicates that the bi-directional optical flow process is enabled for the current block (see Chen ¶352, describing that it was known to send/receive a flag, i.e., syntax element, whose value indicates the application of the bi-directional optical flow process).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the different methods for indicating whether a coding tool is enabled/disabled for a current block. Ye teaches a derivation of this enablement by the decoder itself, but as described in He, it was a known alternative to derivation at the decoder to signal a flag from the encoder to the decoder indicating such enablement. Doing so would have been understood to have the benefit of allowing for entire CUs, slices, pictures, or sequences to use or not use a coding tool without the utilization of resources at the decoder to determine whether the coding tool is appropriate. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to have modified Ye to include such a syntax capability. Moreover, to such a person, doing so would have represented nothing more than the simple substitution of one known element for another (flag instead of derivation) to obtain a predictable result and/or the combination of prior art elements (allowing for enablement/disablement at the sequence, picture, slice, or CU level via a flag and deriving enablement at the decoder where such a flag is not present) according to known methods to achieve predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included a mechanism for receiving a BIO enablement syntax element in the coding system of Ye as taught by He.
With respect to claim 7, claim 7 recites the elements of claim 18 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 18 also applies to claim 7.
With respect to claim 44, Ye discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Ye in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 39 and Ye in view of He discloses each and every element of dependent claim 18, the combination of which is incorporated herein. Ye/He additionally discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a syntax element, wherein a value of the syntax element indicates that the bi-directional optical flow process is enabled for the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 18 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claims 12 and 18 also apply to claim 44
Conclusion
LINDSAY J UHL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481
/LINDSAY J UHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481