DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed “ temperature adjustment device that adjusts an outer peripheral surface of the lower forming roller to a temperature higher than that of an outer peripheral surface of the upper forming roller” in claim 3 and the claimed “controller” in claims 4-9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because i) the abstract comprises implied phraseology such as “apparatus (10) of an embodiment” and ii) the abstract describes an apparatus already known in the art (See prior art rejections below). A correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01 (b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a temperature adjustment device that adjusts an outer peripheral surface of the lower forming roller to a temperature higher than that of an outer peripheral surface of the upper forming roller” in claim 3 with a controllable heating element near the lower forming roller as the corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0039] of Applicant’s published application (US 20250018635).
Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claim(s) 1-9 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a controller that controls the rubber member molding apparatus” which is indefinite. The language states a controlling function/result without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention, does not provide a clear cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would know from the language what structure is encompassed by the claim. It is unclear which elements of the rubber member molding apparatus the controller is configured to control. It is unclear how the controller controls the molding apparatus. According to prior art and [0041] and [0061-0062] of Applicant’s specification, the controller is configured to control the actuators such as the screw and gear pump of the extruding machine and the motors rotating the forming rollers and is incapable of controlling directly the rubber member molding apparatus as claimed. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein under control of the controller, the long rubber member is extruded forward from the extruding machine, the long rubber member extruded from the extruding machine is sandwiched between the upper and lower forming rollers, and the long rubber member moved forward after having passed through the gap between the upper and lower forming rollers is attached to the molding drum and turns into the cylindrical rubber member for the tire” which is indefinite. The language merely states the results of controlling without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention, does not provide a clear cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would know from the language what structure is encompassed by the claim. It is unclear which and how the elements of the rubber member molding apparatus are controlled by the controller to achieve the claimed results. According to [0041] and [0061-0062] of Applicant’s specification, the controller is configured to control the actuators such as the screw and gear pump of the extruding machine, the motors/driver rotating the forming rollers, and the motor/driver rotating the molding drum in a specific manner to obtain the claimed results. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the long rubber member is cut at an opening end of a nozzle provided at the extruding machine” which is indefinite. The language states a cutting result without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention, does not provide a clear cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would know from the language what structure is encompassed by the claim. It unclear what structure in the claimed apparatus yields the claimed cutting result. Additionally, according to at least paragraphs [0061-0062] of Applicant’s published application, a specific operation of the gear pump of the extruder machine and specific operation/function of motors of the forming rollers yields the cutting result.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 4 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the long rubber member is cut in such a manner that the controller stops extrusion of the long rubber member from the extruding machine” which is indefinite. It unclear how the controller stops extrusion. It unclear how the stopping of extrusion via the controller by itself yields the claimed cutting result. According to at least paragraphs [0061-0062] and claim 6 of Applicant’s published application, a stopping operation of the extruder machine by itself is incapable of yielding the claimed cutting result. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 6 recites the limitation “under the control of the controller, the upper and lower forming rollers rotate in directions of moving the long rubber member sandwiched therebetween forward” which is indefinite. It unclear how the controller directly controls rotation and direction of rotation of the upper and lower forming rollers as claimed. According to at least paragraphs [0041] of Applicant’s published application, motors are responsible for controlling rotation and direction of rotation of the upper and lower forming rollers. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a controller that controls the rubber member molding apparatus” which is indefinite. The language states a controlling function/result without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention, does not provide a clear cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would know from the language what structure is encompassed by the claim. It is unclear which elements of the rubber member molding apparatus the controller is configured to control. It is unclear how the controller controls the molding apparatus. According to prior art and [0041] and [0061-0062] of Applicant’s specification, the controller is configured to control the actuators such as the screw and gear pump of the extruding machine and the motors rotating the forming rollers and is incapable of controlling directly the rubber member molding apparatus as claimed. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the controller performs such control that a leading portion of the long rubber member is attached to the molding drum and the long rubber member is wound around the molding drum and turns into a cylindrical rubber member for a tire by rotating the molding drum while the supplier supplies the long rubber member” which is indefinite. The language merely states the results of controlling without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention. Is the claimed “a cylindrical rubber member for a tire” in claim 7 same or different from the claimed “a cylindrical rubber member for a tire” in claim 1? It is unclear which element rotates the molding drum and how the controller controls the rotation of the molding drum to achieve the claimed results. It is also unclear which element actuates the supplier and how the controller controls the supplier to achieve the claimed supplying function/result. According to [0041] and [0043] of Applicant’s published application, the controller is configured to control the actuators such as the motors/driver rotating the forming rollers (i.e. the supplier) and a motor/driver rotating the molding drum. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the leading portion is in a tapered shape having a tip end” which is indefinite. It unclear how the leading portion obtains a tapered shape. It is unclear how the shape of the leading portion of the material worked upon by the apparatus adds structure to the claimed apparatus. According to at least paragraph [0052] of Applicant’s published application, a shape of the gap between the upper and lower forming rollers is configured to obtain a tapered shape having a tip end in the leading portion. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the controller performs such control that the tip end of the leading portion is moved closer to an outside in a drum axial direction with respect to a center position of the long rubber member in a width direction thereof by moving at least one of the supplier or the molding drum in the drum axial direction upon attaching of the leading portion” which is indefinite. The language merely states the results of controlling without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention. The scope of “such control” is indefinite. It is unclear how the controller controls the supplier. Are the rollers of the supplier rotating while moving in the drum axial direction? It is unclear how the controller controls the drum. Is the drum rotating while moving the drum in the drum axial direction? It is also unclear how the controller moves at least one of the supplier or the molding drum in the drum axial direction. According [0042] and Figs. 4-5 of Applicant’s published application, a movement device is need to enable the claimed moving. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the controller performs such control that a portion of the long rubber member overlapping with the leading portion in the drum axial direction is formed as an inclined portion inclined with respect to a drum circumferential direction by moving at least one of the supplier or the molding drum in the drum axial direction when the long rubber member is wound around a position overlapping with the leading portion in the drum axial direction and a portion of the long rubber member other than the inclined portion is wound in parallel with the drum circumferential direction” which is indefinite. The language merely states the results of controlling without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention. The scope of “such control” is indefinite. It is unclear how the controller controls the supplier while wounding the inclined portion and the parallel portion. Are the rollers of the supplier rotating while moving in the drum axial direction? It is unclear how the controller controls the drum while wounding the inclined portion and parallel portion. Is the drum rotating while moving the drum in the drum axial direction? According to [0060] of Applicant’s published application, the drum does not move in the drum axial direction during winding of the parallel portion. It is also unclear how the controller moves at least one of the supplier or the molding drum in the drum axial direction. According [0042] and Figs. 4-5 of Applicant’s published application, a movement device is needed in addition to the controller to enable the claimed moving. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 7 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the long rubber member extruded from the extruding machine passes through the gap formed between the upper and lower forming rollers, and the leading portion turns into a tapered shape accordingly” which is indefinite. Is the claimed “a tapered shape” in claim 8 same or different from the claimed “a tapered shape” in claim 7? It is unclear how the leading portion turns in to the tapered shape. The relationship between the gap and the tapered shape as claimed is vague. According to at least paragraph [0052] of Applicant’s published application, a shape of the gap between the upper and lower forming rollers is configured to obtain a tapered shape having a tip end in the leading portion. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the leading portion is in an isosceles triangular shape having a tip end” which is indefinite. Is the claimed “the leading portion is in an isosceles triangular shape having a tip end” in claim 9 same or different from the claimed “the leading portion is in a tapered shape having a tip end” in claim 7? It unclear how the leading portion obtains an isosceles triangular shape. It is unclear how the shape of the leading portion of the material worked upon by the apparatus adds structure to the claimed apparatus. According to at least paragraph [0052] of Applicant’s published application, a shape of the gap between the upper and lower forming rollers is configured to obtain the claimed shape having a tip end in the leading portion. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the controller performs such control that the leading portion is deformed into a right triangular shape by moving at least one of the supplier or the molding drum in the drum axial direction and moving the tip end of the leading portion closer to the outside in the drum axial direction with respect to the center position of the long rubber member in the width direction thereof when the leading portion is attached to the molding drum” which is indefinite. The language merely states the results of controlling without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention. The scope of “such control” is indefinite. It is unclear how the controller controls the supplier while performing the deforming and attaching operations. Are the rollers of the supplier rotating while moving in the drum axial direction? It is unclear how the controller controls the drum while performing the deforming and attaching operations. Is the drum rotating while moving the drum in the drum axial direction? It is also unclear how the controller moves at least one of the supplier or the molding drum in the drum axial direction. According [0042] and Figs. 4-5 of Applicant’s published application, a movement device is needed in addition to the controller to enable the claimed moving. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lizuka (US 20010050134).
Regarding claim 1, Lizuka discloses a rubber member molding apparatus (molding apparatus of Fig. 10, P0047) comprising:
an extruding machine (60) that extrudes a long rubber member forward (extruder 60 extrudes ribbon 30R comprising rubber: P0047, Fig. 10);
upper and lower forming rollers (64, 65) that sandwich the long rubber member extruded from the extruding machine (P0047, 0049, Figs. 10-11); and
a molding drum (61) to which the long rubber member (30R) moved forward after having passed through a gap between the upper and lower forming rollers (64, 65) is attached and on which the long rubber member turns into a cylindrical rubber member (30) for a tire (P0047, Fig. 10),
wherein the upper forming roller is disposed forward of the lower forming roller (64 is clearly shown as being disposed forward 65: Figs. 10-11). Thus, Lizuka discloses a rubber member molding apparatus substantially as claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 2, Lizuka further discloses wherein outer peripheral surfaces of the upper and lower forming rollers (64, 65) are in such a relationship that the long rubber member (30R) having passed through the gap between the upper and lower forming rollers is attached to the outer peripheral surface of the upper forming roller (64: P0049, Figs. 10-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lizuka (US 20010050134) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wireman (US 3975126).
Regarding claim 3, Lizuka fails to disclose temperature adjustment device that adjusts an outer peripheral surface of the lower forming roller to a temperature higher than that of an outer peripheral surface of the upper forming roller.
In the same field of endeavor, rubber member molding apparatuses, Wireman discloses the technique of providing a temperature adjustment/control device (internal water circuit) that adjusts an outer peripheral surface of an upper/first forming roller (1a) to a temperature higher than that of an outer peripheral surface of a lower/desired forming roller (1b) for the benefit(s) of preventing adhesion of the rubber material to the hotter forming roller and ensuring adhesion of the rubber material to the lower/colder forming roller (C3, L55-67, Figs. 1-3). Based on the generic teachings of Wireman about the independent temperature control of the upper and lower rollers and the selection from the two rollers as a desired colder roller (C3, L1-25, C3, L55-67, claim 5, and claim 8), Wireman discloses/suggests to make the lower forming roller the hotter roller and the upper forming roller the colder roller.
Since Lizuka discloses/desires adherence of the rubber member to the outer peripheral surface of the upper forming roller (P0049, Figs. 10-11), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Lizuka in view of Wireman by incorporating a temperature adjustment device that adjusts an outer peripheral surface of the lower forming roller to a temperature higher than that of an outer peripheral surface of the upper forming roller for the benefit(s) of yielding the predictable result(s) of preventing adhesion of the rubber material to the lower/hotter forming roller and ensuring adhesion of the rubber material to the upper/colder forming roller.
Note
Claims 4-9 cannot be evaluated with respect to prior art at this time because the Examiner cannot reasonably apprise the scope of the claimed invention and cannot make a proper comparison between the claims and the prior art due to the 112(b) issues explained above. Nevertheless, prior art relevant to the subject matter of claims 4-9 is made of record below.
Prior Art Made of Record
Nakatani (US 20220242024) discloses a relevant rubber member molding apparatus (P0021, Figs. 1-3), a relevant controller configured to control the rubber member molding apparatus (Fig. 4 and accompanying text), the controller capable of controlling breakage/cutting of the rubber member (P0034, 0050, 0052), and a relevant gap between upper and lower forming rollers configured to obtain a tapered or isosceles triangular shape (P0029-0030, Fig. 3, Figs. 6-10, and accompanying text).
Nishikawa (US 20150068667) discloses a relevant controller (3) for controlling winding, shaping, and attaching of a rubber strip to a molding drum by controlling rotation the molding drum and motion of the molding drum in a drum axial direction (P0034-0035, Fig. 1, and accompanying text). Nishikawa further discloses a relevant shaping and winding technique (P0035, Fig. 4).
Abe (US 20050183810) discloses a relevant controlling/cutting technique such that a long rubber member is cut at an opening end of a nozzle provided at the extruding machine by stopping extrusion of the long rubber member (P0045, Fig. 6).
Summer (US 4569711) discloses a relevant cutting means/technique such that a long rubber member is cut at an opening end of a nozzle provided at the extruding machine (C3, L15-22, Fig. 1).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 4-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 4-9 of copending Application No. 18/754792 alone or further in view of Lizuka (US 20010050134).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-9, claims 2 and 4-9 of the copending application explicitly disclose all the structural elements and functional limitations of the instant claims 1 and 4-9 with the exception of the limitation “wherein the upper forming roller is disposed forward of the lower forming roller”.
However, since claim 2 of the copending application discloses “the opening end is disposed forward of a back end of at least one of the upper and lower forming rollers”, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of the copending application by disposing the upper forming roller forward of the lower forming roller motivated by the desire to dispose the opening end forward of a back end of the upper forming roller.
Alternatively, in the same field of endeavor, rubber member molding apparatuses, Lizuka, as applied in the prior art rejection of claim 1 above, discloses the technique of disposing the upper forming roller forward of the lower forming roller for the benefit(s) of facilitating attachment/conveyance of the rubber member to the molding drum using the upper forming roller (See prior art rejection of claim 1 above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of the copending application in view of Lizuka by disposing the upper forming roller forward of the lower forming roller for the benefit(s) of facilitating attachment/conveyance of the rubber member to the molding drum using the upper forming roller.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
JERZI H. MORENO HERNANDEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743