DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The Applicants’ preliminary amendment, 01/02/2025, was received and entered. As the results, original independent claim 1 was cancelled. New claims 2-17 were added, wherein claims 2, 6, 10 and 14 are independent claims, and pending in this application at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 10-11 and 14-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sundaram (US 2009/0259722).
Regarding claim 2, Sundaram teaches a first transmission terminal (i.e., a second user 102, as shown in figure 1), comprising:
processing circuitry (i.e., a computer infrastructure 402, as shown in figure 4; para.[0023]) configured to
display a screen image from a second transmission terminal (i.e., when a first user 101 (performed as a second transmission terminal) transmit an electronic file to the second user 102 over the chat service 104 (para.[0017]) wherein the electronic file can be comprised of images, video, etc., para.[0005]), wherein the screen image from the second transmission terminal is caused to be shared with a third transmission terminal for viewing by the third transmission terminal after permission is received (i.e., the second user 102 received the accept or permit from a user associated with the second user (terminal) 102; the file is displayed on a display 107 and to immediately forward the received file to a third party 103 over the chat service 104); and
display the screen image after it is shared with the third transmission terminal (i.e., the electronic file is displayed at the user device 102 and at the third party after the electronic file is received for viewing by a user associated with the third party; para.[0017] and [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, Sundaram further teaches that many users 101, 102, 103 can be connected to the chat service, as a conference, and the users can communicate with more than one other user at the same time (para.[0017]). Sundaram further teaches the feature of previewing and forwarding the electronic file received during the chat session (para.[0009]), which means the electronic file is shared and received by the third terminal during a conference.
Regarding claim 6, Sundaram teaches a method for a first transmission terminal including processing circuitry, the method comprising: (i.e., a second user 102, as shown in figure 1, comprising a computer infrastructure 402, as shown in figure 4; para.[0023]), comprising:
Displaying, on a display, a screen image from a second transmission terminal (i.e., when a first user 101 (performed as a second transmission terminal) transmit an electronic file to the second user 102 over the chat service 104 (para.[0017]) wherein the electronic file can be comprised of images, video, etc., para.[0005]), wherein the screen image from the second transmission terminal is caused to be shared with a third transmission terminal for viewing by the third transmission terminal after permission is received (i.e., the second user 102 received the accept or permit from a user associated with the second user (terminal) 102; the file is displayed on a display 107 and to immediately forward the received file to a third party 103 over the chat service 104); and
displaying, on the display, the screen image after it is shared with the third transmission terminal (i.e., the electronic file is displayed at the user device 102 and at the third party after the electronic file is received for viewing by a user associated with the third party; para.[0017] and [0020]).
Regarding claim 7, Sundaram further teaches that many users 101, 102, 103 can be connected to the chat service, as a conference, and the users can communicate with more than one other user at the same time (para.[0017]). Sundaram further teaches the feature of previewing and forwarding the electronic file received during the chat session (para.[0009]), which means the electronic file is shared and received by the third terminal during a conference.
Regarding claim 10, Sundaram teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions (i.e., memory 405 and storage system 409, as shown in figure 4, storing computer program codes) which, when executed by processing circuitry (i.e., executing the computer program codes by the processor 404 of a computer infrastructure 402; para.[0023]) of a first transmission terminal, perform a method comprising:
displaying, on a display, a screen image from a second transmission terminal (i.e., when a first user 101 (performed as a second transmission terminal) transmit an electronic file to the second user 102 over the chat service 104 (para.[0017]) wherein the electronic file can be comprised of images, video, etc., para.[0005]), wherein the screen image from the second transmission terminal is caused to be shared with a third transmission terminal for viewing by the third transmission terminal after permission is received (i.e., the second user 102 received the accept or permit from a user associated with the second user (terminal) 102; the file is displayed on a display 107 and to immediately forward the received file to a third party 103 over the chat service 104); and
displaying, on the display, the screen image after it is shared with the third transmission terminal (i.e., the electronic file is displayed at the user device 102 and at the third party after the electronic file is received for viewing by a user associated with the third party; para.[0017] and [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, Sundaram further teaches that many users 101, 102, 103 can be connected to the chat service, as a conference, and the users can communicate with more than one other user at the same time (para.[0017]). Sundaram further teaches the feature of previewing and forwarding the electronic file received during the chat session (para.[0009]), which means the electronic file is shared and received by the third terminal during a conference.
Regarding claim 14, Sundaram teaches a system comprising:
a server (i.e., a chat service or instant messaging service provided by a server or provider; para.[0017]); and
first transmission terminal (i.e., a second user 102, as shown in figure 1) configured to communicate with the server, the first transmission terminal including:
processing circuitry (i.e., a computer infrastructure 402, as shown in figure 4; para.[0023]) configured to
display a screen image from a second transmission terminal (i.e., when a first user 101 (performed as a second transmission terminal) transmit an electronic file to the second user 102 over the chat service 104 (para.[0017]) wherein the electronic file can be comprised of images, video, etc., para.[0005]), wherein the screen image from the second transmission terminal is caused to be shared with a third transmission terminal for viewing by the third transmission terminal after permission is received (i.e., the second user 102 received the accept or permit from a user associated with the second user (terminal) 102; the file is displayed on a display 107 and to immediately forward the received file to a third party 103 over the chat service 104); and
display the screen image after it is shared with the third transmission terminal (i.e., the electronic file is displayed at the user device 102 and at the third party after the electronic file is received for viewing by a user associated with the third party; para.[0017] and [0020]).
Regarding claim 15, Sundaram further teaches that many users 101, 102, 103 can be connected to the chat service, as a conference, and the users can communicate with more than one other user at the same time (para.[0017]). Sundaram further teaches the feature of previewing and forwarding the electronic file received during the chat session (para.[0009]), which means the electronic file is shared and received by the third terminal during a conference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 4-5, 8-9, 12-13 and 16-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sundaram (US 2009/0259722) in view of Takeuchi (US 2011/0113097).
Regarding claims 4-5, 8-9, 12-13 and 16-17, Sundaram teaches the first user 101 sharing electronic file (i.e., image) to more one other users (i.e., a third user 103), as discussed above. Sundaram failed to clearly teach the third user 103 to capture electronic file or image a camera on the third user 103 and to share the captured image to first user 101. However, Takeuchi teaches a remote operation system 100, as shown in figure 5 (para.[0198]), comprising an operation target device 200, a first remote device 300a and a third remote device 300b. the remote operation system 100 operates to transmit and share data between the remote device 300a and 300b wherein the data is an image (para.[0200]). Takeuchi further teaches the images or photos being taken by digital cameras on both the remote operation devices 300a and 300b (para.[0307], [0342] and [0370]). Takeuchi further teaches a display screen of images on the remote operation device 300a are shared with the remote operation device 300b via the operation target device 200 (para.[0328] and [0343]-[0344]). Takeuchi further teaches the remote operation device 300b to transmit and share images with the remote operation device 300a via the operation target device 200 (para.[0345]-[0346], [0348], [0353]-[0354], [0377] and [0409]-[0410]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of a camera image captured by a camera in the third transmission terminal is shared with the first terminal, as taught by Takeuchi, into view of Sundaram in order to share captured images between users of the first terminal and third terminal.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims as followings:
Each of pending independent claims 2, 6, 10 and 14, recited the terms “first terminal,” “second terminal,” “third terminal” and “permission” which make scope of the claims broad to read on and are corresponding to:
a/. the terms “first terminal,” “second terminal,” “external input apparatus” and “permission”, respectively, in the patented claims 1, 8, 18, 24, 28, 33 and 44 in the Patent No.: US 12,058,477;
b/. the terms “first terminal,” “second terminal,” “external input apparatus” and “permission”, respectively, in the patented claims 1, 4, 8, 11 and 15 in the Patent No.: US 10,931,917.
c/. the terms “first terminal,” “second terminal,” “external input apparatus” and “permission”, respectively, in the patented claims 1, 7, 9 and 13 in the Patent No: US 10,477,147.
d/. the terms “first terminal,” “second terminal,” “external input apparatus” and “permission”, respectively, in the patented claims 1, 2 and 8 in the Patent No.: US 10,178,349.
e/. the terms “first terminal,” “second terminal,” “external input apparatus” and “permission”, respectively, in the patented claims 1, 2 and 8 in the Patent No.: US 9,787,944.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are broader in scope than the claims of the patents and/or recited in different words (In re KARLSON (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)).
Any response to this action should be mailed or handed carry deliveries to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Or faxed to: (571) 273-8300
/Binh Kien Tieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694
Date: February 2026