DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the threads for the second aperture must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims 7 and 15. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: para [0073] recites “the clip-on u-nut 1-0 illustrated.” “1-0” should read --100--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7 and 15 specify that the second aperture comprise a plurality of threads. The specification does not describe how the oblong slot has threads that a bolt can engage at any position along its length. The purpose of the oblong slot is to have the bolt slide along the oblong slot. It is not clear how the threaded oblong slot would allow the bolt to slide along the threads. See also the drawing objection above and claim interpretation below.
Claim 12 recites “the second elongated length is measured perpendicular to a direction of measurement of the first elongated length as is a measure of a width of the second aperture (122).” “As” should read as --and--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 7 and 15 recite that the first aperture and the second aperture “comprise a plurality of internal threads.” The second aperture is an oblong-shaped through-hole. The specification describes the threads and admits they are not shown. With the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims in view of the specification, “comprise a plurality of internal threads” is interpreted to be the internal structure that threadably engages a plurality of the external threads of the received fastener. The rejections below are made base on this interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claims 2, 4, 10, and 12, the term “substantially align” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially align” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. A person of ordinary skill in the art cannot tell when the rim of the first aperture is “substantially aligned” with the edge of the slot and when it is not. The specification describes “the substantial alignment implies that the central longitudinal axes of the first aperture 106 and the second aperture 122 may not be collinear with one another but may be aligned to a certain extent at an angle with respect to each other, to allow co-operation between the two.” (para [0058]). “To a certain extent” is not measurable and is indefinite.
With regards to claims 2 and 10, the term “in proximity to” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The specification does not define how close is “proximity” and does not define any measurable standard. The first and second apertures sit somewhere between the u-bend and the free end, so essentially any position satisfies this.
With regards to claim 9, a “fastener” is claimed as part of the clip-on u-nut. However, the specification and the drawings treat the fastener as a separate bolt or screw being inserted through the clip-on u-nut. This renders the claim to be indefinite as the claim and specification/drawings contradict each other.
Claim 3, 11, and 13-18 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies, of rejected dependent claims 2 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peterson (US 4,897,005 A).
With regards to claim 1, Peterson discloses a clip-on u-nut (u-nut 10) comprising: a first leg (leg 12) having a first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14); and a second leg (leg 18) connected to the first leg (leg 12) through a u-bend (join 38) to create a gap with the first leg (leg 12), wherein the first leg (leg 12) and the second leg (leg 18) extend away from the u-bend (join 38) towards a free end of the clip-on u-nut (u-nut 10), the second leg (leg 18) comprising a misalignment adjustment component (U-shaped elongated tongue 20, col 2, lns 38-39) having: a body, and a second aperture (elongate aperture 22), wherein the second aperture (elongate aperture 22) is formed as an oblong-shaped through-hole in the body of the misalignment adjustment component (U-shaped elongated tongue 20, col 2, lns 38-39), and the second aperture (elongate aperture 22) is capable of accommodating a fastener (screw threaded fastener) in co-operation with the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14), wherein the first leg (leg 12) and the second leg (leg 18) are relatively moveable with respect to each other about the u-bend (join 38) to vary the gap therebetween, wherein the gap is to accommodate a part (sheet material S as shown in Fig. 4), the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14) and the second aperture (elongate aperture 22), depending on the gap between the first leg (leg 12) and the second leg (leg 18), having a plurality of relative fastening positions with respect to each other, and, in each of the plurality of relative fastening positions, the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14) and the second aperture (elongate aperture 22) are to accommodate the fastener (screw threaded fastener) therein.
Claims 1, 9, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oehlke (US 4,440,535 A).
With regards to claim 1, Oehlke discloses a clip-on u-nut (sheet metal fastener 100 in Figs. 2-4) comprising: a first leg (leg 102) having a first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through as shown in Fig. 4); and a second leg (base 104) connected to the first leg (leg 102) through a u-bend (bight portion 106) to create a gap with the first leg (leg 102), wherein the first leg (leg 102) and the second leg (base 104) extend away from the u-bend (bight portion 106) towards a free end (remote end 118) of the clip-on u-nut (sheet metal fastener 100), the second leg (base 104) comprising a misalignment adjustment component (base portion 104 with arms 118, 120) having: a body, and a second aperture (thread receiving slot 114), wherein the second aperture (thread receiving slot 114) is formed as an oblong-shaped through-hole in the body of the misalignment adjustment component (base portion 104 with arms 118, 120), and the second aperture (thread receiving slot 114) is capable of accommodating a fastener (screw or bolt 134) in co-operation with the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through in Fig. 4), wherein the first leg (leg 102) and the second leg (base 104) are relatively moveable with respect to each other about the u-bend (bight portion 106) to vary the gap therebetween, wherein the gap is to accommodate a part (panel 112), the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through in Fig. 4) and the second aperture (thread receiving slot 114), depending on the gap between the first leg (leg 102) and the second leg (104), having a plurality of relative fastening positions with respect to each other, and, in each of the plurality of relative fastening positions, the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through as shown in Fig. 4) and the second aperture (thread receiving slot 114) are to accommodate the fastener (screw or bolt 134) therein.
With regards to claim 9, Oehlke discloses a fastening assembly (as shown in Fig. 4) comprising: a first part (panel 112); a second part (panel 44); and a clip-on u-nut (sheet metal fastener 100) to fasten the first part (panel 112) to the second part (panel 44), wherein the clip-on u-nut (sheet metal fastener 100) comprises: a first leg (leg 102) having a first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through in Fig. 4), wherein the first leg (leg 102) has an inner surface and an outer surface, the second part (panel 44) abutting the outer surface of the first leg (leg 102); and a second leg (base portion 104) connected to the first leg (leg 102) through a u-bend (bight portion 106) to create a gap with the first leg (leg 102), wherein the inner surface of the first leg (leg 102) faces the second leg (base portion 104), the first leg (leg 102) and the second leg (base portion 104) extending away from the u-bend (night portion 106) towards a free end (remote end 108) of the clip-on u-nut (metal sheet fastener 100) and, the second leg (base portion 104) comprising a misalignment adjustment component (base portion 104 with arms 118, 120) having: a body, and a second aperture (thread receiving slot 114), wherein the second aperture (thread receiving slot 114) is formed as an oblong-shaped through-hole in the body of the misalignment adjustment component (base portion 104 with arms 118, 120); and a fastener (screw or bolt 134), wherein the second aperture (thread receiving slot 114) is to cooperate with the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through in Fig. 4) to accommodate the fastener (screw or bolt 134)) to fasten the first part (panel 112) and the second part (panel 44), wherein the first leg (leg 102) and the second leg (base portion 104) are relatively moveable with respect to each other about the u-bend (bight portion 106) to vary the gap therebetween, wherein the gap is to accommodate the first part (panel 112), the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through in Fig. 4) and the second aperture (thread receiving slot 114), depending on the gap between the first leg (leg 102) and the second leg (base portion 104), having a plurality of relative fastening positions with respect to each other, and in each of the plurality of relative fastening positions the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through as shown in Fig. 4B) and the second aperture (thread receiving slot 114) are to accommodate the fastener (screw or bolt 134) therein.
With regards to claim 17, Oehlke discloses the fastening assembly of claim 9 as set forth above, wherein the second part (panel 44 as shown in Fig. 3) comprises a second-part hole (aperture 46) to receive the fastener (screw or bolt 134 as shown in Fig. 4), the second-part hole (aperture 46) is aligned with at least the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through in Fig. 4).
With regards to claim 18, Oehlke discloses the fastening assembly of claim 9 as set forth above, wherein the first part (panel 112) comprises a first-part hole (slot 130 as shown in Fig. 2A) to receive the fastener (screw or bolt 134 as shown in Fig. 4), the first-part hole (slot 130) is aligned with at least the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7, 9-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al. (US 4,897,005 A) in view of Oehlke (US 4,440,535 A).
With regards to claim 2, Peterson et al. disclose the clip-on u-nut of claim 1 as set for above, wherein the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14 as shown in Figs. 1-4) comprises a u-bend (join 38 not label in the figures, near element 10 in Figs. 1-2) side of rim and a free end side of rim, the u-bend (near element 10 in Figs. 1-2) side of rim being in proximity to the u-bend and the free end side of rim being in proximity to the free end (opposite of u-bend near element 20 in Fig. 2), and the second aperture (elongate aperture 22) comprises a first edge and a second edge, the first edge being in proximity to the u-bend (near element 10 in Figs. 1-2) and the second edge being in proximity to the free end (near element 22 in Fig. 1). Peterson et al. further discloses that the clip-on u-nut can accommodate a range of material thicknesses (col 1, lns 52-54).
However, Peterson et al. do not disclose wherein at a minimum gap between the first leg and the second leg, corresponding to a first thickness of the part positionable in the gap, the u-bend side of rim of the first aperture is to substantially align with the first edge of the second aperture, and at a maximum gap between the first leg and the second leg, corresponding to a second thickness of the part positionable in the gap, the free end side of rim of the first aperture is to substantially align with the second edge of the second aperture.
Oehlke teaches a fastener 100 in the embodiment of Figs. 2-4 with an elongated, threadedly engage slot 114 in the base portion and that the slot length is selected to provide a working range of the fastener positions (col 3, lns 8-32). The threadedly engage slot 114 allows the bolt or screw to be fastened at any fastening position from one end of the length to the other opposite end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to size the oblong aperture 22 of Peterson et al. in accordance with the teaching of Oehlke with the threadedly engage slot having a range of fastener positions would results the predictable benefit of ensuring the fastener remains receivable within the Peterson’s stated range of accommodating the range of material thickness. At one end near the u-bend of the range of fastener position would accommodate a minimum gap and at the opposite end of the free end would accommodate a maximum gap. The combination is the application of a known technique (Oehlke’s slot on the clip-on u-nut with a range of fastener positions) to a known device (Peterson’s clip-on u-nut) to yield predictable results. Both references are stamped sheet metal clip-on u-nuts pushed onto a panel edge to receive a threaded fastener and are in the same field of endeavor and are directed to the same problem of joining panels with different thicknesses and hole positions.
With regards to claims 3 and 11, the combination of Peterson et al. in view of Oehlke disclose the clip-on u-nut of claim 2 and fastening assembly of claim 10 as set forth. The combination of Peterson et al. in view of Oehlke disclose wherein the gap being between the minimum gap and the maximum gap (Peterson discloses the clip-on u-nut can accommodate a range of material thicknesses which would include minimum and maximum gaps, col 1, lns 52-54), the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14) and the second aperture (elongate aperture 22) have the plurality of relative fastening positions (Oehlke’s slot 114 with a range of fastener positions. col 3, lns 8-32) with respect to each other to accommodate the fastener in co-operation with each other.
With respect to claims 4 and 12, the combination of Peterson et al. in view of Oehlke discloses the clip-on u-nut of claim 2 and fastener assembly of claim 10 as set forth, wherein the second aperture (elongate aperture 22 of Peterson et al.) formed as the oblong-shaped through-hole has a first elongated length and a second elongated length, wherein the first elongated length is a length, measured along a longitudinal axis of the second aperture (elongate aperture 22 of Peterson et al.) in direction of an oblong shape, between the first edge and the second edge, and the second elongated length is measured perpendicular to a direction of measurement of the first elongated length and is a measure of a width of the second aperture (elongate aperture 22 of Peterson et al.), wherein the width of the second elongated length of second aperture (elongate aperture 22 of Peterson et al.) of the misalignment adjustment component (U-shaped elongated tongue 20, col 2, lns 38-39 of Peterson et al.) is substantially equal to a diameter of the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14 of Peterson et al.) and the first elongated length is substantially greater than the width of the second aperture (elongate aperture 22 of Peterson et al.) and the diameter of the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14 of Peterson et al.).
With regards to claims 5 and 13, the combination of Peterson et al. in view of Oehlke disclose the clip-on u-nut of claim 4 and fastener assembly of claim 13 as set forth, wherein the first aperture and the second aperture (as taught by opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14 and second aperture 22 of Peterson et al.) are to accommodate the fastener at any one of the plurality of relative fastening positions (as taught by Oehlke’s slot 114 with a range of fastener positions, col 3, lns 8-32), wherein at each of the plurality of relative fastening positions, the first aperture is to align with the second aperture along the first elongated length of the second aperture (as taught by Oehlke’s slot 114 with range of fastener positions, col 3, lns 8-32).
With regards to claim 7, Peterson et al. disclose the clip-on u-nut of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the first aperture comprises internal threads (leg 12 which is the first leg has “an integral internally screw threaded barrel 14,” col 2, lns 48-52).
However, Peterson et al. do not disclose wherein the second aperture comprise a plurality of internal threads. The bolt of Peterson et al. passes freely through the second aperture without any threaded engagement.
Oehlke teaches the elongated slot that can grip the bolt’s threads (slot 114 which is the second slot is “of a width 116 adapted to threadably engage the external threads of a received screw of bolt and is of a length substantially greater than the width,” col 3, lns 42-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the second aperture with threads because fastening the received fastener with two threaded apertures is more secured than with only one threaded aperture.
With regards to claim 9, Peterson et al. discloses a fastening assembly (u-nut 10 as shown in Figs. 1-4) comprising: a first part (S in Fig, 4); a clip-on u-nut (u-nut 10) to fasten the first part () to the second part (302), wherein the clip-on u-nut (u-nut 10) comprises: a first leg (leg 12) having a first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14), wherein the first leg (leg 12) has an inner surface and an outer surface, the second part abutting the outer surface of the first leg (leg 12); and a second leg (leg 18) connected to the first leg (leg 12) through a u-bend (near element 10 in Figs. 1-4, Peterson et al. disclose join 38 to be the u-bend, however, it is not label on the drawings) to create a gap with the first leg (leg 12), wherein the inner surface of the first leg (leg 12) faces the second leg (leg 18), the first leg (leg 12) and the second leg (leg 18) extending away from the u-bend (at element 10 in Figs. 1-4) towards a free end of the clip-on u-nut (u-nut 10) and, the second leg (leg 18) comprising a misalignment adjustment component (U-shaped elongated tongue 20, col 2, lns 38-39) having: a body, and a second aperture (elongate aperture 22), wherein the second aperture (elongate aperture 22) is formed as an oblong-shaped through-hole in the body of the misalignment adjustment component (U-shaped elongated tongue 20, col 2, lns 38-39); and a fastener (16 in Fig. 4), wherein the second aperture (elongate aperture 22) is to cooperate with the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14) to accommodate the fastener (16 in Fig. 4) to fasten the first part (S in Fig. 4), wherein the first leg (leg 12) and the second leg (leg 18) are relatively moveable with respect to each other about the u-bend (near element 10 in Figs. 1-4) to vary the gap therebetween, wherein the gap is to accommodate the first part (S in Fig. 4), the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14) and the second aperture (elongate aperture 22), depending on the gap between the first leg (leg 12) and the second leg (leg 18).
However, Peterson et al. do not disclose attaching the second part to the first part and the first and second apertures having a plurality of relative fastening positions with respect to each other, and in each of the plurality of relative fastening positions the first aperture and the second aperture are to accommodate the fastener therein.
Oehlke teaches a clip-on u-nut fastener 100 in Figs. 2-4 fastening a second part (panel 44) to a first part (panel 112) and having the second aperture (slot 114) with a range of relative fastening positions with respect to the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through in Fig. 4), and in each of the plurality of relative fastening positions the first aperture (aperture on leg 102 where bolt/screw 134 goes through in Fig. 4) and the second aperture (thread receiving slot 114) are to accommodate the fastener (134 in Fig. 4) therein.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to size the oblong aperture 22 of Peterson et al. in accordance with the teaching of Oehlke with the threadedly engage slot having a range of fastener positions would results the predictable benefit of ensuring the fastener remains receivable within the Peterson’s stated range of accommodating the range of material thickness. At one end near the u-bend of the range of fastener position would accommodate a minimum gap and at the opposite end of the free end would accommodate a maximum gap. The combination is the application of a known technique (Oehlke’s slot on the clip-on u-nut with a range of fastener positions) to a known device (Peterson’s clip-on u-nut) to yield predictable results. Both references are stamped sheet metal clip-on u-nuts pushed onto a panel edge to receive a threaded fastener and are in the same field of endeavor and are directed to the same problem of joining panels with different thicknesses and hole positions.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to fasten the clip-on u-nut of Peterson et al. with a second part and a first part as taught by Oehlke so the clip-on u-nut can fasten two or more parts/panels as many clip-on u-nuts can do.
With regards to claim 10, the combination of Peterson et al. in view of Oehlke disclose the clip-on u-nut of claim 1 as set for above, wherein Peterson et al. disclose the first aperture (opening of internally screw threaded barrel 14 as shown in Figs. 1-4) comprises a u-bend (join 38 not label in the figures, near element 10 in Figs. 1-2) side of rim and a free end side of rim, the u-bend (near element 10 in Figs. 1-2) side of rim being in proximity to the u-bend and the free end side of rim being in proximity to the free end (opposite of u-bend near element 20 in Fig. 2), and the second aperture (elongate aperture 22) comprises a first edge and a second edge, the first edge being in proximity to the u-bend (near element 10 in Figs. 1-2) and the second edge being in proximity to the free end (near element 22 in Fig. 1). Peterson et al. further discloses that the clip-on u-nut can accommodate a range of material thicknesses (col 1, lns 52-54).
However, Peterson et al. do not disclose wherein at a minimum gap between the first leg and the second leg, corresponding to a first thickness of the part positionable in the gap, the u-bend side of rim of the first aperture is to substantially align with the first edge of the second aperture, and at a maximum gap between the first leg and the second leg, corresponding to a second thickness of the part positionable in the gap, the free end side of rim of the first aperture is to substantially align with the second edge of the second aperture.
Oehlke teaches a fastener 100 in the embodiment of Figs. 2-4 with an elongated, threadedly engage slot 114 in the base portion and that the slot length is selected to provide a working range of the fastener positions (col 3, lns 8-32). The threadedly engage slot 114 allows the bolt or screw to be fastened at any fastening position from one end of the length to the other opposite end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to size the oblong aperture 22 of Peterson et al. in accordance with the teaching of Oehlke with the threadedly engage slot having a range of fastener positions would results the predictable benefit of ensuring the fastener remains receivable within the Peterson’s stated range of accommodating the range of material thickness. At one end near the u-bend of the range of fastener position would accommodate a minimum gap and at the opposite end of the free end would accommodate a maximum gap. The combination is the application of a known technique (Oehlke’s slot on the clip-on u-nut with a range of fastener positions) to a known device (Peterson’s clip-on u-nut) to yield predictable results. Both references are stamped sheet metal clip-on u-nuts pushed onto a panel edge to receive a threaded fastener and are in the same field of endeavor and are directed to the same problem of joining panels with different thicknesses and hole positions.
With regards to claim 15, the combination of Peterson et al. in view of Oehlke disclose the fastening assembly of claim 9 as set forth above, wherein the first aperture comprises internal threads (Peterson et al. disclose the leg 12 which has “an integral internally screw threaded barrel 14,” col 2, lns 48-52).
However, Peterson et al. do not disclose wherein the second aperture comprise a plurality of internal threads. The bolt of Peterson et al. passes freely through the second aperture without any threaded engagement.
Oehlke teaches the elongated slot that can grip the bolt’s threads (slot 114 which is the second slot is “of a width 116 adapted to threadably engage the external threads of a received screw of bolt and is of a length substantially greater than the width,” col 3, lns 42-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the second aperture of Peterson et al. with threads as taught by Oehlke because fastening the received fastener with two threaded apertures is more secured than with only one threaded aperture.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al. (US 4,897,005 A) and in view of Bros et al. (WO 2004083657 A1).
With regards to claim 6, Peterson et al. disclose the clip-on u-nut of claim 1 as set forth above.
However, the u-nut of Peterson et al. do not disclose wherein the first leg comprises a locator extending from the first leg towards the second leg along an axial direction of the first aperture, the locator being to locate the part with respect to the first leg in a fastening position between the first leg and the second leg.
Bros et al. teaches a clip-on u-nut (clamp 200) wherein the first leg (main 210) comprises a locator (projecting means 240 suitable for retaining the part inserted in the clamp and for centering the device with respect to the passage hole made in the part to be fixed, English machine translation, page 15, last paragraph) extending from the first leg (main plate 210) towards the second leg (counter plate 220) along an axial direction of the first aperture (where the fastener screws into 210 in Fig. 7), the locator (projecting means 240) being to locate the part with respect to the first leg (210) in a fastening position between the first leg (210) and the second leg (220).
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a locator as taught by Bros et al. on the u-nut as modified by Peterson et al. to allow the easy centering of first hole and the parts to be fastened.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehlke (US 4,440,535 A) in view of Cooley (US 2009/0285651 A1).
With regards to claims 8 and 16, Oehlke discloses the clip-on u-nut of claims 1 and 9 as set forth above.
However, Oehlke does not disclose wherein the clip-on u-nut is fabricated with a plastic material and is manufactured by a molding process.
Cooley teaches a clip-on u-nut fastener made with a molded plastic (para [006]).
It would have been obvious to make the clip-on u-nut of Oehlke with a molded plastic material as taught by Cooley because plastic is lighter and inexpensive to manufacture. Substituting a molded plastic body for a stamped steel is selection of a recognized material for its known suitability (MPEP 2144.07). The molding process is a product by process and the process has no patentability weight for the product itself (MPEP 2113).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al. (US 4,897,005 A) in view of Oehlke (US 4,440,535 A) and further in view of Bros et al. (WO 2004083657 A1).
With regards to claim14, Peterson et al. in view of Oehlke disclose the clip-on u-nut of claim 9 as set forth above.
However, the modified u-nut of Peterson et al. in view of Oehlke do not disclose wherein the first leg comprises a locator extending from the first leg towards the second leg along an axial direction of the first aperture, the locator being to locate the part with respect to the first leg in a fastening position between the first leg and the second leg.
Bros et al. teaches a clip-on u-nut (clamp 200) wherein the first leg (main 210) comprises a locator (projecting means 240 suitable for retaining the part inserted in the clamp and for centering the device with respect to the passage hole made in the part to be fixed, English machine translation, page 15, last paragraph) extending from the first leg (main plate 210) towards the second leg (counter plate 220) along an axial direction of the first aperture (where the fastener screws into 210 in Fig. 7), the locator (projecting means 240) being to locate the part with respect to the first leg (210) in a fastening position between the first leg (210) and the second leg (220).
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a locator as taught by Bros et al. on the u-nut as modified by Peterson et al. in view of Oehlke to allow the easy centering of first hole and the parts to be fastened.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-8231317-B2 to De Gelis and US-5423646-A1 and US-5713707-A1 to Gagnon disclose a u-nut fastening a first and a second part together having a first and second legs and first and second apertures.
US-10047783-B2 to Mills and US-9267529-B2 to Tejero Salinero disclose a u-nut with a second aperture that has an oblong shape.
US-20200124079-A1 to Stewart et al. and US-7878745-B2 to Allen et al. disclose a retainer and u-nut assembly having a first and second legs and a misalignment adjustment component.
US-5961264-A1 to Postadan discloses a u-nut assembly with a tilted barrel section.
/L.B.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675