DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentz et al. (US 2003/0112269, hereinafter “Lentz”) in view of Chan et al. (US 2018/0006922, hereinafter “Chan”).
For claims 1 and 17, Lentz discloses A method of data monitoring for mobile device management (1. A method using a computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions for tracking dynamic properties of a resource; see Lentz claim 1 page 5 and also par. 0036 and Fig. 2), the method comprising:
determining a set of data monitors (configuring plural predefined reference values of interest associated with the resource with an interactive graphical trigger; see Lentz claim 1 in page 5), where each data monitor in the set comprises a monitored property (the present invention includes an interactive and configurable graphical element 210 for tracking and monitoring dynamic properties of resources and/or events 212 coupled to the computing environment 100; see Lentz par. 0034 and Fig. 2) and a data monitor trigger for the monitored property (The configurable graphical element 210 is displayed on monitor 138 of FIG. 1 and displays dynamic properties of the resources 212 coupled to the computing environment 100. The graphical element 210 provides interactivity of the tracked information to a user 214 with a visual status display area 216, configurable threshold and rearm trigger points 218 and audible and visual alerts 220; see Lentz par. 0035, 0040, 0045-0046);
communicating the set of data monitors to a plurality of mobile devices (Referring to FIG. 2 along with FIG. 3A, the status display area 216 preferably includes a status indicator bar 310 that communicates to the user 214 status information relating to the resources 212 being monitored. The status indicator bar 310 is tied to monitored properties of the resource 212 and fluctuates along a long axis scale 311 of the display area 216 to display these monitored properties; see Lentz par. 0038);
Lentz does not explicitly disclose receiving monitored data associated with the monitored properties from the plurality of mobile devices based on the data monitor triggers; and analyzing the monitored data to display status information based on the monitored data. Chan discloses receiving monitored data associated with the monitored properties from the plurality of mobile devices (In step 901, monitoring server 101 receives monitoring data from mobile device 103. The monitoring data may comprise various types of monitoring data such as location information, network performance data, etc.; see Chan par. 0095 and Fig. 9) based on the data monitor triggers (At step 1204, network element has detected that an event has occurred and triggered to cause network element to change the frequency of taking measurements and the frequency of sending the measurements to monitoring server 101; see Chan par. 0132-0133); and analyzing the monitored data (Then monitoring server 101 starts to examine the monitoring data in step 902. In step 903, monitoring server 101 determines whether all the monitoring data has been examined. In step 904, monitoring server 101 determines the type of monitoring data; see Chan par. 0096) to display status information based on the monitored data (Based on the type of monitoring data, monitoring server 101 displays the corresponding image in step 905. If all the monitoring data has been examined in step 903, the process is ended in step 906. Otherwise, monitoring server 101 may continue to perform steps 904 and 905 until all the monitoring data is examined; see Chan par. 0096). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Chan's arrangement in Lentz's invention to allow flexible retrieval of monitoring data from a mobile device (see Chan par. 0005).
Specifically for claim 17, Lentz discloses A system of data monitoring for mobile device management (9. In a computer system having a memory storage area and a graphical user interface, a method for tracking resources coupled to the computer system, the method comprising: configuring threshold trigger points that reference critical values of interest of the resource; configuring rearm trigger points that reference reset values of interest of the resource; and alerting a user when a value of the resource exceeds the configured referenced critical value of interest; see Lentz claim 9 page 5), the system comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory includes computer readable code that, when executed on the processor cause the system to implement the following (Computing system 100 includes any suitable central processing unit 110, such as a standard microprocessor, and any number of other objects interconnected via system bus 112. For purposes of illustration, computing system 100 includes memory, such as read only memory (ROM) 116, random access memory (RAM) 114, Non-Volatile Random Access Memory (NVRAM) 132 and peripheral memory devices (e.g., disk or tape drives 120) connected to system bus 112 via 1/0 adapter 118; see Lentz par. 0028-0029 and Fig. 1):
Lentz does not explicitly disclose an agent server. Chan discloses an agent server (Monitoring server 101 is connected to interconnected networks 108 such as the Internet. Monitoring server 101 may perform a monitoring process through interconnected networks 108; see Chan par. 0040). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Chan's arrangement in Lentz's invention to allow flexible retrieval of monitoring data from a mobile device (see Chan par. 0005).
For claims 4 and 19, Lentz discloses A method according to claim 1, further comprising showing at least some of the plurality of mobile devices displayed on a map or in a tabular form (A common way of handling the visual monitoring of resources and the setting of thresholds for alarms and alerts is to supply two separate user interfaces. One is a display user interface that shows status, in either graphical or tabular form. The second is a configuration user interface, which uses conventional user interface controls such as text boxes, spin buttons, or slider controls to set the value of alarm or alert thresholds. In this approach, the setting of threshold values and viewing of current status are physically separated, either in separate windows or in different areas of the same windows, and use separate GUI control elements for viewing status and setting threshold values; see Lentz par. 0008).
For claim 6, Lentz discloses A method according to claim 1, wherein the data monitor trigger comprises determining if the monitored data for the monitored property has changed more than a configured threshold value or beyond a configured threshold as defined by a set of rules (In another embodiment, with reference to FIG. 3A, when a low level threshold 312 is exceeded, an alert is initiated by the system response module 418. When the mid level threshold 314 is exceeded, an alert is initiated by the system response module 418 with a suggested action with user 214 confirmation. The suggested action can be a suggestion to reduce resources in other areas for alleviating stress on the monitored resource 212 and requests user interaction 416. When the high level threshold 316 is exceeded, an alert is initiated by the system response module 414 and a predefined action takes place automatically, without user 212 confirmation. The predefined action can be an action that automatically reduces resources in other areas for alleviating stress on the monitored resource 212; see Lentz par. 0047-0049, 0054-0057).
Claim(s) 2, 8, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentz and Chan, and further in view of “Delapedraja” (US 2008/0033980).
For claims 2 and 18, the combination of Lentz and Chan does not explicitly disclose A method according to claim 1, further comprising: automatically controlling mobile device settings based on the monitored data. Delapedraja discloses A method according to claim 1, further comprising: automatically controlling mobile device settings based on the monitored data (The trace module 48 may then be configured to store this information in trace logs 52. For example, in one embodiment, the trace logs 52 may be stored in the data storage device 24. As will be described further below, in one embodiment, the trace logs 52 may be accessed by a tuning daemon 54 that is configured to automatically adjust the settings of the file system 46 based on the information stored in the trace logs 52; see Delapedraja par. 0024; Accordingly, FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary technique 80 for automatically adjusting system settings based upon information stored in a log file in accordance with one embodiment. In one embodiment, the technique 80 may be performed by the tuning daemon 54 operating on the computer system 10; see Delapedraja par. 0036). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Delapedraja's arrangement in Lentz's invention to improve by "tuning" these system settings to the function and/or operation of the individual computer system running the file system (see Delapedraja par. 0003).
For claims 8 and 20, Lentz discloses A method according to claim 1, further comprising:
monitoring for events received from the plurality of mobile devices (the present invention includes an interactive configurable graphical element with a software control that monitors resources and events. The graphical element provides interactivity of the monitored information to a user with a status display area and has configurable trigger points comprised of threshold trigger points; see Lentz par. 0013); and
analyzing the events to (A software control module 230 coupled to the resource 212 is included to gather, process and reformat raw data from the resource 212 into a format usable by the graphical element 210; see Lentz par. 0035):
display the events together with the monitored data (The software control module 230 is an active program that is continuously coupled to the resources 212 for tracking properties associated with the resources 212. The software control module 230 is also coupled to the graphical element 210 for sending data to be displayed on the graphical element 210; see Lentz par. 0036); and
Lentz does not explicitly disclose optionally, automatically control mobile device settings or applications based on the events. Delapedraja discloses automatically control mobile device settings or applications based on the events (The trace module 48 may then be configured to store this information in trace logs 52. For example, in one embodiment, the trace logs 52 may be stored in the data storage device 24. As will be described further below, in one embodiment, the trace logs 52 may be accessed by a tuning daemon 54 that is configured to automatically adjust the settings of the file system 46 based on the information stored in the trace logs 52; see Delapedraja par. 0024; Accordingly, FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary technique 80 for automatically adjusting system settings based upon information stored in a log file in accordance with one embodiment. In one embodiment, the technique 80 may be performed by the tuning daemon 54 operating on the computer system 10; see Delapedraja par. 0036). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Delapedraja's arrangement in Lentz's invention to improve by "tuning" these system settings to the function and/or operation of the individual computer system running the file system (see Delapedraja par. 0003).
Claim(s) 3, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentz and Chan, and further in view of “Urbanek” (US 8,868,064).
For claim 3, the combination of Lentz and Chan does not explicitly disclose A method according to claim 1, further comprising selecting a subset of the plurality of mobile devices to be monitored. Urbanek discloses A method according to claim 1, further comprising selecting a subset of the plurality of mobile devices to be monitored (identifying, by the server computer, a subset of a plurality of mobile communication devices based on criteria associated with the specific problem, sending, by the server computer, a request for data to each of the subset of the plurality of mobile communication devices, in response to the request, receiving, by the server computer, processed data from circular data structures of the subset of the plurality of mobile communication devices, and analyzing, by the server computer, the received processed data from the circular data structures of the subset of the plurality of mobile communication devices; see Urbanek claim 8 in column 13 lines 41-59). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Urbanek's arrangement in Lentz's invention to troubleshoot or otherwise diagnose problems encountered by the mobile device and/or the systems (e.g. wireless networks) that the mobile phone utilizes during various operations of the mobile phone (see Urbanek col. 3 lines 25-29).
For claim 15, the combination of Lentz and Chan does not explicitly disclose A method according to claim 1, wherein the monitored properties may be associated with applications running on the mobile device or files written by applications running on the mobile device. Urbanek discloses A method according to claim 1, wherein the monitored properties may be associated with applications running on the mobile device or files written by applications running on the mobile device (It may be the case that some service providers may have the ability to "turn on" a monitoring application on a mobile device. In this case, when a customer calls in to complain of an issue, the service provider may activate the monitoring application on the customer's mobile device, and may capture data pertaining to the operation of the mobile device as time moves forward. However, the problem that the customer has experienced may not occur again, and so the data of the historical problem is lost, as the mobile device was not tracking and retaining information when the problem initially occurred, and there is not a record of the issues the customer experienced. By practicing the teachings of the disclosure, the service provider may be able to gather the historical information of a mobile device; see Urbanek col. 4 lines 8-21). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Urbanek's arrangement in Lentz's invention to troubleshoot or otherwise diagnose problems encountered by the mobile device and/or the systems (e.g. wireless networks) that the mobile phone utilizes during various operations of the mobile phone (see Urbanek col. 3 lines 25-29).
For claim 16, the combination of Lentz and Chan does not explicitly disclose A method according to claim 1, further comprising: communicating at least a subset of the set of data monitors to a third party computer system; receiving monitored data associated with the monitored properties from the third party computer system based on the data monitor triggers; and analyzing the monitored data to display status information based on the monitored data. Urbanek discloses A method according to claim 1, further comprising: communicating at least a subset of the set of data monitors to a third party computer system (A cloud computing environment may be established by an enterprise and/or may be hired on an as-needed basis from a third party provider. Some cloud computing environments may comprise cloud computing resources owned and operated by the enterprise as well as cloud computing resources hired and/or leased from a third party provider; see Urbanek col. 11 lines 21-27); receiving monitored data associated with the monitored properties from the third party computer system based on the data monitor triggers; and analyzing the monitored data to display status information based on the monitored data (see Urbanek claim 1). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Urbanek's arrangement in Lentz's invention to troubleshoot or otherwise diagnose problems encountered by the mobile device and/or the systems (e.g. wireless networks) that the mobile phone utilizes during various operations of the mobile phone (see Urbanek col. 3 lines 25-29).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentz and Chan, and further in view of Venkatraman et al. (US 2014/0192658, hereinafter “Venkatraman”).
For claim 5, the combination of Lentz and Chan does not explicitly disclose A method according to claim 4, wherein the displayed map comprises an indoor or an outdoor map. Venkatraman discloses A method according to claim 4, wherein the displayed map comprises an indoor or an outdoor map (an LCI map 120 (e.g., indoor floor plan map) is used if good LAN AP signals are available from one or more APs from one or more enabled LCIs. If no good LAN AP signals are received from any AP within an enabled LCI, an outdoor map is used if either good WAN signals (such as good GNSS signals) are available or an urban LAN database (such as an urban WiFi database) provides a position fix; see Venkatraman par. 0040, 0063). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Venkatraman's arrangement in Lentz's invention to estimate position, and more particularly to select and display an appropriate indoor or outdoor map based on access point signals (see Venkatraman par. 0003).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentz and Chan, and further in view of DaSilva et al. (US 2006/0270400, hereinafter “DaSilva”).
For claim 10, the combination of Lentz and Chan does not explicitly disclose A method according to claim 1, wherein: the analyzing of the monitored data comprises assigning an indicator to at least one of the monitored properties based on the analysis; and the displaying the monitored data comprises displaying the monitored data based on the indicator for the related monitored property. DaSilva discloses A method according to claim 1, wherein: the analyzing of the monitored data comprises assigning an indicator to at least one of the monitored properties based on the analysis (The monitored data so gathered and correlated by operation of element 204 may then be further analyzed by rules-based engine 206. Rules-based engine 206 receives the correlated information from element 204 and applies rules to analyze the correlated data for purposes of identifying any potential problems in the wireless communication system associated with the acquired data; see DaSilva par. 0032, 0050); and the displaying the monitored data comprises displaying the monitored data based on the indicator for the related monitored property (When rules-based engine 206 identifies a problem in the underlying wireless communication system under test, the identified problem may also be forwarded to problem resolver 210 to determine possible solutions to the identified problem. Possible solutions may be extracted from a database or any other suitable storage structures and may be indexed by the identified problem. Potential solutions for the identified problem may then be presented to a user through a user display or report 212. Exemplary reporting information identifying possible solutions to identified problems is discussed further herein below; see DaSilva par. 0034, 0052). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use DaSilva's arrangement in Lentz's invention to allow improved identification of potential problems in operation of the wireless communication system and identification of associated solutions for the identified problems (see DaSilva par. 0053).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lentz and Chan, and further in view of Micali et al. (US 2026/0029445, hereinafter “Micali”).
For claim 11, the combination of Lentz and Chan does not explicitly disclose A method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining if a monitoring mode is set as historical mode; and if so, communicating the monitoring mode to the plurality of mobile devices such that the receiving monitored data from the plurality of mobile devices comprises receiving monitored data for a historical time period. Micali discloses A method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining if a monitoring mode is set as historical mode (The search implemented by device event detection component 240 may operate in different modes for achieving different objectives. For example, one mode may be a real-time mode where the search is implemented to determine as quickly as possible a transition corresponding to an electrical event. Another mode may be a historical mode where the search is implemented to have higher accuracy and it is acceptable to have higher latency. Device event detection component 240 may implement multiple modes simultaneously or start and stop individual modes upon request; see Micali par. 0082); and if so, communicating the monitoring mode to the plurality of mobile devices such that the receiving monitored data from the plurality of mobile devices comprises receiving monitored data for a historical time period (At step 1230, historical information about device events is received. The devices corresponding to the device events may be the same devices or some of the same devices as step 1210 or may be different devices, and device events may include any information described above. At step 1240, the information about device events is presented on a display, such as by presenting a chronological list of device events. At step 1250, a user may provide a user input, such as touching/clicking on a graphical element or device event, to obtain historical information about power consumption. For example, a bar chart may be presented indicating power consumption of one or more devices over a time period or a pie chart may be presented indicating relative power consumption of one or more devices; see Micali par. 0308, see also claim 1 in page 33). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Micali's arrangement in Lentz's invention to disaggregate electrical signals containing information about multiple devices to obtain information about electrical usage by individual devices, techniques for effectively presenting this information to end users, and techniques for allowing the end users to take actions, such as to conserve energy (see Micali par. 0026).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 12-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: claims 7, 9, 12-14 would be allowable because the closest prior arts listed above either alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed invention of “wherein the configured threshold value or configured threshold as defined by a set of rules is adapted based on a status of the mobile device, wherein the events comprise at least one of: opening of a disallowed application; detection of a device drop; detection of excessive device drops; breach of a geo-location fence; excessive data usage; excessive use of non-business applications; excessive battery drainage rate; low battery; low memory; low free storage; overheating; excessive speed; data being sent to prohibited/unknown destination(s); device usage/activity outside business hours; or a radio signal strength lower than a prescribed level and entry of an event by a user”, in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) above as defined by applicant.
Conclusion
/CHAE S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415