DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20200288045) (hereinafter Jeong) in view of Churak (US 10490041) (hereinafter Churak).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches A doorbell system, comprising:
a doorbell coupled to the housing, the doorbell including a visitor detection system comprising a detection device selected from the group consisting of a camera, a microphone, and a motion detector (see Jeong figure 9F-G and paragraphs 4 and 168 regarding doorbell with camera for visitors in housing).
However, Jeong does not explicitly teach a curved surface as needed for the limitations of claim 1.
Churak, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a housing having a flat back surface and a curved front surface facing opposite the flat back surface (see Churak figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51 regarding housing with flat back surface and a front surface that may be concave- in combination with Jeong, the doorbell housing of Jeong may incorporate the curved front surface and other housing teachings of Churak in order to facilitate user handling); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teaching of Jeong to include the teaching of Churak so that in combination with Jeong, the doorbell housing of Jeong may incorporate the curved front surface and other housing teachings of Churak in order to facilitate user handling.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate user handling of a doorbell camera (see figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the curved front surface defines a concave curvature (see Churak figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51 regarding housing with flat back surface and a front surface that may be concave).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate user handling of a doorbell camera (see figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 2, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein a degree of curvature of the curved front surface is substantially symmetrical about a central horizontal axis of the housing (see Churak figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51 regarding housing with flat back surface and a front surface that may be concave- one of ordinary skill would find obvious that if a front surface of a doorbell camera may be concave, then the front surface of a doorbell may just as likely be concave with symmetry about a central horizontal axis of the housing).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate user handling of a doorbell camera (see figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the housing defines a substantially ovular circumferential profile (see Jeong figure 9F-G and paragraphs 4 and 168 regarding ovular circumferential profile).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the housing includes a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, and wherein the first surface and the second surface are substantially parallel for at least a portion of a length of the doorbell (see Jeong figure 9F-G and paragraphs 4 and 168 regarding first and second surface substantially parallel for length of doorbell).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the housing includes a top surface and a bottom surface located opposite the top surface, wherein at least a portion of the top surface and at least a portion of the bottom surface comprise tapered profiles (see Jeong figure 9F-G and paragraphs 4 and 168 regarding top and bottom tapered surfaces).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 6, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the tapered profile of the top surface tapers downward from the flat back surface toward the curved front surface, and wherein the tapered profile of the bottom surface tapers upward from the flat back surface toward the curved front surface (see Churak figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51 regarding housing with tapered top and bottom surfaces in same manner as described in claim).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate user handling of a doorbell camera (see figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches further comprising a software application running on a remote computing device communicatively coupled to the doorbell (see Jeong paragraph 9 regarding software for communicating with remote device).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches further comprising a projection light coupled to a bottom surface of the housing, wherein the projection light is configured to project an illumination on a surface (see Jeong paragraphs 242-244 and 249 and 251 regarding illumination states of an LED ring that may be disposed around the entire outer casing 708 using a plurality of LEDs, such that technically, there is a projection light coupled to a bottom surface of the housing).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 13, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the projection light is configured to constantly project the illumination (see Jeong paragraphs 242-244 and 249 and 251 regarding illumination states of an LED ring that may be disposed around the entire outer casing 708 using a plurality of LEDs, such that technically, there is a projection light coupled to a bottom surface of the housing, where during the light activation, there are embodiments where there will be a temporary constant projection of illumination, constant for the duration of the programmed illumination period).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 13, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the projection light is aimed away from a central horizontal axis and the projection light is aimed along a central vertical axis (see Jeong figure 13B and paragraphs 242-244 where the LED ring is facing forward around the button displaced from a central horizontal axis and along a central vertical axis- the same principles may be applied if the LED ring is all along the housing in general, so that at some point, the projection light aims away from a central horizontal axis and along a central vertical axis).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 13, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the projection light is coupled to a tapered portion of the bottom surface of the housing, such that the projection light is aimed away from both a central horizontal axis and a central vertical axis (see Churak figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51 regarding housing with flat back surface and a front surface with a perimeter marked by 44, which is illustrated as pointing to a place on the tapered portion that is aimed away from both a central horizontal and vertical axis- in combination with the outer perimeter LED ring of Jeong, this would cause the lights to project away from both a central horizontal and vertical axis, as the lights would be placed at the perimeter point marking of Churak).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate user handling of a doorbell camera (see figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 13, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the projection light is configured to project the illumination in response to a press of a button (see Jeong paragraphs 242-244 and 249 and 251 regarding illumination states of an LED ring that may be disposed around the entire outer casing 708 using a plurality of LEDs, such that technically, there is a projection light coupled to a bottom surface of the housing, where illumination occurs in response to a button press).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 13, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the projection light is configured to project the illumination in response to an indication of a presence of a visitor by a camera (see Jeong paragraphs 242-244 and 249 and 251 regarding illumination states of an LED ring that may be disposed around the entire outer casing 708 using a plurality of LEDs, such that technically, there is a projection light coupled to a bottom surface of the housing, where illumination occurs in response to detecting the presence of a visitor).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20200288045) (hereinafter Jeong) in view of Churak (US 10490041) (hereinafter Churak), further in view of Fu et al. (US 11304274) (hereinafter Fu).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
However, the combination of Jeong and Churak does not explicitly teach a speaker as needed for the limitations of claim 19.
Fu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the visitor detection system further comprises a speaker located adjacent a top surface of the housing (see Fu figure 2 and column 4 lines 13-27 regarding speaker at top portion of housing- in combination with Jeong, the speaker may be at the top portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Jeong and Churak to include the teaching of Fu so that in combination with Jeong, the speaker may be at the top portion.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to optimize arrangement of components in a doorbell camera (see Fu figure 2 and column 4 lines 13-27).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Jeong, Churak, Fu teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 19, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong, Churak, Fu teaches wherein a curvature of the curved front surface is arranged and configured to enhance a sound quality from the speaker, and wherein the sound quality comprises a treble component and a bass component (see Churak figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51 regarding slits for a speaker that, while illustrated as being on the bottom of the housing, is taught to be movable to wherever a speaker may be- in combination with Jeong and Fu, the speaker would be at a top surface of the housing on the curved from surface of Churak, and the slits may be placed there to enhance the sound quality. All audible sounds may be analyzed for broadly categorizable treble and bass frequencies, and slits are known to enhance the transmission of treble frequencies).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to facilitate user handling of a doorbell camera (see figure 3A and 3B and column 4 line 63 to column 6 line 51).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 20200288045) (hereinafter Jeong) in view of Churak (US 10490041) (hereinafter Churak), further in view of Fu et al. (US 11304274) (hereinafter Fu), and further in view of England et al. (US 20210097830) (hereinafter England).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 1, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong and Churak teaches wherein the camera is located above a central horizontal axis of the housing (see Jeong figure 9F-G and paragraphs 4 and 168 regarding doorbell with camera above central horizontal axis) and
However, the combination of Jeong and Churak does not explicitly teach a downward camera as needed for the limitations of claim 9.
Fu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches [the camera] is pointing at least partially downward toward a bottom side of the doorbell (see Fu figure 2 and column 10 lines 48-57 regarding rotatable camera that may point down- in combination with Jeong, the camera may be rotatable to point slightly down),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Jeong and Churak to include the teaching of Fu so that in combination with Jeong, the camera may be rotatable to point slightly down.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to optimize arrangement of components in a doorbell camera (see Fu figure 2 and column 4 lines 13-27).
However, the combination of Jeong, Churak, and Fu does not explicitly teach a camera angle as needed for the limitations of claim 9.
England, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the camera defining a vertical field of vision between 140 degrees and 160 degrees (see England paragraph 28 regarding vertical field of vision of doorbell camera being any other angle, which includes numbers listed even for a horizontal field of view such as 160- in combination with Jeong, the camera may have a vertical field of vision between 140 and 160 degrees).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the combination of Jeong, Churak, and Fu to include the teaching of England so that in combination with Jeong, the camera may have a vertical field of vision between 140 and 160 degrees.
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance the view range of a camera door bell (see England paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Jeong, Churak, Fu, and England teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong, Churak, Fu, and England teaches wherein the camera further comprises a retinal scanner for identifying a visitor (see England paragraph 149 regarding retinal scanner- in combination with Jeong, the doorbell camera may have a retinal scanner).
One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to enhance the security of a camera door bell (see England paragraph 149).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jeong, Churak, Fu, and England teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong, Churak, Fu, and England teaches further comprising a printed circuit board coupled to the housing, the printed circuit board electronically and mechanically coupled to the camera, wherein the printed circuit board is arranged and configured to at least partially align with a curvature of the housing (see Jeong figure 9F-G, 11F and paragraphs 27 and 184 and 201 regarding stack of components that includes circuit board that is aligned with circumferential curvature of housing).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Jeong, Churak, Fu, and England teaches all aforementioned limitations of claim 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, the combination of Jeong, Churak, Fu, and England teaches the housing further comprising a camera aperture and a camera surface adjacent to the camera aperture, the camera aperture configured to provide a viewing window for the camera, wherein the printed circuit board is substantially parallel to the camera surface (see Jeong figure 9F-G and paragraphs 4 and 168 regarding camera aperture and surface and figure 11F and paragraphs 27 and 184 and 201 regarding stack of components that includes circuit board that is aligned with circumferential curvature of housing, parallel to camera surface).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW DAVID KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483