DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendment, filed 05/20/2026, was received and entered. As the results, claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 15 and 17 were cancelled. New claims 18-27 were added. Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16 and 18-27 have been pending in this application at this time.
Since independent claims 1 6, 10 and 14 were amended with scopes of the claims being changed and the added new claims, Examiner performed updated searches and a new reference was also found. Therefore, the new ground is as followings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 2, 6, 10, 14, 20-22 and 25 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Nagashima (US 2002/0040399).
Regarding claim 2, Nagashima teaches a first transmission terminal (i.e. a first terminal device 13, as shown in figure 1), comprising:
processing circuitry configured to
first display a screen image from a second transmission terminal, wherein the screen image is display data displayed on a screen of the second transmission terminal (i.e., the first terminal device 13 and a second terminal 16 (read on a second transmission terminal) received image data and displayed the same thereon as they are; para. [0031]);
share the screen image with a third transmission terminal (i.e., a processor 18 having a large-screen; para. [0031]) for viewing by the third transmission terminal after permission is received (i.e., upon obtaining temporary permission (after permission is received), the image is transmitted, shared and displayed on the processor 18 via a new connection; para. [0025]); and
second display the screen image after the screen image is shared with the
third transmission terminal (para. [0041]), wherein
the first display of the screen image, the sharing of the screen image with the third transmission terminal, and the second display of the screen image are performed during a conference (i.e., while terminals 13 and 16 are in or during a voice communication; para. [0025]; either terminal 13 or 16 may request the image data to be transmitted and displayed on the processor 18 and the server 12 establishes new connections, such as communication line 2B (Fig.2), in order to transmit the image data during the voice communication (such as a conference); para. [0030] and [0039]-[0041]; upon completion of the communications, the voice communication and image-data communication line of the conference are released; para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Nagashima teaches a method for first transmission terminal (i.e. a first terminal device 13, as shown in figure 1) including processing circuitry, the method comprising:
first displaying, on a display, a screen image from a second transmission terminal, wherein the screen image is display data displayed on a screen of the second transmission terminal (i.e., the first terminal device 13 and a second terminal 16 (read on a second transmission terminal) received image data and displayed the same thereon as they are; para. [0031]);
sharing the screen image with a third transmission terminal (i.e., a processor 18 having a large-screen; para. [0031]) for viewing by the third transmission terminal after permission is received (i.e., upon obtaining temporary permission (after permission is received), the image is transmitted, shared and displayed on the processor 18 via a new connection; para. [0025]); and
second displaying, on the display, the screen image after the screen image is shared with the third transmission terminal (para. [0041]), wherein
the first display, the sharing, and the second displaying are performed during a conference (i.e., while terminals 13 and 16 are in or during a voice communication; para. [0025]; either terminal 13 or 16 may request the image data to be transmitted and displayed on the processor 18 and the server 12 establishes new connections, such as communication line 2B (Fig.2), in order to transmit the image data during the voice communication (such as a conference); para. [0030] and [0039]-[0041]; upon completion of the communications, the voice communication and image-data communication line of the conference are released; para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Nagashima teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions which, when executed by processing circuitry of a first transmission terminal, perform a method comprising:
first displaying, on a display, a screen image from a second transmission terminal, wherein the screen image is display data displayed on a screen of the second transmission terminal (i.e., the first terminal device 13 and a second terminal 16 (read on a second transmission terminal) received image data and displayed the same thereon as they are; para. [0031]);
sharing the screen image with a third transmission terminal (i.e., a processor 18 having a large-screen; para. [0031]) for viewing by the third transmission terminal after permission is received (i.e., upon obtaining temporary permission (after permission is received), the image is transmitted, shared and displayed on the processor 18 via a new connection; para. [0025]); and
second displaying, on the display, the screen image after the screen image is shared with the third transmission terminal (para. [0041]), wherein
the first display, the sharing, the second displaying are performed during a conference (i.e., while terminals 13 and 16 are in or during a voice communication; para. [0025]; either terminal 13 or 16 may request the image data to be transmitted and displayed on the processor 18 and the server 12 establishes new connections, such as communication line 2B (Fig.2), in order to transmit the image data during the voice communication (such as a conference); para. [0030] and [0039]-[0041]; upon completion of the communications, the voice communication and image-data communication line of the conference are released; para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Nagashima teaches a system (i.e., a network system as shown in figure 1), comprising:
a server (i.e., server 12); and
a first transmission terminal (i.e., a first terminal device 13) configured to communicate with the relay server (i.e., the first terminal device 13 requests server 12 to display the image data on a processor 18; para. [0031]), the transmission terminal including:
processing circuitry configured to
first display a screen image from a second transmission terminal, wherein the screen image is display data displayed on a screen of the second transmission terminal (i.e., the first terminal device 13 and a second terminal 16 (read on a second transmission terminal) received image data and displayed the same thereon as they are; para. [0031]);
share the screen image with a third transmission terminal (i.e., a processor 18 having a large-screen; para. [0031]) for viewing by the third transmission terminal after permission is received (i.e., upon obtaining temporary permission (after permission is received), the image is transmitted, shared and displayed on the processor 18 via a new connection; para. [0025]); and
second display the screen image after the screen image is shared with the third transmission terminal (para. [0041]), wherein
the first display of the screen image, the sharing of the screen image with the third transmission terminal, and the second display of the screen image are performed during a conference (i.e., while terminals 13 and 16 are in or during a voice communication; para. [0025]; either terminal 13 or 16 may request the image data to be transmitted and displayed on the processor 18 and the server 12 establishes new connections, such as communication line 2B (Fig.2), in order to transmit the image data during the voice communication (such as a conference); para. [0030] and [0039]-[0041]; upon completion of the communications, the voice communication and image-data communication line of the conference are released; para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 20, Nagashima further teaches the second terminal 16 is connected to the first terminal 13. Nagashima further teaches the second terminal 16 requests or the image data is acquired from the second terminal 16 to be displayed at the processor 18 (para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 21, Nagashima further teaches a relay device 26 and a reception device 17, as shown in figure 1, as a relay apparatus in paragraph [0028], [0036] and [0041].
Regarding claim 22, Nagashima further teaches the screen image is modified and displayed as high-definition via the reception device 17, i.e., a set-top box and delay device 26, such as protocols conversions or the like (para. [0039] and [0042]).
Regarding claim 25, Nagashima further teaches limitations of the claim, such as transmitting image as well as voice from the first terminal 13 (para. [0021], [0025], [0028] and [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 4, 8, 12 and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nagashima (US 2002/0040399) in view of Takeuchi (US 2011/0113097 as cited in the previous Office Action).
Regarding claims 4, 8, 12 and 16, Nagashima teaches either the first or second terminals 13 and 16 requested the server 12 to share image data to be displayed at the processor 18 (para. [0031]), as discussed above. Nagashima failed to clearly teach the third terminal, such as the processor 18, comprising a camera to capture a camera image and to share the captured image to the first terminal 13. However, Takeuchi teaches a remote operation system 100, as shown in figure 5 (para.[0198]), comprising an operation target device 200, a first remote device 300a and a third remote device 300b. The remote operation system 100 operates to transmit and share data between the remote device 300a and 300b wherein the data is an image or image data (para.[0200]). Takeuchi further teaches the images or photos being taken by digital cameras on both the remote operation devices 300a and 300b (para.[0307], [0342] and [0370]). Takeuchi further teaches a display screen of images on the remote operation device 300a are shared with the remote operation device 300b via the operation target device 200 (para.[0328] and [0343]-[0344]). Takeuchi further teaches the remote operation device 300b to transmit and share images with the remote operation device 300a via the operation target device 200 (para.[0345]-[0346], [0348], [0353]-[0354], [0377] and [0409]-[0410]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of a camera image captured by a camera in the third transmission terminal is shared with the first terminal, as taught by Takeuchi, into view of Nagashima in order to share captured images between users of the first terminal and third terminal.
Claim 18 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nagashima (US 2002/0040399) in view of Kato et al. (US 2003/0156196).
Regarding claim 18, Nagashima teaches all subject matters as claimed above, except for feature of the display data is in a JPEG or Bitmap format. However, Kato et al. (hereinafter “Kato”) teaches such feature in the paragraph [0071] for a purpose of reading and processing, such as encode and decode in the JPEG format, the image data from the image file.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of the display data is in a JPEG or Bitmap format, as taught by Kato, into view of Nagashima in order to display the images to the users of the devices.
Claim 19 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nagashima (US 2002/0040399) in view of Ben-Shachar et al. (US 2007/0244967).
Regarding claim 19, Nagashima teaches all subject matters as claimed above, except for feature of the display data comprises a drawing command in a GDI format. However, Ben-Shachar et al. (hereinafter “Ben-Shachar”) teaches such feature in the paragraph [0075] for a purpose of collecting, generating and processing drawing command of the display data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of the display data comprises a drawing command in a GDI format, as taught by Ben-Shachar, into view of Nagashima in order to collect and process the drawing command displayed on the screen.
Claim 23 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nagashima (US 2002/0040399) in view of Ombrellaro et al. (US 2005/0149364).
Regarding claim 23, Nagashima teaches all subject matters as claimed above, except for feature of wherein the screen image has a plurality of image quality levels including a low-resolution level, an intermediate-resolution level, and a high-resolution level. However, Ombrellaro et al. (hereinafter “Ombrellaro”) teaches screen image comprising six preset transmission rates corresponding to quality levels of screen images (para. [0054]) for a purpose of transmitting a designed size or image quality of the screen image, such as low-resolution level, medium level and high level.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of wherein the screen image has a plurality of image quality levels including a low-resolution level, an intermediate-resolution level, and a high-resolution level, as taught by Ombrellaro, into view of Nagashima in order to transmit the image data of screen image with the designed quality level.
Claim 24 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nagashima (US 2002/0040399) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2009/0210815).
Regarding claim 24, Nagashima teaches all subject matters as claimed above, except for feature of wherein the display data corresponds to a portion of a screen of the second transmission terminal selected from a plurality of areas of the screen. However, Cheng et al. (hereinafter “Cheng”) teaches the limitations of the claim in the Abstract and paragraph [0015] for a purpose of locating information associated with the selected object displayed on a portion of the plurality of areas of the screen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of wherein the display data corresponds to a portion of a screen of the second transmission terminal selected from a plurality of areas of the screen, as taught by Cheng, into view of Nagashima in order to locate information associated with the selected object displayed on a portion of the plurality of areas of the screen.
Claim 26 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nagashima (US 2002/0040399) in view of Tasker (US 2011/0216153).
Regarding claim 26, Nagashima teaches all subject matters as claimed above, except for feature of wherein the conference is a video conference. However, Tasker teaches limitations of the claim, such as video conferencing between mobile devices for displaying video with optimal size and resolution, etc. (see Abstract and paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of wherein the conference is a video conference, as taught by Tasker, into view of Nagashima in order to provide video conferencing services to terminal devices in the network system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for response to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the date of this action. In the event a first response is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event will the statutory period for response expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any response to this final action should be mailed to:
BOX AF
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
Or faxed to:
(703) 872-9314 or (301) 273-8300 (for formal communications;
Please mark “EXPEDITED PROCEDURE”)
Or: If it is an informal or draft communication, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand Carry Deliveries to:
Customer Service Window
(Randolph Building)
407 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
It should be noticed that interview attribute time per new application or RCE (utility) is available when, during prosecution, the examiner conducts an interview. When more than one interview is needed in an application, supervisors have the flexibility to approve additional time to advance prosecution.
/Binh Kien Tieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694
Date: August 2026