DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 4/23/206 is acknowledged. Claims 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/23/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 should recite similar to --a reduction in signal quality-- in order to fix an inadvertent typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0107454 to Simila et al. (herein “Simila”) (cited by applicant).
In reference to at least claim 1
Simila discloses a method comprising: calibrating an array of heart rate sensors of a handheld device by: evaluating, while the handheld device is being held by a user (the ring is being worn by the user therefore the ring is being held by at least the finger of the user), an output of each sensor in the sensor array (e.g. “may simultaneously measure signal qualities for each green LED channel and each IR channel, compare the signal qualities,”, para. [0102]); selecting, based on the evaluation of the output of each sensor, a subset of sensors in the sensor array for use in detecting a heart rate of a user (e.g. “may select a channel (e.g., a set of one or more sensors) for collecting the PPG data”, para. [0101], “may simultaneously measure signal qualities for each green LED channel and each IR channel, compare the signal qualities, and select the channel (e.g., select a green LED channel, select an IR channel) with the best signal quality that will be used for heart rate measurements.”, para. [0102]); and using the subset of sensors to monitor the heart rate of the user (e.g. “may simultaneously measure signal qualities for each green LED channel and each IR channel, compare the signal qualities, and select the channel (e.g., select a green LED channel, select an IR channel) with the best signal quality that will be used for heart rate measurements.”, para. [0102]).
In reference to at least claim 2
Simila discloses wherein the evaluation is based on a strength of a signal quality (e.g. “and select the channel (e.g., select a green LED channel, select an IR channel) with the best signal quality that will be used for heart rate measurements.”, para. [0102], “may measure a signal quality of IR channels, and may utilize IR channels for heart rate measurement if the signal quality of the IR channel(s) is above a quality threshold,”, para. [0102]).
In reference to at least claim 3
Simila discloses calibrating the array of heart rate sensors in response to detecting a reduction signal quality from at least one sensor in the subset of sensors (e.g. “ may measure a signal quality of IR channels, and may utilize IR channels for heart rate measurement if the signal quality of the IR channel(s) is above a quality threshold, or utilize other channels (e.g., green LED channels) if the signal quality of the IR channel(s) is below the quality threshold.”, para. [0102]).
In reference to at least claim 4
Simila discloses detecting movement of the handheld device, wherein the calibrating the array of heart rate sensors is performed in response to detecting the movement (e.g. “Subsequently, at 310, the system 200 may detect moments for obtaining PPG based on the acquired motion and temperature data. At 315, and based on detecting moments for obtaining PPG, the system 200 may sample PPG and assess the PPG signal. At 320, and based on the signal quality of the PPG signal, the system 200 may estimate the heart rate of the user.”, para. [0105]).
In reference to at least claim 5
Simila discloses determining that a predetermined amount of time has passed since a previous calibration of the array of heart sensors, wherein the calibrating the array of heart rate sensors is performed in response to the determination that the predetermined amount of time has passed (e.g. “ In some cases, the wearable device may detect a PPG moment based on reaching the end of the interval (e.g., after X minutes have elapsed) and based on one or more physiological conditions meeting a quality threshold. For example, every X minutes (e.g., in accordance with the interval) the wearable device may determine if one or more physiological conditions meet a quality threshold.”, para. [0108]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0138303 to Jafari et al. which discloses a cuffless blood pressure system that calibrates sensors based on quality measurements of the sensors.
/JENNIFER L GHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796