DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are examined and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 16, 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan et al. (U.S. 2018/0324090 A1, hereinafter “Duncan”) in view of Li et al. (SPRING Working Group Internet-Draft, Compressed SRv6 Network programming, dated 08/28/2020)
As to claims 1 and 16, Duncan discloses A method implemented by an ingress network node in a segment routing (SR) multicast domain along a point-to-multipoint (P2MP) path, comprising:
receiving a packet from a traffic source (para. [0008]; discloses receiving a multicast flow );
encapsulating the packet with a segment routing header (SRH) that includes a sub-tree of the P2MP path through the SR multicast domain (para. [0004]; discloses segment routing being performed by applying a routing extension header. Para [0008], [0065]; discloses source nodes are used to construct source routed trees that define broadcast paths that illustrate P2MP tree for a multicast label in segment routing domain that are similar to the “P2MP path recited in limitation. The multicast flow is also assigned a segment identifier (SID) ),
sending the packet toward a next hop network node based on the SID of the SRH (para. [0086]; discloses traffic is transmitted toward a node using LSP based on SID and representing the link towards the next hop on each node).
However Duncan does not explicitly disclose the method wherein packet includes a reduced multicast segment identifier (rSID) for a link.
In an analogous art, Li discloses the method wherein the packet includes a reduced multicast segment identifier (rSID) for a link (page 3, 3. Compressed SID (C-SID); discloses including a C-SID in the compressed SRH header of the packet);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify IPv6 packet in Duncan by incorporating a Compressed SID in the packet to be transmitted in the network as taught by Li in order to help reduce the overhead of the SRH to prevent the packet from being dropped due to its size (see Li, page 3, paragraph 2)
As to claim 3, Duncan-Li discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising setting a destination address (DA) of the packet to include: a multicast segment identifier (SID) locator of the next hop network node along the sub-tree and the rSID for the link along the sub-tree (page 4, 4. Compressed Segment routing header; discloses IPv6 DA with C-SID), wherein the rSID includes a link number (Link- No) of the link along the sub-tree (Page 4, Figure 2, “Locator”), a number of branches (N-Branches) of the next hop network node along the sub-tree, and a size of rSIDs (S-rSIDs) for rSIDs starting from an rSID for a first link from the next hop network node along the sub-tree (Pages 4 and 5, Figure 2 and Figure 3).
As to claim 8, Duncan-Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the SRH includes a segment left (SL) set to a number of normal segments used for a size of rSIDs (S-rSIDs) field in the rSID for the link along the sub-tree and rSIDs for links for sub-trees from the next hop network node along the P2MP path, and wherein each of the normal segments comprises 16 bytes (Li, page 5-6, Figure 3; discloses SRH includes segment list size of 16 bytes for the C-tag indicates the length of the C-SID ) .
As to claim 18, Duncan-Li discloses the ingress network node of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to set a destination address (DA) of the packet to include: a multicast segment identifier (SID) locator of the next hop network node along the sub-tree, and the rSID for the link along the sub-tree (Li, page 4, 4. Compressed Segment routing header; discloses IPv6 DA with C-SID), wherein the rSID includes a link number (Link-No) of the link along the sub-tree (Li, Page 4, Figure 2, “Locator”), a number of branches (N-Branches) of the next hop network node along the sub-tree, and a size of rSIDs (S-rSIDs) for rSIDs starting from an rSID for a first link from the next hop network node along the sub-tree (Li, Pages 4 and 5, Figure 2 and Figure 3).
As to claim 23, Duncan-Li discloses the ingress network node of claim 16, wherein the SRH includes a segment left (SL) set to a number of normal segments used for a size of rSIDs (S-rSIDs) in the rSID for the link along the sub-tree and rSIDs for links for sub-trees from the next hop network node along the P2MP path, and wherein each of the normal segments comprises 16 bytes (Li, page 5-6, Figure 3; discloses SRH includes segment list size of 16 bytes for the C-tag indicates the length of the C-SID ) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15, 24-30 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
None of the prior art of record discloses, alone or in combination, the method wherein receiving a packet with a segment routing header (SRH) and a destination address (DA), wherein the SRH includes sub-trees from the transit network node, and wherein the DA includes a multicast segment identifier (SID) locator of the transit network node, a number of branches (N-Branches) field with a value indicating a number of the sub-trees from the transit network node, and a size of a reduced multicast segment identifiers (S-rSIDs) field with a value indicating a start of the sub-trees; duplicating the packet to generate a copy of the packet for each of the sub-trees, wherein a sub-tree of the sub-trees includes a reduced multicast segment identifier (rSID) for a link along the sub-tree; and sending the copy of the packet toward a next hop network node based on the rSID.
Claims 2, 4-7,17, 19-22, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Previdi et al. (U.S. 2015/0256456 A1) discloses a system and method are disclosed for using segment routing (SR) in native IP networks. The method involves receiving a packet. The packet is an IP packet and includes an IP header. The method also involves updating the packet. Updating the packet involves writing information, including a segment routing segment identifier, to the destination address of the packet.
/JOE CHACKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457