Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, and 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui et al. (US 20210167470), hereinafter Matsui.
Regarding claim 1, Matsui teaches a battery comprising ([0007], Claim 1):
an electrode assembly comprising ([0007]):
electrode plates and a first layer containing an insulation material, wherein the electrode plates comprise ([0007]):
a positive electrode plate ([0007]);
a negative electrode plate ([0007]);
the negative electrode plate is located on an outermost layer of the electrode plates ([0007], Fig. 2, negative electrode 20);
the negative electrode plate comprises a first edge extending along a first direction and a second edge extending along a second direction ([0007], Fig. 2, negative electrode 20);
the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (Fig. 1-2);
the first edge is connected to the second edge by a third edge (Fig. 1-2);
the first edge intersects the third edge to form a first intersection point (Fig. 1-2);
the first layer is disposed between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate ([0007-0010]);
a housing accommodating the electrode assembly, wherein the housing comprises ([0147], housing 60):
a first metal layer and a second layer containing a polymer material ([0042], metal layer, polymer film);
the first metal layer and the second layer are stacked together ([0042], metal layer, polymer film);
the second layer is disposed closer to the electrode assembly than the first metal layer ([0042], metal layer, polymer film);
wherein the housing further comprises a first wall, a second wall, and a third wall that are connected to each other (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
the first wall is connected to the second wall by a first arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
the first wall is connected to the third wall by a second arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
the second wall is connected to the third wall by a third arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
an arc radius of the first arc wall is R1 (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
an arc radius of the second arc wall is R2 (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
a midpoint connection line of the first arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60),
a midpoint connection line of the second arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60),
a midpoint connection line of the third arc wall intersect to form a second intersection point (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
the electrode assembly further comprises (Fig. 1-2):
a first surface and a second surface disposed opposite to each other in a third direction (Fig. 1-2);
the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 1-2);
the negative electrode plate comprises a part containing the first intersection point, and an orthogonal projection of the second intersection point on the first surface or the second surface of the electrode assembly on which the part is located is a third intersection point (Fig. 1-2);
a distance L between the third intersection point and the first intersection point satisfies L ≥ 0.8(R1 + R2) (Fig. 1-2).
The particular configuration of the arc walls, the selection of their respective radii, and the positioning of the midpoint connection lines are considered matters of routine design choice in configuring the shape of the battery housing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the curvature and dimensions of the housing walls may be selected and adjusted according to desired packaging requirements, available space, structural considerations, and manufacturing constraints.
Similarly, the limitation requiring the orthogonal projection of the second intersection point onto the first or second surface of the electrode assembly to form a third intersection point, and the limitation requiring the distance L between the third intersection point and the first intersection point satisfies L ≥ 0.8(R1 + R2), are also considered matters of routine optimization and design choice.
The specific numerical relationship between L, R1, and R2 represents a dimensional and positional selection that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of determining through routine experimentation and ordinary engineering judgement. Selecting a particular distance relative to the radii of the arc walls would have been within the ordinary skill of the art when designing the housing and positioning the electrode assembly within the housing. Accordingly, such modifications constitute routine design choices that would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Matsui further teaches both a junction between the third edge and the first edge, and a junction between the third edge and the second edge, are arc-shaped transition connections (Fig. 1-2). Specifically, the drawings of Matsui depict rounded, curved transitions at the respective junctions between the third edge and the first and second edges.
Regarding claim 3, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Matsui further teaches an angle formed at a junction between the third edge and the first edge is a first obtuse angle or a first acute angle, and an angle formed at a junction between the third edge and the second edge is a second obtuse angle or a second acute angle (Fig. 1-2). Specifically, the geometry depicted in Matsui shows that the angles formed at the respective junctions are not limited to right angles and may be configured as either acute or obtuse depending on the orientation and curvature of the connecting edges.
Regarding claim 4, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Matsui further teaches:
One of a junction between the third edge and the first edge or a junction between the third edge and the second edge is an arc-shaped transition connection (Fig. 1-2);
And an angle formed at the other one of the junction between the third edge and the first edge or the junction between the third edge and the second edge is an obtuse angle or an acute angle (Fig. 1-2).
Specifically, the drawings of Matsui depict rounded, curved transitions at the respective junctions between the third edge and the first and second edges. Additionally, the geometry depicted in Matsui shows that the angles formed at the respective junctions are not limited to right angles and may be configured as either acute or obtuse depending on the orientation and curvature of the connecting edges.
Regarding claim 5, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Matsui further teaches the third edge comprises at least one of a curve or a straight line (Fig. 1-2). Specifically, the drawings of Matsui depict rounded, curved transitions at the respective junctions at the third edge.
Regarding claim 6, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Matsui further teaches:
The negative electrode plate, the first layer, and the positive electrode plate are stacked and then wound to form the electrode assembly; the electrode assembly further comprises ([0007], Fig. 2):
a first bend portion (Fig. 2);
a second bend portion (Fig. 2);
a first straight portion and a second straight portion;
the first straight portion and the second straight portion are disposed opposite to each other in the third direction (Fig. 2);
the first bend portion and the second bend portion are connected between the first straight portion and the second straight portion and disposed opposite to each other in the first direction (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Matsui teaches a winding electrode (Fig. 2). Although Fig. 2 does not expressly show the negative electrode plate immediately terminating at the second edge, the particular location at which the negative electrode plate terminates is considered a matter of routine design choice. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the winding direction and select the termination point of the negative electrode plate such that the end is located at the second edge. The positioning of the ending end is a predictable design consideration that may be selected based on the desired winding configuration, electrode dimensions, and manufacturing requirements. Modifying the winding arrangement of Matsui to position the ending end at the second edge would have involved merely selecting a particular location within a known winding configuration and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Matsui teaches a winding electrode (Fig. 2). Although Fig. 2 does not expressly show the negative electrode plate immediately terminating at the first bend portion, the particular location at which the negative electrode plate terminates is considered a matter of routine design choice. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the winding direction and select the termination point of the negative electrode plate such that the end is located at the first bend portion. The positioning of the ending end is a predictable design consideration that may be selected based on the desired winding configuration, electrode dimensions, and manufacturing requirements. Modifying the winding arrangement of Matsui to position the ending end at the first bend portion would have involved merely selecting a particular location within a known winding configuration and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Matsui teaches a winding electrode (Fig. 2). Although Fig. 2 does not expressly show the positive electrode plate immediately terminating at the first bend portion, the particular location at which the positive electrode plate terminates is considered a matter of routine design choice. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the winding direction and select the termination point of the positive electrode plate such that the end is located at the first bend portion. The positioning of the ending end is a predictable design consideration that may be selected based on the desired winding configuration, electrode dimensions, and manufacturing requirements. Modifying the winding arrangement of Matsui to position the ending end at the first bend portion would have involved merely selecting a particular location within a known winding configuration and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Matsui teaches a winding electrode (Fig. 2). Although Fig. 2 does not expressly show the first layer immediately terminating at the first bend portion, the particular location at which the first layer terminates is considered a matter of routine design choice. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the winding direction and select the termination point of the first layer such that the end is located at the first bend portion. The positioning of the ending end is a predictable design consideration that may be selected based on the desired winding configuration, electrode dimensions, and manufacturing requirements. Modifying the winding arrangement of Matsui to position the ending end at the first bend portion would have involved merely selecting a particular location within a known winding configuration and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Matsui teaches a winding electrode (Fig. 2). Although Fig. 2 does not expressly show the first intersection point is located at the first straight portion, the particular location at which the first intersection point is located is considered a matter of routine design choice. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the first intersection point and select the placement of the first intersection point such that the end is located at the first straight portion. The positioning of the intersection point is a predictable design consideration that may be selected based on the desired winding configuration, electrode dimensions, and manufacturing requirements. Modifying the winding arrangement of Matsui to position the intersection point at the first layer would have involved merely selecting a particular location within a known winding configuration and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Matsui further teaches:
The negative electrode plate comprises a second metal layer, a first conductive material layer, and a second conductive material layer (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]);
the second metal layer comprises a first face and a second face disposed opposite to each other (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]);
the negative electrode plate further comprises a starting end and an ending end disposed opposite to each other in a winding direction of the electrode assembly (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]);
the first conductive material layer is disposed continuously on the first face from the starting end of the negative electrode plate to the ending end of the negative electrode plate (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]);
the second conductive material layer is disposed continuously on the second face from the starting end of the negative electrode plate to the ending end of the negative electrode plate (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]).
Regarding claim 15, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 14, as stated above. Matsui further teaches the negative electrode plate further comprises a negative tab formed by extending the electrode plate from one side of the second metal layer ([0142]). Although Matsui may illustrate only a single negative electrode tab, providing a plurality of negative electrode tabs by extending the electrode plate from one side of the second metal layer would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Specifically, duplicating the negative electrode tab to provide a plurality of a negative electrode tab to provide a plurality of negative electrode tabs would have constituted a predictable variation of a known structure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that increasing the number of tabs is a routine design consideration in battery construction, including for providing additional electrical connections and accommodating current collection requirements.
Regarding claim 16, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 15, as stated above. Matsui further teaches:
The negative electrode plate further comprises (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]):
a first current collecting plate (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]);
the first tab group is connected to the first current collecting plate (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]);
an end of the first current collecting plate protrudes out of the housing (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]);
the end of the first current plate is an facing away from the tab group (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to bend the plurality of negative electrode tabs to form a first tab group and connect the first tab group to a first current collecting plate. When multiple tabs are provided, bending and grouping the tabs together to facilitate their connection to a common current collecting plate would have been a predictable and routine arrangement in battery manufacturing.
The particular bending configuration and positioning of the tab group within the housing would have been selected based on the available internal space, desired electrical connection, and packaging requirements. Likewise configuring and end of the first current collecting plate protrude out of the housing and face away from the tab group would have been an obvious arrangement to facilitate an external electrical connection while maintaining an appropriate internal configuration.
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Matsui to provide multiple negative electrode tabs bent and grouped together within the housing.
Regarding claim 17, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 14, as stated above. Matsui further teaches the second metal layer comprises copper ([0067], [0170]).
Regarding claim 18, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Matsui further teaches:
The positive electrode plate comprises a third metal layer, a third conductive material layer, and a fourth conductive material layer (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]);
the third metal layer comprises a third face and a fourth face disposed opposite to each other (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]);
the positive electrode plate further comprises a starting end and an ending end disposed opposite to each other in a winding direction of the electrode assembly (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]);
the third conductive material layer is disposed continuously on the third face from the starting end of the positive electrode plate to the ending end of the positive electrode plate (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]);
the fourth conductive material layer is disposed continuously on the fourth face from the starting end of the positive electrode plate to the ending end of the positive electrode plate (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]).
Regarding claim 19, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 18, as stated above. Matsui further teaches the positive electrode plate further comprises a positive tab formed by extending the electrode plate from one side of the second metal layer ([0142]). Although Matsui may illustrate only a single positive electrode tab, providing a plurality of positive electrode tabs by extending the electrode plate from one side of the second metal layer would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Specifically, duplicating the positive electrode tab to provide a plurality of a positive electrode tab to provide a plurality of positive electrode tabs would have constituted a predictable variation of a known structure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that increasing the number of tabs is a routine design consideration in battery construction, including for providing additional electrical connections and accommodating current collection requirements.
Regarding claim 20, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 19, as stated above. Matsui further teaches:
The positive electrode plate further comprises a second current collecting plate (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]);
the plurality of positive tabs are bent in the housing to form a second tab group (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]);
the second tab group is connected to the second current collecting plate (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]);
an end of the second current collecting plate protrudes out of the housing (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]);
the end of the second current collecting plate is an end facing away from the second tab group (Fig. 2, [0053-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to bend the plurality of positive electrode tabs to form a first tab group and connect the first tab group to a first current collecting plate. When multiple tabs are provided, bending and grouping the tabs together to facilitate their connection to a common current collecting plate would have been a predictable and routine arrangement in battery manufacturing.
The particular bending configuration and positioning of the tab group within the housing would have been selected based on the available internal space, desired electrical connection, and packaging requirements. Likewise configuring and end of the first current collecting plate protrude out of the housing and face away from the tab group would have been an obvious arrangement to facilitate an external electrical connection while maintaining an appropriate internal configuration.
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Matsui to provide multiple positive electrode tabs bent and grouped together within the housing.
Regarding claim 21, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 19, as stated above. Matsui teaches a battery intended for use in portable electronic devices, including mobile phones and other similar electrical devices ([0142]). Accordingly, Matsui recognizes the importance of configuring the battery dimensions to accommodate the limited internal space and packaging requirements of such devices. Although Matsui may not expressly disclose a housing thickness of 80 μm to 150 μm, selecting a housing thickness within this range would have been an obvious matter of routine design choice.
Regarding claim 22, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 19, as stated above. Matsui further teaches:
The first metal layer comprises aluminum ([0042]);
The polymer material comprises polyethylene, polypropylene, poly(ethylene-co-propylene), a modified polyethylene material, or a modified polypropylene material ([0042]).
Regarding claim 23, Matsui teaches an electronic device comprising a battery (Abstract, [0013], [0137], Claim 9):
The battery comprises (Abstract, [0013], Claim 1):
an electrode assembly comprising ([0007]):
electrode plates and a first layer containing an insulation material, wherein the electrode plates comprise ([0007]):
a positive electrode plate ([0007]);
a negative electrode plate ([0007]);
the negative electrode plate is located on an outermost layer of the electrode plates ([0007], Fig. 2, negative electrode 20);
the negative electrode plate comprises a first edge extending along a first direction and a second edge extending along a second direction ([0007], Fig. 2, negative electrode 20);
the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (Fig. 1-2);
the first edge is connected to the second edge by a third edge (Fig. 1-2);
the first edge intersects the third edge to form a first intersection point (Fig. 1-2);
the first layer is disposed between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate ([0007-0010]);
a housing accommodating the electrode assembly, wherein the housing comprises ([0147], housing 60):
a first metal layer and a second layer containing a polymer material ([0042], metal layer, polymer film);
the first metal layer and the second layer are stacked together ([0042], metal layer, polymer film);
the second layer is disposed closer to the electrode assembly than the first metal layer ([0042], metal layer, polymer film);
wherein the housing further comprises a first wall, a second wall, and a third wall that are connected to each other (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
the first wall is connected to the second wall by a first arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
the first wall is connected to the third wall by a second arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
the second wall is connected to the third wall by a third arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
an arc radius of the first arc wall is R1 (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
an arc radius of the second arc wall is R2 (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
a midpoint connection line of the first arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60),
a midpoint connection line of the second arc wall (Fig. 1-2, housing 60),
a midpoint connection line of the third arc wall intersect to form a second intersection point (Fig. 1-2, housing 60);
the electrode assembly further comprises (Fig. 1-2):
a first surface and a second surface disposed opposite to each other in a third direction (Fig. 1-2);
the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 1-2);
the negative electrode plate comprises a part containing the first intersection point, and an orthogonal projection of the second intersection point on the first surface or the second surface of the electrode assembly on which the part is located is a third intersection point (Fig. 1-2);
a distance L between the third intersection point and the first intersection point satisfies L ≥ 0.8(R1 + R2) (Fig. 1-2).
The particular configuration of the arc walls, the selection of their respective radii, and the positioning of the midpoint connection lines are considered matters of routine design choice in configuring the shape of the battery housing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the curvature and dimensions of the housing walls may be selected and adjusted according to desired packaging requirements, available space, structural considerations, and manufacturing constraints.
Similarly, the limitation requiring the orthogonal projection of the second intersection point onto the first or second surface of the electrode assembly to form a third intersection point, and the limitation requiring the distance L between the third intersection point and the first intersection point satisfies L ≥ 0.8(R1 + R2), are also considered matters of routine optimization and design choice.
The specific numerical relationship between L, R1, and R2 represents a dimensional and positional selection that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of determining through routine experimentation and ordinary engineering judgement. Selecting a particular distance relative to the radii of the arc walls would have been within the ordinary skill of the art when designing the housing and positioning the electrode assembly within the housing. Accordingly, such modifications constitute routine design choices that would have yielded predictable results.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui, in view of Hwang et al (US 20090092889), hereinafter Hwang.
Regarding claim 12, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Matsui teaches a first layer ([0007-0010], separator).
Hwang teaches a ceramic separator between the first and second electrode ([0059-0061]).
Matsui and Hwang are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate both insulating layers to obtain the combined advantages of each layer. Specifically, the arrangement would provide the electrical insulation benefits of the separator taught by Matsui while also obtaining the additional thermal stability and heat resistance associated with the ceramic insulating layer taught by Hwang. Combining these known insulating materials would provide addition protection against electrical short circuits and improve the overall safety and reliability of the battery.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui, in view of Kim et al (CN 104009258), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 13, Matsui teaches the limitations of claim 11, as stated above. Matsui teaches a first layer ([0007-0010], separator).
Kim teaches separator and a surface of the separator (first layer) is covered with a coating ([0012]).
Matsui and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the separator of Matsui to include the coating taught by Kim. The motivation to combine would be to provide the separator of improved thermal stability, enhanced insulation between the positive and negative electrode plates, and improved battery safety.
Conclusion
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776