DETAILED ACTION
This action is filed in response to the application filed on 6/26/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) form PTO-1149 filed on 6/27/2024. This IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. The claimed invention is directed to the abstract concept of performing mental steps without significantly more. Claim 1, and similarly Claim 11 recites the following abstract concepts in BOLD of:
An equipment monitoring system, comprising: a real-time operations center configured to: receive operational data in substantially real-time from equipment that is located at a worksite and that is being monitored by the real-time operations center and/or by one or more auxiliary devices in proximity of the equipment;
perform data analytics remotely on the operational data during operation of the equipment, wherein the data analytics relate to soak testing of a blowout preventer (BOP); and
provide one or more graphical user interfaces to one or more computing devices, wherein the one or more graphical user interfaces illustrate results of the soak testing.
Under Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claims are considered to be in a statutory category as Claims 1 and 11 both teach a device.
Under Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter that, when recited as such in a claim limitation, covers performing mathematics or mental steps. The step of performing analytics can be interpreted as a mental process that can be performed in the human mind.
Next, under Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no improvement to another technology or technical field; improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; a particular machine; effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Examiner notes that the claimed methods and system are not tied to a particular machine or apparatus, and they do not represent an improvement to another technology or technical field. Similarly there are no other meaningful limitations linking the use to a particular technological environment. Finally, there is nothing in the claims that indicates an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself or transform a particular article to a new state.
Under Step 2B, we consider whether the additional elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the at least one processor and memory of Claim 11 are generic computer elements and not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. As recited in the MPEP, 2106.05(b), merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093-94.
The limitation regarding receiving operational data recites necessary data gathering and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The limitation amounts to necessary data gathering and outputting. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering).
The final limitation regarding displaying the analytics teaches outputting data which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As recited in MPEP section 2106.05(g), displaying analysis/results is considered extra solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) “Printing or downloading generated menus, Ameranth, 842 F.3d at 1241-42, 120 USPQ2d at 1854-55”, see also MPEP 2106.05(h), As a whole the claim itself is analogous to the Electric Power Group decision in which it was determined that “ Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).”
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 further limit the abstract ideas without integrating the abstract concept into a practical application or including additional limitations that can be considered significantly more than the abstract idea:
Claims 2, 10, 12 and 20 further limit the data to be displayed which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As recited in MPEP section 2106.05(g), displaying analysis/results is considered extra solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) “Printing or downloading generated menus, Ameranth, 842 F.3d at 1241-42, 120 USPQ2d at 1854-55”, see also MPEP 2106.05(h), As a whole the claim itself is analogous to the Electric Power Group decision in which it was determined that “ Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).”
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8, 13, 15, 16, and 18 teach selecting information for collection analysis and display which is considered insignificant extra solution activity that does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claims 4, 7, 9, 14, 17, and 19 further limit the data to be collected data recites necessary data gathering which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The limitation amounts to necessary data gathering and outputting. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-13, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being as by anticipated by Kroslid (US20200291767 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kroslid teaches an equipment monitoring system, comprising: a real-time operations center configured to: receive operational data in substantially real-time from equipment that is located at a worksite and that is being monitored by the real-time operations center and/or by one or more auxiliary devices in proximity of the equipment (e.g. see [0046] “The control center 190 may comprise a facility 191 (e.g., a room, a cabin, a trailer, etc.) containing a control workstation 197, which may be operated by a human wellsite operator 195 to monitor and control various wellsite equipment or portions of the well construction system 100. The control workstation 197 may comprise or be communicatively connected with a processing device 192 (e.g., a controller, a computer, etc.)”;
perform data analytics remotely on the operational data during operation of the equipment, wherein the data analytics relate to soak testing of a blowout preventer (BOP) (e.g. see [0066] "the processing device 358 may be operable to analyze current and historical performance based condition indicators 354 systematically or in real-time over a period of time, such as to recognize changes or trends in performance (e.g., execution) of actions caused by individual actuators or components," and [0030] “The BOP equipment may be operable to control pressure within the wellbore 102 via a series of pressure barriers (e.g., rams) between the wellbore 102 and the wellsite surface 104… The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138. The BOP control unit 137 may be or comprise a hydraulic fluid power unit fluidly connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and selectively operable to hydraulically drive various portions (e.g., rams, valves, seals) of the BOP equipment”); and
provide one or more graphical user interfaces to one or more computing devices, wherein the one or more graphical user interfaces illustrate results of the soak testing (e.g. see [0079] “One or more output devices 528 may also be connected to the interface circuit 524. The output devices 528 may permit for visualization or other sensory perception of various data, such as sensor data, status data, and/or other example data. The output devices 528 may be, comprise, or be implemented by video output devices (e.g., an LCD, an LED display, a CRT display, a touchscreen, etc.), printers, and/or speakers, among other examples. The one or more input devices 526 and the one or more output devices 528 connected to the interface circuit 524 may, at least in part, facilitate the HMIs described herein”).
Regarding Claim 2, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 1. Kroslid further discloses wherein the real-time operations center is configured to generate a report (e.g. see [0079] “The output devices 528 may permit for visualization or other sensory perception of various data, such as sensor data, status data, and/or other example data. The output devices 528 may be, comprise, or be implemented by video output devices (e.g., an LCD, an LED display, a CRT display, a touchscreen, etc.), printers, and/or speakers, among other examples. The one or more input devices 526 and the one or more output devices 528 connected to the interface circuit 524 may, at least in part, facilitate the HMIs described herein,”) of the results of the soak testing (e.g. see [0061] “The sensor data may be indicative of different points of measurement of the action performed. The sensor data may include, for example, position of a hydraulic cylinder or motor, hydraulic fluid pressure, pressure within an accumulator, flow generated by a pump, force generated by an actuator, and temperature of hydraulic fluid”).
Regarding Claim 3, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 1. Kroslid further discloses wherein the real-time operations center is configured to enable a user to select a drilling mode for the blowout preventer from a plurality of drilling modes for the soak testing (e.g. see [0030] “The BOP control unit 137 may be or comprise a hydraulic fluid power unit fluidly connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and selectively operable to hydraulically drive various portions (e.g., rams, valves, seals) of the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 1. Kroslid further discloses wherein the real-time operations center is configured to enable a user to select between a realtime mode and a playback mode for the soak testing (e.g. see [0066] “The processing device 358 may be operable to analyze current and historical performance based condition indicators 354 systematically or in real-time over a period of time, such as to recognize changes or trends in performance”).
Regarding Claim 6, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 1. Kroslid further discloses wherein the real-time operations center is configured to enable a user to select one or more primary trends for the blowout preventer from a plurality of primary trends for the soak testing (e.g. see [0072] “Current and historical performance based condition indicators may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the performance based condition monitoring application 418 to recognize changes or trends in performance of the individual actuators 406 and/or components 408. Such trends may be indicative of developing or potential faults, which may be repaired or otherwise addressed before failure or large reductions in performance can manifest,” and [0083] “The graph 640 may be generated by a processing device, such as the processing system 500, based on recorded historical and current cycle times. The processing device may generate and output condition information indicative of the condition of the actuator and/or component of the piece of equipment based on the performance based condition indicators 642… the processing device can record and analyze other performance based condition indicators for changes or trends over time, which are indicative of progressive decrease in quality of performance or execution of the corresponding action”).
Regarding Claim 10, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 1. Kroslid further discloses wherein the real-time operations center is configured to illustrate a snapshot visual view of the BOP being tested in addition to the results of the soak testing via the one or more graphical user interfaces (e.g. [0079] “The output devices 528 may permit for visualization or other sensory perception of various data, such as sensor data, status data, and/or other example data. The output devices 528 may be, comprise, or be implemented by video output devices (e.g., an LCD, an LED display, a CRT display, a touchscreen, etc.), printers, and/or speakers, among other examples. The one or more input devices 526 and the one or more output devices 528 connected to the interface circuit 524 may, at least in part, facilitate the HMIs described herein”).
Regarding Claim 11, Kroslid teaches a data analytics kiosk, comprising: at least one processor (e.g. see [0074] “The processing system 500 may be or comprise, for example, one or more processors, controllers, special-purpose computing devices, PCs (e.g., desktop, laptop, and/or tablet computers), personal digital assistants, smartphones, IPCs, PLCs, servers, internet appliances, and/or other types of computing devices”) and at least one memory medium, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in the at least one memory medium that, when executed by the at least one processor (e.g. see [0081] “In the case of firmware or software, the implementation may be provided as a computer program product including a non-transitory, computer-readable medium or storage structure embodying computer program code instructions 532 (i.e., software or firmware) thereon for execution by the processor 512”) cause the data analytics kiosk to:
receive operational data in substantially real-time from equipment that is located at a worksite and that is being monitored by the real-time operations center and/or by one or more auxiliary devices in proximity of the equipment (e.g. see [0046] “The control center 190 may comprise a facility 191 (e.g., a room, a cabin, a trailer, etc.) containing a control workstation 197, which may be operated by a human wellsite operator 195 to monitor and control various wellsite equipment or portions of the well construction system 100. The control workstation 197 may comprise or be communicatively connected with a processing device 192 (e.g., a controller, a computer, etc.)”;
perform data analytics remotely on the operational data during operation of the equipment, wherein the data analytics relate to soak testing of a blowout preventer (BOP) (e.g. see [0066] "the processing device 358 may be operable to analyze current and historical performance based condition indicators 354 systematically or in real-time over a period of time, such as to recognize changes or trends in performance (e.g., execution) of actions caused by individual actuators or components," and [0030] “The BOP equipment may be operable to control pressure within the wellbore 102 via a series of pressure barriers (e.g., rams) between the wellbore 102 and the wellsite surface 104… The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit) operatively connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and operable to actuate, drive, operate or otherwise control the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138. The BOP control unit 137 may be or comprise a hydraulic fluid power unit fluidly connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and selectively operable to hydraulically drive various portions (e.g., rams, valves, seals) of the BOP equipment”); and
provide one or more graphical user interfaces to one or more computing devices, wherein the one or more graphical user interfaces illustrate results of the soak testing (e.g. see [0079] “One or more output devices 528 may also be connected to the interface circuit 524. The output devices 528 may permit for visualization or other sensory perception of various data, such as sensor data, status data, and/or other example data. The output devices 528 may be, comprise, or be implemented by video output devices (e.g., an LCD, an LED display, a CRT display, a touchscreen, etc.), printers, and/or speakers, among other examples. The one or more input devices 526 and the one or more output devices 528 connected to the interface circuit 524 may, at least in part, facilitate the HMIs described herein”).
Regarding Claim 12, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 11. Kroslid further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to generate a report (e.g. see [0079] “The output devices 528 may permit for visualization or other sensory perception of various data, such as sensor data, status data, and/or other example data. The output devices 528 may be, comprise, or be implemented by video output devices (e.g., an LCD, an LED display, a CRT display, a touchscreen, etc.), printers, and/or speakers, among other examples. The one or more input devices 526 and the one or more output devices 528 connected to the interface circuit 524 may, at least in part, facilitate the HMIs described herein,”) of the results of the soak testing (e.g. see [0061] “The sensor data may be indicative of different points of measurement of the action performed. The sensor data may include, for example, position of a hydraulic cylinder or motor, hydraulic fluid pressure, pressure within an accumulator, flow generated by a pump, force generated by an actuator, and temperature of hydraulic fluid”).
Regarding Claim 13, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 11. Kroslid further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to enable a user to select a drilling mode for the blowout preventer from a plurality of drilling modes for the soak testing (e.g. see [0030] “The BOP control unit 137 may be or comprise a hydraulic fluid power unit fluidly connected with the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138 and selectively operable to hydraulically drive various portions (e.g., rams, valves, seals) of the BOP equipment 130, 132, 138.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 11. Kroslid further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to enable a user to select between a realtime mode and a playback mode for the soak testing (e.g. see [0066] “The processing device 358 may be operable to analyze current and historical performance based condition indicators 354 systematically or in real-time over a period of time, such as to recognize changes or trends in performance”).
Regarding Claim 16, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 11. Kroslid further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to enable a user to select one or more primary trends for the blowout preventer from a plurality of primary trends for the soak testing (e.g. see [0072] “Current and historical performance based condition indicators may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the performance based condition monitoring application 418 to recognize changes or trends in performance of the individual actuators 406 and/or components 408. Such trends may be indicative of developing or potential faults, which may be repaired or otherwise addressed before failure or large reductions in performance can manifest,” and [0083] “The graph 640 may be generated by a processing device, such as the processing system 500, based on recorded historical and current cycle times. The processing device may generate and output condition information indicative of the condition of the actuator and/or component of the piece of equipment based on the performance based condition indicators 642… the processing device can record and analyze other performance based condition indicators for changes or trends over time, which are indicative of progressive decrease in quality of performance or execution of the corresponding action”).
Regarding Claim 20, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 11. Kroslid further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to illustrate a snapshot visual view of the BOP being tested in addition to the results of the soak testing via the one or more graphical user interfaces (e.g. [0079] “The output devices 528 may permit for visualization or other sensory perception of various data, such as sensor data, status data, and/or other example data. The output devices 528 may be, comprise, or be implemented by video output devices (e.g., an LCD, an LED display, a CRT display, a touchscreen, etc.), printers, and/or speakers, among other examples. The one or more input devices 526 and the one or more output devices 528 connected to the interface circuit 524 may, at least in part, facilitate the HMIs described herein”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroslid (US 20200291767 A1) in view of Cummins (US20190024470 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 3. Kroslid further discloses wherein the plurality of drilling modes comprise a drilling mode and a non-drilling mode with pipe (e.g. see [0030] “the drill string 120 may be conveyed within the wellbore 102 through various blowout preventer (BOP) equipment disposed at the wellsite surface 104 on top of the wellbore 102 and perhaps below the rig floor 114. The BOP equipment may be operable to control pressure within the wellbore 102 via a series of pressure barriers (e.g., rams) between the wellbore 102 and the wellsite surface 104. The BOP equipment may include a BOP stack 130 (i.e. drilling mode), an annular preventer 132 (i.e. non-drilling mode with pipe), and/or a rotating control device (RCD) 138 mounted above the annular preventer 132”).
Kroslid does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of drilling modes comprise a non-drilling mode HP shear, a non-drilling mode without pipe, and a vent mode. In the same field of endeavor, Cummins teaches wherein the plurality of drilling modes comprise a non-drilling mode HP shear (e.g. see [0038] “For example, each BOP can be…a shear-blind type”) a non-drilling mode without pipe (e.g. see [0038] “BOP can be an annular type, a shear-blind type, or a pipe preventer type. The annular blowout preventer type can include a large valve used to control wellbore fluids. In this blowout preventer type, the sealing element can resemble a large rubber doughnut that is mechanically squeezed inward to seal on either casing 620 (drill collar, drillpipe, casing, or tubing) or the wellbore 621”), and a vent mode (e.g. see [0004] “The operator reacts by closing a blowout preventer (BOP) and diverting the fluid (i.e. vent mode) through the choke line to a choke valve or choke manifold where the high pressure wellbore fluid passes through a choke to reduce pressure, typically at or near atmospheric pressure”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the selective drilling modes of Kroslid with the additional modes provided in Cummins for the purpose of performing soak testing with the advantage of adapting the blowout preventer to the pertinent well specifications.
Regarding Claim 14, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 13. Kroslid further discloses wherein the plurality of drilling modes comprise a drilling mode and a non-drilling mode with pipe (e.g. see [0030] “the drill string 120 may be conveyed within the wellbore 102 through various blowout preventer (BOP) equipment disposed at the wellsite surface 104 on top of the wellbore 102 and perhaps below the rig floor 114. The BOP equipment may be operable to control pressure within the wellbore 102 via a series of pressure barriers (e.g., rams) between the wellbore 102 and the wellsite surface 104. The BOP equipment may include a BOP stack 130 (i.e. drilling mode), an annular preventer 132 (i.e. non-drilling mode with pipe), and/or a rotating control device (RCD) 138 mounted above the annular preventer 132”).
Kroslid does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of drilling modes comprise a non-drilling mode HP shear, a non-drilling mode without pipe, and a vent mode. In the same field of endeavor, Cummins teaches wherein the plurality of drilling modes comprise a non-drilling mode HP shear (e.g. see [0038] “For example, each BOP can be…a shear-blind type”) a non-drilling mode without pipe (e.g. see [0038] “BOP can be an annular type, a shear-blind type, or a pipe preventer type. The annular blowout preventer type can include a large valve used to control wellbore fluids. In this blowout preventer type, the sealing element can resemble a large rubber doughnut that is mechanically squeezed inward to seal on either casing 620 (drill collar, drillpipe, casing, or tubing) or the wellbore 621”), and a vent mode (e.g. see [0004] “The operator reacts by closing a blowout preventer (BOP) and diverting the fluid (i.e. vent mode) through the choke line to a choke valve or choke manifold where the high pressure wellbore fluid passes through a choke to reduce pressure, typically at or near atmospheric pressure”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the selective drilling modes of Kroslid with the additional modes provided in Cummins for the purpose of performing soak testing with the advantage of adapting the blowout preventer to the pertinent well specifications.
Claim 7, 9, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroslid (US 20200291767 A1) in view of Holmes (US 20180073320 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 6. Kroslid further discloses wherein the plurality of primary trends comprise a pressure accumulator pressure readback (e.g. see [0061] “The sensor data may include, for example, position of a hydraulic cylinder or motor, hydraulic fluid pressure, pressure within an accumulator, flow generated by a pump, force generated by an actuator, and temperature of hydraulic fluid”) and a BOP accumulator [0030] “The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit)”).
Kroslid does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of primary trends comprise an annular regulator pilot, a BOP manifold regulator pilot, a connector regulator pilot, a solenoid regulator supply, and a subsea supply readback. In the same field of endeavor, Holmes teaches wherein the plurality of primary trends comprise an annular regulator pilot (e.g. see [0314] “i In some embodiments, the hydraulic pod section of the LMRP subsea control module 618 can include up to five regulated hydraulic control circuits or more, which can be mounted in each control pod. These regulators can be manufactured from anti-galling and corrosion resistant stainless steel and can be hydraulically piloted. The five regulator functions are: 1) stack connector pressure regulator, 2) upper annular pressure regulator, 3) lower annular pressure regulator, 4) subsea manifold pressure regulator, and 5) ram manifold pressure regulator”), a BOP manifold regulator pilot (e.g. see [0030] “Therefore, disclosed is a blowout preventer (BOP) safety system for testing the integrity of hydraulic safety valves at the sea floor. The system includes a BOP stack including a BOP, the BOP comprising a BOP shear ram; a first hydraulic circuit, the first hydraulic circuit in fluid communication with the BOP shear ram and having an open side and a close side; and a manifold, wherein the manifold is disposed proximate to and in fluid communication with a dump valve, a first sensor, and a supply valve”), a connector regulator pilot (e.g. see [0410] “In some embodiments of the invention, the hydraulic control unit 834 can be connected to the hydraulic connector 820 to disconnect or reconnect the LMRP 818 from the lower stack 814. Since the hydraulic connector 820 is attached to the LMRP 818, a single hydraulic line 848 may need to cross the interface between the LMRP 818 and the lower stack 814 to provide hydraulic communication between the hydraulic control unit 834 and the hydraulic connector 820”), a solenoid regulator supply (e.g. see [0177]), and a subsea supply readback (e.g. see [0153] “The HPU 78 can supply hydraulic fluid to charge both surface and subsea accumulators 80 from precharge pressure to a maximum system operating pressure which, in some embodiments, can be about 5,000 psi. This stored fluid can be used to operate all hydraulic functions in the LMRP and lower BOP stack”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the trend determination embodiment of Kroslid with the additional trend types of Holmes for the purpose of performing soak testing with the advantage of outputting the trend data most useful to the user.
Regarding Claim 9, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 8. Kroslid further discloses wherein the plurality of secondary trends comprise a conduit supply pressure readback (e.g. see [0062] “Process variance data 308 may be indicative of, for example, weight of a gripper head, cylinder pressure, hydraulic fluid supply pressure”).
Kroslid does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of secondary trends comprise a connector regulator readback (e.g. see [0314]), a BOP manifold readback, a failsafe accumulator readback, a solenoid valve supply readback, and an annular regulator readback. In the same field of endeavor, Holmes teaches wherein the plurality of secondary trends comprise a connector regulator readback, a BOP manifold readback (e.g. see [0030] “The system further includes a first safety valve disposed between and in fluid communication with the manifold and the BOP on the close side, wherein the dump valve is operable to allow flow from the BOP to the manifold through the safety valve, and wherein the first sensor is operable to detect the flow from the BOP to the manifold”), a failsafe accumulator readback (e.g. see [0337] “in addition, manual ROV isolation valves can be supplied in the ROV intervention panel for the following: [0338] ROV by-pass for wellhead connector [0339] ROV dump subsea accumulator dump [0340] Failsafe accumulators dump isolation valve”), a solenoid valve supply readback [0372] “i The electrical voltages resulting from the subsea signal conversions actuate solenoid operated valves in the acoustic pod. These actuations produce the hydraulic pressures required to shut in the wellhead and other functions. As each actuation occurs, the pod forwards an electrical confirmation signal for conversion and transmission to the SCUs. Each confirmation signal updates the visual display of pod status in the SCUs”), and an annular regulator readback (e.g. see [0314]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the trend determination embodiment of Kroslid with the additional trend types of Holmes for the purpose of performing soak testing with the advantage of outputting the trend data most useful to the user.
Regarding Claim 17, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 16. Kroslid further discloses wherein the plurality of primary trends comprise a pressure accumulator pressure readback (e.g. see [0061] “The sensor data may include, for example, position of a hydraulic cylinder or motor, hydraulic fluid pressure, pressure within an accumulator, flow generated by a pump, force generated by an actuator, and temperature of hydraulic fluid”) and a BOP accumulator [0030] “The well control system may further include a BOP control unit 137 (i.e., a BOP closing unit)”).
Kroslid does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of primary trends comprise an annular regulator pilot, a BOP manifold regulator pilot, a connector regulator pilot, a solenoid regulator supply, and a subsea supply readback. In the same field of endeavor, Holmes teaches wherein the plurality of primary trends comprise an annular regulator pilot (e.g. see [0314] “In some embodiments, the hydraulic pod section of the LMRP subsea control module 618 can include up to five regulated hydraulic control circuits or more, which can be mounted in each control pod. These regulators can be manufactured from anti-galling and corrosion resistant stainless steel and can be hydraulically piloted. The five regulator functions are: 1) stack connector pressure regulator, 2) upper annular pressure regulator, 3) lower annular pressure regulator, 4) subsea manifold pressure regulator, and 5) ram manifold pressure regulator”), a BOP manifold regulator pilot (e.g. see [0030] “Therefore, disclosed is a blowout preventer (BOP) safety system for testing the integrity of hydraulic safety valves at the sea floor. The system includes a BOP stack including a BOP, the BOP comprising a BOP shear ram; a first hydraulic circuit, the first hydraulic circuit in fluid communication with the BOP shear ram and having an open side and a close side; and a manifold, wherein the manifold is disposed proximate to and in fluid communication with a dump valve, a first sensor, and a supply valve”), a connector regulator pilot (e.g. see [0410] “In some embodiments of the invention, the hydraulic control unit 834 can be connected to the hydraulic connector 820 to disconnect or reconnect the LMRP 818 from the lower stack 814. Since the hydraulic connector 820 is attached to the LMRP 818, a single hydraulic line 848 may need to cross the interface between the LMRP 818 and the lower stack 814 to provide hydraulic communication between the hydraulic control unit 834 and the hydraulic connector 820”), a solenoid regulator supply (e.g. see [0177]), and a subsea supply readback (e.g. see [0153] “The HPU 78 can supply hydraulic fluid to charge both surface and subsea accumulators 80 from precharge pressure to a maximum system operating pressure which, in some embodiments, can be about 5,000 psi. This stored fluid can be used to operate all hydraulic functions in the LMRP and lower BOP stack”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the trend determination embodiment of Kroslid with the additional trend types of Holmes for the purpose of performing soak testing with the advantage of outputting the trend data most useful to the user.
Regarding Claim 19, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 18. Kroslid further discloses wherein the plurality of secondary trends comprise a conduit supply pressure readback (e.g. see [0062] “Process variance data 308 may be indicative of, for example, weight of a gripper head, cylinder pressure, hydraulic fluid supply pressure”).
Kroslid does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of secondary trends comprise a connector regulator readback (e.g. see [0314]), a BOP manifold readback, a failsafe accumulator readback, a solenoid valve supply readback, and an annular regulator readback. In the same field of endeavor, Holmes teaches wherein the plurality of secondary trends comprise a connector regulator readback, a BOP manifold readback (e.g. see [0030] “The system further includes a first safety valve disposed between and in fluid communication with the manifold and the BOP on the close side, wherein the dump valve is operable to allow flow from the BOP to the manifold through the safety valve, and wherein the first sensor is operable to detect the flow from the BOP to the manifold”), a failsafe accumulator readback (e.g. see [0337] “in addition, manual ROV isolation valves can be supplied in the ROV intervention panel for the following: [0338] ROV by-pass for wellhead connector [0339] ROV dump subsea accumulator dump [0340] Failsafe accumulators dump isolation valve”), a solenoid valve supply readback [0372] “i The electrical voltages resulting from the subsea signal conversions actuate solenoid operated valves in the acoustic pod. These actuations produce the hydraulic pressures required to shut in the wellhead and other functions. As each actuation occurs, the pod forwards an electrical confirmation signal for conversion and transmission to the SCUs. Each confirmation signal updates the visual display of pod status in the SCUs”), and an annular regulator readback (e.g. see [0314]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the trend determination embodiment of Kroslid with the additional trend types of Holmes for the purpose of performing soak testing with the advantage of outputting the trend data most useful to the user.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroslid (US 20200291767 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 6. Kroslid further discloses wherein the real-time operations center is configured to enable a user to select one or more secondary trends for the blowout preventer from a plurality of secondary trends for the soak testing (e.g. see [0072] “Current and historical performance based condition indicators may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the performance based condition monitoring application 418 to recognize changes or trends in performance of the individual actuators 406 and/or components 408. Such trends may be indicative of developing or potential faults, which may be repaired or otherwise addressed before failure or large reductions in performance can manifest,” and [0083] “The graph 640 may be generated by a processing device, such as the processing system 500, based on recorded historical and current cycle times. The processing device may generate and output condition information indicative of the condition of the actuator and/or component of the piece of equipment based on the performance based condition indicators 642… the processing device can record and analyze other performance based condition indicators for changes or trends over time, which are indicative of progressive decrease in quality of performance or execution of the corresponding action”).
Examiner notes Kroslid teaches selecting trends to evaluate but does not explicitly label distinct trends as primary or secondary. Examiner notes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize ordinary creativity to categorize the available trends into two groups to fit the needs of a specific user (See MPEP 2141.03(I) “Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396”). Further, the categorization does not change the availability or use of the trends and is therefore an aesthetic design change which, “cannot be relied upon to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art,” See MPEP 2144.04(I).
Regarding Claim 18, Kroslid teaches the limitations of Claim 16. Kroslid further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to enable a user to select one or more secondary trends for the blowout preventer from a plurality of secondary trends for the soak testing (e.g. see [0072] “Current and historical performance based condition indicators may be analyzed systematically or in real-time over a period of time by the performance based condition monitoring application 418 to recognize changes or trends in performance of the individual actuators 406 and/or components 408. Such trends may be indicative of developing or potential faults, which may be repaired or otherwise addressed before failure or large reductions in performance can manifest,” and [0083] “The graph 640 may be generated by a processing device, such as the processing system 500, based on recorded historical and current cycle times. The processing device may generate and output condition information indicative of the condition of the actuator and/or component of the piece of equipment based on the performance based condition indicators 642… the processing device can record and analyze other performance based condition indicators for changes or trends over time, which are indicative of progressive decrease in quality of performance or execution of the corresponding action”).
Examiner notes Kroslid teaches selecting trends to evaluate but does not explicitly label distinct trends as primary or secondary. Examiner notes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize ordinary creativity to categorize the available trends into two groups to fit the needs of a specific user (See MPEP 2141.03(I) “Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396”). Further, the categorization does not change the availability or use of the trends and is therefore an aesthetic design change which, “cannot be relied upon to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art,” See MPEP 2144.04(I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20210172273-A1 teaches the use of blowout preventers of different types with several BOP devices usually installed above a wellhead in what is referred to as a “stack” or a “BOP stack”. A typical stack consists of between one and six ram-type blowout preventers and one or two annular blowout preventers. Some of these devices are routinely employed when performing normal drilling operations, such as changing a drill bit.
US-20210172277-A1- teaches a system for an annular blowout preventer (BOP) includes a piston, a packer assembly, and a connector assembly. The connector assembly includes a linkage, wherein a first end portion of the linkage is configured to contact and couple to the piston and a second end portion of the linkage is configured to contact and couple to the packer assembly.
/NYLA GAVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857