DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the support unit, the chamber unit, the rotating unit and the rotation guide unit of claim 7 and the sensor of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. Claim 10 is also objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 7. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the interrelationship between the chamber unit and the thermal block module is unclear. Is the chamber unit attached to the thermal block module? If so, how is it attached? Is the thermal block module housed within the chamber unit or vice versa?
Further, the interrelationship between the reaction vessel of the thermal block module and the reaction vessels of the chamber unit is also unclear. Are the reaction vessels one in the same or are they different elements used for two separate purposes?
Claims 8 and 10 depend on claim 7 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nana et al. (hereinafter Nana) US 2017/0266668.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Nana discloses a portable thermal block module comprising: a heating element (TEC 400/706); a heat block (thermal block 100, 300, 703 or 704) stacked on the heating element as shown in Fig. 7, the heat block comprising a substrate and one or more bodies (wells 102) [0153-0155 and 0171], the one or more bodies being located on the substrate so as to be spaced apart from each other as shown in Figs. 1, 3 and 7, each of the bodies comprising an insertion recess (wells 102) configured to allow at least a part of a reaction vessel (reaction vessel 201) to be inserted thereinto as discussed in [0154] and shown in Fig. 2, each of the substrate and the bodies being made of a thermally conductive material [0047, 0126-0127 and 0148]; and a fixing unit (heat sink 700 and primary control board 710) [0171].
Regarding claim 2, Nana discloses wherein the heating element (TEC 706) comprises a planar heating element as shown in Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 3, Nana discloses wherein the heat block comprises 1 to 2000 bodies as shown in Fig. 1, 3 and 7.
Regarding claim 6, Nana discloses wherein: the fixing unit comprises a first fixing unit and a second fixing unit (heat sink 700 and primary control board 710) [0171], and a part of the first fixing unit and a part of the second fixing unit directly or indirectly contact each other (via mounting sockets 705 and mechanical fasteners 707) to fix the heating element and the heat block between the first fixing unit and the second fixing unit as shown in Fig. 7.
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (hereinafter Chang) KR 20130124801 cited in the IDS filed 06/26/2024.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Chang discloses portable thermal block module comprising: a heating element (heat conducting plate 160); a heat block (tube rack 200) stacked on the heating element as shown in Fig. 1, the heat block comprising a substrate and one or more bodies (tube insertion holes 210), the one or more bodies being located on the substrate so as to be spaced apart from each other as shown in Fig. 1, each of the bodies comprising an insertion recess configured to allow at least a part of a reaction vessel to be inserted thereinto, each of the substrate and the bodies being made of a thermally conductive material (aluminum) [0030]; and a fixing unit (body 100) [0026-0032].
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses wherein the heating element comprises a planar heating element as shown in Fig 1.
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses wherein the heat block comprises 1 to 2000 bodies as shown in Fig 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nana US 2017/0266668 as applied above to claims 1-3, 6 and 9.
Regarding claim 4, Nana does not expressly disclose wherein each of a thinnest part of each body and the substrate has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 1 mm.
However, since providing each body and the substrate such that a thinnest part has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 1 mm would only require a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, a mere change in size or dimension of the device, i.e. thickness, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Nana discloses a sensor (sensor 305), in response to the heat block comprising two or more bodies, the sensor is configured to be located on the substrate (For example, in some instances, an RTD may find use in monitoring the reaction vessel temperature, e.g., by measuring the temperature at a temperature monitoring area of the thermal block that is in close proximity to the reaction vessel. ) so as to be spaced apart from the bodies [0155 and 0173].
Nana does not expressly disclose that the sensor is located between the at least two bodies. However, absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to provide the sensor between the at least two bodies, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI-C).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang KR 20130124801 as applied above to claims 1-3 and 9.
Regarding claim 4, Chang does not expressly disclose wherein each of a thinnest part of each body and the substrate has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 1 mm.
However, since providing each body and the substrate such that a thinnest part has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 1 mm would only require a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, a mere change in size or dimension of the device, i.e. thickness, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses a sensor (sensor 310) [0040].
However, Chang does not expressly disclose that the sensor is located on the substrate between the at least two bodies. Absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to provide a sensor on the substrate between the at least two bodies., since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI-C).
Conclusion
/LYDIA EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796