DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response dated 12/16/2025 is acknowledged and appreciated. The arguments regarding claims 1-15 are persuasive and are withdrawn. The claim amendment and new claim has been considered as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Llewellyn, JR, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0299312) in view of Shults et al. (U.S. Patent 7,856,914).
In regards to claim 17, by Llewellyn, JR, et al (henceforth referred to as Llewellyn) discloses an insert for a suppressor for a firearm (see item 45 of figure 10 of Llewellyn), the insert comprising: a main body; and a plurality of insert openings that extend through the main body. Llewellyn teaches a suppressor insert that includes a main body as well as openings extending through (see figure 45);
a cap portion, wherein a diameter of the cap portion is greater than a diameter of the main body. As illustrated in figure 10, the insert includes an elongate main body along with a “cap” (portion shown as being held by user) having a diameter larger than that of the main body;
a groove that extends around the main body, wherein the groove is between the cap portion and the main body. As depicted, a narrower area consistent or equivalent to a groove, is positioned after the “cap” and before the main body portion;
Llewellyn does not explicitly teach that the groove defines a diameter that is less than a diameter of the main body. However, Shults et al (henceforth referred to as Shults) teaches a suppressor insert that includes a groove just after the caps at both ends that is narrower than the remainder of the main body of the insert (see figure 3) and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the grooved portions of the insert of the Llewellyn insert of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Llewellyn, JR, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0299312) and Shults et al. (U.S. Patent 7,856,914) as per claim 17 and in further view of Schoppman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0347931).
In regards to claim 19, Llewellyn does not disclose that the plurality of insert openings are staggered relative to a circumferential direction defined by the insert. However, Schoppman teaches a suppressor “insert” with staggered openings (see figure 7) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to provide staggered openings as taught by Schoppman in/on the insert of Llewellyn to allow for wide spread consistent venting.
In regards to claim 20, Llewellyn does not explicitly disclose that the insert comprises less than 20% titanium. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant's invention to fabricate the various parts of the Llewellyn device with a specific percentage of titanium as claimed to limit sparking and, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washburn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0263905) in view of Grob et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0260332).
In regards to claim 16, Washburn, III (henceforth referred to as Washburn) discloses a suppressor for a firearm, the suppressor defining a linear projectile path (see figure 3 of Washburn), the suppressor comprising:
an inner body comprising: a proximal wall; and a plurality of baffles. As illustrated in figure 3, the suppressor includes multiple baffles (items 305a-d) within an inner body and a proximal wall away from the baffles. Note the inner wall directly after the muzzle attachment (item 315),
each baffle defining a baffle opening that is positioned on the linear projectile path (see items 340a-d), wherein an expansion chamber is defined between the proximal wall and a first baffle of the plurality of baffles that is nearest to the proximal wall. As illustrated in figure 3, the area denoted as item 310 is an expansion chamber along and around the projectile path;
and Washburn does not explicitly disclose a means for reducing an amount of spark ejected from the suppressor when the firearm is discharged. However, Grob et al (henceforth referred to as Grob) teaches a means to reduce sparks from a suppressor (pars. 150 and 151) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to provide a means to reduce sparking from the suppressor of Washburn as taught by Grob, to reduce the visible emission of sparks from the suppressor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 and 21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art fails to teach or make obvious, including all the limitations of claim 1, the configuration of the suppressor.
Summary/Conclusion
Claims 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected. Claims 1-15 and 21 are allowable.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/BENJAMIN P LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641