Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 26th and November 20th of 2024, and August 1st, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 Line 1: “A collaborative robot (1, 2) for carrying out a method […]” should be revised to “A collaborative robot (1, 2) for carrying out the method […]”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are: “by means of a camera” and “by means of a projector” in claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cabrera et al. (“MaskBot: Real-time Robotic Projection Mapping with Head Motion Tracking”), herein “Cabrera”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Cabrera discloses a collaborative robot and method for operating a collaborative robot (1, 2), wherein the collaborative robot (1, 2) monitors a spatial region (16) by means of a camera (14, 31) and wherein the collaborative robot (1, 2) projects information into a projection region (15), which is at least a partial region of the spatial region (16) monitored by the camera (14, 31), by means of a projector (13, 32) which has a fixed geometric relationship with the camera (14, 31) (See Fig. 1 shown below and Abstract, “[…] real-time projection mapping system guided by a 6 Degrees of Freedom (DoF) collaborative robot. The collaborative robot locates the projector and camera in front of the user’s face to increase the projection area and reduce the system’s latency. A webcam is used to detect the face orientation and to measure the robot-user distance. Based on this information we modify the projection size and orientation. MaskBot projects different images on the user’s face” See also Section 2, “[…] webcam and projector are attached to the robot’s end-effector […] the robot moves towards the human face. In parallel, the projection algorithm lays an image on the particular area of the face […] the system is able to change the projection plane and to produce projection on other objects.” Examiner notes the projection surface of the projector is on the human face, where the camera’s field of view resides, meaning the projection region is always within at least a partial region of the spatial region monitored by the camera. Furthermore, the camera and projector are rigidly mounted on a common bracket attached to the robot’s end-effector, thus preserving a fixed geometric relationship).
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, Cabrera further discloses the collaborative robot and method according to claims 1 and 10, characterized in that the camera (14, 31) and the projector (13, 23) are moved together during operation of the collaborative robot (1, 2) with a component which is movably arranged on the collaborative robot (1, 2) and on which the camera (14, 31) and the projector (13, 32) are fixedly arranged in order to define the fixed geometric relationship between the projector (13, 32) and the camera (14,31) (See Abstract and Section 2 as referenced above, along with Fig. 1 shown above. Examiner notes the camera and projector are fixedly arranged on the end-effector of the robot arm; so that when the arm moves, the camera-projector pair moves together, thus maintaining alignment).
Regarding Claim 4, Cabrera further discloses the method according to claim 2, characterized in that the operating parameters of the projector (13, 32) are changed by the controller of the collaborative robot (1, 2) in such a way that the focus and/or the location onto which the projector (13, 32) projects the information are maintained even when the robot (1, 2) and/or a movable part of the robot (1, 2) on which the camera (14, 31) and the projector (13, 32) are arranged have moved (See Section 1, “[…] increases the projection area avoiding any distortion caused by the user head mis-alignment. The technology behind this project is a Computer Vision(CV) algorithm and a 6 DoF collaborative robot, which controls the orientation of the projector and the camera regardless of the user’s head posture. The position of the human head is tracked with a webcam. When human moves the head, the robotic projector always pursues the human face and emits light towards the user’s skin.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Cabrera further discloses the method according to claim 1, characterized in that the information projected by the projector (13, 32) includes information about an upcoming action of the collaborative robot (1, 2) (See Abstract, “MaskBot projects different images on the user’s face, such as face modifications, make-up, and logos.” See also Section 3, “[…] using face landmark detection […] landmarks are detected on the user’s face. These points are used to locate different objects on the face and to fit on the user’s face […] a camera-projector calibration is going to be carried. A series of masks will be projected on the face.” Examiner notes the collaborative robot method of using detected landmarks on a user’s face to determine a series of masks to be projected onto the user’s face is the same as information about an upcoming action of the collaborative robot).
Regarding Claim 8, Cabrera further discloses the method according to claim 1, characterized in that the information projected by the projector (13, 32) includes safety-relevant information (See Section 1, “The collaborative robot safety protocols (collision detection, force, and speed limitation) guarantee secure human-robot interaction.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Cabrera further discloses the method according to claim 1, characterized in that the information projected by the projector (13, 32) depends on the result of an evaluation of the camera image (See Abstract as referenced above, along with “[…] webcam is used to detect the face orientation and to measure the robot-user distance. Based on this information we modify the projection size and orientation.” Examiner notes this supports camera feedback as the basis for driving projection adjustments).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cabrera et al. (“MaskBot: Real-time Robotic Projection Mapping with Head Motion Tracking”) in view of Lonn (EP Patent Pub. No. 2 052 551 B1).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Cabrera discloses the collaborative robot and method according to claims 1 and 10, but does not explicitly disclose the method characterized in that a controller of the collaborative robot (1, 2) adapts operating parameters or image data for the projector (13, 23) on the basis of data from the camera image and/or adapts operating data or image data from the camera (14, 31) on the basis of information projected by the projector (13, 32).
Lonn, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a controller of the collaborative robot (1, 2) adapts operating parameters or image data for the projector (13, 23) on the basis of data from the camera image and/or adapts operating data or image data from the camera (14, 31) on the basis of information projected by the projector (13, 32) (See 0042-0043, “[…] a device may include a projector; a camera to capture a picture of a surface; and logic to receive the picture, and adjust a setting of the projector based on the received picture […] a projector includes a camera to capture a picture of an image as it is being projected onto a surface by the projector; and logic to receive the image and the captured picture, compare a feature of the image to a feature of the captured picture, and automatically adjusting an output of the projector when the feature of the captured picture does not substantially match the feature of the image.”).
In view of Lonn’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the collaborative robot control method sensing user positions and distance using camera data as disclosed by Cabrera, the method to involve adjustment of projection parameters using camera feedback, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the control method and robot already includes the necessary components into a responsive projection system, and including parameter adjustment based on image data from the camera enhances the precision of the resulting projections as the user or robot moves.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cabrera et al. (“MaskBot: Real-time Robotic Projection Mapping with Head Motion Tracking”) in view of Lonn (EP Patent Pub. No. 2 052 551 B1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2009/0245690 A1), herein “Li”.
Regarding Claim 5, Cabrera in combination with Lonn teaches the method according to claim 3, but does not explicitly teach the method characterized in that the image evaluation of the images from the camera (14, 31) is calibrated or refined by the controller of the collaborative robot (1, 2) on the basis of an evaluation of images and/or structured light beams projected by the projector (13, 32) into the spatial region monitored by the camera (14, 31).
Li, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the image evaluation of the images from the camera (14, 31) is calibrated or refined by the controller of the collaborative robot (1, 2) on the basis of an evaluation of images and/or structured light beams projected by the projector (13, 32) into the spatial region monitored by the camera (14, 31) (See 0011, “[…] system comprises a projector for projecting a light pattern onto an object in a scene, a camera for obtaining an image of said object, and a computer for controlling the vision system, wherein the computer implements a self-recalibration method. Further, the self-recalibration method comprises defining a camera plane and a projector plane, computing a Homography matrix between the camera plane and the projector plane, and determining a translation vector and a rotation matrix from Homography-based constraints.” Examiner notes the camera-projector pairing is able to refine alignment using structured-light calibration through parameter adjustments based on a calculated matrix using two planes).
In view of Li’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the collaborative robot control method comprising the camera and projector able to adapt operating parameters based on camera data or projection information as disclosed by Cabrera in view of Lonn, a recalibration method using structured-light vision processing comprising the camera and projector’s outputs, with a reasonable expectation of success, since this improves the precision of resulting projections and compensates for motion drift and thermal changes that may distort measurements, thus maintaining accuracy in camera data and projection information.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cabrera et al. (“MaskBot: Real-time Robotic Projection Mapping with Head Motion Tracking”) in view of Ganesan et al. (“Better Teaming Through Visual Cues: How Projecting Imagery in a Workspace Can Improve Human-Robot Collaboration”), herein “Ganesan”.
Regarding Claim 7, Cabrera discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the method characterized in that the information projected by the projector (13, 32) includes information about a next action to be taken by a human colleague collaborating with the collaborative robot (1, 2).
Ganesan, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the information projected by the projector (13, 32) includes information about a next action to be taken by a human colleague collaborating with the collaborative robot (1, 2) (See Fig. 5 shown below and Pg. 60 Col. 2, “Throughout the collaboration, human subjects received just-in-time visual signals related to the task. In addition to projecting instructions and information, the system also provided visual feedback regarding the effectiveness of the task currently being carried out by the human.” Examiner notes Fig. 5 below distinctly shows visual cues projected by a projector, with the visual cues indicating “next tasks, actions, intentions”).
In view of Ganesan’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the collaborative robot and control method sensing user positions and distance using camera data for a collaborative operation with a human as disclosed by Cabrera, the projector in the robot system to project visual cues to communicate next tasks or actions to a human collaborator, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the collaborative robot already comprises the necessary components to do so, and conveying actionable task information to human collaborators enhances the cooperative performance between the robot and the human.
Conclusion
/BRYANT TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658