DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This is a non-final rejection in response to the applicant's remarks and amendment filed on 06/27/2024. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are cancelled and claim(s) 21-40 is/are new. Accordingly claims 21-40 are examined herein.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that claim(s) 21-40 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details). For apparatuses, the claim limitations will define structural limitations (See MPEP 2114-2115) or functional limitations properly recited (See MPEP 2173.05 (g)).
Examiner notes that the term “about” in claim 25 is examined below in light of the specification according to [0020]: as ±10% of the specified amount or value .
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 25 contains a typographical error in regard to the word “the the movable” in the body of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
New matter:
Claims 21-29, 34 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 is not an original claim as it was added on 06/27/2024. Claim 21 recites the newly added limitation “the controller configured to cause the movable surface to translate the first layer of heated material in a horizontal direction away from the nozzle while maintaining the horizontally-fixed plate in a fixed position” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant has not pointed out where the newly added limitation is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation “the controller configured to cause the movable surface to translate the first layer of heated material in a horizontal direction away from the nozzle while maintaining the horizontally-fixed plate in a fixed position” in the application as filed. See MPEP §§ 2163.04 and 2163.06.
Claim(s) 22-29 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 21 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim 34 is not an original claim as it was added on 06/27/2024. Claim 34 recites the newly added limitation “the controller configured to control the conveyor to translate the first layer of heated material in a horizontal direction away from the nozzle while maintaining a position of the fixed build plate” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant has not pointed out where the newly added limitation is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation “control the conveyor to translate the first layer of heated material in a horizontal direction away from the nozzle while maintaining a position of the fixed build plate” in the application as filed. See MPEP §§ 2163.04 and 2163.06.
Claim 38 is not an original claim as it was added on 06/27/2024. Claim 38 recites the newly added limitation “control the portion of the build platform to move horizontally while maintaining a position of the fixed build plate” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant has not pointed out where the newly added limitation is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation “control the portion of the build platform to move horizontally while maintaining a position of the fixed build plate” in the application as filed. See MPEP §§ 2163.04 and 2163.06.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susnjara (US 2018/0222118 – of record) in view of King (US 2022/0266342) and Nakamura (JP 2020/151986 with English Machine Translation Attached).
Regarding claim 21, Susnjara teaches an additive manufacturing system (1) (see Fig. 1; [0021]) comprising:
an extruder (61) configured to receive and heat a material (see [0032]);
a nozzle (51) fluidly connected to the extruder for depositing the heated material (see Figs. 1-2; [0016-0017] and [0028]);
a horizontally-fixed plate (42) positioned adjacent to the nozzle (see Fig. 4;[0042]);
a movable surface (i.e. upper surface of movable conveyor belts (38 and /or 48) for receiving the deposited material (see Fig. 4; [0042-0043]); and
a controller operably coupled to the extruder (see [0027]); the controller configured to:
control the extruder to deposit a first layer of the heated material (first layer of molten bead (44)) from the nozzle (51) onto the movable surface (see Fig. 4; [0027], [0031], [0044] and [0058]),
cause the movable surface (upper surface of movable conveyor belts (38 and/or 48)) to translate the first layer of heated material in a horizontal direction away from the nozzle (see Fig. 4; [0042] and [0044]),
Susnjara does not teach that the controller configured for maintaining the horizontally-fixed plate in a fixed position.
In the same field endeavor, 3D printing systems, King teaches an additive manufacturing system (100) (see Fig. 1), includes a printing head (102), a six axis robotic arm (104) for holding a substantially planar printing substrate (105) and a control computer (118) is configured to transmit position control signals (120) to a robotic arm (104) to position and orient substrate (105) at any 3D position/orientation (see Fig. 1; [0084], [0092]); and the controller configured to control the position the substrate is maintained stationary in a fixed mount (see [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Susnjara in view of King with combining the movable surface with the controlled fixed substrate plane as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of king above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide a system that offers both flexibility of movable build platform and the stability of a fixed reference plane.
Susnjara in view of King further teaches control the extruder to deposit a second layer of heated material (44) onto the first layer to form a desired article (see [0018], [0052] and [0054] of Susnjara), but Susnjara in view of King does not teach control the extruder to deposit a second layer of heated material onto the first layer to form to form at least part of a hollow article.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing apparatus, Nakamura teaches a 3D shaped object production apparatus (10) (see Fig. 1; [0018] of English Machine Translation attached), comprises
a head part (50) that ejects a melt (92) obtained by heating a thermoplastic material (91) from a nozzle (52), a movable table (20) configured to receive the molten material (92) from the nozzle; a rotation mechanism (30) that rotates the table (20) (see Fig. 1;[0018-0020] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura); and a controller (80) configured to control the nozzle and the movable table to form a hollow article (100) with a hollow interior that is entirely enclosed by the deposited material (i.e. without depositing any support material) (Fig. 1 and Figs. 5-6; [0006], [0014], [0018], [0024], [0033] and [0043] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Susnjara in view of Nakamura by configuring the controller control the extruder to deposit a second layer of heated material onto the first layer to form to form at least part of a hollow article as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Nakamura above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would allow for easily producing a hollow shaped object without using a support material (see [0014] of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 22, Susnjara in view of King and Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the movable surface is part of a conveyance means that comprises a conveyor belt (38) (see Figs. 3-4; [0014] and [0031] of Susnjara).
Regarding claim 26, Susnjara in view of King and Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the horizontally-fixed plate (42) is configured to cool the heated material (see Fig. 4;[0042] of Susnjara).
Regarding claim 27, Susnjara in view of King and Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the controller (80) is further configured to control the extruder (head part 50) and the movable surface (i.e. upper surface of movable table (20)) to form the hollow article (100) with a hollow interior that is entirely enclosed by the deposited material (see Figs. 7-9; [0006], [0014], [0018], [0024], [0027] and [0043] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 28, Susnjara in view of King and Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the controller (80) is further configured to control the extruder (head part 50) and the movable surface (i.e. upper surface of movable table (20)) to form the hollow article (100) without depositing any support material interior to the hollow article (Fig. 1 and Figs. 5-6; [0006], [0014], [0018], [0024], [0027] and [0043] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 29, Susnjara in view of King and Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, further comprising a melt pump (gear pump 74) fluidly connected between the extruder (61) and the nozzle (51), wherein the controller is further configured to control the melt pump to selectively deliver the heated material from the extruder to the nozzle (see Fig. 2; [0027], [0032] and [0058] of Susnjara).
Claim(s) 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susnjara (US 2018/0222118) in view of King (US 2022/0266342) and Nakamura (JP 2020/151986 with English Machine Translation attached) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Isobe (US 2019/0240903 – of record).
Regarding claim 23, Susnjara in view of King and Nakamura teaches the additive manufacturing system as discussed in claim 21 above.
Susnjara further teaches wherein the movable surface (upper surface of conveyor belt (38)) is part of a conveyance means (conveyor belt (38)) (see Fig. 4; [0042-0043] of Susnjara). However, Susnjara does not teach the conveyance means comprises an angled plate.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, Isobe teaches a three-dimensional shaping device,
comprising an extruder (9) configured to receive/heat material; a nozzle (2a) for depositing heated material on an angled plate (3a) that is part of a moving mean (rotation unit (6)) (see Fig. 1, Figs. 5-8; [0052], [0059], [0063] and [0068]). Isobe further teaches that tilting the angled table (3a) will allow for producing a 3D object having a complicated shape by having the shaping table tilted relative to the discharge head (see [0013] of Isobe).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Susnjara in view of Isobe with an angled plate as part of conveyance means as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Isobe above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would allow for producing a 3D object having a complicated shape (see [0013] of Isobe).
Regarding claim 24, Susnjara in view of King, Nakamura and Isobe teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the angled plate (3) forms an acute angle with the horizontal direction (see Figs. 6-8; [0059-0063] of Isobe).
Regarding claim 25, Susnjara in view of King and Nakamura teaches the additive manufacturing system as discussed in claim 21 above.
Susnjara does not teach that the movable surface is an angled plate that forms an angle of about 45 degrees with the horizontal direction.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, Isobe teaches a three-dimensional shaping device,
comprising an extruder (9) configured to receive/heat material; a nozzle (2a) for depositing heated material on an angled plate (3a) that is moved by a moving mean (rotation unit 6); wherein the angled plate forms an angle of about 45 degrees with the horizontal direction (see Fig. 1, Figs. 7-8; [0052], [0059], [0063] and [0068]). Isobe further teaches that tilting the angled table (3a) will allow for producing a 3D object having a complicated shape by having the shaping table tilted relative to the discharge head (see [0013] of Isobe).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Susnjara in view of Isobe with an angled plate that forms an angle of about 45 degrees with the horizontal direction as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Isobe above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would allow for producing a 3D object having a complicated shape (see [0013] of Isobe).
Claim(s) 30-33, 35-37 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susnjara (US 2018/0222118 – of record) in view of Nakamura (JP 2020/151986 with English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 30, Susnjara teaches an additive manufacturing system (1) (see Fig. 1; [0021]) comprising:
an extruder (61) for heating a material (see Fig. 1; [0032]);
a melt pump (74) fluidly connected to the extruder (61) for receiving the heated material (see Fig. 2; [0032] and [0041]);
a nozzle (51) fluidly connected to the melt pump for depositing the heated material (see Figs. 2-3; [0032]);
a conveyor (conveyor belt (38)) positioned to receive the heated material deposited from the nozzle (see Figs. 3-4; [0033], [0044] and [0053]); and
a controller operably coupled to the extruder, the melt pump, and the conveyor (see [0027]), the controller capable to be configured to:
control the extruder and the melt pump to deposit a first layer of the heated material from the nozzle (see Fig. 5; [0027], [0041] and [0044]);
control the conveyor to translate the first layer of heated material in a horizontal direction away from the nozzle (see Fig. 5; [0027] and [0053-0054]); and
control the extruder and the melt pump to deposit additional layers of heated material onto the first layer to produce a desired article (see Fig. 5 [0017-0018], [0027], [0052] and [0054] of Susnjara), but, Susnjara does not teach control the extruder and melt pump to deposit additional layers of heated material onto the first layer to form at least part of a hollow article.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing apparatus, Nakamura teaches a 3D shaped object production apparatus (10) (see Fig. 1; [0018] of English Machine Translation attached), comprises a head part (50) that ejects a melt (92) obtained by heating a thermoplastic material (91) from a nozzle (52), a movable table (20) configured to receive the molten material (92) from the nozzle; a rotation mechanism (30) that rotates the table (20) (see Fig. 1; [0018-0020] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura); and a controller (80) configured to control the nozzle and the movable table to form a hollow article (100) with a hollow interior that is entirely enclosed by the deposited material (i.e. without depositing any support material) (Fig. 1 and Figs. 5-6; [0006], [0014], [0018], [0024], [0033] and [0043] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Susnjara in view of Nakamura by configuring the controller to control the extruder and melt pump to deposit additional layers of heated material onto the first layer to form at least part of a hollow article as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Nakamura above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would allow for easily producing a hollow shaped object without using a support material (see [0014] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 31, Susnjara in view of Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the controller is further configured to control the extruder (61) and the melt pump (74) to deposit the additional layers of heated material capable to form the hollow object with an enclosed hollow interior (see Figs. 2-3 and Fig. 5; [0027], [0044] and [0053-0054] of Susnjara; and [0006] and [0014] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 32, Susnjara in view of Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the controller is further configured to control the extruder (61) and the melt pump (74) (see Fig. 2; [0017], [0027], [0032] and [0058] of Susnjara) and Nakamura discloses the controller control the extruder to form the hollow object without depositing any support material in a hollow interior of the hollow object (100) (see Fig. 1 and Figs. 5-6; [0006], [0014], [0018], [0024], [0027] and [0043] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 33, Susnjara in view of Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, further comprising a heater configured to heat the material in the extruder (i.e. the extruder (61) configured to heat/melt the plastic material, thus, the extruder inherently has a heater to form the molten plastic material) (see Fig. 2; [0032] of Susnjara). Nakamura also discloses a heater (53) configured to heat the material in the head part (50) (see Fig. 1; [0019-0021] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 35, Susnjara in view of Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the controller capable to further be configured to control the extruder (61) and the melt pump (74) to deposit a final layer of heated material (i.e. applicator head (43) continuously depositing layers of molten material (44), and any necessary subsequent layers, until the desired article is completely printed) (see Fig. 2; [0027], [0032], [0041], [0044] and [0054] of Susnjara) to seal the hollow object (100) (see Figs. 6-9; [0033] and [0042-0044] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura), and control the conveyor (38) to translate the sealed hollow object completely off a fixed build plate (42) (see Fig. 4; [0027], [0042-0044] and [0054]).
Regarding claim 36, Susnjara teaches an additive manufacturing system comprising:
a material supply unit (see annotated Fig. 3 below);
an extruder (61) receiving material from the supply unit (see Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 3 below; [0032]);
a nozzle (51) receiving heated material (44) from the extruder and depositing the heated material (see Fig. 2; [0032]);
a build platform (horizontal worktable (27) and work table (37)) (see Fig. 1; [0029] and [0033]); and
a controller operably coupled to the extruder (see [0027] and claim 1), the controller configured to:
control the extruder to deposit a first layer of heated material from the nozzle (51) onto a portion (conveyor 38) of the build platform (see [0013], [0027] and [0044]);
control the portion of the build platform (37) to move horizontally away from the nozzle, thereby translating the first layer of heated material horizontally (see [0027], [0044] and [0052]); and control the extruder to deposit multiple additional layers of heated material (44) onto the first layer to form a desired article (see Fig. 5; [0027], [0044] and [0052-0054]), but, Susnjara does not explicitly teach control the extruder and melt pump to form a hollow part.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing apparatus, Nakamura teaches a 3D shaped object production apparatus (10) (see Fig. 1; [0018] of English Machine Translation attached), comprises a head part (50) that ejects a melt (92) obtained by heating a thermoplastic material (91) from a nozzle (52), a movable table (20) configured to receive the molten material (92) from the nozzle; a rotation mechanism (30) that rotates the table (20) (see Fig. 1;[0018-0020] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura); and a controller (80) configured to control the nozzle and the movable table to form a hollow article (100) with a hollow interior that is entirely enclosed by the deposited material (i.e. without depositing any support material) (Fig. 1 and Figs. 5-6; [0006], [0014], [0018], [0024], [0033] and [0043] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Susnjara in view of Nakamura by configuring the controller to control the extruder and melt pump to deposit additional layers of heated material onto the first layer to form a hollow part as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Nakamura above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would allow for easily producing a hollow shaped object without using a support material (see [0014] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 37, Susnjara in view of Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the portion of the build platform (27, 37) includes a conveyor (38) configured to receive at least a portion of the deposited heated material (44) (see Fig. 4; [0044] and [0053-0054] of Susnjara).
Regarding claim 39, Susnjara in view of Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the controller is further configured to control the extruder (61) to deposit the multiple additional layers to form the hollow part with an enclosed hollow interior (see Figs. 2-3 and Fig. 5; [0027], [0044] and [0053-0054] of Susnjara).
Regarding claim 40, Susnjara in view of Nakamura further teaches the additive manufacturing system, wherein the controller is further configured to control the extruder to deposit the multiple additional layers (see Figs. 2-4; [0017], [0027], [0032] and [0058] of Susnjara) without depositing any support material in a hollow interior of the part (100) (see Figs. 5-9; [0006], [0014], [0018], [0024], [0027] and [0043] of English Machine Translation attached of Nakamura).
Claim(s) 34 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susnjara (US 2018/0222118) in view of Nakamura (JP 2020/151986 with English Machine Translation attached) as applied to claims 30 and 36 above, and further in view of King (US 2022/0266342).
Regarding claim 34, Susnjara in view of Nakamura teaches the additive manufacturing system as discussed in claim 30 above.
Susnjara further teaches the additive manufacturing system, further comprising:
a fixed build plate (42) adjacent to the nozzle (51) (see Fig. 4; [0042-0043]), wherein the controller is further configured to:
control the extruder (61) and the melt pump (74) to deposit a first layer of the heated material from the nozzle partially onto the fixed build plate (molten beads 44 rests on top of chill plate 42) (see Figs. 2-4; [0032] and [0042]) and
control the conveyor (38) to translate the first layer of heated material in a horizontal direction away from the nozzle (51) (see Fig. 4; [0042] and [0044]). However, Susnjara in view of Nakamura does not explicitly teach that the controller configured for maintaining a position of the fixed build plate.
In the same field endeavor, 3D printing systems, King teaches an additive manufacturing system (100) (see Fig. 1), includes a printing head (102), a six axis robotic arm (104) for holding a substantially planar printing substrate (105) and a control computer (118) is configured to transmit position control signals (120) to a robotic arm (104) to position and orient substrate (105) at any 3D position/orientation (see Fig. 1; [0084], [0092]); and the controller configured to control the position the substrate is maintained stationary in a fixed amount (see [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Susnjara in view of King with combining the movable surface with the controller configured for maintaining a position of the fixed build plate as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of King above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide a system that offers both flexibility of movable build platform and the stability of a fixed reference plane.
Regarding claim 38, Susnjara in view of Nakamura teaches the additive manufacturing system as discussed in claim 36 above.
Susnjara further teaches, wherein the build platform (27,38) further comprises a fixed build plate (42) positioned adjacent to the nozzle (51) and a worktable (38) situated adjacent to the fixed build plate, and wherein the controller is further configured to:
control the extruder to deposit a portion of the first layer of heated material (44) from the nozzle onto the fixed build platform (see Figs. 4-5; [0042], [0044] and [0053]); and
control the portion (38) of the build platform to move horizontally (see Fig. 4;[0053-0054]). However, Susnjara in view of Nakamura does not explicitly teach the controller configured for maintaining a position of the fixed build plate.
In the same field endeavor, 3D printing systems, King teaches an additive manufacturing system (100) (see Fig. 1), includes a printing head (102), a six axis robotic arm (104) for holding a substantially planar printing substrate (105) and a control computer (118) is configured to transmit position control signals (120) to a robotic arm (104) to position and orient substrate (105) at any 3D position/orientation (see Fig. 1; [0084], [0092]); and the controller configured to control the position the substrate is maintained stationary in a fixed mount (see [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Susnjara in view of King with combining the movable surface with the controller configured for maintaining a position of the fixed build plate as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of King above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide a system that offers both flexibility of movable build platform and the stability of a fixed reference plane.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Graham (US 2022/0104530 A1) teaches 3-dimensional (3D) food product printing system (see Fig. 1), comprises an extruder (14) for extruding food product to support the additive manufacturing food product process, a transport system (16) for providing a print platform (18) to receive additive deposition and a controller to control the print platform remains stationary (see Fig. 1; [0025] and [0043-0044]).
Voris (US 2016/0067740 A1) teaches 3D printer (400) configured to one embodiment of the description to perform 3D printing without the need for printing an additional support structure for overhanging elements of a 3D object (see Fig. 4;[0048]).
/MOHAMED K AHMED ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 1743