Election/Restrictions
Claims 1 and 12-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/6/26. Examiner notes applicants amendment to change claims 2-5 to depend from the elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the cross-section”" and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This claim has been amended from claim 6 which does not claim “a cross-section”. This appears to be error in changing the claim to depend from claim 6 directly instead of from claim 2. The claim will be examined as depending form claim 2, in which case the term is properly written.
The term “substantially” in claims 4 and 8-9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One skilled in the art would not know how close or what variance would read on the claim limitation as neither the claim or the specification provide a clear range/variation for the term.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase " optionally " renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by " optionally "), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). This terminology makes it unclear if the “optionally” elements are required. The claim will be examined as everything covered by “optionally” being unrequired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 10-11, and 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. in view of Rew et al. (U.S. Patent 5,628,362).
Regarding claim 6, Wright teaches a layer (element 100) for a heat exchanger (element 1), the layer comprising: an inlet (element 101); an outlet (element 102);an upper sheet (at element 104); a lower sheet (at element 103); a fluid flowpath defined between the upper sheet and lower sheet and from the inlet to the outlet (”cold channel”); and
at least one pin (stacked elements 120) disposed in the flowpath and connecting the upper sheet to the lower sheet (per fig. 11 and 12), wherein the pin comprises: a first end (edge facing flow direction); a second end (end facing away from flow); and an outer surface between the first and second ends (shown in fig. 10-12).
Wright does not teach a plurality of indentations are provided in the outer surface and a plurality of protrusions are formed to protrude from the outer surface. Rew taches a heat exchange surface having a plurality of indentations are provided in the outer surface and a plurality of protrusions are formed to protrude from the outer surface (per fig. 9 the dimples are both protruding and indenting). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Wright pins to include the protrusions and indentations of Rew, the motivation would be to improve the thermal transfer (Col. 4 ln 29-54).
Regarding claim 7, Wright teaches a plurality of said at least one pin (per fig. 10-12).
Regarding claim 8, Wright teaches the layer defining an inflow path from the inlet (per fig. 10), and an outflow path to the outlet (per fig. 10), the inflow path and the outflow path being separated in the layer by a separation bar (divider shown in fig. 10), the inflow path and the outflow path each having a plurality of said pins (per fig. 10), the layer further comprising a plurality of turning vanes to turn the direction of flow from the inflow path by substantially 180 degrees to the outflow path (elements 130).
Regarding claim 10, Wright teaches a heat exchanger (element 1) comprising:
a first layer and a second layer (per fig. 1, made of stacks of elements 101/102); wherein one or both of the first and second layers is a layer according to claim 6 (per rejection above); and wherein the upper sheet of the second layer is also the lower sheet of the first layer (per fig. 1).
11. (Original) The heat exchanger according to claim 10, wherein the number of pins disposed in the flowpath of the first layer (cold layer 100) is different from the number of pins (elements 220) disposed in the flowpath of the second layer (hot layer 200).
Regarding claim 2, Wright teaches the pin has a cross-section that tapers from an inlet side of the pin to an outlet side of the pin (per fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3, Wright teaches the cross- section is a rounded triangular shape (per fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Rew teaches the indentations have a substantially circular concave shape or the protrusions have a substantially circular convex shape (per fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Wright pins to include the protrusions and indentations of Rew, the motivation would be to improve the thermal transfer (Col. 4 ln 29-54).
Regarding claim 5, Rew further teaches the indentations are arranged in one or more rows and the protrusions are arranged in one or more rows (per fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Wright pins to include the protrusions and indentations of Rew, the motivation would be to improve the thermal transfer (Col. 4 ln 29-54).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al. in view of Rew et al. (U.S. Patent 5,628,362), and further view of .
Regarding claim 9, Wright teaches a second plurality of turning vanes to turn the direction of flow by a further 90 degrees to the outflow path (elements 130, fig. 10). Wright does not teach the plurality of turning vanes includes a first plurality of vanes to turn the direction of flow from the inflow path by substantially 90 degrees.
Wei teaches the plurality of turning vanes includes a first plurality of vanes to turn the direction of flow from the inflow path by substantially 90 degrees (elements 40 in first part of communication section). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Wright to include the turning vanes in the inflow path as claimed, the motivation would be to control pressure (para. 0044).
Double Patenting
Claim 2-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of patent 12,504,239. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fisk (U.S. Patent 4,300,481) and Usui (JP2004-317060) both teach heat exchanger tube inserts for the outlet side of the pipes.
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763