DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (Figures 2 and 5) in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/03/2026.
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0018 “as used” should be “are used”.
Paragraph 0018 “used herein does not” should be “used herein do not”.
Paragraph 0018 “will be appreciated” should be “will appreciate”.
Paragraph 0038 “corresponding the charging” should be “corresponding to the charging”.
Paragraph 0041 “should be appreciated” should be “would appreciate”.
Paragraph 0067 “without distracting” should be “without departing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 114421742 A – Translation Attached).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a control circuit (Figure 2 Component 22) for controlling a power supply voltage (Figure 2 Component Vcc) of an integrated circuit (Figure 2 Component 21), comprising: a charging current source (Figure 2 Component S1) configured to receive an input voltage (Figure 2 Component Vin) and to provide a charging current (Figure 2 Component Is) to a power supply capacitor (Figure 2 Component Cvcc) for generating the power supply voltage (Translation Paragraph 17 “the charging control circuit 23 controls the on-off of the charging switch S1 to control the charging of the power supply capacitor Cvcc, thereby establishing the power supply voltage Vcc on the power supply capacitor Cvcc”); and wherein the charging current source is configured to start providing the charging current for charging the power supply capacitor when the input voltage decreases to a charging start threshold voltage (Figure 2 Component Vdo; Figure 3 Component Vdo; Figure 3 shows that when Vin drops to Vdo the Gc signal goes high and when the Gc signal goes high the capacitor, Component Cvcc, is charged) and to stop providing the charging current when the power supply voltage increases to a charging stop reference voltage (Figure 2 Component Vref; Translation Paragraph 21 “The value of the reference voltage Vref is the target value of the power supply voltage Vcc. When the value of the power supply voltage Vcc rises to the reference voltage Vref, the difference between the two is 0, and the value of the sample and hold signal Vdo is 0, which is lower than the input voltage Vin, so that the charging control signal Gc is at a low level, and the charging switch S1 Off, Cvcc is not charged”); and wherein the charging start threshold voltage is adjusted to get a continuous time duration of providing the charging current to be substantially symmetric with respect to a minimum value of the input voltage (Figure 3 Component Vdo is adjusted which adjusts the effective charging-start threshold so that the same Vdo level defines the falling side start and the rising start end of charging, thereby producing a continuous charging duration substantially symmetric with respect to the minimum of Vin).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Li further teaches wherein the charging start threshold voltage is adjusted based on the input voltage at the time when the charging current is stopped (Figure 2 shows that Vdo is based on the input voltage through Components Vcc and Vdi; Figure 3 shows that Vdo is adjusted in time periods when the Gc signal is low and the charging current is not being provided).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Li further teaches a charging control circuit (Figure 2 Component 23) configured to provide a charging control signal (Figure 2 Component Gc) for controlling the charging current source based on the input voltage and the power supply voltage (Figure 2 Component 23 produces signal Gc based on Components Vin and Vcc).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches all the limitations of claim 5. Li further teaches wherein the charging control circuit comprises: an input voltage control circuit configured to provide a charging set signal based on the input voltage (Figure 2 Component 230); a voltage comparing circuit configured to provide a charging stop signal based on the power supply voltage and the charging stop reference voltage (Figure 2 Component 232 outputs signal Component Vdi); and a charging control logic circuit configured to provide the charging control signal to control the charging current source based on the charging set signal and the charging stop signal (Figure 2 Component 233 outputs Component Gc based on the output of Components 232 and 230).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a power supply circuit (Figure 2 Component 22) for providing a power supply voltage (Figure 2 Component Vcc) of an integrated circuit (Figure 2 Component 21), comprising: a power supply capacitor having a charging terminal (Figure 2 Component Cvcc); and a control circuit coupled to the charging terminal of the power supply capacitor (Figure 2 Component 23), and configured to control the power supply voltage (Figure 2 Component 23 outputs signal Gc which controls Component S1 to turn on and off thus controlling the power supply voltage), comprising: a charging current source (Figure 2 Component S1) configured to receive an input voltage (Figure 2 Component Vin) and to provide a charging current (Figure 2 Component Is) to the power supply capacitor for generating the power supply voltage (Translation Paragraph 17 “the charging control circuit 23 controls the on-off of the charging switch S1 to control the charging of the power supply capacitor Cvcc, thereby establishing the power supply voltage Vcc on the power supply capacitor Cvcc”); and wherein the charging current source is configured to start providing the charging current for charging the power supply capacitor when the input voltage decreases to a charging start threshold voltage (Figure 2 Component Vdo; Figure 3 Component Vdo; Figure 3 shows that when Vin drops to Vdo the Gc signal goes high and when the Gc signal goes high the capacitor, Component Cvcc, is charged) and to stop providing the charging current when the power supply voltage increases to a charging stop reference voltage (Figure 2 Component Vref; Translation Paragraph 21 “The value of the reference voltage Vref is the target value of the power supply voltage Vcc. When the value of the power supply voltage Vcc rises to the reference voltage Vref, the difference between the two is 0, and the value of the sample and hold signal Vdo is 0, which is lower than the input voltage Vin, so that the charging control signal Gc is at a low level, and the charging switch S1 Off, Cvcc is not charged”); and wherein the charging start threshold voltage is adjusted to get a continuous time duration of providing the charging current to be substantially symmetric with respect to a minimum value of the input voltage (Figure 3 Component Vdo is adjusted which adjusts the effective charging-start threshold so that the same Vdo level defines the falling side start and the rising start end of charging, thereby producing a continuous charging duration substantially symmetric with respect to the minimum of Vin).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches all the limitations of claim 9. Li further teaches wherein the charging start threshold voltage is adjusted based on the input voltage at the time when the charging current is stopped (Figure 2 shows that Vdo is based on the input voltage through Components Vcc and Vdi; Figure 3 shows that Vdo is adjusted in time periods when the Gc signal is low and the charging current is not being provided).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches a method (Figures 2-3) of controlling a power supply voltage (Figure 2 Component Vcc), comprising: controlling (Figure 2 Component 23 outputs signal Gc which controls Component S1 to turn on and off thus controlling the power supply voltage) a charging current source (Figure 2 Component S1) to start providing a charging current (Figure 2 Component Is) for charging a power supply capacitor (Figure 2 Component Cvcc) when an input voltage decreases to a charging start threshold voltage (Figure 2 Component Vdo; Figure 3 Component Vdo; Figure 3 shows that when Vin drops to Vdo the Gc signal goes high and when the Gc signal goes high the capacitor, Component Cvcc, is charged); controlling the charging current source to stop providing the charging current when the power supply voltage increases to a charging stop reference voltage (Figure 2 Component Vref; Translation Paragraph 21 “The value of the reference voltage Vref is the target value of the power supply voltage Vcc. When the value of the power supply voltage Vcc rises to the reference voltage Vref, the difference between the two is 0, and the value of the sample and hold signal Vdo is 0, which is lower than the input voltage Vin, so that the charging control signal Gc is at a low level, and the charging switch S1 Off, Cvcc is not charged”); and adjusting the charging start threshold voltage to get a continuous time duration of providing the charging current to be substantially symmetric with respect to a minimum value of the input voltage (Figure 3 Component Vdo is adjusted which adjusts the effective charging-start threshold so that the same Vdo level defines the falling side start and the rising start end of charging, thereby producing a continuous charging duration substantially symmetric with respect to the minimum of Vin).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches all the limitations of claim 14. Li further teaches wherein the charging start threshold voltage is adjusted based on the input voltage at the time when the charging current is stopped (Figure 2 shows that Vdo is based on the input voltage through Components Vcc and Vdi; Figure 3 shows that Vdo is adjusted in time periods when the Gc signal is low and the charging current is not being provided).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-8, 11-12 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests wherein a plurality of non-overlapped voltage segments are determined based on the input voltage; and wherein: which voltage segments the input voltage at the time when the charging current is stopped and the charging start threshold voltage respectively belong to are determined, and if the determined voltage segments are different from each other, the charging start threshold voltage is adjusted.
Claim 4 is dependent upon claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests a leakage control circuit configured to provide a leakage control signal based on the power supply voltage, a leakage charging reference voltage and a leakage stop reference voltage; a leakage current source coupled in parallel with the charging current source, and configured to provide a leakage current to the power supply capacitor based on the leakage control signal; and wherein the leakage control signal is configured to control the leakage current source to start providing the leakage current for charging the power supply capacitor when the power supply voltage decreases to the leakage charging reference voltage and to control the leakage current source to stop providing the leakage current when the power supply voltage increases to the leakage stop reference voltage.
Claim 8 is dependent upon claim 7
Regarding claim 11, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests wherein a plurality of non-overlapped voltage segments are determined based on the input voltage; and wherein: which voltage segments the input voltage at the time when the charging current is stopped and the charging start threshold voltage respectively belong to are determined, and if the determined voltage segments are different from each other, the charging start threshold voltage is adjusted.
Claim 12 is dependent upon claim 11.
Regarding claim 16, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests wherein the step of adjusting the charging start threshold voltage comprises: decreasing the charging start threshold voltage when the charging start threshold voltage is higher than the input voltage at the time when the charging current is stopped; and increasing the charging start threshold voltage when the charging start threshold voltage is lower than the input voltage at the time when the charging current is stopped.
Regarding claim 17, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests wherein the step of adjusting the charging start threshold voltage comprises: determining a plurality of non-overlapped voltage segments based on the input voltage; determining which voltage segments the input voltage at the time when the charging current is stopped and the charging start threshold voltage respectively belong to; and adjusting the charging start threshold voltage if the determined voltage segments are different from each other.
Claim 18 is dependent upon claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, none of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combinations, teaches or fairly suggests controlling a leakage current source to start providing a leakage current for charging the power supply capacitor when the power supply voltage decreases to a leakage charging reference voltage; and controlling the leakage current source to stop providing the leakage current when the power supply voltage increases to a leakage stop reference voltage.
Claim 20 is dependent upon claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiao (US 2016/0156171 A1) teaches a current source generating a charging current and a supply voltage by charging a capacitor with the charging current. The current source has a conversion circuit converting a line voltage into a second voltage, a current generation circuit generating the charging current based on the second voltage, and a control circuit controlling the current generation circuit based on the supply voltage. The charging current is controlled to be at a first current value when the supply voltage is lower than a first threshold voltage, the charging current is controlled to be at a second current value when the supply voltage is higher than a second threshold voltage.
Saji (US 2016/0036249 A1) teaches a direct current power supply circuit includes an alternating-current power supply; a rectification circuit for generating a direct-current voltage from an alternating-current voltage; a charging switch having an input terminal connected to the rectification circuit, the charging switch outputting an output voltage according to an input value input to a control terminal; a capacitor and a control circuit, which are connected to an output terminal; and a charging switch control circuit for generating a switch-on signal when the output voltage is equal to or lower than a first reference voltage value, and for generating a switch-off signal when the output voltage is equal to or higher than a second reference voltage value higher than the first reference voltage value, wherein a charging period setting circuit including at least one of the rectification circuit and the charging switch control circuit sets a charging period in which a charging current flows into the capacitor and a non-charging period in which the charging current does not flow, and in a case where the switch-on signal is generated during the charging period, the charging current flows through the charging switch when the direct-current voltage becomes equal to or higher than the output voltage, and in a case where the switch-on signal is generated during the non-charging period, the charging current does not flow through the charging switch even if the direct-current voltage becomes equal to or higher than the output voltage.
Feng (US 2019/0068074 A1) teaches a supply voltage generating circuit for generating a supply voltage signal to supply the active elements of an AC-DC voltage converter. The supply voltage generating circuit has a charging switch, a charging diode and a charging capacitor. When a main switch of the AC-DC voltage converter is turned on, the charging switch is turned on. Primary current flows through the charging switch and the main switch to the logic ground. When the main switch is turned off and the voltage across the charging capacitor is smaller than a charging threshold, the charging switch is kept on for a period of time and the primary current flows through the charging switch and the charging diode to the charging capacitor.
/Shahzeb K Ahmad/Examiner, Art Unit 2838