DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The following change should be made for grammatical purposes: On line 5 of claim 1, insert --to-- before “terminate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,964,996. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in claims 1, 2, and 8 of ‘996 substantially recite all of the limitations recited in claim 1 of the instant application. Claim 1 has been rejected under an “anticipatory type analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al. US Patent 10,498,004.
As per claims 1 and 6, Ji et al. discloses in Fig. 9 a directional coupler (e.g. directional coupler device 900) comprising:
as per claim 1, a main line (e.g. main line 211); a first sub-line (e.g. coupled line 212) having a first end (e.g. port P3) and a second end (e.g. port P4); a first termination circuit (e.g. resistance 941, reading port Pc, and ground) and a second termination circuit (e.g. resistance 942 and ground) configured to terminate the first end and the second end of the first sub-line, respectively; and a first switch (e.g. switch 931) configured to selectively connect the first sub-line and the first termination circuit (Col. 16 lines 34-49; Switch 931 selectively connects the port P3 of line 212 to the resistance 941.); and
as per claim 6, a multilayer board (related Fig. 7b, multilayer circuit board which includes main line 711) having at least the main line therein; and an IC chip (Col. 4 lines 59-61, integrated circuit (IC)) comprising the first termination circuit and the first switch (The coupler and switching circuit are formed in the same IC.).
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2017537555, as cited by the Applicant.
As per claims 1, 3, and 4, JP 2017537555 discloses in Fig. 9a a directional coupler comprising:
as per claim 1, a main line (e.g. main line 80); a first sub-line (e.g. line 85) having a first end (e.g. left end of line 85) and a second end (e.g. right end of line 85); a first termination circuit (e.g. termination circuit 109 and ground) and a second termination circuit (e.g. termination circuit 104 and ground) configured to terminate the first end and the second end of the first sub-line, respectively; and a first switch (e.g. switch 99) configured to selectively connect the first sub-line and the first termination circuit (Switch 99 selectively connects the left end of line 85 and the termination circuit 109.);
as per claim 3, wherein the first termination circuit and the second termination circuit each comprise a variable resistor, a variable capacitor, or a variable inductor (related Fig. 6a; Each of the termination circuits 109 and 104 comprises a variable resistor, variable inductor, or a variable capacitor.); and
as per claim 4, a second sub-line (e.g. line 87) that is connected in series with the first sub-line, the first sub-line and the second sub-line constituting a series circuit (The lines 85 and 87 are connected in series and form a series circuit.); a third termination circuit (e.g. termination circuit 108); and a second switch (e.g. switch 98), wherein the third termination circuit is connected to the series circuit (The circuit 108 is electrically connected to a left end of line 87 through switch 98.), and wherein the second switch is configured to selectively connect the series circuit and the third termination circuit (Switch 98 is configured to selectively connect a node of the series circuit of lines 85 and 87 and termination circuit 108.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karthaus US 2017/0324393 in view of JP 2017537555, as cited by the Applicant.
As per claims 1 and 8-10, Karthaus discloses in Fig. 4 a communication device (Paragraph 3, mobile communication system or radar system) comprising:
as per claim 8, high frequency module (e.g. RF front end 200) comprising: a directional coupler (e.g. directional coupler 101), an antenna terminal (e.g. antenna 407); a plurality of filters (e.g. filters 103 and 105); and an antenna switch (Paragraph 102; An RF switch exists at ports of the duplexer 100.) configured to selectively connect a first signal path leading to the antenna terminal and each of a plurality of second signal paths leading to the plurality of filters (The RF switch connects “a first signal path” from duplexer 100 to antenna 407 and each path from coupler 101 to filters 103 and 105 respectively.);
as per claim 9, wherein the antenna switch is integral with the directional coupler (Since the RF switch exists at the ports of the duplexer 100, both the switch and the directional coupler are a part of (i.e. “integral with”) the duplexer 100.); and
as per claim 10, a signal processing circuit (Paragraph 73, processor within duplexer 100) that is connected to the high frequency module and configured to perform signal processing on a high frequency signal (Paragraph 73; The processor allows for selection of frequency bands within the RF front end 200.).
However, Karthaus does not disclose the directional coupler being the directional coupler of claim 1. JP 2017537555 discloses in Fig. 9a a directional coupler comprising all of the limitations recited in claim 1 (See above for a detailed explanation which has not been repeated for the sake of brevity.). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced each of the generic directional couplers 101 and 107 within Karthaus with the specific directional coupler of JP2017537555 as being obvious art substitutions of equivalents. As an obvious consequence of the modification, the combination would have necessarily included: as per claim 8, the directional coupler being the directional coupler of claim 1; and as per claim 9, wherein the antenna switch is integral with the first switch of the directional coupler.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAKESH B PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843