DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7 including depending claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 6, 7 recite “an ice-prone surface”. It is unclear if the bolded limitation refers to the previously claimed limitation in claim 1. Not only does the phrase in the claims lacks a definite article (e.g. the or said) but the limitation is inconsistently recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 13, 17, 18, 20-22, 25, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105403 A), in view of Wintemute (US 2014/0260368 A1), and in view of Toyoshi (JP 2009264666 A).
Claim 1: Wang discloses a vapor compression heat transfer system, comprising
an evaporator assembly (paragraph [31]: evaporator) and an ice surface (paragraph [27]: removing any ice formed on a surface of the tube), and an ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]: ultrasonic transducer waves preventing icing on outside of the tube), the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) when energized vibrating the ice surface (shown in FIG.3-4 provided with an ultrasonic wave vibrator 4.1).
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose a prone, the ultrasonic energy source energized at a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz.
However, Wintemute teaches a prone (paragraph [104]: heat exchanger coil/tube is prone as to need to be defrosted) for the purpose of defrosting the coil or the tube of the heat exchanger (paragraph [104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Wang to include a prone as taught by Wintemute in order to defrost the coil or the tube of the heat exchanger.
Further, Toyoshi teaches the ultrasonic energy source energized at a frequency (paragraph [376]: ultrasonic device of refrigerator operates at predetermined frequency 80 kHz to 210 kHz) in order to perform to melt and remove ice (paragraph [102]), except for a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz. 20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Toyoshi to include a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz in order to enhance removing the ice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 2: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the vapor compression system comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of an ice maker, heat pump, air conditioner, a refrigerator (paragraph [14]: refrigeration unit), and a freezer.
Claim 3: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the ultrasonic energy source comprises a transducer (paragraph [27]).
Claim 4: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the transducer is a piezoelectric transducer (Toyoshi, paragraph [366]: piezoelectric element 463).
Claim 5: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 4, wherein at least two piezoelectric transducers (Toyoshi, 463; Toyoshi teaches piezoelectric transducer, except for piezoelectric transducers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Toyoshi to include piezoelectric transducers in order to enhance removing the ice, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a known device involves only routine skill in the art Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B) are connected to the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]), and each transducer is spaced from 12 in. to 18 in. from an adjacent transducer (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include each transducer is spaced from 12 in. to 18 in. from an adjacent transducer in order to enhance removing the ice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 6: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the evaporator assembly (paragraph [31]: evaporator) comprises an evaporator tube (to clarify, tubes are inherent to evaporator; paragraph [38]: heat exchanger tubes) having an ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]), and the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) vibrates the ice-prone surface and the evaporator tube (functional language/intended use).
Claim 13: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising controller (paragraph [20]: controller) circuitry communicatively coupled with the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) and configured to instruct the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) to vibrate the ice-prone surface to cause removal of ice from the ice-prone surface (functional language/intended use).
Claim 17: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) is operable as an ice detector in an ice-detecting mode, in conjunction with the controller (paragraph [20]: controller).
Claim 18: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 17, wherein the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) is operable in the ice-detecting mode over a range of 0.05 W/in2 - 0.1 W/in2, and in an ice-removal mode over a range of 0.5 W/in2 - 1.5 W/in2 (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include a range of 0.05 W/in2 - 0.1 W/in2, and over a range of 0.5 W/in2 - 1.5 W/in2 in order to enhance removing the ice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 20: Wang discloses a low temperature chamber having walls and a ceiling comprising
an ice surface (paragraph [27]: removing any ice formed on a surface of the tube), the chamber (to clarify, chamber is part of the structure of the evaporator which is inside the shell 6; see FIG.1) comprising one or more ultrasonic energy sources (paragraph [27]: ultrasonic transducer waves preventing icing on outside of the tube) disposed on one or more of the walls or the ceiling (plates 12 or bottom and top walls of shells 6 constructing walls or ceilings; see FIG.1), the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) when energized vibrating the ice surface (shown in FIG.3-4 provided with an ultrasonic wave vibrator 4.1).
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 20, but fails to disclose a prone, the ultrasonic energy source energized at a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz.
However, Wintemute teaches a prone (paragraph [104]: heat exchanger coil/tube is prone as to need to be defrosted) for the purpose of defrosting the coil or the tube of the heat exchanger (paragraph [104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Wang to include a prone as taught by Wintemute in order to defrost the coil or the tube of the heat exchanger.
Further, Toyoshi teaches the ultrasonic energy source energized at a frequency (paragraph [376]: ultrasonic device of refrigerator operates at predetermined frequency 80 kHz to 210 kHz) in order to perform to melt and remove ice (paragraph [102]), except for a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz. 20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Toyoshi to include a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz in order to enhance removing the ice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 21: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 20, wherein the chamber (chamber is part of the structure of the evaporator which is inside the shell 6; see FIG.1) is at least one selected from the group consisting of cold storage, walk-in freezer, reach-in display case, frozen fry dispenser, walk-in cooler, and refrigerated transportation container (paragraph [2]: evaporator intended used in refrigeration unit/freezer units).
Claim 22: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 20, further comprising an evaporator (paragraph [31]: evaporator) attached to the low temperature chamber (chambers are inherent as part of structure of evaporator; see FIG.1).
Claim 25: Wang discloses a method of conducting one of heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration, wherein the HVACR system comprises
an evaporator assembly (paragraph [31]: evaporator) and an ice surface (paragraph [27]: removing any ice formed on a surface of the tube), the method comprising the steps of: providing an ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]: ultrasonic transducer waves preventing icing on outside of the tube); and,
operating the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) to vibrate the ice surface (shown in FIG.3-4 provided with an ultrasonic wave vibrator 4.1).
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 25, but fails to disclose a prone, the ultrasonic energy source energized at a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz.
However, Wintemute teaches a prone (paragraph [104]: heat exchanger coil/tube is prone as to need to be defrosted) for the purpose of defrosting the coil or the tube of the heat exchanger (paragraph [104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Wang to include a prone as taught by Wintemute in order to defrost the coil or the tube of the heat exchanger.
Further, Toyoshi teaches the ultrasonic energy source energized at a frequency (paragraph [376]: ultrasonic device of refrigerator operates at predetermined frequency 80 kHz to 210 kHz) in order to perform to melt and remove ice (paragraph [102]), except for a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz. 20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Toyoshi to include a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz in order to enhance removing the ice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claim 27: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 25, further comprising the step of instructing the ultrasonic energy source to vibrate the ice-prone surface in accordance with a predetermined schedule (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, when performing S1-S4 real time procedures operating the ultrasonic transducer is interpreted as a predetermined schedule; see paragraphs [27] [28]).
Claim 28: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 25 wherein the HVACR system comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of an ice maker, heat pump, air conditioner, a refrigerator (paragraph [14]: refrigeration unit), and a freezer.
Claim 29: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 25, wherein the power per unit area (it is a functional language and intended use of the ultrasonic energy source) produced by the ultrasonic energy source (paragraphs [27] [28]) is from 0.5 W/in2 to 1.5 W/in2 (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include 0.5 W/in2 to 1.5 W/in2 in order to enhance removing the ice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A).
Claim 30: Wang discloses an evaporator assembly for a heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration apparatus, the evaporator assembly comprising
an evaporator (paragraph [31]: evaporator) and an ice surface (paragraph [27]: removing any ice formed on a surface of the tube), and an ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]: ultrasonic transducer waves preventing icing on outside of the tube), the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) when energized vibrating (shown in FIG.3-4 provided with an ultrasonic wave vibrator 4.1) the evaporator (paragraph [31]: evaporator).
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 30, but fails to disclose a prone, the ultrasonic energy source energized at a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz.
However, Wintemute teaches a prone (paragraph [104]: heat exchanger coil/tube is prone as to need to be defrosted) for the purpose of defrosting the coil or the tube of the heat exchanger (paragraph [104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Wang to include a prone as taught by Wintemute in order to defrost the coil or the tube of the heat exchanger.
Further, Toyoshi teaches the ultrasonic energy source energized at a frequency (paragraph [376]: ultrasonic device of refrigerator operates at predetermined frequency 80 kHz to 210 kHz) in order to perform to melt and remove ice (paragraph [102]), except for a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz. 20It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Toyoshi to include a frequency of from 30 kHz to 60 kHz in order to enhance removing the ice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only skill in the art - Optimum Range: MPEP 2144.05 II-A.
Claims 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105403 A), in view of Wintemute (US 2014/0260368 A1), in view of Toyoshi (JP 2009264666 A), and in view of Sudo (US 2006/0086486 A1).
Claim 7: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the evaporator assembly (paragraph [31]: evaporator) thermally and mechanically coupled with the outer surface of the evaporator tube (paragraph [38]), at least one of the evaporator tube (paragraph [38]) comprising an ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]), such that vibration of one of the evaporator tube (paragraph [38]) and by the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]) will vibrate the ice-prone surface (functional language/intended use).
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 7, but fails to disclose an evaporator fin.
However, Sudo teaches an evaporator fin (evaporator 1 includes fins 12) for the purpose of enhancing the heat transfer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include an evaporator fin as taught by Sudo in order to enhance the heat transfer.
Claim 8: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 7, wherein the evaporator tube and/or the evaporator fin (Sudo, evaporator 1 includes fins 12) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu, Al (Sudo, paragraph [50]: fin member comprise Al alloy), Fe, and alloys thereof.
Claims 9-11, 23, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105403 A), in view of Wintemute (US 2014/0260368 A1), in view of Toyoshi (JP 2009264666 A), and in view of Knudsen (US 2021/0395560 A1).
Claim 9: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]), on the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]) during operation of the evaporator (paragraph [31]: evaporator) and reduce adhesion of the formed ice to the ice-prone surface (functional language/intended use).
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 9, but fails to disclose coating a layer of icephobic material, wherein the icephobic material will reduce ice formation.
However, Knudsen teaches coating a layer of icephobic material (paragraph [14]: coating composition includes icephobic coating), wherein the icephobic material will reduce ice formation (paragraph [44]) for the purpose of inhibiting the formation of ice (paragraph [44]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include coating a layer of icephobic material, wherein the icephobic material will reduce ice formation as taught by Knudsen in order to inhibit the formation of ice.
Claim 10: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein the icephobic material (Knudsen, paragraph [14]) comprises polymeric low interfacial toughness material (Knudsen, paragraph [42]: polydimethylsiloxane; to clarify low interfacial toughness is mechanical property of polymeric material).
Claim 11: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 10, wherein the low interfacial toughness material is at least one selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxane (Knudsen, paragraph [42]: polydimethylsiloxane) and polytetrafluoroethylene.
Claim 23: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 20, further comprising the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]), on the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]) during operation of the evaporator (paragraph [31]: evaporator) and reduce adhesion of the formed ice to the ice-prone surface (functional language/intended use).
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 23, but fails to disclose coating a layer of icephobic material, wherein the icephobic material will reduce ice formation.
However, Knudsen teaches coating a layer of icephobic material (paragraph [14]: coating composition includes icephobic coating), wherein the icephobic material will reduce ice formation (paragraph [44]) for the purpose of inhibiting the formation of ice (paragraph [44]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include coating a layer of icephobic material, wherein the icephobic material will reduce ice formation as taught by Knudsen in order to inhibit the formation of ice.
Claim 24: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 23, wherein the icephobic material (Knudsen, paragraph [14]) comprises polymeric low interfacial toughness material (Knudsen, paragraph [42]: polydimethylsiloxane; to clarify low interfacial toughness is mechanical property of polymeric material).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105403 A), in view of Wintemute (US 2014/0260368 A1), in view of Toyoshi (JP 2009264666 A), and in view of Sawant (US 2023/0175792 A1).
Claim 12: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the evaporator assembly (paragraph [31]: evaporator) comprises and the ultrasonic energy device is mechanically connected such that the ultrasonic energy source will vibrate the vibration will be transmitted to the evaporator and the ice-prone surface.
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 12, but fails to disclose supporting structure for the evaporator.
However, Sawant teaches supporting structure for the evaporator (paragraph [73]: supporting structure such as bracket 1150/brace 1272) for the purpose of enhancing a structural rigidity of the heat exchanger (paragraph [72]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include supporting structure for the evaporator as taught by Sawant in order to enhance a structural rigidity of the heat exchanger.
Claims 14 , 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105403 A), in view of Wintemute (US 2014/0260368 A1), in view of Toyoshi (JP 2009264666 A), and in view of Saad (US 2024/0239496 A1).
Claim 14: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, but further fails to disclose an ice detector for detecting the presence of ice on the ice-prone surface, the ice detector being connected to the controller circuitry to operate when a threshold amount of ice is detected by the ice detector.
However, Saad teaches an ice detector (smart surface used as detector; paragraph [63]) for detecting the presence of ice on the ice-prone surface (functional language/intended use), the ice detector being connected to the controller (processor used as controller; paragraph [66]; processor to detect and determine whether de-icing condition satisfied) circuitry (to clarify, controller is electronically coupled to detecting system) to operate when a threshold amount of ice is detected by the ice detector (paragraph [96]: indicating that amount of accumulated ice exceeds a threshold amount) for the purpose of providing periodic defrosting to maintain efficiency (paragraph [2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include an ice detector for detecting the presence of ice on the ice-prone surface, the ice detector being connected to the controller circuitry to operate when a threshold amount of ice is detected by the ice detector as taught by Saad in order to provide periodic defrosting to maintain efficiency.
Claim 26: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 25, further comprising selectively instruct the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]: during S1-S4, the ultrasonic transducer is turned on simultaneously, preventing icing on the surface of the tube) to vibrate the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]) in response to the determination; and, and selectively turn off the ultrasonic energy source (paragraph [27]: during S1-S4, the ultrasonic transducer is turned on simultaneously, preventing icing on the surface of the tube; to clarify, ultrasonic transducer would be turned off when de-icing not needed) to cease vibration (shown in FIG.3-4 provided with an ultrasonic wave vibrator 4.1) of the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]) in response to the determination.
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 26, but fails to disclose the step of using an ice detector to determine whether ice formed on the ice-prone surface has exceeded a predetermined upper threshold, and using the ice detector to determine whether the formed ice has fallen below a predetermined lower threshold.
However, Saad teaches the step of using an ice detector (smart surface used as detector; paragraph [63]) to determine whether ice formed on the ice surface has exceeded a predetermined upper threshold (paragraph [96]: indicating that amount of accumulated ice exceeds a threshold amount), and using the ice detector (paragraph [63]) to determine whether the formed ice has fallen below a predetermined lower threshold (threshold amount used as predetermined lower threshold; see paragraph [63]) for the purpose of providing periodic defrosting to maintain efficiency (paragraph [2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include the step of using an ice detector to determine whether ice formed on the ice-prone surface has exceeded a predetermined upper threshold, and using the ice detector to determine whether the formed ice has fallen below a predetermined lower threshold as taught by Saad in order to provide periodic defrosting to maintain efficiency.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105403 A), in view of Wintemute (US 2014/0260368 A1), in view of Toyoshi (JP 2009264666 A), in view of Saad (US 2024/0239496 A1), and in view of Bratianu (US 2023/0348074 A1).
Claim 15: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the ice detector (Saad, paragraph [63]),
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 15, but fails to disclose a resistive sensor.
However, Bratianu teaches a resistive sensor (paragraph [324]: resistive temperature detectors used to measure temperature by measuring a change in sensor resistance) for the purpose of removing the ice accumulation to prevent inefficient result and unsafe operating conditions (paragraph [2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include a resistive sensor as taught by Bratianu in order to remove the ice accumulation to prevent inefficient result or unsafe operating conditions.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105403 A), in view of Wintemute (US 2014/0260368 A1), in view of Toyoshi (JP 2009264666 A), in view of Saad (US 2024/0239496 A1), and in view of Khozikov (US 2015/0246730 A1).
Claim 16: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 15, wherein the ice detector (Saad, paragraph [63]) comprises an impedance analyzer (Saad, impedance meter 150 used as impedance analyzer), the impedance analyzer (Saad, 150) measuring the impedance of the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]) and producing an impedance signal relating to the impedance (Saad, signal from impedance meter 150) of the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]) to the controller circuitry (Saad, processor), the controller circuitry (Saad, processor) determining from the impedance signal (Saad, signal from impedance meter 150) of the for the ice-prone surface (Wintemute, paragraph [104]) to determine the presence of ice on the ice-prone surface (functional language).
Wang discloses the claimed limitations in claim 16, but fails to disclose determining the resonant frequency and comparing the resonant frequency to a set point resonant frequency.
However, Khozikov teaches determining the resonant frequency (paragraph [57]: detecting of changes in the resonant frequencies/impedance processes) and comparing the resonant frequency to a set point resonant frequency (paragraph [58]: detection by comparing the output frequency/impedance with a predetermined frequency/impedance) for the purpose of removing and reducing the amount of ice formation to prevent safety issues (paragraph [1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include determining the resonant frequency and comparing the resonant frequency to a set point resonant frequency as taught by Khozikov in order to remove and to reduce the amount of ice formation to prevent safety issues.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105403 A), in view of Wintemute (US 2014/0260368 A1), in view of Toyoshi (JP 2009264666 A), in view of Saad (US 2024/0239496 A1), and in view of Brooks (3,926,006).
Claim 19: Wang as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the controller circuitry (Saad, processor), but further fails to disclose a function generator.
However, Brooks teaches a function generator (generator 68 energizes transmitting transducer 69 energy of signal into wave ultrasonic frequency signal) configured to energize the ultrasonic energy device according to predetermined functions (functional language; to clarify, predetermined functions are the functions of the generator) for the purpose of preventing the freezing of the pipe of sufficient thickness and rigidity to withstand pressure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Wang to include a function generator configured to energize the ultrasonic energy device according to predetermined functions as taught by Brooks in order to prevent the freezing of the pipe of sufficient thickness and rigidity to withstand pressure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to ice removal devices:
Gurin (US 2018/0215926 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763