DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 26 June,2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Final Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks/Amendments filed on 5 May, 2026. The amendments have been entered.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-3,5-19 are pending.
Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Claims 12-19 are new.
Specification
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 15 been renumbered 14.
Misnumbered claim 16 been renumbered 15
Misnumbered claim 17 been renumbered 16
Misnumbered claim 18 been renumbered 17
Misnumbered claim 19 been renumbered 18
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIUCHI et al. (US 2004/0050531 A1 – published on March 18th, 2004), in view of PERSSON et al. (US 2014/0008046 A1 – published January 9, 2014), and ZHOU et al. (US 20210239310 A1 – published August 5, 2021).
As to claim 1, HORIUCHI discloses a heat exchanger core layer comprising:
a first end (14);
a second end (6c) opposite the first end;
a first side (6a) extending between the first end and the second end;
a second side (6b), extending between the first end and the second end opposite the first side;
a divider (4) extending from the first end and extending towards the second end between the first side and the second side; wherein:
a first flow region is formed between the first side and the divider;
a second flow region is defined between the divider and the second side and a turnaround region(6c) is defined adjacent the second end between the first flow region and the second flow region;
wherein the layer has a plurality of first flow channels in the first flow region for directing a fluid flow, in use, in a first direction from the first end to the turnaround region, and a plurality of second flow channels in the second flow region for directing a fluid flow, in use, in a second direction opposite the first direction, from the turnaround region back to the first end (See Annotated Figure HORIUCHI),
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Turnaround Region )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Turnaround Vanes)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Divider)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Channels Closer to the Divider are Narrower)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second End)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Turnaround Channels)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Side )][AltContent: textbox (First Side)][AltContent: textbox (Channels Closer to the First Side and the Second Side are Wider)][AltContent: textbox (Second Flow Channels)][AltContent: textbox (First Flow Channels)][AltContent: textbox (Second Flow Region )][AltContent: textbox (First Flow Region )][AltContent: textbox (First End)]
Annotated Figure (HORIUCHI)
HORIUCHI, however does not teach wherein the first and second sides are shorter than the first and second ends
PERSSON, however, teaches the first and second sides are shorter than the first and second ends and that this change in aspect ratio results in the location of the inlet and outlet to be arranged accordingly (Pages 14-15, Paragraph 36 and 37, See Annotated Figure Below). It is known in general that in mechanical designs, changing the aspect ratio is desirable based on requirements for component spacing and housing. Therefore, when there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, i.e. to change the aspect ratio of a design, a person of ordinary skill has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, i.e. improved design, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance, the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show it was obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(KSR Int’ l Co. v. Teleflex Incl, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified HORIUCHI, to change the aspect ratio and make the width greater than the length, as it has been held obvious to try when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143 – (I) (E). In the instant case, PERSSON teaches such aspect ratio is suitable for use in heat exchangers having multiple pass design.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First End)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second End)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First and Second Sides are shorter than First and Second Ends)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Side)][AltContent: textbox (Second Side)]
Annotated Figure (PERSSON)
HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON still does not teach that the widths of channels decrease across a width direction from the first and second sides to the divider such that a density channels closer to the divider, in each of the first flow region and the second flow region increases across the width direction from the first and second sides to the divider.
ZHOU, however teaches widths of channels decrease across a width direction from the first and second sides to the divider such that a density channels closer to the divider, in each of the first flow region and the second flow region increases across the width direction from the first and second sides to the divider (See Annotated Figure ZHOU).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Widths of channels decrease across a width direction from the first and second sides to the divider)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (ZHOU)
Regions of higher fin density remove more heat and regions of lower fin density remove lesser heat (Paragraph 41). By controlling the heat transfer coefficient (and thereby thermal performance) in directions of the variation in fin density and the channel density, which are perpendicular to each other, the thermal performance of the entire plane of the MMC heat sinks can be functionally graded. The MMC heat sinks can thus be advantageously used for cooling heat-generating devices in the electronics modules (Paragraph 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, with the teachings of ZHOU to change the widths of channel across the divider such that the performance of the heat exchange layer can be improved through optimized heat transfer coefficient.
As to Claim 2, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU teaches the limitations of claim 1, HORIUCHI further teaches a heat exchanger core layer, comprising: a plurality of turnaround flow channels in the turnaround region for directing fluid flow, in use, from the first fluid flow region to the second fluid flow region. (See Annotated Figure Below which shows plurality of turnaround flow channels in the turnaround region for directing fluid flow from first flow region to the second flow region).
As to Claim 3, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU teaches the limitations of claim 2, HORIUCHI further teaches a heat exchanger core layer, comprising: turnaround vanes (9b) providing a transition from the turnaround flow channels and the first flow channels and the second flow channels. (See Annotated Figure Below which shows turnaround vanes that provides a transition from the turnaround flow channels and the first flow channels and the second flow channels).
Claim(s) 5-6, is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIUCHI et al. (US 2004/0050531 A1 – published on March 18th, 2004), in view of PERSSON et al. (US 2014/0008046 A1 – published January 9, 2014), ZHOU et al. (US 20210239310 A1 – published August 5, 2021), and RUBALEWSKI (EP 4063779 A1 – published September 9, 2022).
As to Claim 5, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU teaches the limitations of claim 1, wherein there are the first flow channels and second flow channels.
However, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU does not disclose that the flow channels are defined by rows of pins.
RUBALEWSKI, however, teaches that the flow channels are defined by rows of pins (Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 2-4, lines 6-29, See Annotated Figure Below). In Additive Manufacturing (AM) one type of heat exchanger design is pin-fin design, the type of flow channels defined by pins provides improved heat transfer rate because they can be designed in any shapes to increase the surface area of the contact and also encourage types of flows such as laminar or turbulent in the direction of the flow (Paragraphs 5-9). Therefore, when there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, i.e. to define the flow channels by rows of pins, a person of ordinary skill has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, i.e. improved heat transfer efficiency, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance, the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show it was obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(KSR Int’ l Co. v. Teleflex Incl, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU, by the teachings of RUBALEWSKI to define the flow channels by rows of pins, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is within the abilities of one having ordinary skill. See MPEP § 2143 – (I) (E).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (First flow channels and Second flow channels defined by Rows of Pins )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (RUBALEWSKI)
As to Claim 6, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 5, RUBALEWSKI further teaches that the pins taper from a wider end to a narrower end in the fluid flow direction (Page 2, Paragraphs 5-12 and 67-69).
Claim(s) 7-8, is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIUCHI et al. (US 2004/0050531 A1 – published on March 18th, 2004), in view of PERSSON et al. (US 2014/0008046 A1 – published January 9, 2014), ZHOU et al. (US 20210239310 A1 – published August 5, 2021), RUBALEWSKI (EP 4063779 A1 – published September 9, 2022), and MAYBERRY et al. (US 2019/0373772 A1 – published December 5, 2019).
As to Claim 7, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 5,
However, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI does not disclose that the width of the fluid flow channels is varied by varying the spacing of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the fluid flow direction.
MAYBERRY, however teaches that the width of the fluid flow channels can be varied by varying the spacing of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the fluid flow direction, it teaches that the pins are arranged such that their spacing varies along the structure, and the pins define the flow paths for fluid flowing through the channel (Page 7, Paragraphs 4,7-9, See Annotated Figure MAYBERRY 1). It further teaches that the spacing between pins gradually decreases or otherwise varies to control fluid flow and thermal performance (Page 8, Paragraphs 17-20). Because the pins define the boundaries of the flow paths within the cooling channel, varying the spacing between the pins necessarily varies the width of the fluid flow channels formed between adjacent pins.
[AltContent: textbox (Varying widths using spacing of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the flow direction )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Annotated Figure (MAYBERRY 1)
Accordingly, pin spacing would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Modifying the spacing between pins to vary the width of fluid flow channels would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization to a person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to control fluid flow characteristics and heat transfer performance.
As to Claim 8, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 5,
However, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI does not disclose that the width of the fluid flow channels is varied by varying the size of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the fluid flow direction.
MAYBERRY, however teaches that the width of the fluid flow channels can be varied by varying the size of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the fluid flow direction, The size of the pin shaped fins varies along the length of the heat dissipating surface, including embodiments in which the diameter of the pins increases or decreases (Page 7, Paragraphs 9, See Annotated Figure MAYBERRY 2). Because the pin shaped fins define the boundaries of the flow paths within the cooling channel, varying the size of the pins necessarily varies the effective width of the fluid flow channels formed between adjacent pins.
[AltContent: textbox (Varying widths based on varying size of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the flow)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (MAYBERRY 2)
Accordingly, varying the width based on varying pin size would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Modifying the size of the pins to vary the width of fluid flow channels would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization to a person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to control fluid flow characteristics and heat transfer performance.
Claim(s) 9-15,18, is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIUCHI et al. (US 2004/0050531 A1 – published on March 18th, 2004), in view of PERSSON et al. (US 2014/0008046 A1 – published January 9, 2014), ZHOU et al. (US 20210239310 A1 – published August 5, 2021), and RUBALEWSKI (EP 4063779 A1 – published September 9, 2022).
As to Claim 9, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU teaches the limitations of claim 1,
However, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU does not disclose the forming of heat exchanger core layer by additive manufacturing.
RUBALEWSKI, however, teaches the forming of heat exchanger core layer by additive manufacturing (Page 3, Paragraphs 26-33). Additive Manufacturing can help improve accuracy in placement and orientation of the pins within the heat exchanger and it is a well-known manufacturing technique.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU, by the teachings of RUBALEWSKI to have the forming of heat exchanger core layer by additive manufacturing.
As to Claim 10, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU teaches the limitations of claim 1,
However, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU does not disclose a heat exchanger core comprising a plurality of heat exchanger core layers stacked together wherein the fluid flow channels are defined therebetween.
RUBALEWSKI, however, teaches a heat exchanger core comprising a plurality of heat exchanger core layers (30 (a-n)) stacked together wherein the fluid flow channels are defined therebetween (Paragraphs 30-31, 36, 64, See Annotated Figure RUBALEWSKI 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON and ZHOU, by the teachings of RUBALEWSKI to have the heat exchanger core comprising a plurality of heat exchanger core layers as claimed in claim 1 stacked together wherein the fluid flow channels are defined therebetween.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Stacked Heat exchange core layers (30))]
Annotated Figure (RUBALEWSKI 2)
As to Claim 11, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 10, RUBALEWSKI, further teaches the heat exchanger comprises a heat exchanger core as claimed in claim 10 (Page 2, Paragraph 1).
As to Claim 12, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 11, HIROUCHI further teaches the heat exchanger, wherein the heat exchanger core layer comprises: a plurality of turnaround flow channels in the turnaround region for directing fluid flow, in use, from the first fluid flow region to the second fluid flow region (See Annotated Figure HIROUCHI which shows plurality of turnaround flow channels in the turnaround region for directing fluid flow from first flow region to the second flow region).
As to Claim 13, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 12, HORIUCHI further teaches a heat exchanger core layer, comprising: turnaround vanes (9b) providing a transition from the turnaround flow channels and the first flow channels and the second flow channels. (See Annotated Figure Below which shows turnaround vanes that provides a transition from the turnaround flow channels and the first flow channels and the second flow channels).
As to Claim 14, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 11, RUBALEWSKI further teaches the first flow channels and the second flow channels are defined by rows of pins (Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 2-4, lines 6-29, See Annotated Figure Below). In Additive Manufacturing (AM) one type of heat exchanger design is pin-fin design, the type of flow channels defined by pins provides improved heat transfer rate because they can be designed in any shapes to increase the surface area of the contact and also encourage types of flows such as laminar or turbulent in the direction of the flow (Paragraphs 5-9).
As to Claim 15, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 14, RUBALEWSKI further teaches that the pins taper from a wider end to a narrower end in the fluid flow direction (Page 2, Paragraphs 5-12 and 67-69).
As to Claim 18, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 14, RUBALEWSKI, further teaches the forming of heat exchanger core layer by additive manufacturing (Page 3, Paragraphs 26-33). Additive Manufacturing can help improve accuracy in placement and orientation of the pins within the heat exchanger and it is a well-known manufacturing technique.
Claim(s) 16-17, is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HORIUCHI et al. (US 2004/0050531 A1 – published on March 18th, 2004), in view of PERSSON et al. (US 2014/0008046 A1 – published January 9, 2014), ZHOU et al. (US 20210239310 A1 – published August 5, 2021), RUBALEWSKI (EP 4063779 A1 – published September 9, 2022), and MAYBERRY et al. (US 2019/0373772 A1 – published December 5, 2019).
As to Claim 16, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 14, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI, however does not teach that the width of the fluid flow channels is varied by varying the spacing of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the fluid flow direction.
MAYBERRY, however teaches that the width of the fluid flow channels can be varied by varying the spacing of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the fluid flow direction, it teaches that the pins are arranged such that their spacing varies along the structure, and the pins define the flow paths for fluid flowing through the channel (Page 7, Paragraphs 4,7-9, See Annotated Figure MAYBERRY 1). It further teaches that the spacing between pins gradually decreases or otherwise varies to control fluid flow and thermal performance (Page 8, Paragraphs 17-20). Because the pins define the boundaries of the flow paths within the cooling channel, varying the spacing between the pins necessarily varies the width of the fluid flow channels formed between adjacent pins.
[AltContent: textbox (Varying widths using spacing of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the flow direction )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Annotated Figure (MAYBERRY 1)
Accordingly, pin spacing would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Modifying the spacing between pins to vary the width of fluid flow channels would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization to a person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to control fluid flow characteristics and heat transfer performance.
As to Claim 17, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI teaches the limitations of claim 14, HORIUCHI as modified by PERSSON, ZHOU, and RUBALEWSKI, however does not teach that the width of the fluid flow channels is varied by varying the size of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the fluid flow direction.
MAYBERRY, however teaches that the width of the fluid flow channels can be varied by varying the size of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the fluid flow direction, The size of the pin shaped fins varies along the length of the heat dissipating surface, including embodiments in which the diameter of the pins increases or decreases (Page 7, Paragraphs 9, See Annotated Figure MAYBERRY 2). Because the pin shaped fins define the boundaries of the flow paths within the cooling channel, varying the size of the pins necessarily varies the effective width of the fluid flow channels formed between adjacent pins.
[AltContent: textbox (Varying widths based on varying size of the pins in the direction perpendicular to the flow)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure (MAYBERRY 2)
Accordingly, varying the width based on varying pin size would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Modifying the size of the pins to vary the width of fluid flow channels would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization to a person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to control fluid flow characteristics and heat transfer performance.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 5 May, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1-3, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the teachings of ZHOU (US 20210239310-A1) which teaches the widths of channels decrease across a width direction from the first and second sides to the divider such that a density channels in each of the flow region and the second flow region increases across the width direction from the first and second sides to the divider. See discussion within the associated rejections presented herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BIGYAN BHATTACHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763