DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 – 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Driessen (2010/0001492), cited by Applicant. In regard to claim 1, Driessen discloses a child carrier comprising a frame or body defining an opening that is configured to support a child therein (Fig. 2, item 2), a handle coupled to the frame or body, the handle configured to transition between an extended position and a retracted position relative to the frame or body, and configured to rotate relative to the frame or body between a plurality of rotational positions (Figs. 1 and 4, items 40), a rotation lock configured to move between an unlocked position and a locked position to selectively lock the handle in each of the rotational positions (Fig. 7A, item 68), and a rotation stop configured to block the movement of the rotation lock (Fig. 7a, item 294).
In regard to claim 6, Driessen discloses wherein the rotation lock has a rotation latch that is configured to move along an axis of the handle when the rotation lock moved between the unlocked and locked positions (Fig. 7A, tip/end of item 294).
In regard to claim 7, Driessen discloses wherein the handle rotation lock comprises a locking plate, the rotation latch engages the locking plate to lock the handle in each of the plurality of rotational positions, and the rotation latch disengages from the locking plate to permit the handle to rotate relative to the frame or body (Fig. 7A, item 249).
In regard to claim 8, Driessen discloses wherein the locking plate defines a plurality of grooves or projections, and the rotation latch defines at least one projection or groove that is configured to selectively engage the grooves or projections to selectively lock the handle in each of the different rotational positions (Fig. 7A, items 291, 292, and 293).
In regard to claim 20, Driessen discloses wherein the handle has a first side bar, a second side bar, and a grab bar that extends between the first and second side bars (Fig. 2, right, left, and central portions of item 40), and the child carrier comprises first and second hubs that pivotably couple the first and second side bars, respectively, to first and second sides of the seat frame or body (Fig. 2, right and left instances of item 201).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states, “More specifically, Driessen fails to teach a rotation lock configured to move between an unlocked position and a locked position to selectively lock the handle in each of the rotational positions… However, Applicant submits that the flange 68 does not actually perform any portion of the locking operation. It simply identifies to a user where to grab and apply a force to the sleeve 66, 67.”
The Office disagrees. Item 68 is attached to/a portion of sleeve 66. As a user applies force, the movement of item 68 moves pin 294 from any of the slots 291 – 293. This allows rotation of the handle. When the force is removed, the pin is replaced into a slot, locking rotational movement of the handle. Thus, item 68 locks and unlocks rotation of the handle.
For this reason, the rejections stand.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 5 and 9 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the Double Patenting rejection is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Driessen (2010/0001492) discloses a child carrier similar to the instant invention; however Driessen, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor suggests a child carrier wherein (in regard to claim 2) movement of the handle from the extended position towards the retracted position causes the handle rotation stop to move to the released position, (in regard to claim 9) wherein the rotation latch defines a slot that receives the pivot such that the pivot translates within the slot as the rotation latch transitions between the locked position and the unlocked position, and (in regard to claim 12) an extension lock configured to move between a locked position and an unlocked position to selectively lock the handle in the retracted and extended positions and an extension stop that is configured to block movement of the handle. These limitations, in combination with each and every other independent claim limitation, are not shown in the currently cited prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D WALTERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613