DETAILED ACTION
The amendment to the claims filed after non-final office action on August 21, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 95, 97, 110 were amended, claims 1-94, 96, 99-102, 104-109 canceled, claims 115-117 were newly added and claims 95, 97-98, 103, 110-117 are pending in the instant application. The restriction was deemed proper and made final previous office action.
The restriction is deemed proper and is made FINAL in this office action. Claims 112-114 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected invention/species.
Claims 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-117 are examined on the merits of this office action.
Withdrawn Rejections/Objections
The rejection of claims 95-103, 111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claims 95-103 and 110-111 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 111 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pei (WO2015179691 A9) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 110 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei (WO2015179691 A9) in view of Kawczynski (“"Synthesis of conjugates of enzyme inhibitors with amino acid structure and penetrating peptides as potential compounds antifungal”, Doctoral dissertation, pages 1-119) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The provisional rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No.19/329410(reference application) is withdrawn due to amendment of the claims filed August 21, 2026 (the amended clams now require at least 5 arginine residues or allowing just one arginine.
The rejection of Claim(s) 95-103, 111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 46-72 of copending Application No.18/858718(reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No.19/329417(reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 111 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 83-84, 86-105 of copending Application No. 17/639014(reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 110-111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 289-317 of copending Application No. 19/512008(reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 110-111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 111-114, 116-117, 119-125, 132-133, 135 of copending Application No. 18/553379(reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/506057(reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 100-124 of copending Application No. 18/560080(reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 48-67 of copending Application No. 19/115637 (reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 19/630088(reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-117 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of copending Application No. 19/329431(reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
The rejection of claim(s) 95-103, 111 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/329353 (reference application) is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims August 21, 2026.
Maintained/Revised Rejections
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-117 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent No. 11168310 B2 and Qian (ACS Chem. Biol. 2013, 8, 423−431). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims a cyclic peptide comprising formula III-B wherein there must be three consecutive arginine and three consecutive hydrophonic amino acids within A1-Az(2) and a glutamine for cargo attachment; SEQ ID Nos:84, 87, 92, 96-102 and 110 (claims 110, 117); and pharmaceutical formulations thereof (claim 111) and alternating chirality (claim 116).
US Patent No. ‘310 claims a compound comprising a therapeutic and a CPP conjugated thereto (claim 1); and wherein the CPP comprises SEQ ID NOS: 14-101, 108, 110, 124-127 (claim 8, see table 4), the peptides overlap with the instant claims including instant claim 110 (SEQ ID Nos:77-80) and D- and L- amino acids; pharmaceutical compositions thereof (claim 26). SEQ ID NO:34 of US Patent NO. ‘310 falls within the limitations of the instant claims of three hydrophobic amino acids and three consecutive arginine with alternating chirality and Glutamine (in some peptide) for attachment. In particular, SEQ ID NO:54 contains FFFRRR and SEQ ID NO:77 contains FfFRrR (claim 8).
Qian teaches cyclic peptides comprising three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids and three consecutive arginine residues (see Table 1). Qian teaches exocyclic attachment of cargo moieties through the glutamine side chain. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to retain the glutamine residue and attach a carbon moiety through its side chain in the modified cyclic CPP 4 intracellular delivery. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a terminal glutamine residue for attachment of a cargo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given that Qian specifically teaches glutamine for this purpose in peptides that are functionally/structurally similar to the instant claims and successfully shows attachment of a cargo.
Regarding claims 110 and 115-117,the combined teachings of US patent No. ‘310 in view of Qian Render obvious the cyclic peptide of instant SEQ ID NO:96 cyclo(FfFRrRQ). Qian further teaches short cyclic CPPs containing hydrophobic aromatic and arginine residues. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cyclic CPP of to vary the chirality of selected phenylalanine and arginine residues to obtain a cyclic peptide having useful cellular penetration properties.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant requests that these rejections be held in abeyance until the claims are otherwise in condition for allowance. At that time, Applicant will review the rejection and address any remaining double patenting concerns. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim(s) 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-117 are/remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11987821 in view of Qian (ACS Chem. Biol. 2013, 8, 423−431). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims a cyclic peptide comprising formula III-B wherein there must be three consecutive arginine and three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids within A1-Az(2) and a glutamine for cargo attachment; SEQ ID Nos:84, 87, 92, 96-102 and 110 (claims 110, 117); and pharmaceutical formulations thereof (claim 111) and alternating chirality (claim 116).
US Patent No. ‘821 claims a compound comprising a therapeutic and a CPP conjugated thereto (claim 1); and wherein the CPP comprises three consecutive arginine residues; three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids; D and L amino acids (see claim 1). US Patent No. claims wherein the CPP comprises fΦRrRr which has three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids and three consecutive arginine residues.
US Patent No. ‘821 does not claim Gln for cargo attachment or pharmaceutical compositions thereof, however, this is a main utility of US Patent No. ‘821 for delivery of therapeutic drugs (see abstract). It would have been obvious to include the conjugate in a pharmaceutical formulation with a pharmaceutically carrier for the intended use of delivery a therapeutic target. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the L or D amino acids in the peptide to promote optimal therapeutic stability for delivery of the therapeutic cargo.
Qian teaches cyclic peptides comprising three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids and three consecutive arginine residues (see Table 1). Qian teaches exocyclic attachment of cargo moieties through the glutamine side chain. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to retain the glutamine residue and attach a carbon moiety through its side chain in the modified cyclic CPP 4 intracellular delivery. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a terminal glutamine residue for attachment of a cargo to the cyclic peptides of US Patent No. ‘821. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given that Qian specifically teaches glutamine for this purpose in peptides that are functionally/structurally similar to the instant claims and successfully shows attachment of a cargo.
Regarding claims 110 and 115-117,the combined teachings of US Patent No. ‘821 in view of Qian render obvious the cyclic peptide of instant SEQ ID NO:96 cyclo(FfFRrRQ). Qian further teaches short cyclic CPPs containing hydrophobic aromatic and arginine residues. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cyclic CPP of to vary the chirality of selected phenylalanine and arginine residues to obtain a cyclic peptide having useful cellular penetration properties.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant requests that these rejections be held in abeyance until the claims are otherwise in condition for allowance. At that time, Applicant will review the rejection and address any remaining double patenting concerns. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim(s) 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-117 are/remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12171838. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims a cyclic peptide comprising formula III-B wherein there must be three consecutive arginine and three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids within A1-Az(2) and a glutamine for cargo attachment; SEQ ID Nos:84, 87, 92, 96-102 and 110 (claims 110, 117); and pharmaceutical formulations thereof (claim 111) and alternating chirality (claim 116).
US Patent No. ‘838 claims a compound comprising a therapeutic and a CPP conjugated thereto (claim 1); and wherein the CPP comprises three consecutive arginine residues; three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids; D and L amino acids (see claims 1, 9-11). US Patent NO. ‘838 claims the cyclic peptide of cyclo(fΦRrRrQ) which falls within scope of the instant claims. US Patent No. ‘838 does not claim pharmaceutical compositions thereof although this is a main utility of US Patent No. ‘838 for delivery of therapeutic drugs (see abstract, claim 20).
It would have been obvious to include the conjugate in a pharmaceutical formulation with a pharmaceutically carrier for the intended use of delivery a therapeutic target. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the L or D amino acids in the peptide to promote optimal therapeutic stability for delivery of the therapeutic cargo.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant requests that these rejections be held in abeyance until the claims are otherwise in condition for allowance. At that time, Applicant will review the rejection and address any remaining double patenting concerns. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim(s) 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-117 are/remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/671828(reference application) in view of Qian. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims a cyclic peptide comprising formula III-B wherein there must be three consecutive arginine and three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids within A1-Az(2) and a glutamine for cargo attachment; SEQ ID Nos:84, 87, 92, 96-102 and 110 (claims 110, 117); and pharmaceutical formulations thereof (claim 111) and alternating chirality (claim 116).
Copending Application No. 19/671828 claims a cyclic peptide comprising the same peptide III-B formula of the instant claims (see claim 16) with a cargo moiety and linker moiety (claim 1) wherein two amino acids are arginine (see claim 16); at least two are hydrophobic (see claim 16); D or L hydrophobic amin acids (claim 16). The copending application claims the cyclic peptide cyclo(FfΦRrRr) (see claim 108). Claim 97 encompasses three hydrophobic amino acids consecutive and three arginine but does not claim Gln (see claim 97).
Qian teaches cyclic peptides comprising three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids and three consecutive arginine residues (see Table 1). Qian teaches exocyclic attachment of cargo moieties through the glutamine side chain. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to retain the glutamine residue and attach a carbon moiety through its side chain in the modified cyclic CPP 4 intracellular delivery. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a terminal glutamine residue for attachment of a cargo to the cyclic peptides of the copending application. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given that Qian specifically teaches glutamine for this purpose in peptides that are functionally/structurally similar to the instant claims and successfully shows attachment of a cargo.
Regarding claims 110 and 115-117,the combined teachings of Co-pending 19/671828 in view of Qian render obvious the cyclic peptide of instant SEQ ID NO:96 cyclo(FfFRrRQ). Qian further teaches short cyclic CPPs containing hydrophobic aromatic and arginine residues. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cyclic CPP of to vary the chirality of selected phenylalanine and arginine residues to obtain a cyclic peptide having useful cellular penetration properties.
Co-pending Application No. 19/671828 claims pharmaceutical formulations (Claim 44) but does not claim pharmaceutical carrier. However, it would have been obvious to include the conjugate in a pharmaceutical formulation with a pharmaceutically carrier for the intended use of delivery a therapeutic target. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the L or D amino acids in the peptide to promote optimal therapeutic stability for delivery of the therapeutic cargo.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant requests that these rejections be held in abeyance until the claims are otherwise in condition for allowance. At that time, Applicant will review the rejection and address any remaining double patenting concerns. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim(s) 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-117 are/remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 101-120 of copending Application No. 18/950272 (reference application) in view of Kawczynski and Qian (see below references). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims a cyclic peptide comprising formula III-B wherein there must be three consecutive arginine and three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids within A1-Az(2) and a glutamine for cargo attachment; SEQ ID Nos:84, 87, 92, 96-102 and 110 (claims 110, 117); and pharmaceutical formulations thereof (claim 111) and alternating chirality (claim 116).
Copending Application No. 18/950272 claims a cyclic peptide comprising two arginine residues and at least two hydrophobic amino acids (see claim 101, 107) with a cargo moiety and linker moiety (claims 101, 107) wherein two amino acids are arginine (see claim 107); at least two are hydrophobic (see claim 107-108); D and L amino acids (claim 107). The peptide formula of AN18950272 encompasses hydrophobic amino acids including Phenylalanine and arginine residues and the amino acids being adjacent to each other (see claims 107-108). Co-pending Application No. 18/950272 claims the cyclic peptides cyclo(FfΦRrRrQ) (claim 109) which has one extra arginine residue.
However, Kawczynski teaches simplified penetrating peptides comprising combinations of hydrophobic aromatic residues and arginine residues for delivery of biologically active agents. See Table 2. In particular, Kawczynski teaches the penetrating peptide sequences FFFRRR (“FR”) and FFFRRR-NH2 (“FRN”) (see table 2 of translation), and explains that penetrating properties depend on the presence of Arg/Lys residues together with Phe/Trp residues (see table 2). Kawczynski further teaches conjugates comprising such peptides linked to biologically active inhibitor moieties, including FMDP-FRN conjugates synthesized for intracellular delivery applications (see page 56, section 1.1).
Qian Teaches that peptide cyclization and incorporation of hydrophobic amino acid residues enhance cellular association and that cyclic peptides comprising arginine and hydrophobic aromatic residues exhibit substantial cellular association (see Table 1 and the discussion entitled “peptide cyclization and hydrophobicity synergistically enhance cellular association”). Qian further teaches the synthesis of linear and cyclic forms of Tetra arginine, hexarginine and FFRRRR as well as cyclo AAAARRRRQ, for evaluating the effects of peptide cyclization and hydrophobicity on cellular uptake (see table 1). Qian further teaches cyclic peptides comprising equal numbers of nonpolar amino acid residues and arginine residues. In particular, Table 1 peptide #14 comprises 2 alanine residues 1 phenylalanine residues, 1 napthylalanine residue, 4 arginine residues and 1 glutamine residue, thereby providing a 1:1 ratio of nonpolar amino acid residues to arginine residues.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the 8 amino acid cyclic CPP of Co-pending 18/950272 by deleting 1 arginine residue to incorporate the FFFRRR penetrating peptide motif taught by Kawczynski, thereby obtaining A7 amino acid cyclic peptide comprising 3 consecutive phenylalanine residues, 3 consecutive Argentine residues, and one glutamine residue for conjugation as taught by the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification because Kawczynski teaches that the FFFRRR sequence is a penetrating peptide motif useful for intracellular delivery..
Furthermore, Qian teaches that cyclic peptides comprising equal numbers of nonpolar amino acid residues and arginine residues exhibit cellular association. Thus, Qian provides additional motivation to modify the cyclic CPP of Pei by reducing the number of arginine residues from 4 to 3, thereby obtaining a cyclic peptide comprising equal numbers of hydrophobic phenylalanine residues and arginine residues, consistent with the FFFRRR motif taught by Kawczynski. Additionally, Qian teaches that seven amino acid cyclic peptide comprising hydrophobic aromatic and arginine residues exhibit cellular association. .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success and making the proposed modification because the resulting cyclic peptide would retain the hydrophobic aromatic residues and positively charged arginine residues recognized in the prior art as contributing to cellular association and intracellular delivery. The skilled artisan would reasonably have expected the modified cyclic peptide to retain useful cell penetrating activity.
Furthermore, Copending AN 18950272 and Qian teach exocyclic attachment of cargo moieties through the glutamine side chain. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to retain the glutamine residue and attach a carbon moiety through its side chain in the modified cyclic CPP for intracellular delivery.
Regarding claims 110 and 115-117,the combined teachings of Copending 18/950272 in view of Kawczynski, and Qian Render obvious the cyclic peptide of instant SEQ ID NO:96 cyclo(FfFRrRQ).
Co-pending Application No. 18/950272 is silent to pharmaceutical formulations thereof but the main utility is for treating subjects (see claim 120) and delivering the therapeutic. However, it would have been obvious to include the conjugate in a pharmaceutical formulation with a pharmaceutically carrier for the intended use of delivery a therapeutic target. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the L or D amino acids in the peptide to promote optimal therapeutic stability for delivery of the therapeutic cargo.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant requests that these rejections be held in abeyance until the claims are otherwise in condition for allowance. At that time, Applicant will review the rejection and address any remaining double patenting concerns. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim(s) 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-117 are/remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/734759 (reference application) in view of Kawczynski and Qian (see below references). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims a cyclic peptide comprising formula III-B wherein there must be three consecutive arginine and three consecutive hydrophobic amino acids within A1-Az(2) and a glutamine for cargo attachment; SEQ ID Nos:84, 87, 92, 96-102 and 110 (claims 110, 117); and pharmaceutical formulations thereof (claim 111) and alternating chirality (claim 116).
Copending Application No. 18/734759 claims a cyclic peptide comprising two arginine residues and at least two hydrophobic amino acids (see claim 1, 5) with a cargo moiety and linker moiety (claims 1, 5) wherein two amino acids are arginine (see claim 16); at least two are hydrophobic (see claims 1, 16); D and L amino acids (claims 1, 16). The peptide formula of AN18734759 encompasses hydrophobic amino acids including Phenylalanine and arginine residues and the amino acids being adjacent to each other (see claim 16). Co-pending Application No. 18/734759 claims pharmaceutical formulations (claim 17) and SEQ ID NO:17 which comprises three hydrophobic amino acids, three arginine and a glutamine but has one extra arginine.
However, Kawczynski teaches simplified penetrating peptides comprising combinations of hydrophobic aromatic residues and arginine residues for delivery of biologically active agents. See Table 2. In particular, Kawczynski teaches the penetrating peptide sequences FFFRRR (“FR”) and FFFRRR-NH2 (“FRN”) (see table 2 of translation), and explains that penetrating properties depend on the presence of Arg/Lys residues together with Phe/Trp residues (see table 2). Kawczynski further teaches conjugates comprising such peptides linked to biologically active inhibitor moieties, including FMDP-FRN conjugates synthesized for intracellular delivery applications (see page 56, section 1.1).
Qian Teaches that peptide cyclization and incorporation of hydrophobic amino acid residues enhance cellular association and that cyclic peptides comprising arginine and hydrophobic aromatic residues exhibit substantial cellular association (see Table 1 and the discussion entitled “peptide cyclization and hydrophobicity synergistically enhance cellular association”). Qian further teaches the synthesis of linear and cyclic forms of Tetra arginine, hexarginine and FFRRRR as well as cyclo AAAARRRRQ, for evaluating the effects of peptide cyclization and hydrophobicity on cellular uptake (see table 1). Qian further teaches cyclic peptides comprising equal numbers of nonpolar amino acid residues and arginine residues. In particular, Table 1 peptide #14 comprises 2 alanine residues 1 phenylalanine residues, 1 napthylalanine residue, 4 arginine residues and 1 glutamine residue, thereby providing a 1:1 ratio of nonpolar amino acid residues to arginine residues.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the 8 amino acid cyclic CPP of Copending 18/734759 by deleting 1 arginine residue to incorporate the FFFRRR penetrating peptide motif taught by Kawczynski, thereby obtaining A7 amino acid cyclic peptide comprising 3 consecutive phenylalanine residues, 3 consecutive Argentine residues, and one glutamine residue for conjugation as taught by the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification because Kawczynski teaches that the FFFRRR sequence is a penetrating peptide motif useful for intracellular delivery..
Furthermore, Qian teaches that cyclic peptides comprising equal numbers of nonpolar amino acid residues and arginine residues exhibit cellular association. Thus, Qian provides additional motivation to modify the cyclic CPP of Pei by reducing the number of arginine residues from 4 to 3, thereby obtaining a cyclic peptide comprising equal numbers of hydrophobic phenylalanine residues and arginine residues, consistent with the FFFRRR motif taught by Kawczynski. Additionally, Qian teaches that seven amino acid cyclic peptide comprising hydrophobic aromatic and arginine residues exhibit cellular association. .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success and making the proposed modification because the resulting cyclic peptide would retain the hydrophobic aromatic residues and positively charged arginine residues recognized in the prior art as contributing to cellular association and intracellular delivery. The skilled artisan would reasonably have expected the modified cyclic peptide to retain useful cell penetrating activity.
Furthermore, Copending 18/734759 and Qian teach exocyclic attachment of cargo moieties through the glutamine side chain. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to retain the glutamine residue and attach a carbon moiety through its side chain in the modified cyclic CPP for intracellular delivery.
Regarding claims 110 and 115-117,the combined teachings of Copending 18/734759 in view of Kawczynski, and Qian Render obvious the cyclic peptide of instant SEQ ID NO:96 cyclo(FfFRrRQ).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant requests that these rejections be held in abeyance until the claims are otherwise in condition for allowance. At that time, Applicant will review the rejection and address any remaining double patenting concerns. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 95 recites that “3 consecutive amino acids selected from AA1, AA2, AA3, AA4 and each AAz are arginine”, and further recites that “and three consecutive amino acids selected from AA1, AA2, AA3, AA4 and each AAz are hydrophobic amino acids”. In particular, claim 95 can be interpreted in two different ways. It is unclear whether the three consecutive amino acids are selective collectively from AA1-AA4 and the AAz residues, or whether 3 consecutive amino acids must be selected from AA1-AA4, with each AAz independently required to satisfy the recited limitation. Under the latter interpretation, the limitations are inconsistent because only four AA1-AA4 positions are available to accommodate three arginine and three hydrophobic residues, and each AAz would be required to be both arginine and hydrophobic. Accordingly, the scope of the claimed amino acid arrangement is unclear. Applicant is required to clarify which amino acid positions satisfy the respective limitations. This is further complicated by the fact that instant claim 110 claims sequences that don’t fall within either claim interpretation. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, claim 95 will be interpreted as the three consecutive amino acids are selective collectively from AA1-AA4 and the AAz residues as being arginine and then 3 amino acids being selected collectively from AA1-AA4 and AAz as being hydrophobic, wherein the amino acids can’t be the same. Claims 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-116 are also rejected given their dependence on claim 95 and not further clarifying this point of confusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 110 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 110 Claims several sequences that do not fall within the scope of instant claim 95 (the claim from which it depends on). For example, the peptides of instant claim 95 are limited to 7 amino acids based on their member of the claims. SEQ ID Nos:84, 87, 92 Do not fall within the scope of instant claim 95, and thus broaden the scope of claim 95.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 95, 97-98, 103, 110-111, 115-117 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei (WO2015179691, cited previously) in view of Kawczynski (“"Synthesis of conjugates of enzyme inhibitors with amino acid structure and penetrating peptides as potential compounds antifungal”, Doctoral dissertation, pages 1-119, cited previously) and Qian (ACS Chem. Biol. 2013, 8, 423−431, cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Claim interpretation of claim 95 as amended: Clean 95 is interpreted as being directed to 7 amino acid cyclic cell penetrating peptide of formula III-B, where an m is 1 and n is 2, comprising 3 consecutive hydrophobic amino acid residues, 3 consecutive arginine residues, and one glutamine residue. The glutamine residue provides a site for exocyclic attachment of the recycled cargo moiety.
Pei teaches cyclic cell penetrating peptides (CPPs) comprising combinations of hydrophobic aromatic amino acids and arginine residues for intracellular delivery of cargo molecules and therapeutic moieties. See, e.g., claims 7–35; Tables 2, 16; Example 4.
Pei discloses cyclic cell penetrating peptides (CPPs) comprising arginine containing peptide sequences and hydrophobic amino acids within cyclic peptide architectures corresponding to the presently claimed Formula III-B embodiments. See Formula IIa and IIb (pages 109-111) and more specifically linkers as part of the cargo moiety (see “Cargo moiety section”). Regarding claim 95, Pei teaches the cyclic CPP and cyclic cargo moiety which creates a bicyclic system (claim 30). Pei further discloses cyclic CPP compounds containing multiple arginine residues and hydrophobic residues positioned within the cyclic peptide sequence (see claims 13-38 and Tables 2, 6 and 18). Pei discloses cyclic CPP compounds comprising no more than three arginine residues and at least two hydrophobic amino acids. In particular, Table 16, page 96, discloses SEQ ID NO:196 (c(FΦRRRQ) in Table comprises three arginine residues, two hydrophobic amino acids (phe, Nap) (see Table 16, Table 2). Pei teaches the sequence FFΦRRRRQ and FfΦRrRrQ (see table 16). Pei additionally teaches attachment to a cargo moiety (see abstract and also “cargo moiety” section, Table 4).
As stated above, Pei specifically teaches cyclic CPPs containing phenylalanine-derived hydrophobic residues and arginine residues in varying stereochemical arrangements, including sequences such as c(FΦRRRQ), c(fΦRrRq), c(fΦrRrRQ), FFΦRRRRQ and FfΦRrRrQ, and related variants exhibiting cellular uptake and membrane binding activity. Pei further teaches that uptake efficiency can be affected with regards to addition of hydrophobic residues, arginine content, residue arrangement, and stereochemical configuration (see page 56, Introduction, last paragraph, see page 71, second paragraph, lines 6-7, See Table 16 and accompanying discussion). Pei expressly teaches that stereochemical variation of amino acid residues affects membrane binding and cellular uptake efficiency. See, e.g., Table 16, which discloses multiple cyclic CPP variants differing in D- and L-configurations of phenylalanine- and arginine-containing residues while exhibiting differing uptake efficiencies and membrane affinities. Pei therefore teaches that modification of residue stereochemistry constitutes a result-effective variable for optimizing CPP activity.
Pei does not expressly disclose the seven amino acid cyclic peptide required by claim 95, comprising three consecutive hydrophobic amino acid residues, three consecutive arginine residues, and one glutamic residue.
However, Kawczynski teaches simplified penetrating peptides comprising combinations of hydrophobic aromatic residues and arginine residues for delivery of biologically active agents. See Table 2. In particular, Kawczynski teaches the penetrating peptide sequences FFFRRR (“FR”) and FFFRRR-NH2 (“FRN”) (see table 2 of translation), and explains that penetrating properties depend on the presence of Arg/Lys residues together with Phe/Trp residues (see table 2). Kawczynski further teaches conjugates comprising such peptides linked to biologically active inhibitor moieties, including FMDP-FRN conjugates synthesized for intracellular delivery applications (see page 56, section 1.1).
Qian teaches that peptide cyclization and incorporation of hydrophobic amino acid residues enhance cellular association and that cyclic peptides comprising arginine and hydrophobic aromatic residues exhibit substantial cellular association (see Table 1 and the discussion entitled “peptide cyclization and hydrophobicity synergistically enhance cellular association”). Qian further teaches the synthesis of linear and cyclic forms of Tetra arginine, hexarginine and FFRRRR as well as cyclo AAAARRRRQ, for evaluating the effects of peptide cyclization and hydrophobicity on cellular uptake (see table 1). Qian further teaches cyclic peptides comprising equal numbers of nonpolar amino acid residues and arginine residues. In particular, Table 1 peptide #14 comprises 2 alanine residues 1 phenylalanine residues, 1 napthylalanine residue, 4 arginine residues and 1 glutamine residue, thereby providing a 1:1 ratio of nonpolar amino acid residues to arginine residues.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the 8 amino acid cyclic CPP of Pei by deleting 1 arginine residue to incorporate the FFFRRR penetrating peptide motif taught by Kawczynski, thereby obtaining a 7 amino acid cyclic peptide comprising 3 consecutive phenylalanine residues, 3 consecutive Argentine residues, and one glutamine residue for conjugation as taught by the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification because Kawczynski teaches that the FFFRRR sequence is a penetrating peptide motif useful for intracellular delivery, while Pei teaches that arginine content and amino acid composition affects cellular uptake and contemplates amino acid deletions in CPP variants.
Furthermore, Qian teaches that cyclic peptides comprising equal numbers of nonpolar amino acid residues and arginine residues exhibit cellular association. Thus, Qian provides additional motivation to modify the cyclic CPP of Pei by reducing the number of arginine residues from 4 to 3, thereby obtaining a cyclic peptide comprising equal numbers of hydrophobic phenylalanine residues and arginine residues, consistent with the FFFRRR motif taught by Kawczynski. Additionally, Qian teaches that seven amino acid cyclic peptide comprising hydrophobic aromatic and arginine residues exhibit cellular association. Thus, Qian provides further support for employing a seven residue cyclic peptide with the combination of hydrophobic and arginine residues.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success and making the proposed modification because the resulting cyclic peptide would retain the hydrophobic aromatic residues and positively charged arginine residues recognized in the prior art as contributing to cellular association and intracellular delivery. The skilled artisan would reasonably have expected the modified cyclic peptide to retain useful cell penetrating activity.
Furthermore, Pei and Qian teach exocyclic attachment of cargo moieties through the glutamine side chain. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to retain the glutamine residue and attach a carbon moiety through its side chain in the modified cyclic CPP 4 intracellular delivery.
Regarding the limitation wherein n is 2, i.e. two cargo moieties instant claim 95, Pei teaches “the cargo moiety can comprise one or more detectable moieties, what are more therapeutic moieties, one or more targeting moieties, or any combination thereof” (see “Cargo moiety”, prior to Table 4). Pei Further discloses a cyclic CPP conjugated to Cy3-labeled calmodulin, demonstrating a cargo construct comprising both protein and detectable components (see figures 5, 35).
Qian Further teaches cyclic CPPs having an exocyclic fluorescent substituent attached to the glutamine side chain (see Table 1).
It would have been obvious before the effect of filing date of the claim invention to incorporate multiple functional cargo components into the modified cyclic CPP of Pei to enable intracellular delivery and detection, with a reasonable expectation of success based on the demonstrated CPP conjugates of Pei and Qian.
Regarding claim 97, Pei Teaches cyclic Cell penetrating peptides comprising hydrophobic aromatic amino acids, including phenylalanine and napthylalalanine (see Pei, Tables 2 and 16). Qian Further teaches cyclic CPPs comprising phenylalanine and napthylalalanine, while Kawczynski specifically discloses the FFFRRR penetrating motif. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to select phenylalanine as each hydrophobic amino acid residue in the modified cyclic CPP to incorporate a known penetrating peptide motif.
Regarding claim 98, Pei discloses stereochemical variants of cyclic CPP compounds, including D- and L-amino acid configurations (see pages 20-21 and Table 16, including lower case amino acid notation identifying stereochemical variants).
Regarding claim 103, the combined teachings of Pei in view of Kawczynski, and Qian render obvious the sequences of FFΦRRRRQ, FfΦRrRrQ with one less arginine residue and FFFRRR motif thus, meeting the limitations of arginine being adjacent to a hydrophobic amino acid with same chirality.
Regarding claims 110 and 115-117,the combined teachings of Pei in view of Kawczynski, and Qian render obvious the cyclic peptide of instant SEQ ID NO:96 cyclo(FfFRrRQ). Kawczynski teaches the FFFRRR penetrating peptide motif, while Pei teaches cyclic CPPs composing phenylalanine and arginine residues having varying stereochemical configurations. Qian further teaches short cyclic CPPs containing hydrophobic aromatic and arginine residues. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cyclic CPP of Pei to incorporate the FFFRRR motif and vary the chirality of selected phenylalanine and arginine residues to obtain a cyclic peptide having useful cellular penetration properties. Further, Pei expressly teaches optimization of stereochemical arrangement and residue ordering to improve uptake efficiency, thereby providing motivation to employ routine variation of residue sequence and stereochemistry to obtain predictable CPP variants, including the presently claimed sequences.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to routinely optimize the relative placement and D/L stereochemical configuration of the phenylalanine and arginine residues in the combined Pei/Kawczynski peptide motifs in order to obtain improved intracellular delivery properties, such optimization amounting to no more than routine experimentation yielding predictable results. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious over the combined teachings of Pei and Kawczynski and Qian.
Regarding claim 111, Pei discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising the disclosed cyclic CPP compounds (see claims 41-42, page 113).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654